Detailed Office Action
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 26 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-17
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ger et al. (2002/0181058; “Ger”)in view of Butler et al. (10,107,967; “Butler”), further in view of McCloud et al. (10,663,687; “McCloud”), further in view of Chiaretti et al. (5,675;681; “Chiaretti”), and further in view of Nagasawa et al. (5,214,730; “Nagasawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Ger discloses in figure 3, and related figures and text, embodiments of ‘plug in modules 20a and 20, which are representative of many more interconnected plug-in modules (not shown), are optically interconnected by a plurality of optical fiber bundles 22. For greater transceiver density and design flexibility, two dimensional transceiver arrays 24 … are mounted on a major surface 26 of each plug-in module. Optical fiber connectors 28 are employed proximate a peripheral edge 30 of each plug-in module, and optical fibers interconnecting the transceiver arrays and corresponding edge mounted connectors 28 on a plug-in … the bundles of fibers 32a-32d exiting each transceiver array fan out or diverge, as … fiber groups which may be packages as optical fiber ribbons, as they approach a corresponding group 34a-34d of edge mounted fiber connectors 28. Optical interconnections 22 between plug-in modules are achieved, for example, by ribbon fiber bundles between edge-mounted connectors 28.’ Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
Ger – Figure 3
Ger – Selected Text
[0010] In any event, and with continued reference to the exemplary prior art structure of FIG. 1, the fiber optic transceivers containing the electronic to optical conversion circuitry (and vice versa) are mounted at a peripheral edge of each printed circuit board. As will be readily ascertained by those skilled in the art, the dimensions of the transmitter or receiver sections as sections 12a and 14a generally exceed those of the fiber connectors, so that the approach exemplified by FIG. 1 wastes edge length compared to an approach in which the individual transmitter and receiver sections are located in the interior of the cards and jumpers are used to connect them to fiber connectors located on the edges. Thus, and as best seen in FIG. 2, a higher density of transceiver sections 12a, 12b is made possible by locating a plurality of fiber connectors 16 proximate the peripheral edge of each plug in module as PCBs 10a and 10b and employing a fiber bundle pigtail connection 18a from each transmitter section row of transmitter modules to a corresponding fiber connector 16 and also employing a fiber bundle pigtail connection 18b from each receiver section row of receiver modules to a corresponding fiber connector 16. It is the fiber connectors associated with each transceiver pair, then, which are optically interconnected by each fiber bundle 15. The approach of FIG. 2, while potentially achieving a higher density than that of FIG. 1, does so only at a substantial cost in terms of surface area on the major surfaces 11 of boards 10a and 10b. That is, two components per link are required on each board (transmitter or receiver and fiber connector).
[0024] The present invention is made possible by a means of efficiently interconnecting optical fibers to emitters and detectors. By way of illustration, consider the greatly simplified, exemplary arrangement of optically interconnected first and second plug-in modules 20a and 20b depicted in FIG. 3, which constitute part of a multiple channel transmission system. As shown in FIG. 3, plug in modules 20a and 20, which are representative of many more interconnected plug-in modules (not shown), are optically interconnected by a plurality of optical fiber bundles 22. For greater transceiver density and design flexibility, two dimensional transceiver arrays 24 (e.g., N.times.M arrays of transmitters and/or receivers) are mounted on a major surface 26 of each plug-in module. Optical fiber connectors 28 are employed proximate a peripheral edge 30 of each plug-in module, and optical fibers interconnecting the transceiver arrays and corresponding edge mounted connectors 28 on a plug-in module are bundled into two dimensional (N.times.M) arrays at the point where they are optically coupled to two dimensional transceiver arrays (e.g., N.times.M arrays of transmitters and/or receivers). In the illustrative example shown in FIG. 3, the bundles of fibers 32a-32d exiting each transceiver array fan out or diverge, as four 1.times.N fiber groups which may be packages as optical fiber ribbons, as they approach a corresponding group 34a-34d of edge mounted fiber connectors 28. Optical interconnections 22 between plug-in modules are achieved, for example, by ribbon fiber bundles between edge-mounted connectors 28. Although the number of fibers in each 1.times.N row of the transceiver array is shown to be 6, it will be readily appreciated by those skilled in the art that any number of such fibers and corresponding transceiver elements maybe employed.
[0026] By bundling groups of fibers, one from transmitter section 50 and the one for receiver section 60, bi-directional data flow over individual fibers is achieved with fewer process steps. Bundling groups of fibers together also reduces the complexity of connecting multiple fibers from one node to another. Instead of connecting fibers one by one, they can be connected in groups, reducing the probability of misconnecting fibers. Each transmitter and receiver module as modules 62.sub.1-62.sub.n and 64.sub.1 and 64.sub.w, respectively, in a 1.times.N row has a pigtail fiber, with each 1.times.N grouping being ribbonized and having a multiple channel optical connector 28 (FIG. 3) fixed at one end thereof. Such an arrangement avoids the losses which would be associated by incorporating a second multiple channel connector at the interface with the receiver and transmitter modules. Optical connector 28 is fixed by the peripheral edge 30 of a board.
Further regarding claim 1, Butler discloses in figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text, embodiments of two complementary connectors, and related methods of fabricating/assembling the connectors, for example, by disposing a fiber array 52 on top of substrate 20, which mates with cover 120 such that upon cutting (cutting line CL) 20/120 define multifiber ferrules 180. Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text.
Butler – Figures 5A and 5B
Butler – Selected Text
Column 11, lines 13-59
(69) When the securing material 135 is fully cured, the back-end portions 108A and 108B of the first and second fiber pusher arrays 100A and 100B that extend beyond the edges 30 of the support substrate 20 can be removed, as shown in FIG. 5A. This leaves just the front-end portions 104A and 104B residing on the support substrate 20. In an example, the first and second pusher fibers 102A and 102B can be broken by scoring and cleaving, or by mechanically sawing or grinding excess fiber material away or by laser cutting. Additional adhesive or potting material (not shown) may be applied to the exposed first and second pusher fibers 102A and 102B where they exit the cover sheet 120 to prevent them from being damaged during subsequent processing steps and handling. The additional adhesive or potting material can also be used to cover and protect any portion of the fiber ribbon assembly 10 that may be vulnerable to damage during the fabrication process.
(70) At this point in the fabrication method, the support substrate 20, the front-end portions 104A and 104B of the first and second fiber-pusher arrays 100A and 100B, and the cover sheet 120 define a ferrule structure (“ferrule”) 180 that disposed about the interdigitated signal-fiber array 80, which resides within the securing region 140. The ferrule 180 has a front end 182 and a back end 184, with the securing region 140 defining a ferrule interior. Thus, the interdigitated signal-fiber array 80 can be said to reside within a ferrule interior 140. Since the ferrule supports multiple signal fibers 52A and/or 52B, the ferrule 180 constitutes a multifiber ferrule.
(71) FIG. 5A also shows a cutting line CL along which the fiber ribbon assembly 10 can be cut to define two fiber array assemblies 200, i.e., 200-1 and 200-2, as shown in the top-down views of FIGS. 5B and 5C. The cutting line CL of FIG. 5A runs in the x-direction and through the ferrule 180 and is thus perpendicular (transverse) to the first and second signal fibers 52A and 52B, which run in the z-direction. In an example, the cutting line CL cuts the ferrule 180 in half. The cutting plane formed by cutting the ferrule 180 in half may also be tilted by, for example rotating the cutting plane about the x and/or y axes. Each fiber array assembly 200 has a front-end section 201 with a front end 202, which is defined in part by the new front ends 26 and 126 of the support substrate 20 and the cover sheet 120 formed by cutting the fiber ribbon assembly 10 along the cutting line CL. In an example, the front-end section 201 can include a portion of the corresponding first or second multifiber cable 60A or 60B.
Consequently, in light of Butler’s structural and process embodiments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger’s fiber pigtail embodiments to comprise detachable array units; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text; because the resulting configurations would facilitate manipulating the individual fibers of the multifiber pigtails. McCloud, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text, for example, McCloud – Selected Text.
McCloud – Figures 1 and 2
McCloud – Selected Text
Column 2, line 58 – column 4, line 16
(20) FIG. 1 illustrates a first embodiment of a fiber optic pigtail assembly 100. The pigtail assembly 100 includes a plurality of optical fibers 110 each configured to conduct a separate light signal. As will be described below, referring to FIG. 2, the pigtail assembly 100 is configured to terminate a fiber optic cable 160 (e.g., a fiber optic trunk cable) that includes cable fibers 171-182 that are either loose (as shown in FIG. 2) or ribbonized into a ribbon 186 (as shown in FIG. 3). Thus, the pigtail assembly 100 is configured to terminate a ribbonized or non-ribbonized fiber optic cable 160 without the need to change the ribbonization of the optical fibers 110 of the pigtail assembly 100, which simplifies the termination process. Referring to FIG. 1, the pigtail assembly 100 may be packaged in a package 102 and sold as a kit 104.
(21) In the embodiment illustrated, the plurality of optical fibers 110 include twelve optical fibers 111-122 (e.g., having an outside diameter of about 250 μm). However, this is not a requirement and the pigtail assembly 100 may include a different number of fibers. Each of the plurality of optical fibers 110 has a first end portion 124 opposite a second end portion 126.
(22) At least some of the optical fibers 111-122 may have different lengths. For example, the optical fiber 111 may be the longest and the optical fiber 120 may be the shortest. The optical fibers 119 and 121 may have the same length. By way of a non-limiting example, the optical fibers 111-122 may be listed from longest to shortest in the following order: optical fibers 111-118, optical fiber 122, optical fiber 119, optical fiber 121, and optical fiber 120. The length of each of the optical fibers 111-122 is configured to reduce an amount of the optical fiber that is removed by cleaving and/or splicing.
(23) The first end portions 124 of the plurality of optical fibers 110 are ribbonized and form a ribbonized first portion 130 of the pigtail assembly 100. By way of a non-limiting example, the ribbonized first portion 130 may have a length of about 8.5 inches (216 mm). Within the ribbonized first portion 130, the plurality of optical fibers 110 are attached to one another and form a unit or ribbon. Thus, within the ribbonized first portion 130, the plurality of optical fibers 110 may be manipulated and routed as a unit.
(24) A loose second portion 132 is adjacent the ribbonized first portion 130. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 1, the loose second portion 132 extends to the second end portion 126 of the plurality of optical fibers 110. Within the loose second portion 132, the plurality of optical fibers 110 are loose, not ribbonized, and may be manipulated and routed individually. A user may thus use either the ribbonized first end portion 124 or, referring to FIG. 2, cut off the ribbonized first portion 130 and use the loose second portion 132 to terminate the cable fibers 171-182 of the cable 160 to the pigtail assembly 100.
(25) A demarcation 134 (e.g., a piece of heat shrink tape) may be placed at or near a junction 136 where the first and second portions 130 and 132 meet. Thus, the demarcation 134 may be positioned between the first and second end portions 124 and 126 of the plurality of optical fibers 110. The demarcation 134 may be used to determine where, if desired, to cut the pigtail assembly 100 to remove the ribbonized first portion 130.
(26) The pigtail assembly 100 may include a protective feature or guard (not shown) positioned at the first end portions 124 that protects the first end portions 124 from damage that might occur during handling. The protective feature may be implemented as an adhesive bead or a piece of tape (e.g., heat shrink tape). The protective feature may help prevent the ribbonized first portion 130 from splitting at the first end portions 124 of the optical fibers 111-122.
(27) The second end portions 126 of the plurality of optical fibers 110 are pre-connectorized to one or more fiber optic connectors 140. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 1, the second end portions 126 of the optical fibers 111-122 are connected to twelve fiber optic connectors 141-152, respectively. In this embodiment, the second end portions 126 of the optical fibers 111-122 are placed in tubes T1-T12 (e.g., having an outside diameter of about 900 μm). The tubes T1-T12 protect the second end portions 126 of the optical fibers 111-122 as they leave the fiber optic connectors 141-152, respectively. The tubes T1-T12 extend from the fiber optic connectors 141-152, respectively, partway toward the ribbonized first portion 130. By way of a non-limiting example, a distance of about 13 inches (33 mm) may extend along the loose second portion 132 from the junction 136 to the tubes T1-T12. By way of another non-limiting example, the tubes T1-T12 may have a length of approximately 7.8 inches (198 mm) to approximately 10 inches (254 mm). The tubes T1-T12 may each have a different color. For example, the tubes T1-T12 may be blue, orange, green, brown, slate, white, red, black, yellow, violet, rose, and aqua, respectively. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the tube T1 (e.g., colored blue) may be the longest and the tube T10 (e.g., colored violet) may be the shortest. By way of non-limiting examples, the tubes T1-T12 may have the lengths shown in Table A below:
Column 4, line 57 – column 5, line 16.
(31) Referring to FIG. 2, after the ribbonized first portion 130 has been cut off, the loose optical fibers 111-122 of the pigtail assembly 100 are configured to be spliced with the loose cable fibers 171-182 of the fiber optic cable 160. The optical fibers 111-122 may be spliced with the cable fibers 171-182, respectively, by mechanical splicing or using a process known as fusion splicing which is described in more detail below.
(32) As noted, splicing of the optical fibers 111-122 of the pigtail assembly 100, whether via the loose second portion 132 (as shown in FIG. 2) or the ribbonized first portion 130 (as shown in FIG. 3) may be accomplished by fusion splicing or mechanical splicing. Referring to FIG. 2, when single fiber splicing is used to terminate the fiber optic cable 160, the ribbonized first portion 130 may be removed (e.g., cut) from the pigtail assembly 100. Then, the loose optical fibers 111-122 may be spliced individually with the corresponding individual cable fibers 171-182, respectively, and the splices may be housed inside splice sleeves S1-S12, respectively. Thus, as shown in FIG. 2, the loose optical fibers 111-122 of the pigtail assembly 100 may be spliced with the loose cable fibers 171-182, respectively, of the first version of the cable 160 without needing to de-ribbonize the optical fibers 111-122 because the pigtail assembly 100 already includes the loose second portion 132. Optionally, the kit 104 (see FIG. 1) may include the splice sleeves S1-S12.
Further regarding claim 1, Chiaretti discloses in figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text, embodiments of multi-fiber ferrules whose fibers are aligned by the downward press of fiber-aligning grooves 61 formed in the surface of substrate 38. Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text.
Chiaretti – Figures 3 - 5
Chiaretti – Selected Text
Column 3, line 50 – column 4, line 62
(5) Referring to FIGS. 2 to 6 the structure of ferrule 21 will be shown. The complementary ferrule 22 shall not be described, being complementary to ferrule 21 as it can be clearly noticed from FIG. 3.
(6) Ferrule 21 shows inside a longitudinal slide, crossing it from one end to the other one.
(7) The longitudinal notch has rectangular shape with rounded edges and inside the same a 24 optic fiber tape is inserted.
(8) In the particular embodiment shown, the tape 24 consists of four optic fibers.
(9) Generally, this tape 24 can consist of a different number of fibers.
(10) Close to the end to be coupled, the ferrule 21 shows on its side surface a flaring 25 having flat rectangular shape.
(11) Usefully, flaring 25 is obtained through grinding of the lateral surface of ferrule 21.
(12) Flaring 25 identifies an opening 36 (see FIG. 3) enabling access to said longitudinal notch starting from the lateral surface of ferrule 21.
(13) Coinciding the opening 36, the longitudinal notch shows, on the side opposite to opening 36 itself, a 37 rectangular step, having size essentially similar to the size of opening 36.
(14) The height of step 37 is equal to one half the height of notch 36, decreased by half thickness of a fiber without external protection (typically 25 micron).
(15) Matching step 37, optic fibers of tape 24 are cleared from the external protection. Their diameter assumes then 125 micron value.
(16) Fibers of tape 24, made free from the external protection, rest on step 37. Due to the thickness of step 37, fibers assume a position such that the longitudinal axis of each fiber lays on the mean longitudinal plan of the longitudinal notch.
(17) A plate 38 for fiber fixing (see also FIG. 6) in placed above step 37. On one side of plate 38, four `V` shaped grooves 61 are obtained suitable to receive said fibers.
(18) This step creates in fact a flat surface, resulting parallel to the plan surface consisting of said notch 28.
(19) In particular, considering that on said step, fibers rest and their alignment in respect with the fibers of the complementary connector mainly depends on the accuracy employed to determine their distance versus the reference plan consisting of said notch 28, the step is realized with tolerance lower than .mu.m.
(20) FIG. 6 shows in detail the arrangement of the four grooves 61, without fibers housed.
(21) Preferably the plate 38 is made of silicon.
(22) Plate 38 is rested on the step 37 with the grooved 61 side downward.
(23) The silicon plate 38 is joined to the step 37 with bonding agents or resins.
(24) The above mentioned longitudinal notch is partly filled with fixing material 39, one optic fibers of the tape 24 and plate 38 are inserted.
(25) The fixing material 39 is preferably argentana. This material is characterized by a lower hardness compared to the material of optic fibers.
(26) Particularly referring to FIGS. 2 and 3 the end 26 of ferrule 21 shows a contact front part 27, consisting of the front edge of ferrule 21 itself, of the longitudinal notch filled with the fixing material 39 and of contact sides of optic fibers.
(27) In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 this end 27 has flat shape and shows a slight slope (8.degree. approximately) from top to bottom.
(28) In the embodiment shown in FIG. 7 this end 27 has rounded shape.
(29) The shape of end 27 is made in the working phase of ferrule 21 through a lapping and polishing operation involving the ferrule edge, the fixing material and fibers at the same time and consequently the front side of the ferrule shall result rounded both in respect with the horizontal axis and versus the vertical one.
(30) Referring to FIGS. 2 and 8 the structure of the alignment bush 23 will be shown.
Column 5, lines 35-45
(44) The advantages of the invention are evident.
(45) Due to the "V" grooves fibers are arranged with high accuracy on plate 38. The Plate 38 is fixed in its turn with high accuracy, to a flat surface parallel to said notch 28, inside the longitudinal notch of ferrules 21 and 22.
(46) The longitudinal guide 81 of bush 23 assures, engaging against notch 28 of ferrules 21 and 22, a correct alignment of the same and consequently, a correct alignment of optic fibers belonging to tapes 24.
Consequently, in light of Chiaretti’s embodiments of fiber aligning structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger in view of Butler and further in view of McCloud’s fiber pigtail embodiments to comprise optical fibers sandwiched by top and bottom structures; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text; because the resulting configurations would facilitate manipulating the individual fibers of the multifiber pigtails; McCloud, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text, for example, McCloud – Selected Text; while predictably controlling the tolerances of the alignment of individual fibers. Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text.
Further regarding claim 1, Nagasawa discloses in figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text, embodiments of connector retention structures 7 whose spring-like characteristics facilitate mating two connectors 3 and 3’ that are aligning by guides pins 6 disposed in alignment holes 5. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.
Nagasawa – Figure 1
Nagasawa – Selected Text
Column 1, lines 13 -28
(5) A first example of a conventionally known multifiber optical connector plug is shown in FIG. 1, in which a connector plug member 3 houses a plurality of transversely arranged optical fibers 2 projecting out of the end of an optical fiber ribbon 1 and has a pair of guide pin insertion holes 4 with the transversely arranged optical fibers 2 located therebetween, while a connecting facet 5 of the connector plug member 3 has a flat surface perpendicular to the optical axes of the optical fibers 2, where the perpendicular flat surface of the connecting facet 5 has been obtained by the application of a perpendicular polishing. This multifiber optical connector plug of FIG. 1 also includes a clamp spring member 7 for clamping one connector plug member 3 and another connector plug member 3' together when they are connected together.
Consequently, in light of Nagasawa’s embodiments of resilient guide-pin-aided retention configurations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger in view of Butler and further in view of McCloud, and further in view of Chiaretti’s fiber pigtail embodiments to comprise an affixed fiber array unit plug including a first optical fiber; a detachable fiber array unit plug including a second optical fiber, the detachable fiber array unit plug to be removably coupled to the affixed fiber array unit plug; and guide pins to interface with both the detachable fiber array unit plug and the affixed fiber array unit plug when coupled together, the guide pins to facilitate alignment of the first optical fiber with the second optical fiber; Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text; because the resulting connector retention configurations; Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text; would facilitate optically connecting; manipulating the individual fibers of the multifiber pigtails; McCloud, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text, for example, McCloud – Selected Text; while predictably controlling the tolerances of the alignment of individual fibers. Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text.
Regarding dependent claims 2-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger in view of Butler, further in view of McCloud, further in view of Chiaretti, and further in view of Nagasawa, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the affixed fiber array unit plug is bonded to an optical component via the first optical fiber. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detachable fiber array unit plug is bonded to a mechanical transfer ferrule via the second optical fiber. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the affixed fiber array unit plug includes a third optical fiber, and the detachable fiber array unit plug includes a fourth optical fiber to align with the third optical fiber, the second and fourth optical fibers arranged in a first array on the detachable fiber array unit plug and arranged in a second array on the mechanical transfer ferrule, an ordering of the second and fourth optical fibers in the first array different than an ordering of the second and fourth optical fibers in the second array. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the affixed fiber array unit plug includes a first groove, and the detachable fiber array unit plug includes a second groove, the first optical fiber disposed in the first groove, the second optical fiber disposed in the second groove. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the affixed fiber array unit plug and the detachable fiber array unit plug include grooves to interface with the guide pins. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, including a retention mechanism to retain the detachable fiber array unit plug in engagement with the affixed fiber array unit plug, and to retain detachable fiber array unit plug and the affixed fiber array unit plug against the guide pins. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the guide pins are bonded to the retention mechanism. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
9. The apparatus of claim 7, including an alignment casing to support the guide pins. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the retention mechanism surrounds the detachable fiber array unit plug, the affixed fiber array unit plug, and the alignment casing. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
11. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the guide pins are longer than a combined length of the affixed fiber array unit plug and the detachable fiber array unit plug. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
12. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the retention mechanism includes a release mechanism that, when released, provides a compressive force to urge the detachable fiber array unit plug and the affixed fiber array unit plug against the guide pins, and when squeezed, removes the compressive force. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
13. The apparatus of claim 12, including a spring between a distal end of the detachable fiber array unit plug and the retention mechanism, the spring to provide an axial retention force to facilitate engagement of the detachable fiber array unit plug to the affixed fiber array unit plug. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
15. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the retention mechanism includes a spring to urge at least one of the detachable fiber array unit plug or the affixed fiber array unit plug against the guide pins, the spring to removably attach to an optical component. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
16. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detachable fiber array unit plug is replaceable. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
17. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a length of the second optical fiber is customizable independent of a length of the first optical fiber. Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text.; Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text; Butler, figures 5A and 5B, and related figures and text, for example, Butler – Selected Text; Ger, figure 3, and related figures and text, for example, Ger – Selected Text.
because the resulting connector retention configurations; Nagasawa, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Nagasawa – Selected Text; would facilitate optically connecting; manipulating the individual fibers of the multifiber pigtails; McCloud, figures 1 and 2, and related figures and text, for example, McCloud – Selected Text; while predictably controlling the tolerances of the alignment of individual fibers. Chiaretti, figures 3 and 5, and related figures and text, for example, Chiaretti – Selected Text.
Claim 14
Claim 14, as dependent upon claim 12, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ger et al. (2002/0181058; “Ger”)in view of Butler et al. (10,107,967; “Butler”), further in view of McCloud et al. (10,663,687; “McCloud”), further in view of Chiaretti et al. (5,675;681; “Chiaretti”), and further in view of Nagasawa et al. (5,214,730; “Nagasawa”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-13 and 15-17, and further in view of Denoyer et al. (2021/0048587; “Denoyer”).
Regarding claim 14, Denoyer discloses in figure 2C, and related figures and text, for example, Denoyer – Selected Text, embodiments of multifiber connectors 216 edge-coupled to optoelectronic modules 200 through the interaction of complementary structures/surfaces, for example, 208/220. Denoyer, figure 2C, and related figures and text, for example, Denoyer – Selected Text.
Denoyer – Figure 2C
Denoyer – Selected Text
[0043] The optoelectronic module 200 may include an optical connector 216 to optically couple the OIC 208 with optical fibers 222. In some configurations, the optical fibers 222 may be an array of optical fibers, for example, in a linear configuration, although other configurations may be implemented. As shown, the optical connector 216 and the interposer 202 may be separate components coupled to one another.
[0044] The optical connector 216 may include a body 228, which may include or may be formed of a transparent substrate, such as glass, silicon, or other suitable transparent material. The body 228 may define grooves, slots or openings sized and shaped to receive the optical fibers 222. The position of the grooves, slots or openings may correspond to the position of the optical fibers 222 in the fiber array. In some configurations, the optical connector 216 may include grooves, slots or openings for each corresponding one of the optical fibers 222, although other configurations may be implemented.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger in view of Butler, further in view of McCloud, further in view of Chiaretti, and further in view of Nagasawa, as applied in the rejection of claims 1-13 and 15-17, to disclose that the retention mechanism attaches to a slot on an optical component because the resulting configuration would facilitate joining separate fiber optic components. Denoyer – Selected Text.
Claim 18
Claim 18, as dependent upon claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ger et al. (2002/0181058; “Ger”)in view of Butler et al. (10,107,967; “Butler”), further in view of McCloud et al. (10,663,687; “McCloud”), further in view of Chiaretti et al. (5,675;681; “Chiaretti”), and further in view of Nagasawa et al. (5,214,730; “Nagasawa”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-13 and 15-17, and further in view of Jong et al. (2004/0126069; “Jong”).
Regarding claim 18, Jong discloses embodiments of fiber optic configurations having protective coverings 22 with a variety of colors, markings, or other indicia to allow users to identify the jumpers. Jong – Selected Text.
Jong – Selected Text
[0023] To assemble the flexible multifiber fiber optic jumper 10 as illustrated in FIG. 1, a fiber optic ribbon has its first and second ends 16,18 prepared for mounting on a multifiber connector 12. The end preparation preferably includes stripping the ribbon matrix and any fiber coating from the optical fibers. The ferrule is then attached to the optical fibers at the first end 16 as is known in the art. The matrix material is then stripped from the central portion 28 of the optical fibers before the protective covering 22 is disposed over the optical fibers 20. If the ferrule is attached at the second end before the protective covering 22 is disposed over the optical fibers 20, then the protective covering 22 would have to be relatively large in diameter to fit over the ferrules. In an environment where space is a main consideration, the smaller the protective covering 22, the better. The protective covering 22 should also be relatively flexible to allow the jumper 10 to be used in a variety of situations and routing schemes. It should also protect the optical fibers from damage when hit, pulled through hardware and ducts, etc. While a cylindrical sheath is illustrated in the figures, the protective covering 22 could be of any shape or even have a opening along its length to allow the protective covering 22 to be installed or removed at a later date. It is also within the scope of this invention to color the protective covering 22 with a variety of colors, markings, or other indicia to allow users to identify the jumpers. Once the protective covering 22 is on the jumper 10, the second end 18 is prepared and connectorized.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ger in view of Butler, further in view of McCloud, further in view of Chiaretti, and further in view of Nagasawa, as applied in the rejection of claims 1-13 and 15-17, to disclose that the affixed fiber array unit plug includes a first unique identifier disposed thereon and the detachable fiber array unit plug includes a second unique identifier disposed thereon, the first unique identifier the same as the second unique identifier because the resulting configuration would facilitate identifying specific pigtail fibers. Jong – Selected Text.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874