DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9 are pending. Claims 8 and 10 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190293765 (hereinafter Jeong) in view of US20130229645 (hereinafter Suzuki) and further in view of US20210389465 (hereinafter Belokonskiy).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong teaches a LiDAR, comprising:
two laser emission modules (light emitting units 110/120, see FIG. 2); and
one laser receiving module (image sensor 220),
wherein the two laser emission modules are located separately on opposite sides of the laser receiving module (FIG. 2 shows light emitting units 110 and 120 on opposite sides of image sensor 220), and a combination of emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules matches a receiving field of view of the laser receiving module (laser emitters 110 and 120 define a field of view for image sensor 220 as LiDAR devices rely upon reflected laser light for establishing a receiving field of view).
wherein each of the two laser emission modules comprises:
a laser emission lens (112/122), wherein the laser emission lens has a first optical axis (L1/L2, see FIG. 2); and
a laser emission sensor (111/121), wherein the laser emission sensor is located on a light- incident side of the laser emission lens (112) and configured to emit a laser beam to the laser emission lens,
wherein the laser receiving module comprises a second optical axis, and the first optical axes of the laser emission lenses of the two laser emission modules are both parallel to the second optical axis (FIG. 2 shows a dashed line representing a second optical of the condensing lens 210 of the light receiving unit 200 being parallel to L1 and L2 representing the optical axes of the emission lenses).
FIGS. 2 of Jeong shows portions of emitters 111/121 on the side of optical axes L1/L2 closer to the receiver, but does not specifically teach “the laser emission sensor being located on a side of the first optical axis that is close to the laser receiving module, and there is an overlapped region between emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules”.
However, FIG. 2 of Suzuki teaches “the laser emission sensor being located on a side of the first optical axis that is close to the laser receiving module (see FIG. 2 of Suzuki showing emitters 12a/12b offset from optical axes of lenses 14a/14b and toward a central region between emitters 12a/12b), and there is an overlapped region between emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules ([0188] of Suzuki describes a configuration in which emitter fields of view overlap)”.
Both Jeong and Suzuki describe LIDAR systems utilizing one or more receivers and multiple transmitters. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve the configuration taught by Jeong by implementing the offset emission sensor configuration of Suzuki in laser diodes 111/121 of Jeong. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as shifting the position of the emission sensor allows for changes in accordance with the formula shared in [0046] of Suzuki and as depicted the changes result in an expansion of the area covered by emitters 12a/12b. This would also assist with defining a desired amount of overlap between emitters 111/121 of Jeong.
The combination of Jeong and Suzuki fails to teach wherein each laser emission sensor comprises a plurality of light sources disposed in a matrix, and a plurality of columns of light sources of two laser emission sensors are sequentially and alternately turned on according to preset timing.
However, Belokonskiy teaches wherein each laser emission sensor comprises a plurality of light sources disposed in a matrix (FIG. 4 of Belokonskiy shows an array of VCSEL type emitters and [0058] describes how VCSELs within each sub-array referred to as electrical line zones L1, L2, LN are driven together by a discrete electrical signal, HFM1, HFM2,… HFMN. [0030] says electrical line zones can be the columns of the array of illumination units), and a plurality of columns of light sources of two laser emission sensors are sequentially and alternately turned on according to preset timing (FIG. 5 of Belokonskiy shows an example of how the columns of illuminators driven by signals HFM1 to HFMN are turned on sequentially according to preset timing & FIG. 6A shows how each of the electrical line zones cover the field of view).
Belokonskiy and the combination of Jeong and Suzuki are both directed to LIDAR implementations. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the dual emitter module configuration taught by the combination of Jeong and Suzuki to include the solid state scan architecture taught by Belokonskiy in each emitter module, which as pointed out in [0028] of Belokonskiy allows for higher peak optical power using lower supply voltage for each supply driver making battery driven lidar implementation more feasible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, Suzuki and Belokonskiy in view of DE10244638 (hereinafter Hipp).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jeong and Suzuki teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, but fails to teach the rest of the claim as the LIDAR system is shown without any housing / packaging.
However, Hipp teaches where the LIDAR further comprises:
a housing (39, see FIG. 1), wherein an accommodating cavity is formed in the housing (housing 39 is shown in FIG. 1 forming an accommodating cavity); and
a bracket (support structure 31 is described as an aluminum die-cast part in [0038], see FIGS. 2-3) located in the accommodating cavity, wherein the bracket comprises a first mounting aperture (lens 35 shown within first mounting aperture) and second mounting apertures separately located on both sides of the first mounting aperture (lenses 33 shown within the second mounting apertures on opposing sides of the first mounting aperture, see FIGS. 2-3), the laser receiving module (lens 35 is considered as part of the receiving module) is mounted in the first mounting aperture, and each laser emission module is respectively mounted in one of the second mounting apertures (lenses 33 are considered as part of the emission modules).
Hipp and the combination of Jeong, Suzuki and Belokonskiy both describe laser scanning assemblies using multiple transmitters with a single receiver. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to protect the sensor assemblies described by Jeong within a housing and Hipp at [0034] describes the importance of a housing for protecting a device from external influences. Hipp also describes a housing with a bracket for securing a receiver and multiple transmitters. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the design of Jeong by securing the receiver and transmitters on a bracket within a housing as taught by Hipp, which allows all the sensors of the LIDAR to be secured in a single central support component within the housing as described in [0041] of Hipp.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, Suzuki and Belokonskiy in view of Hipp as applied to claim 5 and further in view of DE 10244638 (hereinafter Hou).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jeong and Hipp teach the LiDAR according to claim 5, wherein the two laser emission modules and the laser receiving module are all located in the accommodating cavity, a first plate body (cover section 32, see FIG. 1), wherein the first plate body has a first plate surface facing the accommodating cavity and a second plate surface opposite the first plate surface. The combination of Jeong and Hipp fails to teach the rest of the claim.
However, Hou teaches a configuration where the first plate body (1121, 1122 and 1123 as shown in FIG 2) is provided with a first light-passing aperture (aperture depicted extending through wall 1123) penetrating the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and two second light-passing apertures (apertures depicted extending through walls 1121,1122) respectively located on two sides of the first light-passing aperture, the laser receiving module is disposed corresponding to the first light-passing aperture, each laser emission module is disposed corresponding to one of the second light-passing apertures, and the second plate surface is provided with a light-passing protective plate covering the first light-passing aperture and the two second light-passing apertures (the instant specification as published at [0066] describes a light-passing protective plate 150 as including multiple subplates 151 & 152, Hou describes the use of multiple light-transmissive panels to cover the three openings in 1121, 1122).
Both Hou and the combination of Jeong, Suzuki, Belokonskiy and Hipp are directed to lidar devices within a housing having multiple transmitters and a receiver. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the cover section 32 taught by Hipp to overlay support structure 31 of Hipp and include a series of openings covered by light-transmissive protective plates taught by Hou to protect the lens elements of the transmitters and receiver as taught by the combination of Jeong and Hipp. Hipp at [0034] describes the importance of a housing that protecting a device from external influences.
Examiner notes that while Hou does not specifically teach arranging the central opening over a receiver, the combination of Jeong and Hipp teaches a central location for the receiver flanked by two transmitters and this arrangement when combined with the opening arrangement taught by Hou would result in the receiver being located behind the first light-passing aperture and the transmitters being behind the second light-passing apertures.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jeong, Suzuki, Hipp and Hou teaches the LiDAR according to claim 6, wherein a mounting groove is provided in the second plate surface, the mounting groove is connected to the first light-passing aperture and the two second light-passing apertures, and the light-passing protective plate is located in the mounting groove (no substantive rejection applied here due to the presence of the “or” clause); or
the second plate surface is provided with a first mounting groove and second mounting grooves respectively located on two sides of the first mounting groove (FIGS. 2 and 3 both show mounting grooves formed in apertures formed in walls 1121-1123), the first mounting groove is connected to the first light-passing aperture, each of the second mounting grooves is respectively connected to one of the two second light-passing apertures, the light-passing protective plate comprises a first light-passing protective subplate (1126) and two second light-passing protective subplates (1125), the first light-passing protective subplate is located in the first mounting groove, and each second light- passing protective subplate is respectively located in one of the second mounting grooves (FIG. 1 shows plates 1125 and 1126 installed in the apertures defined by walls 1121-1123).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, Suzuki and Belokonskiy in view of US20210208252 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jeong and Suzuki teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a light shielding member is sleeved at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module.
However, Chen teaches wherein a light shielding member is sleeved at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module. Chen teaches incorporation a light shielding layer 274 at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module (see FIG. 5 of Shen showing light shielding layer 274).
Chen and the combination of Jeong, Suzuki and Belokonskiy are both in the field of laser distance measuring devices, so a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to arrange the combination of emitters and a receiver as taught by Jeong in the housing taught by Chen with light shielding layers 274. The person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to make this change in order to reduce crosstalk (see [0029] of Chen, discussing preventing the passage of stray light from a transmitter to a receiver).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645