DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to RCE filed 5/1/2026 which entered the amendment filed 4/6/26.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims on 4/6/26. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/6/26, with respect to the previous rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made based on Lee in view of Pierce in view of D’Halluin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7,9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Publication 20180084413) in view of Pierce (US Patent 6868407) in further view of D’Halluin et al (US Publication 20190057027).
In reference to claim 1, Lee teaches a method comprising:
generating a plurality of keys for link encryption; (see at least ¶s 58,61,76, which teaches establishing/generating a key for an initial network connection, and then generate other keys part of a refresh provisioning procedure)
storing the keys in an order; (see at least ¶s 71,78, which teaches storing the keys)
detecting that a re-key programmable threshold is met during link encryption with a device; (see at least ¶s 61,64, which teaches detecting a key refresh trigger during the connection)
identifying a synchronization point associated with the device, where the synchronization point indicates the device is ready to switch a current key used for link encryption; (see at least ¶ 61 lines 8-18 & ¶s 77-78, which teaches identifying a time period when the device is ready to switch or refresh keys during a connection) and
synchronizing a rekeying event with the device (see at least ¶s 74-75, which teaches synchronizing key refresh event with the device).
Lee fails to explicitly teach generating a plurality of keys comprising a set of two or more keys, and storing the plurality of keys as the set in a deterministic order. However, Pierce teaches managing cryptographic keys (see Pierce, at least Abstract), and discloses generating and storing a set of two or more keys in a deterministic manner (see Pierce, at least column 4 line 53 – column 5 line 20). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce for the purpose of managing multiple keys in a manner that ensures an adequate level of security over time.
Lee fails to explicitly teach storing… in a deterministic order based on transaction type. However, D’Halluin teaches key storage management, where keys are stored in a deterministic order and are based on transaction/operation type (see D’Halluin, at least Abstract and ¶s 28,30,34,37). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of D’Halluin for the purpose of ensuring keys are stored in a consistent manner thus improving efficiency (see D’Halluin, at least Background/Summary).
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 61 lines 8-15, which teaches conditions for a key refreshing frequency.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 61, which teaches conditions based on an amount of time and other factors.
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 109, which teaches a controller and other components for link communication.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶s 73-76, which teaches a trigger for periodically indicating a key refresh, and generating a next key for a re-authentication procedure.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Pierce, at least column 4 lines 53-67 and column 5 lines 14-55, which teaches the deterministic order facilitate key management for data protection. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Pierce, at least column 5 lines 40-67, which teaches key management and generating new encryption keys. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
Claims 9-19 are slight variations of the rejected claims 1-7 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 8,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Publication 20180084413) in view of Pierce (US Patent 6868407) in further view of D’Halluin et al (US Publication 20190057027) in further view of Hausauer et al (US Publication 20230403260).
In reference to claim 8, Lee teaches interconnecting and communicating via peripheral components (see Lee, at least ¶s 111,115). Lee fails to explicitly teach the link is PCIe and encryption is on the PCIe link. However, Hausauer teaches encryption processing for encrypted communication and discloses PCIe links for encrypted communication transfers (see Hausauer, at least Background and ¶ 38). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of Hausauer for the purpose of facilitating encrypted communications via high speed hardware encryption process.
Claim 20 is slight variations of the rejected claim 8 above, and is therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
August 3, 2026