Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 encompassing claims 1-7 and 9-10 in the reply filed on 1/14/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that Claim 10 is not part of species 1 and is instead a member of species 3 since the emitters and receiver share a same circuit board and this is only shown in FIGS. 15 and 16 from species 3. Accordingly, claims 8 and 10-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
The traversal appears to be on the ground(s) that interior arrangements are not mutually exclusive with the claimed configuration. Examiner notes that the presence or absence of a generic claim is not relevant to whether a species restriction is proper, see MPEP 808.01(a).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive because many of the claims are directed to different species that are mutually exclusive from each other. For example, claim 4 requires the optical axes of the two emission modules be parallel as shown in Species 1-3 and claim 11 requires the optical axes to be canted outward so they are non-parallel as shown in Species 4-5.
In the event a claim generic to two or more of the species is found allowable, uncancelled withdrawn claims directed to the species falling under the generic claim will be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190293765 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong teaches a LiDAR, comprising:
two laser emission modules (light emitting units 110/120, see FIG. 2); and
one laser receiving module (image sensor 220), wherein the two laser emission modules are located separately on opposite sides of the laser receiving module (FIG. 2 shows light emitting units 110 and 120 on opposite sides of image sensor 220), and a combination of emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules matches a receiving field of view of the laser receiving module (laser emitters 110 and 120 define a field of view for image sensor 220 as LiDAR devices rely upon reflected laser light for establishing a receiving field of view).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeong teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein each of the two laser emission modules comprises a laser emission sensor (111/121), and laser emission sensors of the two laser emission modules emit light in sequence according to preset timing (see FIGS. 5-7 illustrating sequence timing of emission sensors).
Regarding Claim 4, Jeong teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein each of the two laser emission modules comprises a first optical axis (L1/L2 as shown in FIG. 2), and the laser receiving module (light receiving unit 200) comprises a second optical axis (condensing lens 210 of light receiving unit 200 has an unlabeled optical axis shown by a dashed line), and
wherein the two first optical axes are both parallel to the second optical axis (the dashed line showing the second optical axis as being parallel to L1 and L2 as shown in FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190293765 (hereinafter Jeong) in view of US20130229645 (hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein each of the two laser emission modules comprises:
a laser emission lens (112/122), wherein the laser emission lens has a first optical axis (L1/L2, see FIG. 2); and
a laser emission sensor (111/121), wherein the laser emission sensor is located on a light- incident side of the laser emission lens (112) and configured to emit a laser beam to the laser emission lens.
FIGS. 2 of Jeong shows portions of emitters 111/121 on the side of optical axes L1/L2 closer to the receiver, but does not specifically state “the laser emission sensor being located on a side of the first optical axis that is close to the laser receiving module, and there is an overlapped region between emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules”.
However, FIG. 2 of Suzuki teaches “the laser emission sensor being located on a side of the first optical axis that is close to the laser receiving module (see FIG. 2 of Suzuki showing emitters 12a/12b offset from optical axes of lenses 14a/14b and toward a central region between emitters 12a/12b), and there is an overlapped region between emission fields of view of the two laser emission modules ([0188] of Suzuki describes a configuration in which emitters overlap)”.
Both Jeong and Suzuki describe LIDAR systems utilizing one or more receivers and multiple transmitters. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve the configuration taught by Jeong by implementing the offset emission sensor configuration of Suzuki. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as shifting the position of the emission sensor allows for changes in accordance with the formula shared in [0046] of Suzuki and as depicted the changes result in an expansion of the area covered by emitters 12a/12b. This would also assist with defining a desired amount of overlap between emitters 12a/12b.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of DE10244638 (hereinafter Hipp).
Regarding Claim 5, Jeong teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, but fails to teach the rest of the claim as the LIDAR system is shown without any housing / packaging.
However, Hipp teaches where the LIDAR further comprises:
a housing (39, see FIG. 1), wherein an accommodating cavity is formed in the housing (housing 39 is shown in FIG. 1 forming an accommodating cavity); and
a bracket (support structure 31 is described as an aluminum die-cast part in [0038], see FIGS. 2-3) located in the accommodating cavity, wherein the bracket comprises a first mounting aperture (lens 35 shown within first mounting aperture) and second mounting apertures separately located on both sides of the first mounting aperture (lenses 33 shown within the second mounting apertures on opposing sides of the first mounting aperture, see FIGS. 2-3), the laser receiving module (lens 35 is considered as part of the receiving module) is mounted in the first mounting aperture, and each laser emission module is respectively mounted in one of the second mounting apertures (lenses 33 are considered as part of the emission modules).
Jeong and Hipp both describe laser scanning assemblies using multiple transmitters with a single receiver. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to protect the sensor assemblies described by Jeong within a housing and Hipp at [0034] describes the importance of a housing for protecting a device from external influences. Hipp also describes a housing with a bracket for securing a receiver and multiple transmitters. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the design of Jeong by securing the receiver and transmitters on a bracket within a housing as taught by Hipp, which allows all the sensors of the LIDAR to be secured in a single central support component within the housing as described in [0041] of Hipp.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Hipp as applied to claim 5 and further in view of DE 10244638 (hereinafter Hou).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jeong and Hipp teach the LiDAR according to claim 5, wherein the two laser emission modules and the laser receiving module are all located in the accommodating cavity, a first plate body (cover section 32, see FIG. 1), wherein the first plate body has a first plate surface facing the accommodating cavity and a second plate surface opposite the first plate surface. The combination of Jeong and Hipp fails to teach the rest of the claim.
However, Hou teaches a configuration where the first plate body (1121, 1122 and 1123 as shown in FIG 2) is provided with a first light-passing aperture (aperture depicted extending through wall 1123) penetrating the first plate surface and the second plate surface, and two second light-passing apertures (apertures depicted extending through walls 1121,1122) respectively located on two sides of the first light-passing aperture, the laser receiving module is disposed corresponding to the first light-passing aperture, each laser emission module is disposed corresponding to one of the second light-passing apertures, and the second plate surface is provided with a light-passing protective plate covering the first light-passing aperture and the two second light-passing apertures (the instant specification as published at [0066] describes a light-passing protective plate 150 as including multiple subplates 151 & 152, Hou describes the use of multiple light-transmissive panels to cover the three openings in 1121, 1122).
Both Hou and the combination of Jeong and Hipp are directed to lidar devices within a housing having multiple transmitters and a receiver. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the cover section 32 taught by Hipp to overlay support structure 31 of Hipp and include a series of openings covered by light-transmissive protective plates taught by Hou to protect the lens elements of the transmitters and receiver as taught by the combination of Jeong and Hipp. Hipp at [0034] describes the importance of a housing that protecting a device from external influences.
Examiner notes that while Hou does not specifically teach arranging the central opening over a receiver, the combination of Jeong and Hipp teaches a central location for the receiver flanked by two transmitters and this arrangement when combined with the opening arrangement taught by Hou would result in the receiver being located behind the first light-passing aperture and the transmitters being behind the second light-passing apertures.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jeong, Hipp and Hou teaches the LiDAR according to claim 6, wherein a mounting groove is provided in the second plate surface, the mounting groove is connected to the first light-passing aperture and the two second light-passing apertures, and the light-passing protective plate is located in the mounting groove (no substantive rejection applied here due to the presence of the “or” clause); or
the second plate surface is provided with a first mounting groove and second mounting grooves respectively located on two sides of the first mounting groove (FIGS. 2 and 3 both show mounting grooves formed in apertures formed in walls 1121-1123), the first mounting groove is connected to the first light-passing aperture, each of the second mounting grooves is respectively connected to one of the two second light-passing apertures, the light-passing protective plate comprises a first light-passing protective subplate (1126) and two second light-passing protective subplates (1125), the first light-passing protective subplate is located in the first mounting groove, and each second light- passing protective subplate is respectively located in one of the second mounting grooves (FIG. 1 shows plates 1125 and 1126 installed in the apertures defined by walls 1121-1123).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of US20210208252 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 9, Jeong teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a light shielding member is sleeved at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module.
However, Chen teaches wherein a light shielding member is sleeved at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module. Chen teaches incorporation a light shielding layer 274 at a periphery of at least one of emission ends of the two laser emission modules and a receiving end of the laser receiving module (see FIG. 5 of Shen showing light shielding layer 274).
Chen and Jeong are both in the field of laser distance measuring devices, so a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to arrange the combination of emitters and a receiver as taught by Jeong in the housing taught by Chen with light shielding layers 274. The person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to make this change in order to reduce crosstalk (see [0029] of Chen, discussing preventing the passage of stray light from a transmitter to a receiver).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645