Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1-3, 5-11 and 14 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-3, 5-11 and 14 of copending Application No. 17953357 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4,12-13 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4,12-13 and 15-20 of copending Application No. 17953357 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope in every way except in the copending claims:
claim 4 depends from claim 3, and so has additional limitations
claim 15 includes many more R groups
claim 16 includes additional species
claims 17-20 do not include the provisos at the end of the claims
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14, 17-18 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,583,878. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims disclose the same OLED structure and consumer product [claims 14-16] with an overlapping formula 1 for the compound [claim 1] as demonstrated by patent claim 16 including anticipatory species of the present claims:
[cols 563, 566, 569] and others. The OLED also includes the hosts of claim 18 [claim 15].
Claim Objections
Claim14 is objected to because of the following informalities: p42 includes a superfluous paragraph notation “[0001]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 17 and 20 do not define the term M. Examples in the claims and specification include only platinum as M. For the purposes of examination, M is interpreted as platinum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 20220162246 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Chen discloses a OLEDs comprising an organic layer with a metal complex [abstract], examples include the structure:
[p293, 292, 295] which reads on the claimed formula wherein M is platinum, X1 is N, L1 is a single bond, m=1, n=0, K1 is O and K1 and K2 are single bonds, Z2 is N and Z1 and Z3 are C, and Ra and Rc are aryl groups joined to form a ring. The claimed rings A, B, and C include a pyridine and two phenyl groups and ring A is an imidazole derived carbene. The emission layer further includes a host including the anthracene, bicarbazole and triphenylene structures of claims 18-19 such as:
and others [p216 et seq].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20190280222 A1).
Kim discloses OLEDs with metal complexes including those of the general structure and specific structure below:
[p3]
[p12], wherein the difference between the instant claimed formula 1 and the specific structure above are:
-the RHS the pyridine and phenyl group are joined by an O rather than a direct bond, however in the general structure Kim teaches that L11 may be single bond [0013 p1], and
-B11 to B14 are all direct bonds whereas K1 to K3 must include at least one O or S, however in the general structure Kim teaches that B11 to B13 may include
Regarding claim 9, L12 of Kim may be a single bond [0013]. Claim 10 does not actually require that group L1 is present because Claim 9 indicates that in some embodiments n=1, so the structure of Kim reads on the embodiments of claim 10 wherein n=1 (and m=0 and L1 is not present). The emitting layer may also include a host such including triphenylene, bicarbazole and anthracene structures of claim 18 and similar to the structures of claim 19.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have prepared the claimed compound of Formula I because Kim teaches specific examples of compounds very similar to the claimed Formula I with the metal carbene rings, and the minor differences are within the scope of the general formula disclosed.
If Applicant argues that the claimed embodiments are not disclosed with sufficient specificity and that examiner is picking and choosing with improper hindsight, Examiner notes that the rejection is made under 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that there a finite number of disclosed options for L11 and B11 to B14 in the formula 1 of Kim that would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to prepare the claimed Formula I. The claims are obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kim et al (US 20190280222 A1) and Chen et al (US 20220162246 A1), discussed above, do not disclose the specific compounds of claim 15. Though each of the substituents may be within the possible structures of the references, it would require excessive hindsight on the part of the office to arrive at the claimed structures by picking-and-choosing the claimed embodiments.
Some of the closest prior art includes Kottas et al (US 20160285014 A1), which discloses the generic and specific structures below:
[p2]
[p104]. However, the disclosed structure does not include any of the claimed K1 to K3 wherein one is not a direct bond but O or S.
Li et al (US 20150105556 A1) discloses similar generic and specific structures as well:
[p1]
[p581] but again, the K1 to K3 of the claims would all be direct bonds.
Beers et al (US 20220115607 A1) discloses compounds with a generic structure, and more specific genus and an example species below:
[pp191, 240]. Notice that the middle formula does not specify the metal carbene bond for claimed ring A, and the most specific structure does not include a single bond between claimed rings C and D. Given the breadth of disclosed Formula II, arriving at the claimed structure would require excessive hindsight on the part of the office.
Dyatkin et al (US 20220106342 A1) discloses a specific compound having the formula:
[p282] wherein the spiro structure does not include two phenyl groups like the excluded structure in the proviso at the end of claims 1, 17 and 20, i.e.
. However, the above structure includes two N’s among the claims Z1, Z2, and Z3, whereas the claims require one of Z1, Z2, and Z3 to be N and the remainder are C. Given the breadth of the generic structures of the claims, such as Formula 2 below, and the myriad of examples in Dyatkin that do not include the ring A, there would be no motivation to modify the one specific compound above:
[p264].
Yam et al (US 20200176691 A1, US 20200172562 A1) includes compounds of the structure:
and similar compounds, but the complexes of Yam include only nickel as the metal and not platinum, like the claims.
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766