DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that secondary reference LADKANI is not analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both primary reference SPINA and secondary reference LADKANI disclose embedded control systems that would require software updates. Thus, the disclosure of LADKANI of partitioned, individually updatable files lies within the same broad field of embedded systems management for remotely located hardware. One of ordinary skill in the art of charging systems/stations would likely have skills in embedded systems and update mechanisms, and would reasonably look to known techniques in embedded controller management when solving the problem of system availability during software updates. Furthermore, as examples of charging systems with partitioned files, see newly cited references LI (US Pub. No. 2019/0354361) and LIN (CN110309018A). It is therefore maintained that LADKANI is analogous art. It is noted that Applicant has not provided comments or arguments against primary reference MIFTAKHOV relied upon in the rejection of independent claim 12. Regarding independent claim 12, since MIFTAKHOV is similarly drawn to electric vehicle charging stations which would have an embedded control systems, it is also submitted that LADKANI would be analogous art.
In response to arguments that the claimed partitioning of the files is “functional and purposeful”, and secondary reference LADKANI does not disclose “functional isolation”, LADKANI discloses each of the partitions provide different services and are independently updatable (¶ 0032-0033), and therefore discloses functional isolation of the partitions. Applying this concept to the software code of SPINA, and also to the software code of MIFTAKHOV, teaches the claimed electric vehicle supply equipment with partitioned files. It is therefore maintained that SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charging system of claim 1 and the method of claim 7; and MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment of claim 12.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/1/2025. These drawings overcome some of the objections to the drawings in the non-final rejection with date 8/29/2025, but the drawings do not show all claimed subject matter and are therefore still objected to (see below).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations of “a first file including software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists with a vehicle interface of a vehicle and a second file partitioned from the first file including software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch a predetermined number of cycles, wherein the processor is further programmed to, responsive to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number, permit charging of a battery of the vehicle via the electric vehicle supply equipment” as recited in claim 1; “the second file further includes software code for measuring grid AC voltage” as recited in claim 2; the “the second file further includes software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment” as recited in claim 3; the “the first file further includes software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle” as recited in claim 4; “the first file further includes software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred” as recited in claim 5; and “the processor is programmed to permit continued charging of a battery of the vehicle responsive to a predefined condition related to the current flow and grid AC voltage being satisfied” as recited in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SPINA (US PG Pub 2023/0122692; cited in previous office action) in view of LADKANI (US PG Pub 2021/0141626; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, SPINA discloses a charge system (¶ 0043: system 100 generally comprises one or more charging stations 110…, one or more electric vehicles 130….electric vehicles 130 may be connectable to the charging stations 110 to recharge batteries within the electric vehicles) comprising:
electric vehicle supply equipment (110, Fig. 1; 110, 116, Fig. 2; ¶ 0050: charging stations 110 includes….a station controller 116) including a processor (116, Fig. 2) having software code (¶ 0094: charger controller 116 and/or the vehicle controller 134 may be implemented as one or more processors executing software. The software may be stored in non-transitory computer readable media (e.g., nonvolatile memory). The software, when executed by the processors, may cause the processors to perform at least the method 300 for brand identification by an electric vehicle to a charging station, and the 340 for brand identification by a charging station to an electric vehicle) for detecting whether a pilot connection (at cable 112, Fig. 2, which transmits a control pilot signal CP; ¶ 0051: control pilot signal (CP) may be generated by the station controller 116 and transferred through the cable 112) exists with a vehicle interface (132, Fig. 2; ¶ 0050: electric vehicle 130 includes a socket 132) of a vehicle (130, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0052: A voltage drop (e.g., from +12 volts to +9 volts) caused by the first resistor R1, the diode D1 and the third resistor R3 may be sensed by the station detector 120 and the vehicle detector 136 to indicate that the electric vehicle 130 has been detected (or state B)) and software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle (¶ 0042: a sending end requests a toggle from the receiving end) a pilot switch (S2, Fig. 2) a predetermined number of cycles (¶ 0074: The second vehicle pattern illustrates three toggles down) wherein the processor is further programmed to, responsive to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number (¶ 0074: Referring to FIG. 10, a graph 260 on an example second vehicle pattern is shown in accordance with one or more exemplary embodiments. The second vehicle pattern illustrates three toggles down. The X axis 232 of the graph 260 shows time in units of seconds. The Y axis 234 of the graph 260 shows the control pilot signal in units of voltage. A curve 236b illustrates the control pilot signal as a function of time; ¶ 0075: second vehicle pattern 252b includes several transitions 254a-254f between the +6 volt level and the +3 volt level during the vehicle time limit 256. The second vehicle pattern 252b may be distinguishable from the first vehicle pattern 252a in the charging station 110; ¶ 0086: charging station 110 maps the vehicle pattern just detected to a vehicle brand), permit charging of a battery of the vehicle via the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0043: electric vehicles 130 may be connectable to the charging stations 110 to recharge batteries within the electric vehicles…the charging stations 110 may adjust a cost for recharging or possibly deny recharging of non-authorized brands of the electric vehicles 13; it is implied that an authorized brand of vehicle will be permitted to charge).
SPINA fails to disclose a first file including software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists; and a second file partitioned from the first file including software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch.
LADKANI discloses a first file including software code, and a second file portioned from the first file including software code (¶ 0032: the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 is separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 comprises one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102; ¶ 0064: the RW partition 122-N that includes the existing service module may be one of a plurality of independently updateable RW partitions. That is, the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 may be separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 is one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide the software code of the charge system into first and second partitioned files, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code of the charge system divided into first and second partitioned files as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 7, SPINA discloses a method comprising:
accessing by a processor (116, Fig. 2) of electric vehicle supply equipment (110, Fig. 1; 110, 116, Fig. 2; ¶ 0050: charging stations 110 includes….a station controller 116) software code (¶ 0094: charger controller 116 and/or the vehicle controller 134 may be implemented as one or more processors executing software. The software may be stored in non-transitory computer readable media (e.g., nonvolatile memory). The software, when executed by the processors, may cause the processors to perform at least the method 300 for brand identification by an electric vehicle to a charging station, and the 340 for brand identification by a charging station to an electric vehicle) for detecting whether a pilot connection (at cable 112, Fig. 2, which transmits a control pilot signal CP; ¶ 0051: control pilot signal (CP) may be generated by the station controller 116 and transferred through the cable 112) exists with a vehicle interface (132, Fig. 2; ¶ 0050: electric vehicle 130 includes a socket 132) of a vehicle (130, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0052: A voltage drop (e.g., from +12 volts to +9 volts) caused by the first resistor R1, the diode D1 and the third resistor R3 may be sensed by the station detector 120 and the vehicle detector 136 to indicate that the electric vehicle 130 has been detected (or state B));
accessing by the processor software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle (¶ 0042: a sending end requests a toggle from the receiving end) a pilot switch (S2, Fig. 2) a predetermined number of cycles (¶ 0074: The second vehicle pattern illustrates three toggles down); and
responsive to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number (¶ 0074: Referring to FIG. 10, a graph 260 on an example second vehicle pattern is shown in accordance with one or more exemplary embodiments. The second vehicle pattern illustrates three toggles down. The X axis 232 of the graph 260 shows time in units of seconds. The Y axis 234 of the graph 260 shows the control pilot signal in units of voltage. A curve 236b illustrates the control pilot signal as a function of time; ¶ 0075: second vehicle pattern 252b includes several transitions 254a-254f between the +6 volt level and the +3 volt level during the vehicle time limit 256. The second vehicle pattern 252b may be distinguishable from the first vehicle pattern 252a in the charging station 110; ¶ 0086: charging station 110 maps the vehicle pattern just detected to a vehicle brand), charging a battery of the vehicle via the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0043: electric vehicles 130 may be connectable to the charging stations 110 to recharge batteries within the electric vehicles…the charging stations 110 may adjust a cost for recharging or possibly deny recharging of non-authorized brands of the electric vehicles 13; it is implied that an authorized brand of vehicle will be permitted to charge).
SPINA fails to disclose software code from a first file for detecting whether a pilot connection exists with a vehicle interface of a vehicle; and software code from a second file partitioned from the first file for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch a predetermined number of cycles.
LADKANI discloses software code from a first file, and software code from a second file partitioned from the first file (¶ 0032: the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 is separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 comprises one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102; ¶ 0064: the RW partition 122-N that includes the existing service module may be one of a plurality of independently updateable RW partitions. That is, the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 may be separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 is one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide the software code into first and second partitioned files, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code divided into first and second partitioned files as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Claim(s) 2-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SPINA in view of LADKANI as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of EMALFARB (US PG Pub 2011/0276194; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charge system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose software code for measuring grid AC voltage.
EMALFARB discloses software code for measuring grid AC voltage (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code for measuring grid AC voltage in order to provide grid frequency regulation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0019, 0028) and/or for determining grid failure (EMALFARB, ¶ 0024).
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the second file further includes software code for measuring grid AC voltage.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the second file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second file further includes software code for measuring grid AC voltage in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 3, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charge system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment.
EMALFARB discloses software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0029-0031, 0037-0038, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code for monitoring components as recited in order to provide grid frequency regulation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0019, 0028) and/or for extending the availability of local power during grid failure (EMALFARB, ¶ 0024).
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the second file further includes software code for monitoring components.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the second file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second file further includes software code for monitoring components as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 4, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charge system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle.
EMALFARB discloses software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for measuring a current flowing as recited in order to ensure charging system safety and/or to ensure optimal charging speed by regulating current flow.
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the first file further includes software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the first file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first file further includes software code for measuring a current flowing as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 5, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charge system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred.
EMALFARB discloses software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred (¶ 0029, 0034, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide protection from electrical shock.
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the first file further includes software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the first file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first file further includes software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 6, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the charge system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the electric vehicle supply equipment further includes a second processor in communication with the processor and programmed to communicate with an inverter separate from the vehicle.
EMALFARB discloses the electric vehicle supply equipment further includes a second processor (200, Fig. 2B) in communication with the processor (300/310, Figs. 1 & 2A) and programmed to communicate with an inverter separate from the vehicle (¶ 0028-0029, 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second processor and an inverter as recited in order to improve the power quality by providing voltage stabilization/compensation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 8, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the method as applied to claim 7 but fails to disclose accessing by the processor software code for measuring grid AC voltage.
EMALFARB discloses accessing by the processor software code for measuring grid AC voltage (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code for measuring grid AC voltage in order to provide grid frequency regulation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0019, 0028) and/or for determining grid failure (EMALFARB, ¶ 0024).
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach software code from the second file for measuring grid AC voltage.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the second file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code from the second file for measuring grid AC voltage in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 9, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the method as applied to claim 7 but fails to disclose accessing by the processor software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment.
EMALFARB discloses accessing by the processor software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0029-0031, 0037-0038, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code for monitoring components as recited in order to provide grid frequency regulation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0019, 0028) and/or for extending the availability of local power during grid failure (EMALFARB, ¶ 0024).
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach software code from the second file for monitoring components.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the second file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code from the second file for monitoring components as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 10, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the method as applied to claim 7 but fails to disclose accessing by the processor software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle.
EMALFARB discloses accessing by the processor software code for measuring a current flowing from the electric vehicle supply equipment to the vehicle (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for measuring a current flowing as recited in order to ensure charging system safety and/or to ensure optimal charging speed by regulating current flow.
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach software code from the first file for measuring a current.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the first file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code from the first file for measuring a current as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 11, SPINA as modified by LADKANI teaches the method as applied to claim 7 but fails to disclose accessing by the processor software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred.
EMALFARB discloses accessing by the processor software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred (¶ 0029, 0034, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide protection from electrical shock.
SPINA as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach software code from the first file for detecting a ground fault interrupt.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the first file of SPINA as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code from the first file for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIFTAKHOV (US PG Pub 2016/0257214; cited in previous office action) in view of LADKANI (US PG Pub 2021/0141626; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 12, MIFTAKHOV discloses electric vehicle supply equipment (comprising at least 110, 120, 140 and 150, Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (140, Fig. 1) having thereon software code (¶ 0062-0067: Element 140—Master Controller/Server: An electric vehicle charging controller with the following features: a. Connections to various electrical meters on site and the capacity to read those meters; b. Connection to user application hosted on outside server and/or station controls; c. Logic to determine appropriate charging output in response to one or more meter readings; d. Capacity to direct EV charging stations (150) to vary charging load to one or more electric vehicles based upon internal logic; e. Capacity to incorporate and store custom presets regarding the local circuit and/or utility feeder, frequency response requirements, and/or CVR requirements; software is implied) for detecting current flow from the electric vehicle supply equipment (150, Fig. 1) to a vehicle (180, Fig. 1) connected therewith (¶ 0059: Element 110—Meter: Electricity meter(s) for reading current, frequency, and/or voltage from the electricity line to an individual EV charging station. Capable of returning meter readings via communication path to one or more EV charging station(s). This meter may be integrated into the EV charging station), and software code for measuring grid AC voltage (¶ 0060: Element 120—Meter: Electricity meter for reading current, frequency, and/or voltage from the electricity line to the entire site. Capable of returning meter readings via communication path to one or more EV charging station(s); ¶ 0057: individual EVSEs and/or groups of EVSEs are configured to measure any or all of the following parameters: grid frequency, grid voltage), wherein the processor is programmed to permit continued charging of a battery of the vehicle responsive to a predefined condition related to the current flow and grid AC voltage being satisfied (¶ 0006: This ability to reduce instantaneous charging power can be utilized to modulate the instantaneous power drawn from a collection of EVs by modulating charging current via EV charging stations. Such modulation capability can then be used to provide various stabilization services to the Electrical Grid (e.g., Demand Management, Frequency Regulation, Peak Shaving, Economic Demand Response, etc.); ¶ 0056: Frequency Response: With this capability, EVSEs automatically senses a frequency drop on the grid and cease charging to help stabilize grid frequency. EVSEs will represent significant grid loads in the future electricity system, so the capability to automatically and quickly reduce charging load in response to grid frequency can provide great benefits to the grid at a very low cost; ¶ 0057: individual EVSEs and/or groups of EVSEs are configured to measure any or all of the following parameters: grid frequency, grid voltage, customer electrical load, individual EVSE load, and aggregated EVSE load. In one or more embodiments, individual EVSEs and/or groups of EVSEs with on board logic to respond to any or all of the above measurements. On-board logic may seek to optimize supply current to any or all of the following functions: dynamic load sharing, load coordination with on site renewables, conservation voltage reduction, and/or frequency response. In one or more embodiments, individual EVSEs and/or groups of EVSEs are provided with on-board capability to vary their supply current to plug-in electric vehicles in response to the on-board logic described above).
MIFTAKHOV fails to disclose a first file including software code for detecting current flow from the electric vehicle supply equipment; and a second file partitioned from the first file including software code for measuring grid AC voltage.
LADKANI discloses a first file including software code, and a second file partitioned from the first file including software code (¶ 0032: the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 is separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 comprises one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102; ¶ 0064: the RW partition 122-N that includes the existing service module may be one of a plurality of independently updateable RW partitions. That is, the non-volatile memory 110 of the BMC 102 may be separated into a plurality of independently updatable RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N. Each of the RW partitions 122-1, 122-2, 122-3, . . . , 122-N comprises a service module 124, and the service module 124 is one or more files related to a service that is provided by the BMC 102). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide the software code of the electric vehicle supply equipment into first and second partitioned files, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code divided into first and second partitioned files as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIFTAKHOV in view of LADKANI as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of SPINA (US PG Pub 2023/0122692; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 13, MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment as applied to claim 12, but fails to disclose software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists with a vehicle interface of the vehicle.
SPINA discloses software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists with a vehicle interface of the vehicle (¶ 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists in order to facilitate the identification of the brand of the vehicle at authorized stations and provide customized battery charging which extends battery life (SPINA, ¶ 0002-0003).
MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and SPINA fails to teach the first file further includes software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists with a vehicle interface of the vehicle.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of SPINA in the second file of MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first file further includes software code for detecting whether a pilot connection exists in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 14, MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and SPINA teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment as applied to claim 13, but fails to disclose software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch a predetermined number of cycles.
SPINA further discloses software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch a predetermined number of cycles (¶ 0042, 0074-0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch as recited in order to facilitate the identification of the brand of the vehicle at authorized stations and provide customized battery charging which extends battery life (SPINA, ¶ 0002-0003).
MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and SPINA fails to teach the second file further includes software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch a predetermined number of cycles.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of SPINA in the second file of MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second file further includes software code for requesting the vehicle interface to toggle a pilot switch as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 15, MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and SPINA teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment as applied to claim 14, but fails to disclose the predefined condition is further related to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number.
SPINA further discloses the predefined condition is further related to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number (¶ 0043, 0074-0075, 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the predefined condition is further related to a measured number of cycles matching the predetermined number in order to facilitate the identification of the brand of the vehicle at authorized stations and provide customized battery charging which extends battery life (SPINA, ¶ 0002-0003).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIFTAKHOV in view of LADKANI as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of EMALFARB (US PG Pub 2011/0276194; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 16, MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment as applied to claim 12, but fails to disclose software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment.
EMALFARB discloses software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0029-0031, 0037-0038, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include software code for monitoring components in order to provide grid frequency regulation (EMALFARB, ¶ 0019, 0028) and/or for extending the availability of local power during grid failure (EMALFARB, ¶ 0024).
MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the second file further includes software code for monitoring components that can facilitate bidirectional power transfer to and from the electric vehicle supply equipment.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the second file of MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second file further includes software code for monitoring components as recited in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Regarding claim 17, MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment of claim 12, but fails to disclose software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred.
EMALFARB discloses software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred (¶ 0029, 0034, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide protection from electrical shock.
MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI and EMALFARB fails to teach the first file further includes software code for detecting whether a ground fault interrupt has occurred.
However, LADKANI discloses separating software code into multiple files as described above. Providing the software code of EMALFARB in the first file of MIFTAKHOV as modified by LADKANI does not provide new or unexpected results, and would an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first file further includes software code for detecting a ground fault interrupt in order to provide individually updatable modules and therefore increase the availability of the system during an update (LADKANI, ¶ 0015, 0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 2/28/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859