DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " front header contacts", “rear header contacts”, “front central header contacts”, and “rear central header contacts” in lines 18-19, 24-25, 31, and 37, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-21 include all the limitations of claim 13 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-14, 16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (5,921,787) in view of Chen (2021/0305732).
With regard to claim 1, Pope teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 3 lines 26-31 and column 4 lines 17-46: “An electrical connector system 10 and 11 comprising: a receptacle connector assembly 10 including a receptacle connector housing 16 holding receptacle contacts 14 and 15 in a plurality of rows, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a mounting end (bottom end of 16 in figure 3) and a mating end (top end of 16 in figure 3) opposite the mounting end, the mounting end configured to be mounted to a circuit board (taught in column 3 lines 26-31), the receptacle connector housing 16 having a front wall 20 extending longitudinally between a first end (upper-left end of 16 in figure 1) and a second end (lower-right end of 16 in figure 1) of the receptacle connector housing 16, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a rear wall 21 extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a central wall 19 positioned laterally between the front wall 20 and the rear wall 21 and extending parallel to the front wall 20 and the rear wall 21, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a front receptacle (where 32 is received in figure 3a) between the front wall 21 and the central wall 19, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a rear receptacle (where 34 is received in figure 3a) between the rear wall 21 and the central wall 19, the front and rear receptacles being open at the first and second ends of the receptacle connector housing 16, the receptacle contacts including front receptacle contacts 15, rear receptacle contacts 15, front central receptacle contacts 14 and rear central receptacle contacts 14, the front receptacle contacts 15 extending along the front wall 20 and exposed at the front receptacle, the rear receptacle contacts 15 extending along the rear wall 21 and exposed at the rear receptacle, the front central receptacle contacts 14 extending along a front side (lower-left side of 19 in figure 1) of the central wall 19 and exposed at the front receptacle, the rear central receptacle contacts 14 extending along a rear side (upper-right side of 19 in figure 1) of the central wall 19 and exposed at the rear receptacle, wherein the front receptacle contacts 15 and the front central receptacle contacts 14 are laterally offset on opposite sides of the front receptacle and longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the front receptacle (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46), and wherein the rear receptacle contacts 15 and the rear central receptacle contacts 14 are laterally offset on opposite sides of the rear receptacle and longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the rear receptacle (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46); a header connector 11 configured to be mated with the receptacle connector 10, the header connector 11 including a header connector housing 30 holding header contacts 14 and 15 in a plurality of rows, the header connector housing 30 having a mounting end (upper end of 30 in figure 3) and a mating end (lower end of 30 in figure 3) opposite the mounting end, the mounting end configured to be mounted to a circuit board (taught in column 3 lines 26-31), the mating end of the header connector housing 30 being mated to the mating end of the receptacle connector housing 16, the header connector housing 30 having a front outer wall 35 extending longitudinally between a first end (lower-right end of 30 in figure 2) and a second end (upper-left end of 30 in figure 2) of the header connector housing 30, the header connector housing 30 having a rear outer wall 36 extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end, the header connector housing 30 having a front inner wall 32 positioned laterally between the front outer wall 20 and the rear outer wall 21 closer to the front outer wall 35 than the rear outer wall 36, the header connector housing 30 having a rear inner wall 34 positioned laterally between the front outer wall 20 and the rear outer wall 21 closer to the rear outer wall 36 than the front outer wall 35, the header connector housing 30 having a front slot between the front outer wall 35 and the front inner wall 32, the header connector housing 30 having a rear slot between the rear outer wall 36 and the rear inner wall 34, the header connector housing 30 having a central slot between the front inner wall 32 and the rear inner wall 34, the front slot receiving the front wall 20 of the receptacle connector housing, the rear slot receiving the rear wall 21 of the receptacle connector housing 16, the central slot receiving the central wall 19 of the receptacle connector housing 16, the header contacts including front header contacts 14, rear header contacts 14, front central header contacts 15 and rear central header contacts 16, the front header contacts 14 extending along a front side of the front inner wall 32 and exposed at the front slot, the rear header contacts 14 extending along a rear side of the rear inner wall 34 and exposed at the rear slot, the front central header contacts 15 extending along a rear side of the front inner wall 32 and exposed at the central slot, the rear central header contacts 15 extending along a front side of the rear inner wall 34 and exposed at the central slot, wherein the front header contacts 14 and the front central header contacts 15 are longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the front inner wall 32 (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46), and wherein the rear header contacts 14 and the rear central header contacts 15 are longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the rear inner wall 34 (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46); wherein the front wall 20 of the receptacle connector housing 16 is received in the front slot of the header connector housing 30, the rear wall 21 of the receptacle connector housing 16 is received in the rear slot of the header connector housing 30, and the central wall 19 of the receptacle connector housing 16 is received in the central slot of the header connector housing 30; and wherein the front receptacle contacts 15… are electrically connected with corresponding front header contacts 14… at exposed surfaces thereof, the rear receptacle contacts 15 are… electrically connected with corresponding rear header contacts 14… at exposed surfaces thereof, the front central receptacle contacts 14 are… electrically connected with corresponding front central header contacts 15… at exposed surfaces thereof, the rear central receptacle contacts 14 are… electrically connected with corresponding rear central header contacts 15… at exposed surfaces thereof”.
Pope does not teach the receptacle contacts connected to the header contacts “at multiple points of contact” or “are split into parallel mating portions at a seam that is parallel with a mating direction of the receptacle connector assembly with the header connector to form coplanar mating interfaces”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-5, the receptacle contacts 40 connected to the header contacts 20 “at multiple points of contact 42” or “are split into parallel mating portions 42 at a seam (running up-and-down between 42 in figure 10) that is parallel with a mating direction (up-down direction in figure 10) of the receptacle connector assembly 3a with the header connector 1a to form coplanar mating interfaces”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Chen with the invention of Pope in order to create a shunted connection between the receptacle contacts and the header contacts (Chen, paragraph 53).
With regard to claim 2, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the receptacle connector housing 16 includes a base 18 at the mounting end, the front wall20 , the rear wall 21, and the central wall 19 extending from the base 18 to the mating end, the base 18 including contact channels 22 and 24 receiving the receptacle contacts, the receptacle contacts including terminating ends 14b and 15b extending from the base 19 for termination to the circuit board, and wherein the header connector housing 30 includes a base 31 at the mounting end, the front outer wall 35, the front inner wall 32, the rear inner wall 34, and the rear outer wall 36 extending from the base 31 to the mating end, the base 31 including contact channels 22 and 24 receiving the header contacts, the header contacts including terminating ends 14b and 15b extending from the base 31 for termination to the circuit board”.
With regard to claim 4, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein each receptacle contact includes a deflectable spring beam engaging the corresponding header contact, the spring beam being deflectable when mated to the header contact.” However, Pope teaches each of the receptacle connector and header connector using both deflectable spring beams. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to rearrange the invention to have each of the receptacle contacts be deflectable spring beams engaging corresponding header contacts in order to allow each connector to be composed with one type of mating portion. Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regard to claim 5, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 4”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-3 and as modified above: “wherein the spring beams of the front receptacle contacts 15 are deflected toward the front wall 20, the spring beams of the front central receptacle contacts are deflected toward the central wall 19 (front central receptacle contacts as modified above would be deflected toward the central wall 19), the spring beams of the rear central receptacle contacts are deflected toward the central wall 19 (rear central receptacle contacts as modified above would be deflected toward the central wall 19), and the spring beams of the rear receptacle contacts 15 are deflected toward the rear wall 21”.
With regard to claim 8, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front wall 20 includes front wall pockets (where 15 are received in 20 in figure 1) receiving mating ends of the front receptacle contacts 15, the rear wall 21 includes rear wall pockets (where 15 are received in 21 in figure 1) receiving mating ends of the rear receptacle contacts 15, the central wall 19 including central wall pockets (where 14 are received on either side of 19 in figure 1) on the front side and the rear side receiving mating ends of the front central receptacle contacts 14 and the rear central receptacle contacts 14, respectively”.
With regard to claim 9, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the header connector housing 30 includes a first end wall (lower-right wall of 30 in figure 2) at the first end and a second end wall (upper-left wall of 30 in figure 2) at the second end, the first and second end walls closing the front slot, the rear slot, and the central slot”.
With regard to claim 10, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front header contacts 14 are centered between the front central header contacts 15 on opposite sides of the front inner wall 32, the front central header contacts 15 are centered between the front header contacts 14 on opposite sides of the front inner wall 32, the rear header contacts 14 are centered between the rear central header contacts 15 on opposite sides of the rear inner wall 34, and the rear central header contacts 15 are centered between the rear header contacts 14 on opposite sides of the rear inner wall 34”.
With regard to claim 11, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front receptacle contacts 15 are spaced at a receptacle contact pitch, the rear receptacle contacts 15 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch, the front central receptacle contacts 14 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch, and the rear central receptacle contacts 14 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch”.
With regard to claim 12, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein, when the receptacle connector housing 16 is mated to the header connector housing 30, the front inner wall 32 extends from the front receptacle at the first end of the receptacle connector housing 16 and extends from the front receptacle at the second end of the receptacle connector housing 16, and wherein the rear inner wall 34 extends from the rear receptacle at the first end of the receptacle connector housing 16 and extends from the rear receptacle at the second end of the receptacle connector housing 16”.
With regard to claim 13, Pope teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 3 lines 26-31 and column 4 lines 17-46: “A receptacle connector assembly comprising: a receptacle connector housing 16 having a mounting end (bottom end of 16 in figure 3) and a mating end (top end of 16 in figure 3) opposite the mounting end, the mounting end configured to be mounted to a circuit board (taught in column 3 lines 26-31), the mating end of the receptacle connector housing 16 configured to be mated to a header connector housing 30 the receptacle connector housing 16 having a front wall 20 extending longitudinally between a first end (upper-left end of 16 in figure 1) and a second end (lower-right end of 16 in figure 1) of the receptacle connector housing 16, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a rear wall 21 extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end, the receptacle connector housing 16 having a central wall 19 positioned laterally between the front wall 20 and the rear wall 21 and extending parallel to the front wall 20 and the rear wall 20; a front receptacle between the front wall 20 and the central wall 19, the front receptacle being open at the first and second ends of the receptacle connector housing 16; a rear receptacle between the rear wall 21 and the central wall 19, the rear receptacle being open at the first and second ends of the receptacle connector housing 16; front receptacle contacts 15 extending along the front wall 20 and exposed at the front receptacle… at exposed surfaces thereof at a same side of the front header contacts; rear receptacle contacts 15 extending along the rear wall 21 and exposed at the rear receptacle… at exposed surfaces thereof thereof at a same side of the rear header contacts; front central receptacle contacts 14 extending along a front side (left side of 19 in figure 3) of the central wall 19 and exposed at the front receptacle; the front receptacle contacts… at exposed surfaces thereof at a same side of the front central header contacts; and rear central receptacle contacts 14 extending along a rear side (right side of 19 in figure 3) of the central wall 19 and exposed at the rear receptacle… at exposed surfaces thereof at a same side of the rear central header contacts; wherein the front receptacle contacts 15 and the front central receptacle contacts 14 are laterally offset on opposite sides of the front receptacle and longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the front receptacle (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46); wherein the rear receptacle contacts and the rear central receptacle contacts are laterally offset on opposite sides of the rear receptacle and longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the rear receptacle (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46)”.
Pope does not teach the receptacle contacts “being split into parallel mating portions at a seam that is parallel with a mating direction of the receptacle connector assembly with the header connector” or forming coplanar mating interfaces having multiple points of contact with corresponding header contacts of the header connector.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-5, the receptacle contacts 40 “being split into parallel mating portions 42 at a seam (running up-and-down between 42 in figure 10) that is parallel with a mating direction (up-down direction in figure 10) of the receptacle connector assembly 3a with the header connector 1a” and forming coplanar mating interfaces having multiple points of contact with corresponding header contacts 20 of the header connector 1a. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Chen with the invention of Pope in order to create a shunted connection between the receptacle contacts and the header contacts (Chen, paragraph 53).
With regard to claim 14, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the receptacle connector housing includes a base 18 at the mounting end, the front wall 20, the rear wall 21, and the central wall 19 extending from the base 18 to the mating end, the base 18 including contact channels 22 and 24 receiving the receptacle contacts, the receptacle contacts including terminating ends 14b and 15b extending from the base 18 for termination to the circuit board”.
With regard to claim 16, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope does not teach: “wherein each receptacle contact includes a deflectable spring beam engaging the corresponding header contact, the spring beam being deflectable when mated to the header contact, the spring beams of the front receptacle contacts being deflected toward the front wall, the spring beams of the front central receptacle contacts being deflected toward the central wall, the spring beams of the rear central receptacle contacts being deflected toward the central wall, and the spring beams of the rear receptacle contacts being deflected toward the rear wall”. However, Pope teaches each of the receptacle connector and header connector using both deflectable spring beams. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to rearrange the invention of Pope as modified by Chen have each of the receptacle contacts be deflectable spring beams engaging corresponding header contacts in order to allow each connector to be composed with one type of mating portion. Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. With this modification, the spring beams that replace the front and rear central receptacle contacts 14, as well as the front and rear receptacle contacts 15 would be deflected in the claimed directions.
With regard to claim 19, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front wall 20 includes front wall pockets (where 15 are received in 20 in figure 1) receiving mating ends of the front receptacle contacts 15, the rear wall 21 includes rear wall pockets (where 15 are received in 21 in figure 1) receiving mating ends of the rear receptacle contacts 15, the central wall 19 including central wall pockets (where 14 are received on either side of 19 in figure 1) on the front side and the rear side receiving mating ends of the front central receptacle contacts 14 and the rear central receptacle contacts 14, respectively”.
With regard to claim 20, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front receptacle contacts 15 are centered between the front central receptacle contacts 14 on opposite sides of the front slot, the front central receptacle contacts 14 are centered between the front receptacle contacts 15 on opposite sides of the front slot, the rear receptacle contacts 15 are centered between the rear central receptacle contacts 14 on opposite sides of the rear slot, and the rear central receptacle contacts 14 are centered between the rear receptacle contacts 15 on opposite sides of the rear slot”.
With regard to claim 21, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the front receptacle contacts 15 are spaced at a receptacle contact pitch, the rear receptacle contacts 15 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch, the front central receptacle contacts 14 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch, and the rear central receptacle contacts 14 are spaced at the receptacle contact pitch”.
With regard to claim 22, Pope teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 3 lines 26-31 and column 4 lines 17-46: “A header connector assembly 11 comprising: a header connector housing 30 having a mounting end (upper end of 30 in figure 3) and a mating end (lower end of 30 in figure 3) opposite the mounting end for mating with a receptacle connector 10, the mounting end configured to be mounted to a circuit board (taught in column 3 lines 26-31), the mating end of the header connector housing 30 configured to be mated to a receptacle connector housing 16 of the receptacle connector 10, the header connector housing 30 having a front outer wall 35 extending longitudinally between a first end (lower-right end of 30 in figure 2) and a second end (upper-left end of 30 in figure 2) of the header connector housing 30, the header connector housing 30 having a rear outer wall 36 extending longitudinally between the first end and the second end, the header connector housing 30 having a front inner wall 32 positioned laterally between the front wall 35 and the rear wall 36 closer to the front outer wall 35 than the rear outer wall 36, the header connector housing 30 having a rear inner wall 34 positioned laterally between the front outer wall 35 and the rear outer wall 36 closer to the rear outer wall 36 than the front outer wall 35; a front slot between the front outer wall 35 and the front inner wall 32, the front slot configured to receive a front wall 20 of the receptacle connector housing 16; a rear slot between the rear outer wall 36 and the rear inner wall 34, the rear slot configured to receive a rear wall 21 of the receptacle connector housing 16; a central slot between the front inner wall 32 and the rear inner wall 34, the central slot configured to receive a central wall 19 of the receptacle connector housing 16; front header contacts 14 extending along a front side of the front inner wall 32 and exposed at the front slot, the front header contacts having a planar mating interface… at exposed surfaces thereof; rear header contacts 15 extending along a rear side of the rear inner wall 34 and exposed at the rear slot, the rear header contacts having a planar mating interface… at exposed surfaces thereof; front central header contacts 15 extending along a rear side of the front inner wall 32 and exposed at the central slot, the front central header contacts having a planar mating interface... at exposed surfaces thereof; and rear central header contacts 15 extending along a front side of the rear inner wall 34 and exposed at the central slot, the rear central header contacts having a planar mating interface… at exposed surfaces thereof… wherein the front header contacts 14 and the front central header 15 contacts are longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the front inner wall 32 (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46); and wherein the rear header contacts 14 and the rear central header contacts 15 are longitudinally staggered relative to each other on opposite sides of the rear inner wall 34 (shown in figure 4 and taught in column 4 lines 17-46)”.
Pope does not teach the receptacle contacts having a planar mating interface having multiple points of contact with corresponding header contacts of the header connector or are planar and parallel to each other”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-5, the receptacle contacts 40 having multiple points of contact 42 with corresponding header contacts 20 of the header connector 1a or are planar and parallel to each other”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Chen with the invention of Pope in order to create a shunted connection between the receptacle contacts and the header contacts (Chen, paragraph 53).
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (5,921,787) in view of Chen (2021/0305732) and Chen ‘6017 (2021/0006017).
With regard to claim 3, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein the receptacle connector assembly includes a front receptacle shield coupled to the front wall and a rear receptacle shield coupled to the rear wall to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the receptacle contacts, the header connector assembly including a front header shield coupled to the front outer wall and a rear header shield coupled to the rear outer wall to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the header contacts, the front receptacle shield engaging the front header shield, the rear receptacle shield engaging the rear header shield”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen ‘6017 teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the receptacle connector (shown in figure 6) assembly includes a front receptacle shield (left wall of upper 4 in figure 7) coupled to the front wall (left wall of 11 in figure 7) and a rear receptacle shield (right wall of upper 4 in figure 7) coupled to the rear wall (right wall of 11 in figure 7) to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the receptacle contacts (terminals 2 of the connector in figure 5), the header connector assembly (shown in figure 2) including a front header shield (left wall of lower 40 in figure 7) coupled to the front outer wall (left wall 121 in figure 7) and a rear header shield (right wall of 40 in figure 7) coupled to the rear outer wall (right 121 in figure 7) to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the header contacts (terminals 2 of the connector in figure 2), the front receptacle shield engaging the front header shield, the rear receptacle shield engaging the rear header shield”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Chen ‘6017 with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to provide shielding to the contacts of the receptacle connector assembly and the header connector assembly (Chen ‘6017, paragraph 28).
With regard to claim 15, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein the receptacle connector assembly includes a front receptacle shield coupled to the front wall and a rear receptacle shield coupled to the rear wall to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the receptacle contacts”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen ‘6017 teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the receptacle connector assembly (shown in figure 6) includes a front receptacle shield (left wall of upper 4 in figure 7) coupled to the front wall (left wall of 11 in figure 7) and a rear receptacle shield (right wall of upper 4 in figure 7) coupled to the rear wall (right wall of 11 in figure 7) to provide electrical shielding therebetween for the receptacle contacts (upper contacts 216 in figure 11)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Chen ‘6017 with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to provide shielding to the contacts of the receptacle connector assembly and the header connector assembly (Chen ‘6017, paragraph 28).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (5,921,787) in view of Chen (2021/0305732) and Ju et al. (7,270,549).
With regard to claim 6, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein the receptacle contacts include deflectable spring beams, each deflectable spring beam being split at a mating end thereof to include a first spring arm having a first mating interface and a second spring arm having a second mating interface, each spring beam having multiple points of contact with the corresponding header contact”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ju teaches, as shown in figures 2-5: “wherein the receptacle contacts 3 include deflectable spring beams 3, each deflectable spring beam 34 being split at a mating end 32 thereof to include a first spring arm (left 34 in figure 4) having a first mating interface (where the first spring arm contacts 2 in figure 5) and a second spring arm (right arm 34 in figure 4) having a second mating interface (where the second spring arm contacts 2 in figure 5), each spring beam 3 having multiple points of contact with the corresponding header contact 2”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Ju with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to allow motion between the receptacle connector assembly and the header connector assembly (shown in figures 2-5).
With regard to claim 17, Pope teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Pope does not teach: “wherein the receptacle contacts include deflectable spring beams, each deflectable spring beam being split at a mating end thereof to include a first spring arm having a first mating interface and a second spring arm having a second mating interface, each spring beam having multiple points of contact with the corresponding header contact”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ju teaches, as shown in figures 2-5: “wherein the receptacle contacts 3 include deflectable spring beams 3, each deflectable spring beam 3 being split at a mating end 32 thereof to include a first spring arm (left 34 in figure 4) having a first mating interface (where the first spring arm contacts 2 in figure 5) and a second spring arm (right arm 34 in figure 4) having a second mating interface (where the second spring arm contacts 2 in figure 5), each spring beam 3 having multiple points of contact with the corresponding header contact 2”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ju with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to allow motion between the receptacle connector assembly and the header connector assembly (shown in figures 2-5).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pope et al. (5,921,787) in view of Chen (2021/0305732) and Duenas et al. (2012/0094542).
With regard to claim 7, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein the receptacle connector housing includes mounting tabs at the first end and the second end, the mounting tabs configured to engage the circuit board to position the receptacle connector housing and the receptacle contacts relative to the circuit board, and wherein the header connector housing includes mounting tabs at the first end and the second end, the mounting tabs configured to engage the circuit board to position the header connector housing in the header contacts relative to the circuit board”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Duenas teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 26), the use of mounting tabs (shown below) on connector housings 1 for positioning connectors 100 on a circuit board (taught in paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Duenas with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to position the contacts of the connectors onto the circuit board (Duenas, paragraph 26).
With regard to claim 18, Pope as modified by Chen teaches: “The receptacle connector assembly of claim 13”, as shown above.
Neither Pope nor Chen teach: “wherein the receptacle connector housing includes mounting tabs at the first end and the second end, the mounting tabs configured to engage the circuit board to position the receptacle connector housing and the receptacle contacts relative to the circuit board”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Duenas teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 26), the use of mounting tabs (shown below) on connector housings 1 for positioning connectors 100 on a circuit board (taught in paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Duenas with the invention of Pope as modified by Chen in order to position the contacts of the connectors onto the circuit board (Duenas, paragraph 26).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and the multiple points of contact limitations of claim 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants’ arguments filed 8/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claim 22, the Applicant argues that the cited primary reference Pope does not teach a planar mating interface because the contacts 15 have arcuate contact portions. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the portion of the arcuate portions that contact the planar contact 14 will interface in a planar portion, meeting the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831