Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because it appears that the provided drawings fail to clearly disclose the subject matter of the structural elements. Note that the hand writing reference numbers are dim and unclear as well as the dim and unclear black lines. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “PLC connected with respect to the solenoid to automatically activate zones based on a desired product configuration,” (Claim 2), each air powered spring mechanism includes a separate actuatable spring that is switchable between an on position and an off position” (Claim 3), “each air powered spring mechanism includes a separate actuatable spring that is switchable between an on position and an off position,” (Claim 4) and “each valve is separately adjustable between an on position and an off position within the array.” (Claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that the depending claim “1” (line 1) should be changed to – 3 --. Note that claim 3 recites “each valve comprises an air powered spring mechanism.” Otherwise, the recitation of claim 5 would be vague and indefinite with respect to the structural relationships between “each air powered spring mechanism” and other structural elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “each valve is separately adjustable between an on position and an off position within the array.” The recitation is not clearly understood as to how “each valve is separately adjustable between an on position and an off position within the array.” It appears that the specification or the provided drawings fails to clearly disclose the subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomerson, Jr. (US 2011/0254298) in view of Fukano et al. (7,040,679).
RE claim 1, Lomerson, Jr. (US 2011/0254298) discloses a vacuum head (see Figs. 1-11) for moving product (22, 22) at the end of a robotic arm (12, 16), the vacuum head comprising: a housing (18, 30) having a product contact surface; a programmable end effector (see para [0038]), an array of at least two rows and at least three ranks of valves (see Figs. 2 and 5-6D) (See Exhibit A); an air compressor to provide fluid communication (see para [0041]), and a plurality of valves (see Figs. 7-9) to enabling multiple switchable zones on the product contact surface, but does not specifically show a solenoid connected with respect to each of the valves. However, Fig. 1 of Fukano et al. (7,040,679)(See Exhibit B) teaches a solenoid (24a) being energize to switch a switching valve (24) into the first switching position on the side of the negative pressure and a return spring (24b) (see workflow and Col. 4, lines 53-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a solenoid on the over Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) as taught by Fukano et al. (7,040,679) to effectively control the individual valves and to firmly grasp an object.
Exhibit A
Exhibit B
RE claims 3, 4, 5 and 7, Figs. 5-11 of Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) teach each valve comprises an air powered spring mechanism (see Figs. 9 and 10), wherein each air powered spring mechanism includes a separate actuatable spring (82, 95) that is switchable between an on position and an off position, wherein each air powered spring mechanism (not shown in the applicant’s provided drawings) capable of extending directly to a channel on the product contact surface wherein each valve is separately adjustable between an on position and an off position within the array wherein each valve is separately adjustable between an on position and an off position within the array (see para [0051-[0054]).
RE claim 6, Fig. 5 of Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) shows an array of valves, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the numbers of valves and the orientation on the Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) to be suitable to firmly grasp by the device.
RE claims 8 and 9, Figs. 2 and 5-6D of Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) disclose a central air manifold within the housing connected between the robotic arm and the plurality of valves and a powered vacuum generator (see para [0041]) positioned within the robotic arm providing a vacuum to the central air manifold.
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomerson, Jr. (US 2011/0254298) and Fukano et al. (7,040,679) further in view of Ota et al. (6,354,811).
RE claim 2 and 10, Lomerson, Jr. (US 2011/0254298), as presented above, does not specifically show PLC connected with respect to the solenoid to automatically activate zones based on a desired product configuration. Note that applicant fails to specifically show the connection between the solenoid and the PLC or a computer in the specification. However, Fig. 7 of Ota et al. (6,354,811) teaches a PLC (see Col. 1, lines 42-59) to automatically activate zones and the related valves based on a desired product configuration. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a PLC on the over Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) as taught by Ota et al. (6,354,811) by controlling the related valves and the gripping process to effectively and to firmly grasp an object.
RE claim 10, Lomerson, Jr. (US 2011/0254298), as presented above, does not specifically show a solenoid connected with respect to each of the valves. However, Fig. 1 of Fukano et al. (7,040,679)(See Exhibit B) teaches a solenoid (24a) being energize to switch a switching valve (24) into the first switching position on the side of the negative pressure and a return spring (24b) (see workflow and Col. 4, lines 53-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a solenoid on the over Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) as taught by Fukano et al. (7,040,679) to effectively control the individual valves and to firmly grasp an object.
It is pointed out that the provision of a PLC on the over Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) as taught by Ota et al. (6,354,811) by controlling the related valves and the gripping process to effectively and to firmly grasp an object.
RE claims 3-5, 7, 11, 13, and 14, in addition to the disclosure of valves by Fukano et al. (7,040,679), Ota et al. (6,354,811) also teaches a device and method of operating a computer (see Col. 1, lines 42-59) to control valves and also shows a controller (C) (see Col. 1, lines 49-67) and solenoid (V3) to activate switch (47) with a return spring (75) (also see Col. 13., lines 31-45). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a solenoid on the over Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) as taught by Ota et al. (6,354,811) to effectively control the individual valves and to firmly grasp an object.
RE claim 12, Fig. 5 of Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) shows transferring product in a wide side leading configuration and a short side leading configuration within a common cycle.
RE claims 8, 9, and 15, Figs. 2 and 5-6D of Lomerson, Jr. vacuum device (US 2011/0254298) disclose a central air manifold within the housing connected between the robotic arm and the plurality of valves and a powered vacuum generator (see para [0041]) positioned within the robotic arm providing a vacuum to the central air manifold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651