DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 6/6/2025.
Claims 4 and 13 have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 are now pending.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/6/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8-12 of the remarks, in regard to claim 1, 10, and 18, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al. US 20230057605 (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”).
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Embodiments corresponding to the present amended claims are defined by and operate based on a span of slots (slot span). In other words, if the methods defined in the cited references are described as “symbol span”- based, the present claims are characterized in that embodiments corresponding thereto operate based on a “slot span” which constitutes a key distinction.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in [0139], MolavianJazi teaches “a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3)” where “A span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH”. MolavianJazi defines ‘X’ as “symbols between the first symbol of two consecutive spans, including across slot”, and ‘Y’ as “number of symbols of the span”. The phrase “slot span” used in the claim isn’t clearly distinct from the language used by MolavianJazi to define ‘X’ and ‘Y’ since MolavianJazi defines ‘X’ and ‘Y’ as a number of symbols between spans including slots and a number of symbols of the span and span is defined as a number of consecutive symbols in a slot respectively. Therefore, MolavianJazi’s definition of ‘X’ and ‘Y’ can be interpreted as “slot span” combination. The phrase “slot span” as written in the amended claim seems like a simplified version of the description provided by MolavianJazi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8-11, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al. US 20230057605 (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”).
As to claim 1 and 19 (claim 1 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 19):
MolavianJazi discloses:
A control channel reception method (“physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0035]) performed by a terminal (“a user equipment (UE)”, MolavianJazi [0006]), comprising: reporting (“(A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1.”, MolavianJazi [0139]), to a base station (“base station”, MolavianJazi [0007]), information on at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal (“UE can monitor per slot or per span”, MolavianJazi [0077]) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (“physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0035]); identifying PDCCH occasion(s) for PDCCH(s) to be transmitted from the base station based on the at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal; and performing PDCCH monitoring in the identified PDCCH occasion(s). (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1”, MolavianJazi [0139])
wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is indicated by (X, Y), X indicates a number of slot(s) constituting one slot span, and Y indicates a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) included in one slot span. (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1. A span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. If a UE monitors PDCCH on a cell according to combination (X, Y), the UE supports PDCCH monitoring occasions in any symbol of a slot with minimum time separation of X symbols between the first symbol of two consecutive spans, including across slots. A span starts at a first symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends, where the number of symbols of the span is up to Y.”, MolavianJazi [0139])
MolavianJazi teaches PDCCH monitoring per slot or per span for multi-cell scheduling.
As to claim 2:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel reception method according to claim 1, wherein the information on at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal for PDCCH monitoring is reported for each of subcarrier spacings (“number of slots per subframe for subcarrier spacing (SCS)”, MolavianJazi [0002]) supported by the terminal. (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1”, MolavianJazi [0139])
As to claim 5:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel reception method according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is indicated by (X, Y), X indicates a number of slot(s) constituting one slot span, and Y is determined based on at least one of a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1. A span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. If a UE monitors PDCCH on a cell according to combination (X, Y), the UE supports PDCCH monitoring occasions in any symbol of a slot with minimum time separation of X symbols between the first symbol of two consecutive spans, including across slots. A span starts at a first symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends, where the number of symbols of the span is up to Y.”, MolavianJazi [0139]) for a group 1 search space (SS) (“Search space sets where, for each search space set from the S search space sets, the UE is provided the following by SearchSpace. For example, the UE is provided a search space set index s, 0 < s < 40, by searchSpaceld.”, MolavianJazi [0156]) or a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for a group 2 search space (SS), the group 1 SS and the group 2 SS being included in the one slot span.
As to claim 8:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel reception method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving a first parameter and a second parameter from the base station, wherein the first parameter is a bitmap indicating the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) among the slot(s) constituting the one slot span, and the second parameter is a bitmap indicating positions(s) of symbol(s) from which a search space starts in each of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s). (“For each CORESET in a DL BWP of a serving cell, a respective frequencyDomainResources provides a bitmap if a CORESET is not associated with any search space set configured with freqMonitorLocations, the bits of the bitmap have a one-to-one mapping with non-overlapping groups of 6 consecutive PRBs, in ascending order of the PRB index in the DL BWP bandwidth of”, MolavianJazi [0151])
As to claim 9:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel reception method according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is applied to all types of slot(s) regardless of uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) configuration, or applied to slot(s) having at least one of DL symbols (“monitored PDCCH candidates in a span for combination (X, Y) PDCCH for a DL BWP with SCS configuration .Math. ∈ {0, 1} for a single serving cell.”, MolavianJazi [0073]) (“downlink cells using combination (X, Y) for PDCCH monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0117]) or flexible symbols equal to or more than a specific threshold.
As to claim 10:
MolavianJazi discloses:
A control channel transmission method (“physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0035]) performed by a base station (“base station”, MolavianJazi [0007]), comprising: receiving, from a terminal, information on at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal (“UE can monitor per slot or per span”, MolavianJazi [0077]) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (“physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0035]); configuring PDCCH occasion(s) for PDCCH(s) to be transmitted to the terminal based on the at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal; and transmitting PDCCH(s) in the configured PDCCH occasion(s). (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1”, MolavianJazi [0139])
wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is indicated by (X, Y), X indicates a number of slot(s) constituting one slot span, and Y indicates a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) included in one slot span. (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1. A span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. If a UE monitors PDCCH on a cell according to combination (X, Y), the UE supports PDCCH monitoring occasions in any symbol of a slot with minimum time separation of X symbols between the first symbol of two consecutive spans, including across slots. A span starts at a first symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends, where the number of symbols of the span is up to Y.”, MolavianJazi [0139])
As to claim 11:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the information on at least one slot span combination supportable by the terminal for PDCCH monitoring is reported for each of subcarrier spacings supported by the terminal. (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1”, MolavianJazi [0139])
As to claim 14:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 10, wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is indicated by (X, Y), X indicates a number of slot(s) constituting one slot span, and Y is determined (“A UE (such as the UE 116) can indicate a capability to monitor PDCCH according to one or more of the combinations (X, Y) = (2, 2), (4, 3), and (7, 3) per SCS configuration of .Math. = 0 and .Math. = 1. A span is a number of consecutive symbols in a slot where the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH. Each PDCCH monitoring occasion is within one span. If a UE monitors PDCCH on a cell according to combination (X, Y), the UE supports PDCCH monitoring occasions in any symbol of a slot with minimum time separation of X symbols between the first symbol of two consecutive spans, including across slots. A span starts at a first symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion starts and ends at a last symbol where a PDCCH monitoring occasion ends, where the number of symbols of the span is up to Y.”, MolavianJazi [0139]) based on at least one of a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for a group 1 search space (SS) (“Search space sets where, for each search space set from the S search space sets, the UE is provided the following by SearchSpace. For example, the UE is provided a search space set index s, 0 < s < 40, by searchSpaceld.”, MolavianJazi [0156]) or a number of PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for a group 2 search space (SS), the group 1 SS and the group 2 SS being included in the one slot span.
As to claim 17:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 10, further comprising transmitting a first parameter and a second parameter to the terminal, wherein the first parameter is a bitmap indicating the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) among the slot(s) constituting the one slot span, and the second parameter is a bitmap indicating positions(s) of symbol(s) from which a search space starts in each of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s). (“For each CORESET in a DL BWP of a serving cell, a respective frequencyDomainResources provides a bitmap if a CORESET is not associated with any search space set configured with freqMonitorLocations, the bits of the bitmap have a one-to-one mapping with non-overlapping groups of 6 consecutive PRBs, in ascending order of the PRB index in the DL BWP bandwidth of”, MolavianJazi [0151])
As to claim 18:
MolavianJazi discloses:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 10, wherein each of the at least one slot span combination is applied to all types of slot(s) regardless of uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) configuration, or applied to slot(s) having at least one of DL symbols (“monitored PDCCH candidates in a span for combination (X, Y) PDCCH for a DL BWP with SCS configuration .Math. ∈ {0, 1} for a single serving cell.”, MolavianJazi [0073]) (“downlink cells using combination (X, Y) for PDCCH monitoring”, MolavianJazi [0117]) or flexible symbols equal to or more than a specific threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. US 20230057605 (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”). in view of Cao US 20240188094 (hereinafter “Cao”)
As to claim 3 and 20 (claim 3 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 20):
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel reception method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal operates in a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or above the sub-carrier spacings include 480 kHz and 960 kHz subcarrier spacings.
However, Cao further teaches specified subcarrier spacings which includes:
The control channel reception method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal operates in a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or above the sub-carrier spacings include 480 kHz and 960 kHz subcarrier spacings. (“For example, for 52.6 GHz-71 GHz, a subcarrier (SCS) with a width of 480 kHz or 960 kHz may be used”, Cao [0135])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include specified subcarrier spacings as described in Cao into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include specified subcarrier spacings as taught by Cao, the benefits of improved versatility (Cao [0137]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 11, wherein when the terminal operates in a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or above, the sub-carrier spacings include 480 kHz and 960 kHz subcarrier spacings.
However, Cao further teaches specified subcarrier spacings which includes:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 11, wherein when the terminal operates in a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or above, the sub-carrier spacings include 480 kHz and 960 kHz subcarrier spacings. (“For example, for 52.6 GHz-71 GHz, a subcarrier (SCS) with a width of 480 kHz or 960 kHz may be used”, Cao [0135])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include specified subcarrier spacings as described in Cao into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include specified subcarrier spacings as taught by Cao, the benefits of improved versatility (Cao [0137]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. US 20230057605 (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”). in view of Harada et al. US 20210243680 (hereinafter “Harada”)
As to claim 6:
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel reception method according to claim 5, wherein a position of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS is determined based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or an SSB candidate index of an SSB that the terminal receives from the base station.
However, Harada further teaches determining SS based on SSB which includes:
The control channel reception method according to claim 5, wherein a position of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS is determined based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or an SSB candidate index of an SSB that the terminal receives from the base station. (“the user terminal may determine the time position (for example, at least one of a slot and a symbol in the slot) of the SIB1 SS associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the time position of the SSB (also referred to as an index, an SSB index, and so on)”, Harada [0037])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining SS based on SSB as described in Harada into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include determining SS based on SSB as taught by Harada, the benefits of improved DCI monitoring (Harada [0008]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel reception method according to claim 6, wherein when the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS are two slots, a position of a first slot among the two slots is determined based on the SSB index or the SSB candidate index, and a position of a second slot among the two slots is determined by applying a predetermined offset to the position of the first slot.
However, Harada further teaches determining slot positioning based on SSB index which includes:
The control channel reception method according to claim 6, wherein when the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS are two slots, a position of a first slot among the two slots is determined based on the SSB index or the SSB candidate index (“the user terminal may determine the time position (for example, at least one of a slot and a symbol in the slot) of the SIB1 SS associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the time position of the SSB (also referred to as an index, an SSB index, and so on)”, Harada [0037]), and a position of a second slot among the two slots is determined by applying a predetermined offset to the position of the first slot. (“Here, M and O may be, for example, values associated with a value (index) indicated by the 4 least significant bits of the pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in the table shown in FIG. 1. O may be (a value used to determine) an offset of a slot for the SSB index i (the offset is also referred to as a group time offset, or the like). M may be a certain coefficient for the SSB index i. Note that values in the table shown in FIG. 1 are only illustrative, and that no such limitation is intended.”, Harada [0042])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining slot positioning based on SSB index as described in Harada into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include determining slot positioning based on SSB index as taught by Harada, the benefits of improved DCI monitoring (Harada [0008]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 14, wherein a position of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS is determined based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or an SSB candidate index of an SSB that the base station transmits to the terminal.
However, Harada further teaches determining SS based on SSB which includes:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 14, wherein a position of the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS is determined based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or an SSB candidate index of an SSB that the base station transmits to the terminal. (“the user terminal may determine the time position (for example, at least one of a slot and a symbol in the slot) of the SIB1 SS associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the time position of the SSB (also referred to as an index, an SSB index, and so on)”, Harada [0037])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining SS based on SSB as described in Harada into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include determining SS based on SSB as taught by Harada, the benefits of improved DCI monitoring (Harada [0008]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
MolavianJazi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 15, wherein when the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS are two slots, a position of a first slot among the two slots is determined based on the SSB index or the SSB candidate index and a position of a second slot among the two slots is determined by applying a predetermined offset to the position of the first slot.
However, Harada further teaches determining slot positioning based on SSB index which includes:
The control channel transmission method according to claim 15, wherein when the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) for the group 2 SS are two slots, a position of a first slot among the two slots is determined based on the SSB index or the SSB candidate index (“the user terminal may determine the time position (for example, at least one of a slot and a symbol in the slot) of the SIB1 SS associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the time position of the SSB (also referred to as an index, an SSB index, and so on)”, Harada [0037]), and a position of a second slot among the two slots is determined by applying a predetermined offset to the position of the first slot. (“Here, M and O may be, for example, values associated with a value (index) indicated by the 4 least significant bits of the pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in the table shown in FIG. 1. O may be (a value used to determine) an offset of a slot for the SSB index i (the offset is also referred to as a group time offset, or the like). M may be a certain coefficient for the SSB index i. Note that values in the table shown in FIG. 1 are only illustrative, and that no such limitation is intended.”, Harada [0042])
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining slot positioning based on SSB index as described in Harada into MolavianJazi. By modifying the method to include determining slot positioning based on SSB index as taught by Harada, the benefits of improved DCI monitoring (Harada [0008]) and improved reliability (MolavianJazi [0065]) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240155636: specifies “the PDCCH monitoring capability is defined in the Y slots in a groups of X slot, or in a span of Y slots of combination (X, Y)”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471 August