DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Response, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6-22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016-142930 (henceforth JP ‘930) in view of Konishi et al. (US PGP 2015/0355560).
JP ‘930 teaches an image forming device comprising an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a conductive substrate and a single layer type photosensitive layer. The photosensitive layer is taught to comprise at least a charge generating agent, an electron transport agent, a hole transport agent and a binder resin (Abstract). The electron transport agent is taught to comprise at least a first and second component (Abstract). The first component is taught to comprise a compound of Chemical Formula 1 and the second component is taught to comprise a compound of Chemical Formula 3 ([0007-13]). Specific examples of a suitable first and second component taught by JP ‘930 are represented by the compound 1-5 and 3-6 ([0061], [0072] and Table 1 Example 1-6):
.
As can be seen above, Compound 1-5 and 3-6 read on the Applicant’s recited compounds E-1 and E-2, respectively. JP ‘923 additionally teaches a protective layer formed on the photosensitive layer ([0097]). The image forming device is further taught to possess a contact charging unit such as a charging roller for applying charge to the surface of the photoreceptor ([0124]). While JP ‘923 teaches a protective layer the disclosure is silent as to the specific materials and dimensions of such a layer.
JP ’923 further teaches that the photosensitive layer contains 30% by mass or more of the electron transport compounds ([0019-20]). The photosensitive layer is further taught to comprise a hole transport compound in an amount of 10 parts by mass to 100 parts by mass based on the 100 parts by mass of the binder resin ([0089]). In embodiments the charge generating compound is taught to be present in 3.0 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the binder resin ([0141]). The photosensitive layer is also taught to comprise tribenzylamine ([0107-108]). The contact charging device in the image forming apparatus is taught to apply direct voltage to the photoreceptor ([0125]).
As stated above, JP ‘923 teaches an image forming apparatus comprising the previously detailed photoreceptor and contact charging system. The image forming apparatus is further taught to comprise the additional elements recited by the Applicant in pending claim 18 and is also taught to perform an image forming method that reads on the limitations recited by the Applicant in pending claims 13-17 ([0117-131]). Additionally, the charge potential applied to the photoreceptor is taught preferably be at least 1000V ([0125]).
Konishi teaches an image forming device comprising a positively charging photoreceptor comprising a laminated layer configuration comprising a charge generating layer, a charge transporting layer and a surface protective layer (Abstract, [0184-199]). The layers are all taught to comprise a binder resin and the charge transport layer comprises a charge transporting compound ([0174-182]). The outermost protective layer is taught to comprise a metal oxide particle such as silica that is surface treated with a silane coupling agent having a radical polymerizable (chain polymerizable) functional group ([0041-42] and [0114]). The outermost layer is further taught to comprise a curable binder resin ([0037-39]) which may be photocurable ([0130-131]). The content of the metal oxide particles in the surface layer is taught to be from 50 to 200 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the binder resin ([0140]). The surface layer is further taught to have a thickness of from 0.2 to 10 micrometers and preferably 0.5 to 6 micrometers ([0141]). The surface layer is taught to be cured using an acylphosphine based photopolymerization initiator and/or a alkylphenone hydrogen abstraction type initiator ([0147-148]). The initiator is further taught to comprise from 0.5 to 10 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the polymerizable compound ([0148]). The metal oxide particles are not taught to contain a phosphorous element. Konishi teaches that such a surface protective layer allows for injected holes to to move efficiently through the surface layer thereby preventing image memory while simultaneously enhancing wear resistance by virtue of the metal oxide particles ([0030]). These properties allow for increasing the force used by the cleaning blade while effectively removing electric discharge products on the surface of the photoreceptor, thereby preventing image blurring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the surface protective layer taught by Konishi et al. on the photoreceptor of JP ‘923 in order to impart the improvements associated therewith to the photoreceptor of JP ‘923.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 04/29/2026