DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is in response to the amendment filed on 08/25/2025 for Application No. 17/954,116. By the amendment, claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1-4, 7 and 20 being amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 11-12, the limitation “the force is at least partially positively correlated to at least one output parameter” should be replaced with limitation - -the force is . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “F + F1 – F2 = ma” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the character “ma” stands for. Neither the instant disclosure nor the claim provides a specific definition of what this character means. The Office recommends that this limitation should be omitted or spelled out for clarity.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “a motor” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this motor and the precedent moving motor are the same feature or another. The disclosure, Figure 2 appears to show that moving motor 103 is the only motor disclosed. For the purposes of examination, the two motors recited in the claim are interpreted as the same motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 109983907 A, from IDS filed 01/02/2026, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses a walk-behind working machine (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a main body (paragraph [0005]; figures 1,3 and 6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”) comprising a moving assembly (figs. 1, 3 and 6, i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled) and a moving motor (40) for driving the moving assembly;
a handle device (figures 1 and 3, not labeled; par [0093], includes a grip) connected to the main body,
wherein the handle device comprises an operation piece comprising a grip (par [0093], i.e., grip of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter “grip100”) for a user to hold;
a parameter detection unit (10) for acquiring a relevant parameter (i.e., a thrust or pushing/pulling force detected by sensor 13) in a moving process (i.e., during operation includes under a slope condition) of the walk-behind working machine; and
a control unit (30) configured to:
acquire the relevant parameter and estimate a thrust or a pulling force (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 of the lawnmower detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal) applied by the user to the handle device according to the relevant parameter; and
control a moving state of the walk-behind working machine according to the thrust or the pulling force (paragraphs [0094] - [0096] and [0100] – [0105], i.e., the processing module 20 can determine the feed parameters include the magnitude of the pushing force).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses the walk-behind working machine of claim 14, wherein the relevant parameter comprises at least an electrical parameter (i.e., voltage signal parameter detected by sensor 16) of the moving motor (40).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses the walk-behind working machine of claim 14, wherein the relevant parameter comprises at least a moving parameter of the walk-behind working machine (i.e., wheel speeds detected via speed rotational sensor 15).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses the walk-behind working machine of claim 15, wherein a force sensing device (10) for sensing the thrust or the pulling force is not provided in the walk-behind working machine (par [0097], i.e., detecting module 10 is a displacement sensor).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses the walk-behind working machine of claim 15, wherein the parameter detection unit comprises a current detection device (16) for detecting a working current of the moving motor (40);
an acceleration detection device (par [0099], i.e., the detection module 10 can be an acceleration sensor) for detecting acceleration of moving of the walk-behind working machine; and
an angle detection device (14) for detecting an included angle between a plane where the walk-behind working machine is located and a horizontal plane.
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses the walk-behind working machine of claim 18,
wherein the control unit (30) is configured to acquire the working current, the acceleration, and the included angle and calculate the thrust or the pulling force (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 of the lawnmower detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal) according to the working current, the acceleration, and the included angle (paragraphs [0094] - [0096] and [0100] – [0105], i.e., the processing module 20 can determine the feed parameters include the magnitude of the pushing force).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses a lawn mower (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a main body (paragraph [0005]; figures 1,3 and 6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”) comprising a moving assembly (i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled), a moving motor (40) for driving the moving assembly, a rotating blade (par [0005], i.e., blade of mower 100, not labeled), and a motor (40) for rotating the blade; and
a handle device (figures 1 and 3, not labeled) connected to the main body (body100);
wherein the handle device comprises:
an operation piece comprising a grip (par [0093], i.e., grip of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter “grip100”) for a user to hold;
wherein the lawn mower further comprises:
a current detection device (paragraphs [0005], [0100 - 00105], i.e., detection module 10 includes voltage sensor 16) for detecting a working current of the moving motor (40);
an acceleration detection device (par [0099], i.e., the detection module 10 can be an acceleration sensor) for detecting acceleration of moving of the lawn mower (100); and
a control unit (30) electrically connected to at least the current detection device (16) and the acceleration detection device (par [0099]);
wherein the control unit (30) is configured to:
acquire the working current (par [0099]) and the acceleration (par [0099]);
calculate a thrust or a pulling force (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal) applied by the user to the handle device (figs. 1 and 3) according to the working current (i.e., detected by voltage sensor 16) and the acceleration (par [0099], i.e., detected by acceleration sensor); and
control a moving state of the lawn mower according to the thrust or the pulling force (paragraphs [0094] - [0096] and [0100] – 0105]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao indicated above, and further in view of Arendt et al. (US 2020/0375,102 A1, from IDS filed 01/02/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a walk-behind electric device (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a device body (paragraph [0005]; figures 1,3,6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”);
a moving wheel (i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled) connected to the device body;
a moving motor (40) configured to drive the moving wheel; and
a control unit (30) configured to calculate, according to device parameters (paragraphs [0005], [0100 - 00105], i.e., detection module 10 includes speed rotational sensor 150, capacitance sensor 11, voltage sensor 16 and etc.) of the walk-behind electric device, a force applied by a user to the walk-behind electric device (i.e., detected by thrust sensor 13), and control an output torque, a rotational speed, or an output power of the moving motor according to the force (40; i.e., the voltage change over time and the voltage waveform of the motor 40 during operation or the rotor speed of motor 40 can be adjusted in a timely manner during the mowing process), and
wherein the force is at least partially positively correlated to at least one output parameter (i.e., output speed/torque/voltage) of the moving motor (40), and the device parameters comprise at least one of a moving parameter of the moving wheel (i.e., wheel speed detected by speed rotational speed 15), a working parameter of the moving motor, or an attitude parameter of the device body (i.e., detected by angle sensor 14).
Zhao further teaches a motor’s voltage status includes voltage change over time and voltage waveform of the motor during operation, par [0104], but does not specifically teach a power interface connected to a power supply so as to supply power to the moving motor. Power interfaces, particularly in electric power tools for converting high voltage and controlling current output from a power supply to power the electric motor/machine and other electronic components of the electric power tools or lawn mowers are well known in the art.
Arendt discloses a power lawn mower includes a power interface (par [0024]) connected to a power supply (i.e., battery back 11) so as to supply power to a driving motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Zhao, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a power interface connected to a power supply or battery pack as taught by Arendt in order to efficiently provide power to drive the motor and other electric components of electric mower or walk-behind electric device.
Regarding claim 4, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 1, further comprising
a parameter detection unit (i.e., the detection module 10) configured to detect the device parameters (paragraphs [0005], [0100] – [0105], i.e., detection module 10 includes speed rotational sensor 15, capacitance sensor 11 and voltage sensor 16, etc.) of the walk-behind electric device.
Regarding claim 8, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 1, wherein the at least one output parameter comprises at least output torque of the moving motor (paragraphs [0015] and [0082]; claim 4).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses a walk-behind electric device (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a device body (par [0005]; figures 1, 3, and 6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”);
a moving wheel (figs. 1 and 3, i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled) connected to the device body (body100);
a moving motor (40) configured to drive the moving wheel;
a parameter detection unit (i.e., detection module 10) configured to detect device parameters (i.e., parameters detected from sensors 11-16, and accelerator and pressure sensors, etc.) of the walk-behind electric device,
wherein the device parameters comprise at least one of a moving parameter (i.e., detected by wheel speed sensor 15) of the moving wheel, a working parameter of the moving motor (i.e., detected by voltage sensor 16), or an attitude parameter (i.e., detected angle sensor 14) of the device body (body100); and
a control unit (30) configured to estimate a force (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 of the lawnmower detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal), applied to the walk-behind electric device according to the device parameters;
wherein the force (Figs 5A-C; pars. [0054 – 0071]) is positively correlated to output torque of the moving motor (40).
Zhao further teaches a motor’s voltage status includes voltage change over time and voltage waveform of the motor during operation, par [0104], but does not specifically teach a power interface connected to a power supply so as to supply power to the moving motor. Power interfaces, particularly in electric power tools for converting high voltage and controlling current output from a power supply to power the electric motor/machine and other electronic components of the electric power tools or lawn mowers are well known in the art.
Arendt discloses a power lawn mower includes a power interface (par [0024]) connected to a power supply (i.e., battery back 11) so as to supply power to a driving motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Zhao, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a power interface connected to a power supply or battery pack as taught by Arendt in order to efficiently provide power to drive the motor and other electric components of electric mower or walk-behind electric device.
Regarding claim 10, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 9, wherein the parameter detection unit (10) does not comprise a strain gauge (par [0097], i.e., detecting module 10 is a displacement sensor).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses a walk-behind electric device (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a device body (paragraph [0005]; figures 1,3 and 6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”);
a moving wheel (figs. 1 and 3, i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled) connected to the device body (body100);
a moving motor (40) configured to drive the moving wheel;
a parameter detection unit (i.e., detection module 10) configured to detect device parameters (i.e., parameters detected from sensors 11-16, and accelerator and pressure sensors, etc.) of the walk-behind electric device,
wherein the device parameters comprise at least one of a moving parameter (i.e., detected by wheel speed sensor 15) of the moving wheel, a working parameter of the moving motor (i.e., detected by voltage sensor 16), or an attitude parameter (i.e., detected angle sensor 14) of the device body (body100); and
a control unit (30) configured to estimate a force (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 of the lawnmower detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal) applied to the walk-behind electric device according to the device parameters (i.e., the applied force of an operator detected via thrust sensor 13) and control output torque of the moving motor according to the force (paragraphs [0094] - [0096] and [0100] – 0105]).
Zhao further teaches a motor’s voltage status includes voltage change over time and voltage waveform of the motor during operation, par [0104], but does not specifically teach a power interface connected to a power supply so as to supply power to the moving motor. Power interfaces, particularly in electric power tools for converting high voltage and controlling current output from a power supply to power the electric motor/machine and other electronic components of the electric power tools or lawn mowers are well known in the art.
Arendt discloses a power lawn mower includes a power interface (par [0024]) connected to a power supply (i.e., battery back 11) so as to supply power to a driving motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Zhao, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a power interface connected to a power supply or battery pack as taught by Arendt in order to efficiently provide power to drive the motor and other electric components of electric mower or walk-behind electric device.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses a hand-guided working machine (figs. 1, 3 and 6, lawn mower 100 and machine translation attached), comprising:
a main body (paragraph [0005]; figures 1,3 and 6; i.e., body of lawn mower 100, not labeled, hereinafter referred to as “body100”);
a moving assembly (figs. 1, 3 and 6, i.e., includes wheels of mower 100, not labeled) connected to the main body and comprising a moving wheel (figs. 1, 3 and 6, i.e., wheels of mower 100, not labeled) and a moving motor (40) for driving the moving wheel;
a functional assembly (paragraphs [0005] and [0007], i.e., includes blade of mower 100, not labeled) mounted on the main body and comprising at least a functional accessory (par [0079], i.e., blade of mower 100) and a functional motor (par [0079], i.e., a load motor that drives the blades to cut grass) for driving the functional accessory;
a handle device (figures 1 and 3, not labeled) mounted on the main body (2) and comprising at least a handle portion (par [0093], i.e., a grip portion of lawn mower 100, not labeled) for a user to hold;
a parameter detection unit (i.e., detection module 10) configured to detect device parameters (i.e., parameters detected from sensors 11-16, and accelerator and pressure sensors, etc.) of the hand-guided working machine,
wherein the device parameters comprise at least one of a moving parameter (i.e., detected by wheel speed sensor 15) of the moving wheel, a working parameter of the moving motor (i.e., detected by voltage sensor 16), or an attitude parameter (i.e., detected angle sensor 14) of the device body (body100); and
a control unit (30) configured to control at least a rotational state of the moving motor (paragraphs [0095] – [0096] and [0100 – 0105], i.e., motor parameters include load and voltage as output power or output speed of rotor of motor 40);
wherein the control unit (30) is configured to:
estimate a force applied to the handle portion (paragraphs [0077] – [0081] and [0093], i.e., a calculation of the pushing force by the processing module 20 of the lawnmower detected by thrust sensor 13 during its movement to generate a thrust detection signal) according to the device parameters and control output torque (paragraphs [0094] - [0096] and [0100] – 0105]).
Zhao further teaches a motor’s voltage status includes voltage change over time and voltage waveform of the motor during operation, par [0104], but does not specifically teach a power interface connected to a power supply so as to supply power to the moving motor. Power interfaces, particularly in electric power tools for converting high voltage and controlling current output from a power supply to power the electric motor/machine and other electronic components of the electric power tools or lawn mowers are well known in the art.
Arendt discloses a power lawn mower includes a power interface (par [0024]) connected to a power supply (i.e., battery back 11) so as to supply power to a driving motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Zhao, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a power interface connected to a power supply or battery pack as taught by Arendt in order to efficiently provide power to drive the motor and other electric components of electric mower or the hand-guided working machine.
Regarding claim 13, as modified, Zhao further discloses the hand-guided working machine of claim 12, wherein the parameter detection unit (10) does not comprise a strain gauge (par [0097], i.e., detecting module 10 is a displacement sensor).
Claims 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to the claims above.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Zhao discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 1, wherein the force applied by the user and calculated by the control unit is F (i.e., detected by thrust sensor 13), the control unit (30) adjusts the output torque of the moving motor according to F (paragraphs [0070], [0082], [0095] – [0097] and [0099]; claim 4), a driving force of the moving motor (40) is F (paragraphs [0014 - 0015] and [0100], i.e., the adjust or corresponding load/voltage or feed force of the motor) under the output torque, and
a resistance of the walk-behind electric device in motion is F2 (paragraphs [0030] and [0095] – [0096], i.e., the calculated pushing resistance). Moreover, it is inherently that the mass or weight of lawn mower 100 is known and a working acceleration is known or detected from the accelerator sensor 15 during operation such as under a slope condition, paragraphs [0070], [0082], [0095] – [0097] and [0099]. However, Zhao does not specifically teach that Fr = ma, Fr=F+F-F2.
It is well recognized to a skilled person in the art for the power lawn mower to have a net force of the estimated forces detected by the sensors and/or calculated based on the sensors indicated above during a downhill/uphill condition (i.e., the net force (Fr) of the three forces (applied force F, adjusted/inclined force/torque F and resistance force F2) is equal to the normal force of the electric device (i.e., Newton’s 2nd law, F=m*a, the product of the weight (m) of the lawn mower and the operating acceleration detected by the acceleration sensor)), as in balanced with the normal force for efficiently providing the assisted force/torque of the mower under various road conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have the calculated net force and operating/normal force balanced or equal to one another, since there are finite number of possibilities or identified, the controller provides the calculated net force or it doesn't, predictable potential solutions to various comparability conditions to obtain the exact same results, whether the controller should act on or not and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential limited number of solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. The advantage of the comparison between the net force (Fr = F + F -F2) and the operating/normal force (mass * acceleration) would provide intelligently adjust its speed or force/torque/load/voltage according to different lawn conditions and/or road conditions.
Regarding claim 5, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 3, wherein a parameter detection unit (10) does not comprise a force detection device (par [0097], i.e., detecting module 10 is a displacement sensor not a pressure sensor) for directly detecting a force applied by the user to the walk-behind electric device.
Regarding claim 6, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 5, wherein the parameter detection unit (10) does not comprise a strain gauge (par [0097], i.e., detecting module 10 is a displacement sensor not a pressure sensor).
Regarding claim 7, as modified, Zhao further discloses the walk-behind electric device of claim 5, wherein the force comprises at least a magnitude and a direction of the force (paragraphs [0030] and [0094] - [0096]; claim 13, i.e., angle sensor 14 detects a magnitude and direction of force under a slope condition).
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The amendment filed on 08/25/2025 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejections set forth in the prior Office action. The rejections of the claims have been withdrawn. However, the amendments have raised new issues set forth above.
Further, applicant's arguments, filed on 08/25/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding the claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious a walk-behind electric device of claim 1 and in combination with the features recited.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record with various aspects of pulling/pushing force for power-assisted tools or working machines and are applicable to the applicant's disclosure.
Raja (US 2021/0155278 A1) discloses a walking aid vehicle, see Figures 1-10;
Ferrell et al. (US 11690319 B2) discloses a speed control assembly for a lawn mower, see Figures 1-7;
Lee et al. (EP 3889003 A1) discloses a smart stroller and method of controlling the same, see Figures 1-18;
Fritz (DE 102013/224885 A1) discloses a stroller with drive support, see Figures 1-2 and the machine translation attached;
Su et al. (CN 108547247 A) discloses an intelligent garden road snow remover with semi-automatic communication remote control working for long time operation, see Figures 1-9 and the machine translation attached;
Gussen et al. (US 2018/0194383 A1) discloses a motorized shopping trolley, see Figures 1-4;
Katayama (US 2015/0066278 A1) discloses a manually propelled vehicle, see Figures 1-17; and
Hane (US 2016/0221595 A1) discloses a pushcart, see Figures 1-13.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
March 3, 2026