DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“peeled off form the first current collector” is recited in Line 2 and should read --peeled off from the first current collector--.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the first roll 101 is” and “the second roll 102 is” and “the third roll 103 is” are recited in Lines 3-4, however 101, 102, 103 are figure annotations as put forth by applicant in the instant drawings Fig. 2, whereby the limitation should read --the first roll (101) is-- and --the second roll (102) is-- and --the third roll (103) is--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by ultrasonic vibrations”, however claim 7 upon which claim 8 depends recites “the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper”, such that it is unclear if claim 8 that depends from claim 7 is further limiting the scraper, thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Therefore, the examiner will interpret claim 8 in light of the instant specification, whereby as put forth in the instant specification, a scraper is for example ultrasonic vibrations (see [0044]), and read said limitation as --the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper, wherein the scraper is ultrasonic vibrations--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO2021029545 (A1) and using U.S. PGPub US 2022/0200075 A1 as Machine Translation of English version), hereinafter Lim, in view of Tanii et al. (U.S. Patent US 6,524,737 B1), hereinafter Tanii.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an electrode manufacturing method comprising:
(a) preparing a first electrode including a first current collector and a first active material layer (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0042] a slurry prepared by weighing LiCoO2 as an active material, Super P as a conductive material and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF) as a binder, etc., adding N-methyl pyrrolidone (NMP) and mixing them is coated on a sheet type current collector of an aluminum foil and dried in a vacuum oven at 120°C to manufacture an electrode sheet, and positive electrode scrap remaining after punching a positive electrode plate of a predetermined size is prepared, etc., such that an electrode sheet is at least a first active material layer, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0040]-[0041], [0045], Figs. 1-2, Fig. 6, [0092]);
(b) separating the first current collector and the first active material layer (i.e., at least screening by sieving to collect the active material layer flakes completely separated from the current collector fragments, etc., as disclosed in [0055], also see [0043]-[0046], [0046], [0048]-[0062], [0092]);
(c) processing the first active material layer into wet particles (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0018] whereby reusable particles are obtained by separating an active material layer from electrode scrap in the form of flakes, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0063] the flakes are mixed with NMP without separate treatment to prepare a slurry, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that flakes are at least particles and mixing said flakes with NMP (solvent) at least provides said particles (i.e., flakes) are wet, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0008], [0011]-[0012], [0018], [0064]-[0065], [0092]);
(d) shaping the wet particles into a second active material layer (i.e., at least positive electrode active material layer ref. 320 (Fig. 6) is formed by coating with a slurry and drying, and the slurry is 100% of the reusable particles obtained through the reuse method of electrode scrap, etc., or is prepared by mixing the reusable particles with the existing slurry as disclosed in [0070], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said electrode active material layer ref. 320 is at least “shaped” so as to be in sheet form as shown in Fig. 6, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said shaping, also see [0062]-[0067], Fig. 6, [0092]); and
(e) disposing the second active material layer on a surface of a second current collector, such that a second electrode is manufactured (i.e., at least slurry prepared as described above is coated on a current collector and dried to fabricate a recycled electrode as disclosed in [0066] and shown in Fig. 6 (ref. 310), lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0067]-[0074], [0092]),
wherein the first active material layer includes an active material and a binder (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0042] a slurry prepared by weighing LiCoO2 as an active material, Super P as a conductive material and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF) as a binder, etc., adding N-methyl pyrrolidone (NMP) and mixing them is coated on a sheet type current collector of an aluminum foil and dried in a vacuum oven at 120°C to manufacture an electrode sheet, and whereby as disclosed in [0062] the reusable particles may be used to fabricate another electrode without adjusting the composition, or in combination with the same slurry as the slurry used to form the active material, that is, the original composition of the active material, the conductive material and the binder is used, etc.),
and the second active material layer includes the active material and the binder (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0062] the reusable particles may be used to fabricate another electrode without adjusting the composition, or in combination with the same slurry as the slurry used to form the active material, that is, the original composition of the active material, the conductive material and the binder is used, etc., such that as disclosed in [0066] the slurry prepared as described above is coated on a current collector and dried to fabricate a recycled electrode, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Fig. 6, [0067]-[0074], [0092]).
However, Lim is silent as to peeling the first active material layer off from the first current collector.
Tanii teaches a method for crushing cell (Title). Tanii further teaches C12:L23-27 Fig. 2 is a flow chart of a process to dismantle lithium ion batteries which is related to the second preferred embodiment of this invention, whereby instead of using ball vibration to peel the metal foil from the electrodes as in Fig. 1, ultrasonic vibration is used, which at least provides peeling the first active material layer off from the first current collector, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see C12:L28-35, C23:L13-24, C24:12-18, C28:L61-67, Fig. 2, Fig. 3). Tanii further teaches in C6:L22-26 the objective of this invention is to provide a safe and efficient process by which used lithium ion batteries could be dismantled, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lim with the teachings of Tanii, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by Lim further includes peeling the first active material layer off from the first current collector (i.e., peeling the metal foil from the electrodes using ultrasonic vibration, etc.) as taught by Tanii so as to provide a safe and efficient process by which used lithium ion batteries could be dismantled, etc.
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further discloses the first active material layer further includes an electroconductive material (i.e., at least Super P as a conductive material as discussed above in claim 1, also see [0016], [0042], [0045]-[0046], [0062]-[0063], [0069], [0075], [0089], [0092]),
and the second active material layer further includes the electroconductive material (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0062] the reusable particles may be used to fabricate another electrode without adjusting the composition, or in combination with the same slurry as the slurry used to form the active material, that is, the original composition of the active material, the conductive material and the binder is used, etc., such that as disclosed in [0066] the slurry prepared as described above is coated on a current collector and dried to fabricate a recycled electrode, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Fig. 6, [0067]-[0074], [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further discloses the first active material layer and a solvent are mixed when the first active material layer is processed into the wet particles (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0018] whereby reusable particles are obtained by separating an active material layer from electrode scrap in the form of flakes, etc., such that as disclosed in [0063] the flakes are mixed with NMP without separate treatment to prepare a slurry, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that flakes are at least particles and mixing said flakes with NMP (solvent) at least provides said particles (i.e., flakes) are wet, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0008], [0011]-[0012], [0018], [0064]-[0065], [0092]).
Regarding claims 6-8, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. However, with regards to claim 6, Lim is silent as to a solvent is dispersed upon the first active material layer when peeling the first active material layer off form the first current collector. Furthermore, with regards to claim 7, Lim is silent as to the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper. Furthermore, with regards to claim 8, Lim is silent as to the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper, wherein the scraper is ultrasonic vibrations.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Tanii further teaches C12:L23-27 Fig. 2 is a flow chart of a process to dismantle lithium ion batteries which is related to the second preferred embodiment of this invention, whereby instead of using ball vibration to peel the metal foil from the electrodes as in Fig. 1, ultrasonic vibration is used, which at least provides the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper (with regards to claim 7), and further provides the first active material layer is peeled off from the first current collector by a scraper, wherein the scraper is ultrasonic vibrations (with regards to claim 8), such that as evidenced by the instant specification in [0044] ultrasonic vibrations are at least a scraper or the like, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see C12:L28-35, C23:L13-24, C24:12-18, C28:L61-67, Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
Tanii further teaches in C23:L20-61 a stripper is combined with ultrasonic vibration to strip the metal foil from the electrodes, etc., whereby Synthol YS (product name), a weak cationic compound made by Nisshin Chemical Laboratory Corp. (N, N-dipolyoxyethylene-N-alkylamine, phosphoric acid) is used as a stripper ref. 13, etc., is submerged in a 1% solution of the stripper and subjected to ultrasonic vibration for eight minutes (ref. S16), which results in the entire lithium cobalt oxide sheet peeling off the aluminum foil with no damage, etc., which at least provides a solvent is dispersed upon the first active material layer when peeling the first active material layer off form the first current collector (with regards to claim 6), such that a solution of the stripper is at least contains and/or is a solvent so as perform said stripping process, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Tanii further teaches in C6:L22-26 the objective of this invention is to provide a safe and efficient process by which used lithium ion batteries could be dismantled, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lim with the teachings of Tanii, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by Lim further includes peeling the first active material layer off from the first current collector (i.e., peeling the metal foil from the electrodes using ultrasonic vibration, stripper, etc.) as taught by Tanii so as to provide a safe and efficient process by which used lithium ion batteries could be dismantled, etc.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Tanii as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0190017 A1), hereinafter Hayashi.
Regarding claims 9-12, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 5. However, with regards to claim 9, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are crushed or granulated at the mixing of the first active material layer and the solvent. Furthermore, with regards to claim 10, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are processed so as to have a D50 of 4 mm or less, D50 of the wet particles indicating a particle size in which the cumulative frequency in order from the smallest particle sizes reaches 50% in mass (count)-based particle size distribution. Furthermore, with regards to claim 11, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are processed so as to have a D50 of 0.1 mm to 4 mm, D50 of the wet particles indicating a particle size in which the cumulative frequency in order from the smallest particle sizes reaches 50% in a mass (count)-based particle size distribution. Furthermore, with regards to claim 12, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are processed so as to have a D50 of 0.5mm to 2 mm, D50 of the wet particles indicating a particle size in which the cumulative frequency in order from the smallest particle sizes reaches 50% in a mass (count)-based particle size distribution.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in at least claims 1 and 5. Hayashi teaches in [0045]-[0047] as shown in Fig. 1, active material particles ref. 1, the solvent, etc., may be mixed to prepare composite particles ref. 5 (granules) etc., such that the preparation of composite particles ref. 5 may be carried out by wet granulation, etc., which at least provides wet particles are granulated at the mixing of the first active material layer and the solvent (with regards to claim 9), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Hayashi further teaches in [0049] composite particles ref. 5 may be prepared so as to have a D50 not lower than 0.5 mm and not higher than 2 mm, etc., which at least provides a range within the claimed ranges of the wet particles are processed so as to have a D50 of 4 mm or less (with regards to claim 10), a D50 of 0.1 mm to 4 mm (with regards to claim 11), a D50 of 0.5mm to 2 mm (with regards to claim 12), D50 of the wet particles indicating a particle size in which the cumulative frequency in order from the smallest particle sizes reaches 50% in a mass (count)-based particle size distribution, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Hayashi further teaches in [0005] an object of the present disclosure is to provide an electrode for electric storage devices, in which the electrode can have a low direct-current resistance during discharge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii with the teachings of Hayashi, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii further include the wet particles granulated at the mixing of the first active material layer and the solvent so as to have D50 within the claimed ranges as taught by Hayashi so as to provide an electrode for electric storage devices, in which the electrode can have a low direct-current resistance during discharge.
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 11. Lim further discloses in [0042] the current collector is aluminum foil, which at least provides the first current collector foil is aluminum foil, lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Lim is silent as to a mass ratio of a composition of the first active material layers is LiFePO4/CNT /CMC / SBR = 95.5 / 2 / 1.2 / 1.3.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Hayashi disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in at least claim 11. Hayashi further teaches in [0053] active material particles ref. 1 may be positive electrode active material particles, whereby the positive electrode active material particles may be particles of LiFePO4, for example. Hayashi further teaches in [0055]-[0058] the conductive material assists formation of conductive paths, etc., whereby the content of the conductive material maybe, for example, not lower than 0.1 part by mass and not higher than 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of active material particles ref. 1, such that by using carbon short fibers as the conductive material, direct-current resistance during discharge is expected to be decreased, such that said carbon short fibers may be carbon nanotubes (CNT), for example. Hayashi further teaches in [0060]-[0064] the binder binds active material particles ref. 1 together, whereby the content of the binder may be, for example, not lower than 0.1 part by mass and not higher than 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of active material particles ref. 1, such that the binder contains a component that is tacky, whereby examples of the tackifier component included CMC (i.e., carboxymethylcellulose), and the binder contains a component that has a high binding capacity in its dry state (hereinafter, the component is called “binding component”), whereby examples include SBR, and such that the binder may contain one of the tackifier component and the binding component. Therefore, since Hayashi teaches positive electrode active material particles may be particles of LiFePO4, and further teaches the content of the conductive material maybe, for example, not lower than 0.1 part by mass and not higher than 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of active material particles (e.g., CNTs as discussed above), and further teaches the content of the binder may be, for example, not lower than 0.1 part by mass and not higher than 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of active material particles (e.g., tackifier component such as CMC and binding component such as SBR, etc.), this at least provides, relative to 100 parts by mass of active material particles (e.g., LiFePO4), a range of ratio values of active material particles (LiFePO4) to conductive material (e.g., CNT) to tackifier component (e.g., SBR) to binding component (SBR) that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of LiFePO4/CNT/CMC/SBR = 95.5/2/1.2/1.3, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I., II.).
Hayashi further teaches in [0005] an object of the present disclosure is to provide an electrode for electric storage devices, in which the electrode can have a low direct-current resistance during discharge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Hayashi further with the teachings of Hayashi, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Hayashi further includes LiFePO4, CNT, CMC, SBR, etc., as taught by Hayashi so as to provide an electrode for electric storage devices, in which the electrode can have a low direct-current resistance during discharge.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Tanii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugihara et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0219249 A1), hereinafter Sugihara.
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lim is silent as to a solid content fraction of the wet particles is 70% or more.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Sugihara teaches a method for manufacturing a battery (Title). Sugihara further teaches in [0064] LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2 (NCM) as a positive electrode active material, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF) as a binder, and acetylene black (AB) as a conductive material were mixed, etc., whereby next, the resulting mixture and N-methyl-2pyrrolidone (NMP) as a solvent were loaded into the granulation device to form positive electrode wet granulated particles having a solid content ratio of 75 mass % (granulation step), etc., which at least provides a value of wet particles that is within the claimed range of a solid content fraction of the wet particles is 70% or more, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0006], [0009], [0014], [0017], [0028]-[0037], [0039-[0041], [0085]-[0086]).
Sugihara further teaches in [0005] an object thereof is to efficiently manufacture a battery having excellent battery performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii with the teachings of Sugihara, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii further includes a solid content fraction of the wet particles is 70% or more as taught by Sugihara so as to efficiently manufacture a battery having excellent battery performance.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Tanii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugihara et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0219249 A1), hereinafter Sugihara, or in the alternative, and further in view of Hiroya et al. (JP2015201318(A) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Hiroya.
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are shaped into the second active material layer, the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by roll forming.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Sugihara teaches a method for manufacturing a battery (Title). Sugihara further teaches in [0065] next, the obtained positive electrode wet granulated particles were subjected to a forming process using the deposition/transfer device to form positive electrode active material layers on positive electrode current collectors (deposition step), whereby as further taught in [0084] in, e.g., the deposition step, the positive electrode wet granulated particles obtained in the granulation step are subjected to a forming process to form the positive electrode active material layer on the positive electrode current collector, etc., and whereby said deposition/transfer device is discussed in [0037] and includes three rolls supported on a rotation shaft and configured to be rotatable, the three rolls are arranged in a predetermined direction (also see [0034]-[0037] with regards to said deposition step and/or forming process and Japanese ) which at least provides the wet particles are shaped into the second active material layer (i.e., at least shaped so as to provide a positive electrode active material layer on the positive electrode current collector), and further provides the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by roll forming (i.e., at least shaped in a sheet by roll forming so as to formed by said deposition/transfer device that includes three rolls supported on a rotation shaft and configured to be rotatable, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0006], [0009], [0014], [0017], [0028]-[0037], [0039-[0041], [0085]-[0086]).
Sugihara further teaches in [0005] an object thereof is to efficiently manufacture a battery having excellent battery performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii with the teachings of Sugihara, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii further includes the wet particles are shaped into the second active material layer, the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by roll forming as taught by Sugihara so as to efficiently manufacture a battery having excellent battery performance.
In the alternative, Hiroya teaches a manufacturing method of electrode sheet (Title). Hiroya further teaches in [0008] the manufacturing method of the electrode sheet proposed here includes: a granulation step of obtaining wet granules containing active material particles, a binder, and a solvent; a molding step of obtaining a green body in a planar or block shape by molding an aggregate of granules obtained in the granulation step; and a step of forming a film on the green body obtained in the molding step and transferring the film to a current collector. Hiroya further teaches in [0016] the film-forming roll ref. 11 and the transfer roll ref. 12 rotate in opposite directions from top to bottom with respect to the portions where their outer circumferential surfaces face each other, and between the film-forming roll ref. 11 and the transfer roll ref. 12, for example, the granulated material ref. 2 is placed, and since the film-forming roll ref. 11 and the transfer roll ref. 12 rotate in opposite directions, the input granules ref. 2 are drawn into the area where the film-forming roll ref. 11 and the transfer roll ref. 12 face each other, and the drawn granules ref. 2 are sandwiched between a film-forming roll ref. 11 and a transfer roll ref. 12 to form a film (formed into a film shape), etc., which at least provides the wet particles (wet granules as discussed above) are shaped into the second active material layer (i.e., at least shaped so as form a planar or block shape), the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by roll forming (i.e., at least film-forming rolls, etc., as discussed above), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Figs. 3-6).
Hiroya further teaches [0044] this manufacturing method is therefore suitable for mass production, making it possible to provide electrode sheets at low cost, and since variation in the edges of the mixture layer can be kept small, the battery performance can be stabilized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Sugihara with the teachings of Hiroya, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Sugihara further includes the wet particles are shaped into the second active material layer, the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by roll forming as taught by Hiroya so as to provide a manufacturing method that is therefore suitable for mass production, making it possible to provide electrode sheets at low cost, and since variation in the edges of the mixture layer can be kept small, the battery performance can be stabilized.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Tanii and Sugihara, or in the alternative, in view of Hiroya as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Uezono et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2016/0211504 A1), hereinafter Uezono.
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 3. However, Lim is silent as to the wet particles are shaped into a sheet by three roll mill, and when a rotation speed of the first roll (101) is ω1, a rotation speed of the second roll (102) is ω2, and a rotation speed of the third roll (103) is ω3, a relation of " ωl < ω2 < ω3" is satisfied.
The combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Sugihara, or in the alternative Hiroya, disclose the electrode manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 3. Uezono teaches a method of manufacturing electrode (Title), whereby as taught in [0025] as illustrated in Fig. 1, when the electrode is manufactured, wet granules are formed by mixing a least conductive material, an electrode active material, a binding material, and a solvent (Step S1), and thereafter, the wet granules formed in Step S1 are rolled, thereby forming an electrode mixture layer on an electrode current collector Step S2, etc. Uezono further teaches in [0040] a film forming process (Step S2) of Fig. 1, that is, the process of forming the electrode mixture layer on the electrode current collector by rolling the wet granules formed in Step S1 will be described in Fig. 4, etc. Uezono further teaches in [0042] and Fig. 4 the application roll ref. 21 rotates in an arrow A direction (counterclockwise in FIG. 4), whereby the drawing roll ref. 22 rotates in an arrow B direction (clockwise in FIG. 4), that is, a rotational direction of the drawing roll ref. 22 is opposite to a rotational direction of the application roll ref. 21, and in addition, the transfer roll ref. 23 rotates in a arrow C direction (clockwise in FIG. 4), that is, a rotational direction of the transfer roll ref. 23 is opposite to the rotational direction of the application roll ref. 21, such that for example, the rotational speed of the application roll ref. 21 is faster than that of the drawing roll ref. 22, and the rotational speed of the transfer roll ref. 23 is faster than that of the application roll ref. 21, which at least provides wet particles (i.e., at least wet granules) are shaped into a sheet by three roll mill (i.e., at least electrode mixture layer shaped by application roll, drawing roll and transfer roll, etc.), and when a rotation speed of the first roll (101) is ω1 (i.e., at least drawing roll ref. 22), a rotation speed of the second roll (102) is ω2 (i.e., at least application roll ref. 21), and a rotation speed of the third roll (103) is ω3 (i.e., at least transfer roll ref. 23), a relation of " ωl < ω2 < ω3" is satisfied.
Uezono further teaches in [0009] according to an aspect of the present invention, the malleability of wet granules is enhanced, and thus the generation of pinholes or streaks in an electrode mixture layer formed by rolling the wet granules is prevented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Sugihara, or in the alternative Hiroya, with the teachings of Uezono, whereby the electrode manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lim and Tanii and Sugihara, or in the alternative Hiroya, further includes wet particles are shaped into a sheet by three roll mill, and when a rotation speed of the first roll (101) is ω1, a rotation speed of the second roll (102) is ω2, and a rotation speed of the third roll (103) is ω3, a relation of " ωl < ω2 < ω3" is satisfied as taught by Uezono so that the malleability of wet granules is enhanced, and thus the generation of pinholes or streaks in an electrode mixture layer formed by rolling the wet granules is prevented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Lim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, in light of the amendment(s) to the claim(s), a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made for claims 1 and 4-8 in view of Lim and Tanii. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoda et al. (WO 2020/162285 A1 and using U.S. PGPub US 2022/0123274 A1 as English version), discloses a method of manufacturing battery electrode (Title), whereby in [0071]-[0073] in the granulation step, powders containing an electrode active material, etc., are mixed using a stirring device to produce granulated particles, whereby the granulation step can include a step of charging the electrode active material, a liquid component, etc., into a container of the stirring device and stirring these materials to manufacture granulated particles, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/MILTON I CANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1723