DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed June 24, 2026. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, and 3 are pending.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed June 24, 2026 with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered.
With respect to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 1, Applicant argues the cited art of record, Nakada et al., US 20210179085 A1, and Stefan et al., US 20210061264 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakada, and Stefan, respectively, fails to explicitly disclose all of the features of claim 1, as presently amended, specifically, in response to the operation signal being received and before the drive exits the vehicle, the braking switching unit switches the braking device to the braking force generating state without requiring further input from the driver after the operation signal is received.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The above claim limitation appears to establish in order to perform autonomous parking, a braking unit switches to generating a braking force before a driver exits a vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize any invention directed to autonomous parking, including Nakada, would necessarily perform the same implicitly because otherwise would create an incredible dangerous condition for the driver, specifically, not engaging a vehicle’s brakes as part of parking before the driver exits, or, in other words, allowing a driver to exit a vehicle without first engaging the vehicle’s brakes.
For at least these reasons, the above subject matter is obvious in view of Nakada.
For at least the above, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “the drive” appears to be a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al., US 20210179085 A1, in view of Stefan et al., US 20210061264 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakada, and Stefan, respectively.
As to claim 1, Nakada discloses a parking assistance device comprising:
a processor configured to implement:
a traveling assistance control unit that causes a vehicle to automatically travel to a designated parking area and park the vehicle (Automated driving and parking – See at least ¶28-29, 42-43);
a reception unit that receives an operation signal for shifting to a state in which traveling control by the traveling assistance control unit can be executed from an operation unit provided in a vehicle interior of the vehicle (Touch panel display for initiating vehicle mode, i.e., “shifting to a state in which traveling control…can be executed” – See at least ¶53, 55, and Fig. 2); and
a braking switching unit that switches a braking device that maintains a stop state of the vehicle to a braking force generating state in response to the operation signal being received without requiring input from the driver (Braking pursuant to parking operation – See at least ¶65 and Fig. 5; Control executed by control system even when brake operation not accepted, i.e., “without requiring input from the driver” – See at least ¶63 and 67).
Nakada fails to explicitly disclose in response to the operation signal being received and before the drive exits the vehicle, the braking switching unit switches the braking device to the braking force generating state without requiring further input from the driver after the operation signal is received. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nakada and include the feature of in response to the operation signal being received and before the drive exits the vehicle, the braking switching unit switches the braking device to the braking force generating state without requiring further input from the driver after the operation signal is received, with a reasonable expectation of success, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize any invention directed to autonomous parking, including Nakada, would necessarily perform the same implicitly because otherwise would create an incredible dangerous condition for the driver, specifically, not engaging a vehicle’s brakes as part of parking before the driver exits, or, in other words, allowing a driver to exit a vehicle without first engaging the vehicle’s brakes.
Nakada fails to explicitly disclose a sensor that determines a driver of the vehicle has exited the vehicle, wherein after the sensor determines the driver has exited the vehicle, the braking switching unit is configured to switch the braking device to a braking force non-generating state and the travel assistance control begins the vehicle to travel automatically. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nakada and include the feature of a detecting unit that determines a driver of the vehicle has exited the vehicle, wherein after the detecting unit determines the driver has exited the vehicle, the braking switching unit is configured to switch the braking device to a braking force non-generating state and the travel assistance control begins the vehicle to travel automatically, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Stefan teaches it is well-known and routine in the autonomous parking arts to determine whether a driver has left a vehicle and then perform subsequent autonomous travel (See at least Abstract of Stefan). Additionally, it would be readily obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in order to accomplish the autonomous travel of both Nakada and Stefan, any braking force would be released so as not to encumber the requested vehicle movement necessary for autonomous travel.
As to claim 3, Nakada discloses:
the braking device includes a first braking device that uses an actuator for maintaining a stop state and a second braking device that does not use an actuator for maintaining a stop state (Friction brakes, i.e., braking device with an actuator, and parking lock mechanism by changing gear shift, i.e., braking device without an actuator – See at least ¶65), and
the braking switching unit switches the first braking device and the second braking device to a braking force generating state in a case where the operation signal is received, and shifts the first braking device to a braking force non-generating state after it is confirmed that the braking force of the second braking device is generated (Braking by friction brakes released after period of time after automatic parking operation – See at least ¶91).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668