DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed January 9, 2026.
Status of Claims
No claims were amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of remarks, Applicant argues that the applied references do not teach the claimed storing keys in a deterministic order, and that storing in a deterministic manner is different from storing in a deterministic order.
In reply, Applicant is reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The references are applied to these broad limitations in a reasonable manner. Applicant has failed to provide adequate examples and explanations which would clearly demonstrate the definition of each claim limitation, and Applicant has not amended the claims to make limitations reflect certain embodiments as outlined in Applicants specification (and which may then preclude a broad interpretation in light of the references). Furthermore, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims unless the specification provides explicit and non-broad definitions of said limitations. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Taking for example, the limitation of: "deterministic order". The Pierce reference satisfies this limitation because Pierce teaches managing cryptographic keys (see Pierce, at least Abstract), and specifically teaches generating and storing a set of two or more keys in a deterministic manner (see Pierce, at least column 4 line 53 – column 5 line 20). In this case, “deterministic order” is seen to broadly mean storing in an orderly manner or in a non-random way (which is demonstrated by Pierce). Pierce does this for the purpose of managing multiple keys in a manner that ensures an adequate level of security over time.
Applicant has failed to properly explain how and why the claims are different than storing in an orderly manner or in a non-random way. Applicants specification fails to give clearcut and non-broad definitions of the above limitation. And the claims fail to give proper context and detail which would prevent broad interpretations and/or obviate the Pierce reference. This broad interpretation applies to the rest of the claim limitations and to the rest of the applied references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7,9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Publication 20180084413) in view of Pierce (US Patent 6868407) in further view of Shmatz et al (US Publication 20210126781).
In reference to claim 1, Lee teaches a method comprising:
generating a plurality of keys for link encryption; (see at least ¶s 58,61,76, which teaches establishing/generating a key for an initial network connection, and then generate other keys part of a refresh provisioning procedure)
storing the keys in an order; (see at least ¶s 71,78, which teaches storing the keys)
detecting that a re-key programmable threshold is met during link encryption with a device; (see at least ¶s 61,64, which teaches detecting a key refresh trigger during the connection)
identifying a synchronization point associated with the device, where the synchronization point indicates the device is ready to switch a current key used for link encryption; (see at least ¶ 61 lines 8-18 & ¶s 77-78, which teaches identifying a time period when the device is ready to switch or refresh keys during a connection) and
synchronizing a rekeying event with the device (see at least ¶s 74-75, which teaches synchronizing key refresh event with the device).
Lee fails to explicitly teach generating a plurality of keys comprising a set of two or more keys, and storing the plurality of keys as the set in a deterministic order. However, Pierce teaches managing cryptographic keys (see Pierce, at least Abstract), and discloses generating and storing a set of two or more keys in a deterministic manner (see Pierce, at least column 4 line 53 – column 5 line 20). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce for the purpose of managing multiple keys in a manner that ensures an adequate level of security over time.
Lee fails to explicitly teach key generated based on high entropy seed. However, Shmatz teaches cryptographic encryption and key management, and discloses generating seeds according to entropy-based random values in order to generate cryptographic objects/keys (see Shmatz, at least Abstract and ¶ 25). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of Shmatz for the purpose of generating and distributing cryptographic keys for secure key management and network communication (see Shmatz, at least Background).
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 61 lines 8-15, which teaches conditions for a key refreshing frequency.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 61, which teaches conditions based on an amount of time and other factors.
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶ 109, which teaches a controller and other components for link communication.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Lee, at least ¶s 73-76, which teaches a trigger for periodically indicating a key refresh, and generating a next key for a re-authentication procedure.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Pierce, at least column 4 lines 53-67 and column 5 lines 14-55, which teaches the deterministic order facilitate key management for data protection. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Pierce, at least column 5 lines 40-67, which teaches key management and generating new encryption keys. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Lee based on the teachings of Pierce in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
Claims 9-19 are slight variations of the rejected claims 1-7 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 8,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Publication 20180084413) in view of Pierce (US Patent 6868407) in further view of Shmatz et al (US Publication 20210126781) in further view of Hausauer et al (US Publication 20230403260).
In reference to claim 8, Lee teaches interconnecting and communicating via peripheral components (see Lee, at least ¶s 111,115). Lee fails to explicitly teach the link is PCIe and encryption is on the PCIe link. However, Hausauer teaches encryption processing for encrypted communication and discloses PCIe links for encrypted communication transfers (see Hausauer, at least Background and ¶ 38). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee based on the teachings of Hausauer for the purpose of facilitating encrypted communications via high speed hardware encryption process.
Claim 20 is slight variations of the rejected claim 8 above, and is therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
January 30, 2026