Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 12/22/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyulai, US20230187737A1, Guen, US20150072189A1, and Okada, US6174620B1.
Regarding claim 1, Gyulai teaches a secondary battery (battery (10)) comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (inner workings of lithium ion cell disposed within case)[0030][0040];
a can (housing (12))[fig. 1] accommodating the electrode assembly and having a pipe shape and having a thickness varying along a circumference of the pipe shape (varied thickness around the edges)[0018][fig, 7];
the can comprising a first short side, a second short side, a first long side, and a second long side facing the first long side (four sides)[fig. 5]
a first side plate sealing a first end of the can; a second side plate sealing a second end of the can (two covers (16))[0044];
a first side terminal electrically connected to the first electrode plate and exposed to the outside through the first side plate; and a second side terminal electrically connected to the second electrode plate and exposed to the outside through the second side plate (cell terminals (20))[0046][fig. 3] and
a safety vent (vent (22)) configured to rupture on one side of rupture on one of the first short side, the second short side, the first long side, or the second long side of the can [fig. 2][0020]
Gyulai does not teach a safety vent comprising a notch, and wherein a maximum thickness of the one of the first short side, the second short side, the first long side, and the second long side facing the first long side of the can is larger than a maximum thickness of another one of the first short side, the second short side, the first long side, and the second long side facing the first long side of the can.
Guen teaches a secondary battery (101) comprising a pipe shaped can (case (27)) with an electrode assembly (10) accommodated within the can [0003][fig. 2] wherein the can further comprises a safety vent (39) comprising a notch (39a)[fig. 2] wherein the notch is configured to allow the vent to open at a setpoint pressure [0046]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the notch of Guen into the vent of Gyulai to allow the vent to open at a setpoint pressure.
Okada teaches a secondary battery having a prismatic housing wherein the thickness of each of the first short side and the second short side is greater than the thickness of each of the first long side and the second long side [col. 2 lin. 20 – 35]. Further, Okada teaches wherein the varying the thickness of the casing allows for greater structural support while reducing weight [col. 6 lin. 23 – 32]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching for greater thickness on the short sides in Okada into the battery of combined Gyulai to improve structural support while reducing weight. Consequently, the vent of Gyulai which is formed on the short side is thereby formed on a side having a greater maximum thickness than that of another side.
Regarding claim 3, combined Gyulai teaches the secondary battery of claim 2.
Further, Okada teaches wherein the thickness of each of the first short side and the second short side is greater than the thickness of each of the first long side and the second long side [col. 2 lin. 20 – 35].
Regarding claim 4, combined Gyulai teaches the secondary battery of claim 2.
Further, Gyulai teaches wherein a safety vent (22) is on the second short side [fig. 2].
Further, Okada teaches the thickness of the second short side is greater than the thickness of each of the first long side, or the second long side [col. 2 lin. 20 – 35].
Regarding claim 5, combined Gyulai teaches the secondary battery of claim 4.
Further, Gyulai teaches wherein a hole (22) is formed in the second short side, and the safety vent (closure element (24)) is on the hole to be fixed by lap welding (welding)[0020][fig. 1][fig. 2]
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724