DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 3/2/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 9-11, 19, and 21-22 have been amended.
Claims 3-7, 12-17, and 20 are as previously presented.
Claims 8 and 18 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-22 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 2, and 11 being independent.
This amendment overcomes the 12/2/2025 rejection of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the 12/2/2025 rejections of claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s arguments, see Prior Art Rejections pp. 6-8, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record [i.e., Suetsugu (US 20190159296 A1) in view of Young (US 20020092664 A1)] for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In this case, the independent claims have been amended to further require wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member and an internal cover mounted to the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu (US 20190159296 A1) in view of Pipp (US 20100252565 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Suetsugu discloses:
An energy source door assembly [a front window 305 of an automobile 301, configured by a heat-generating plate 310; para. 0351] comprising:
an external cover [glass 311; figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392];
a heat cover [glass 312] mounted on the external cover [see figs. 29-32 and paras. 0351-352, 390-391],
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected [i.e., as a conventional automobile door configured to open and close; para. 0390-391];
a heat film [conductor 320] disposed between the external cover and the heat cover wherein the heat film is configured to generate heat when electric energy is applied thereto [figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392]; and
However, although Suetsugu discloses that the heat-generating plate 310 may be used as a door, Suetsugu does not provide details on structure specific to doors (i.e., structure allowing for the assembly to be moved between an open position and a closed position, e.g., opening/closing mechanisms). Specifically, Suetsugu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof,
wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover, and
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member; and
an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member.
Pipp, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a door of an automobile [cover 10 for covering and granting access to a fuel port or reservoir; para. 0002; figs. 11A, 11B], wherein a sealing member is mounted on an outer peripheral edge of the cover 10 [see figs. 1A-2, 4, 22A-23B showing one or more seals 24; para. 0040: “The cover 10 may provide one or more seals 24 (FIGS. 1A-2, 4 and 22A-23B). The seals 24 may be of any appropriate shape, size, type or configuration. The seals 24 may be fabricated out of any appropriate material.”], wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover [i.e., see additional seals 24 protruding from cover 10, contacting the inside portion 14 of the body 12 of the automobile; para. 0040; “The seals 24 may be located at any appropriate position, such as on the cover 10, body 12, terminal 18 or connector 22.”] so as to prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041: “However, it will be appreciated that the cover 10 may include any desired or appropriate number of seals 24 at any desired or appropriate locations to prevent debris and residue from entering the fuel reservoir or terminal 18.”]. Pipp also teaches wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing [i.e., cover 10 for covering a conventional fuel port (as an energy source door housing) formed in an aperture in a gas/electric/hybrid vehicle, wherein the fuel port comprises a terminal arranged in the aperture; paras. 0003-6] through a hinge member [i.e., the cover 10 is pivotally connected to the body 12 through, e.g., a hinged linkage 40 as a hinge member; para. 0046]; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member [see figs. 11A/11B, showing a portion of hinged linkage 40 covered by a portion of cover 10, i.e., a conventional hinge arrangement wherein the circular “pin” of linkage 40 is inserted in the “knuckle” formed at an end of the cover 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the energy source door assembly of Suetsugu by
including the sealing member and sealing lip of Pipp, such that the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof, wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover, since Pipp teaches this would prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041]; and by
including the hinged linkage partly covered by/connected to the cover 10 of Pipp such that the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member, since Pipp teaches this allows for the cover 10 to move between the open and closed positions, wherein the cover can be stored within the automobile when the cover is in the open position [para. 0006].
Regarding the requirement that the internal cover is mounted to the heat cover, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that the mere fact that a given structure is integral does not preclude its consisting of various elements, and that constructing a formerly integral structure in various portions involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(C.). In this case, any structure or portion of a structure already covering the hinge member could be mounted in a removable manner so as to, e.g., allow replacement/repair.
Regarding claim 2,
Suetsugu discloses:
An energy source door assembly [a front window 305 of an automobile 301, configured by a heat-generating plate 310; para. 0351] comprising:
an external cover [glass 311; figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392];
a heat cover [glass 312] mounted on the external cover [see figs. 29-32 and paras. 0351-352, 390-391],
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected [i.e., as a conventional automobile door configured to open and close; para. 0390-391];
a heat film [conductor 320] disposed between the external cover and the heat cover wherein the heat film is configured to generate heat when electric energy is applied thereto [figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392]; and
a thermal pad [bonding layer 314] interposed between the heat film and the heat cover [figs. 29-32; paras. 351-352].
However, although Suetsugu discloses that the heat-generating plate 310 may be used as a door, Suetsugu does not provide details on structure specific to doors (i.e., structure allowing for the assembly to be moved between an open position and a closed position, e.g., opening/closing mechanisms). Specifically, Suetsugu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof,
wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover, and
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member; and
an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member.
Pipp, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a door of an automobile [cover 10 for covering and granting access to a fuel port or reservoir; para. 0002; figs. 11A, 11B], wherein a sealing member is mounted on an outer peripheral edge of the cover 10 [see figs. 1A-2, 4, 22A-23B showing one or more seals 24; para. 0040: “The cover 10 may provide one or more seals 24 (FIGS. 1A-2, 4 and 22A-23B). The seals 24 may be of any appropriate shape, size, type or configuration. The seals 24 may be fabricated out of any appropriate material.”], wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover [i.e., see additional seals 24 protruding from cover 10, contacting the inside portion 14 of the body 12 of the automobile; para. 0040; “The seals 24 may be located at any appropriate position, such as on the cover 10, body 12, terminal 18 or connector 22.”] so as to prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041: “However, it will be appreciated that the cover 10 may include any desired or appropriate number of seals 24 at any desired or appropriate locations to prevent debris and residue from entering the fuel reservoir or terminal 18.”]. Pipp also teaches wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing [i.e., cover 10 for covering a conventional fuel port (as an energy source door housing) formed in an aperture in a gas/electric/hybrid vehicle, wherein the fuel port comprises a terminal arranged in the aperture; paras. 0003-6] through a hinge member [i.e., the cover 10 is pivotally connected to the body 12 through, e.g., a hinged linkage 40 as a hinge member; para. 0046: “”]; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member [see figs. 11A/11B, showing a portion of hinged linkage 40 covered by a portion of cover 10, i.e., a conventional hinge arrangement wherein the circular “pin” of linkage 40 is inserted in the “knuckle” formed at an end of the cover 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the energy source door assembly of Suetsugu by
including the sealing member and sealing lip of Pipp, such that the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof, wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover, since Pipp teaches this would prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041]; and by
including the hinged linkage partly covered by/connected to the cover 10 of Pipp such that the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member, since Pipp teaches this allows for the cover 10 to move between the open and closed positions, wherein the cover can be stored within the automobile when the cover is in the open position [para. 0006].
Regarding the requirement that the internal cover is mounted to the heat cover, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that the mere fact that a given structure is integral does not preclude its consisting of various elements, and that constructing a formerly integral structure in various portions involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(C.). In this case, any structure or portion of a structure already covering the hinge member could be mounted in a removable manner so as to, e.g., allow replacement/repair.
Regarding claim 3, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 2.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heat film comprises a substrate film [base film 321], a heating element [heat-generating conductor 330 provided on a surface of the base film 321, conductive thin wire 331] stacked on the substrate film, and an insulation film [bonding layer 313] stacked on the heating element [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 4, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 3.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heat film comprises a first electrode [first bus bar 325] and a second electrode [second bus bar 325] stacked on the substrate film, and wherein the heating element is located between the first electrode and the second electrode [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 5, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 4.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein a width of the thermal pad is greater than a width of the heating element [fig. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 6, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 4.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heating element comprises a first extension portion [a first portion of heat-generating conductor 330 adjacent a first bus bar 325 as seen in figs. 30 and 32] covering the first electrode and a second extension portion [a second portion of heat-generating conductor 330 adjacent a second bus bar 325 as seen in figs. 30 and 32] covering the second electrode [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 9, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 1.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp, specifically Pipp, also discloses:
wherein the heat cover and the sealing member define a unitary one-piece structure [see fig. 1B, showing cover 10 and seals 24 as a unitary one-piece structure].
Regarding claim 10, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 1.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp discloses:
wherein:
the energy source door assembly is configured to cover or uncover the energy source door [Suetsugu paras. 0390-391] housing mounted in a vehicle body [Suetsugu automobile 301]; and
the sealing member, the heat cover, and the energy source door housing define a closed space when the energy source door assembly covers the energy source door housing [Suetsugu figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 11,
Suetsugu discloses:
A vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body comprising a panel having a cavity defined therein [fig. 29: automobile 301];
an energy source door assembly received in the cavity of the panel [a front window 305 of an automobile 301, configured by a heat-generating plate 310; para. 0351] and configured to cover or uncover the energy source door housing [i.e., heat-generating plate 310 as a conventional automobile door configured to open and close; para. 0390-391], the energy source door assembly comprising:
an external cover [glass 311; figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392];
a heat cover [glass 312] mounted on the external cover [see figs. 29-32 and paras. 0351-352, 390-391],
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected [a conventional automobile door configured to open and close];
a heat film [conductor 320] disposed between the external cover and the heat cover, wherein the heat film is configured to generate heat when electric energy is applied thereto [figs. 29-32; paras. 0351-352, 390-392];
However, although Suetsugu discloses that the heat-generating plate 310 may be used as a door, Suetsugu does not provide details on structure specific to doors (i.e., structure allowing for the assembly to be moved between an open position and a closed position, e.g., opening/closing mechanisms). Specifically, Suetsugu does not explicitly disclose:
an energy source door housing received in the cavity of the panel;
wherein the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof,
wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover,
wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to the energy source door housing through a hinge member;
an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member.
Pipp, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a door of an automobile [cover 10 for covering and granting access to a fuel port or reservoir; para. 0002; figs. 11A, 11B], wherein a sealing member is mounted on an outer peripheral edge of the cover 10 [see figs. 1A-2, 4, 22A-23B showing one or more seals 24; para. 0040: “The cover 10 may provide one or more seals 24 (FIGS. 1A-2, 4 and 22A-23B). The seals 24 may be of any appropriate shape, size, type or configuration. The seals 24 may be fabricated out of any appropriate material.”], wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover [i.e., see additional seals 24 protruding from cover 10, contacting the inside portion 14 of the body 12 of the automobile; para. 0040; “The seals 24 may be located at any appropriate position, such as on the cover 10, body 12, terminal 18 or connector 22.”] so as to prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041: “However, it will be appreciated that the cover 10 may include any desired or appropriate number of seals 24 at any desired or appropriate locations to prevent debris and residue from entering the fuel reservoir or terminal 18.”]. Pipp also teaches wherein the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing [i.e., cover 10 for covering a conventional fuel port (as an energy source door housing) formed in an aperture in a gas/electric/hybrid vehicle, wherein the fuel port comprises a terminal arranged in the aperture; paras. 0003-6] through a hinge member [i.e., the cover 10 is pivotally connected to the body 12 through, e.g., a hinged linkage 40 as a hinge member; para. 0046]; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member [see figs. 11A/11B, showing a portion of hinged linkage 40 covered by a portion of cover 10, i.e., a conventional hinge arrangement wherein the circular “pin” of linkage 40 is inserted in the “knuckle” formed at an end of the cover 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the energy source door assembly of Suetsugu by
including the sealing member and sealing lip of Pipp, such that the heat cover comprises a sealing member mounted on an outer peripheral edge thereof, wherein the sealing member has a sealing lip protruding from the heat cover, since Pipp teaches this would prevent debris and residue from entering [para. 0041]; and by
including the hinged linkage partly covered by/connected to the cover 10 of Pipp such that the heat cover is pivotally connected to an energy source door housing through a hinge member; and an internal cover mounted on the heat cover to cover at least a portion of the hinge member, since Pipp teaches this allows for the cover 10 to move between the open and closed positions, wherein the cover can be stored within the automobile when the cover is in the open position [para. 0006].
Regarding the requirement that the internal cover is mounted to the heat cover, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that the mere fact that a given structure is integral does not preclude its consisting of various elements, and that constructing a formerly integral structure in various portions involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(C.). In this case, any structure or portion of a structure already covering the hinge member could be mounted in a removable manner so as to, e.g., allow replacement/repair.
Regarding claim 12, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 11.
Suetsugu also discloses:
further comprising a thermal pad [bonding layer 314] interposed between the heat film and the heat cover [figs. 29-32; paras. 351-352].
Regarding claim 13, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 12.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heat film comprises a substrate film [base film 321], a heating element [heat-generating conductor 330 provided on a surface of the base film 321, conductive thin wire 331] stacked on the substrate film, and an insulation film [bonding layer 313] stacked on the heating element [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 14, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 13.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heat film comprises a first electrode [first bus bar 325] and a second electrode [second bus bar 325] stacked on the substrate film, and wherein the heating element is located between the first electrode and the second electrode [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 15, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 14.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein a width of the thermal pad is greater than a width of the heating element [fig. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 16, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 14.
Suetsugu also discloses:
wherein the heating element comprises a first extension portion [a first portion of heat-generating conductor 330 adjacent a first bus bar 325 as seen in figs. 30 and 32] covering the first electrode and a second extension portion [a second portion of heat-generating conductor 330 adjacent a second bus bar 325 as seen in figs. 30 and 32] covering the second electrode [figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 19, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 11.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp, specifically Pipp, also discloses:
wherein the heat cover and the sealing member define a unitary one-piece structure [see fig. 1B, showing cover 10 and seals 24 as a unitary one-piece structure].
Regarding claim 20, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 11.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp discloses:
wherein the sealing member, the heat cover, and the energy source door housing define a closed space when the energy source door assembly covers the energy source door housing [Suetsugu figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Regarding claim 21, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 2.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp, specifically Pipp, also discloses:
wherein the heat cover and the sealing member define a unitary one-piece structure [see fig. 1B, showing cover 10 and seals 24 as a unitary one-piece structure].
Regarding claim 22, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 2.
Suetsugu as modified by Pipp discloses:
wherein:
the energy source door assembly is configured to cover or uncover the energy source door [Suetsugu paras. 0390-391] housing mounted in a vehicle body [Suetsugu automobile 301]; and
the sealing member, the heat cover, and the energy source door housing define a closed space when the energy source door assembly covers the energy source door housing [Suetsugu figs. 29-43; paras. 0351-391].
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu (US 20190159296 A1) in view of Pipp (US 20100252565 A1) as respectively applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ucar (EP 2546941 A2).
Regarding claim 7, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the energy source door assembly according to claim 1.
However, Suetsugu as modified by Pipp does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat cover comprises an aluminum material.
Ucar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a cover comprising aluminium material [aluminum frame; figs. 1-3; para. 27].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the energy source door assembly of Suetsugu and Pipp, such that the heat cover comprises an aluminum material as suggested and taught by Ucar, in order to securely support the glass.
Regarding claim 17, Suetsugu in view of Pipp discloses the vehicle according to claim 11.
However, Suetsugu as modified by Pipp does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat cover comprises an aluminum material.
Ucar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a cover comprising aluminium material [aluminum frame; figs. 1-3; para. 27].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the energy source door assembly of Suetsugu and Pipp, such that the heat cover comprises an aluminum material as suggested and taught by Ucar, in order to securely support the glass.
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761