DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09 June 2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Brown (US 3,320,575 A).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a cable coupling (see Fig. 3) comprising:
a ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) having a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Figure 3 below), and defining an interior aperture (see Fig. 3) extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the ferrule (see Fig. 3), the ferrule further having at least one inclined surface along an outer region of the ferrule (see Fig. 1);
a compression die (48) having a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Figure 3 below), and defining an interior aperture extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the compression die (see Fig. 3), the compression die further having a threaded region accessible along an outer surface of the compression die (see Figs. 1 and 3);
an adapter die (36-37) having a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Figure 3 below), and defining an interior receiving region (hole portion of 36-37 accepting 54) accessible from the distal end of the adapter die (see Fig. 3), the adapter die further having an enlarged head (A in annotated Figure 1 below);
a threaded nut cap (10, 12, 18) defining a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Figure 3 below), and defining an interior aperture (see Fig. 3) extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the nut cap (see Fig. 3), the nut cap further having a threaded region (26 in Fig. 3) accessible along the interior aperture of the nut cap (see Fig. 3), the nut cap further having a capture region sized and shaped to engage and contact the enlarged head of the adapter die upon assembly of the cable coupling (see Fig. 3),
wherein the ferrule includes at least one outwardly extending finger (D in annotated Figure 1 below and E in annotated Figure 3 below),
wherein the at least one finger engages mating features (interior surfaces of the compression die and adapter die) in the interior region of the compression die and the interior region of the adapter die.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 3.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 1.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 1.
Figure 4. Annotated Figure 3.
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses wherein the ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) includes a first inclined surface (B in annotated Figure 1 below on portion 38 of the ferrule) adjacent the proximal end of the ferrule (see annotated Figure 3 above), and the adapter die (36-37) defines a tapered interior region (area located within 37) of the receiving region of the adapter die (see Fig. 3), the tapered interior region exhibiting a mating configuration corresponding to the first inclined surface of the ferrule (see Fig. 3).
Figure 5. Annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, Brown discloses wherein the ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) includes a second inclined surface (46) adjacent the distal end of the ferrule (see Fig. 1 and annotated Figure 3 above), the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface diverge away from one another (see Figs. 1, 3, and annotated Figure 3 above), and the compression die (48) defines a tapered interior region of the interior aperture of the compression die (see Fig. 3), the tapered interior region exhibiting a mating configuration corresponding to the second inclined surface of the ferrule (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Brown discloses wherein the ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) further defines a slit (see Fig. 1) extending between the proximal end and the distal end (see annotated Figure 3 above) of the ferrule (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Brown discloses wherein the compression die (48) and the threaded nut cap (10, 12, 18) each includes a wrench flats region (C in annotated Figure 1 below).
Figure 6. Annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 7, Brown discloses wherein the ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) exhibits a cross sectional shape selected from the group consisting of circular (see Fig. 1), square, triangular, oval, and polygonal.
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses wherein the ferrule (38, 42, 44, 46) includes a pair of fingers (D in annotated Figure 1 above and E in annotated Figure 3 above) at the proximal end and the distal end of the ferrule (see annotated Figure 1 above and see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Brown discloses wherein the at least one finger (D in annotated Figure 1 above and E in annotated Figure 3 above) is configured such that engagement with the mating features (interior surfaces of the compression die and adapter die) in the interior region of the compression die (48) and the interior region of the adapter die (36-37) preclude loosening of the threaded nut cap (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses wherein the adapter die (36-37) includes at least one axial extension (F in annotated Figure 1 below), and the compression die (48) includes at least one axial receiving region (see Fig. 3), wherein the at least one axial extension and the at least one axial receiving region are directly coupled together (see Fig. 3).
Figure 7. Annotated Figure 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026, pages 1-2, recite: “…The Examiner appears to contend that the head portion (44) of the collet clamp engages the cutting edge (37) upon assembly, and that the legs (46) engage within the interior of the clamp nut (48). Applicant disagrees that this mapping satisfies claim 10, for two independent reasons… Looking carefully at Brown's disclosure and figures, element 37 is simply an end face or flat abutment surface of the gasket slicer (36). When the head portion (44) of the collet clamp contacts the cutting edge (37) upon assembly, this is merely a face-to-face abutment of the head against an outward-facing end surface. This is fundamentally different from engagement with mating features formed within an interior region of a component as required by claim 10. The cutting edge (37) in Brown is an exposed end face, not an interior mating feature. Brown therefore fails to disclose finger engagement with mating features in the interior region of the mapped adapter die…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner does not contend that 44 and 37 contact during assembly. Rather, the portion that Applicant is arguing is relied upon in the rejection as being interior sloped surface of 37 and surface B in annotated Figure 1 above on member 38. Accordingly, prior art meets the claim limitations and the rejection stands.
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026, pages 2-3, recite: “…Brown fails to disclose this diverging taper geometry and its associated bidirectional mating relationship. Brown discloses a collet clamp (42) comprising a head portion (44) and a series of legs (46). Brown explicitly describes the legs (46) as being angled toward each other, defining an inside and outside taper that acts to compress inwardly against the coaxial cable (54) and the exterior surface of the adaptor element (50) upon tightening of the clamp nut (48). This is a fundamentally different and opposite geometry from that claimed… Brown discloses no such diverging taper geometry, no biconical ferrule shape, and no bidirectional mating relationship between two discrete inclined surfaces and two separate components. Brown's single-direction converging collet legs are structurally and functionally distinct from the claimed diverging inclined surfaces of the ferrule…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 3 requires the first and second inclined surfaces to diverge away from one another. Accordingly, the first inclined surface (B in annotated Figure 1 above on portion 38 of the ferrule) and the second inclined surface (46) diverge away from one another and slope in opposite directions, as seen in Fig. 3. Accordingly, the claim limitation is met.
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026, page 3, recites: “…The Examiner maps Brown's the plug housing (10) and shell (12) and also the clamp nut (48) as disclosing this feature, pointing to the annotated Figure 1 of Brown. As depicted, Brown's shell includes a knurled surface, a surface texture comprising a pattern of ridges designed for hand gripping. Knurling is structurally and functionally distinct from wrench flats, which are specific flat machined surfaces designed to receive a wrench for mechanical torquing. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly and immediately distinguish between a knurled surface and a wrench flats region. Brown discloses no wrench flats region on a threaded nut cap…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It can be seen by C in annotated Figure 1 above that the arrow is clearly pointing to the flat regions on member 18 and not knurling. Accordingly, the claim limitations are met.
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026, pages 3-4, recite: “…Brown discloses absolutely no such anti-loosening function. The contact between Brown's head portion (44) and the cutting edge (37), and the disposition of legs (46) within the clamp nut (48), serves solely the purpose of making a gripping electrical connection with the coaxial cable upon assembly. There is no disclosure in Brown of any engagement that prevents loosening of any threaded element during rotation. This anti-loosening function is entirely absent from Brown's disclosure…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The friction created from the connection between the at least one finger (D in annotated Figure 1 above and E in annotated Figure 3 above) and the interior surfaces of the compression die (48) and adapter die (36-37) preclude loosening of the threaded nut cap. Applicant’s claims do not require any specific anti-loosening structure that differs from that of Brown. Accordingly, the prior art meets the claim limitations as currently recited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678