DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 1, 15 and 21.
Pending: 1-15 and 21-26.
Canceled 6 and 16-20.
Newly added: 21-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23-24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al., US PG pub. 20160071799 A1.
Re: Independent Claim 21, Hsieh discloses a substrate (110, fig. 1);
transistors (100, fig. 1) over the substrate (110, fig. 1);
a lower interlayer insulating layer (140, fig. 1) filling spaces between the transistors (100, fig. 1);
metallic interconnections (190, fig. 1) over the lower interlayer insulating layer (140, fig. 1);
a SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025) over the transistors (100, fig. 1) and the lower interlayer insulating layer (140, fig. 1), wherein the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025) fills spaces between the metallic interconnections (190, fig. 1);
an etch stopper layer (152, fig. 1) over the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025), and
wherein the etch stopper layer (152, fig. 1) has an etch selectivity with respect to the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025).
Re: Claim 23, Hsieh disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Hsieh further discloses: wherein the etch stopper layer (152, fig. 1) is silicon nitride (SiN).
Re: Claim 24, Hsieh disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Hsieh further discloses: an upper interlayer insulating layer over the etch stopper layer (152, fig. 1), wherein the upper interlayer insulating layer has an etch selectivity with respect to the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025) and the etch stopper layer (152, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 26, Hsieh disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Hsieh further discloses: wherein the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025) has an etch selectivity with respect to the lower interlayer insulating layer (140, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al., US PG pub. 20160071799 A1; in view of Huang et al., US PG pub. 20050277258 A1.
Re: Claim 25, Hsieh disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Hsieh is silent regarding: hard mask patterns over the metallic interconnections (190, fig. 1), wherein the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025) extends onto the hard mask patterns, wherein the hard mask patterns have an etch selectivity with respect to the SiBN layer (150, fig. 1;¶0025).
Huang discloses a hard mask patterns (228, fig. 8; silicon nitride) can form on the conductive contact (226a, fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include mask patterns over the metallic interconnections since the mask patterns can insulating against stray current flow long-term.
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
* (“Lee et al., US PG pub. 20160329414 A1”) Discloses a semiconductor device includes forming an active pattern protruding from a substrate, forming a liner layer on the active pattern, forming a sacrificial gate pattern on the liner layer and crossing the active pattern, forming source/drain regions on the active pattern and at both sides of the sacrificial gate pattern, forming an interlayer insulating layer to cover the source/drain regions, forming capping insulating patterns on the interlayer insulating layer to expose the sacrificial gate pattern, and removing the sacrificial gate pattern and the liner layer by an etching process using the capping insulating patterns as an etch mask to form a gap region exposing the active pattern. The active pattern includes a material having a lattice constant greater than a lattice constant of the substrate, and the capping insulating patterns include a material having an etch selectivity with respect to the liner layer.
* (“Cheng et al., US PG pub. 20180254344 A1”) discloses a vertical transport fin field effect transistor, including, forming a bottom source/drain layer at the surface of the substrate, forming one or more channels on the bottom source/drain layer, where the channels extend away from the bottom source/drain layer, forming a gate structure on each of the one or more channels, and forming a top source/drain segment on the top surface of each of the one or more channels, wherein either each of the top source/drain segments or the bottom source/drain layer has a larger bandgap than the other of the bottom source/drain layer or each of the top source/drain segments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are allowed.
Re: Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claim(s) 2-5 and 7-14), the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: interconnections and a first spacer layer over the transistors and the lower interlayer insulating layer, wherein the first spacer layer is disposed between the interconnections; and an upper interlayer insulating layer over the interconnections and the first spacer layer, wherein the first spacer layer includes a first lower spacer layer and a first upper spacer layer over the first lower spacer layer, wherein the first lower spacer layer and the first upper spacer layer include a SiBN, and wherein a boron concentration of the first lower spacer layer is different from a boron concentration of the first upper spacer layer.
Re: Independent Claim 15, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: interconnections and a first spacer layer over the transistors and the lower interlayer insulating layers, wherein the first spacer layer is disposed between the interconnections; and an upper interlayer insulating layer over the interconnections and the first spacer layer, wherein the first spacer layer includes a SiBN, and wherein the first spacer layer has a concentration gradient between a first region having a higher boron concentration and a second region having a lower boron concentration.
Claim(s) 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re: Claim 22, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the SiBN layer has a lower region and an upper region, wherein a boron concentration of the lower region is higher than a boron concentration of the upper region.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSZ K CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Tsz.Chiu@uspto.gov
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898