DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 2/3/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 7, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holt et al. (US-20220196909-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose a through silicon waveguide, comprising a substrate (201) (substrate 201 can have a bottom surface 281 and a top surface 282 opposite the bottom surface), wherein the substrate comprises silicon (a silicon (Si) substrate) ([0021]); and a waveguide (250) through the substrate (201) ([0020]), wherein the waveguide comprises a waveguide structure (252, figure 2A); and a cladding (251) around the waveguide structure (252).
With respect to claim 7, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose the through silicon waveguide, wherein the waveguide structure (252) is rectangular (figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose the through silicon waveguide, wherein the waveguide structure (252) is cross-shaped (figure 2).
With respect to claim 11, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose the through silicon waveguide, wherein the waveguide structure comprises silicon and nitrogen ([0024]).
With respect to claim 12, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose the through silicon waveguide, wherein the waveguide structure (252) is a shell (figure 2).
With respect to claim 13, Holt et al. (figure 2A) disclose the through silicon waveguide, wherein a height of the waveguide structure is approximately 100µm or greater ([0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Holt et al. (as cited above).
With respect to claim 9, Holt et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention except the waveguide structure is T- shaped.
However, the waveguide structure being T- shaped is considered to be obvious to provide higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. with the above features for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. It is noted that such a modification would have involved a mere change in the figure of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to claim 10, Holt et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention except metal vias adjacent to the waveguide structure.
However, the metal vias adjacent to the waveguide structure is considered to be obvious to provide high performance of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. to include the above feature for the purpose of providing high performance of optical signal transmission. It is also noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
11. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Holt et al. (as cited above) in view of Sparacin et al. (US-7831123-B2).
With respect to claim 2, Holt et al. (figure 2A) substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the waveguide structure comprises silicon.
However, Sparacin et al. teach an optical device including the waveguide structure comprises silicon (column 6, line 42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. to include the waveguide structure comprising silicon (accordance with the teaching of Sparacin) for the purpose of reducing the transmission losses of the waveguide (column 6, lines 9-10).
With respect to claim 3, Holt et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention except the cladding comprises oxygen.
However, the cladding comprising oxygen is considered to be obvious to provide high performance of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. to include the above feature for the purpose of providing high performance of optical signal transmission. It is also noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 4, Holt et al. (figure 2A) substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the cladding comprises a liner and a fill material.
However, Sparacin et al. teach an optical device including the cladding (15) comprises a liner and a fill material (figure 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. to include the above feature (accordance with the teaching of Sparacin) for the purpose of reducing the transmission losses of the waveguide (column 6, lines 9-10).
12. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Holt et al. (as cited above) in view of Patterson et al. (US-2019/0235163-A1).
With respect to claim 5, Holt et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the substrate comprises a plurality of silicon layers bonded together.
However, Patterson et al. teach a device including the substrate comprises a plurality of silicon layers bonded together (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Holt et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Patterson) for the purpose of providing efficient, low-loss coupling between the optical waveguide and an optical fiber ([0005]).
With respect to claim 6, Holt et al. disclose the silicon waveguide, wherein the plurality of silicon layers have a thickness between approximately 10µm and approximately 50µm ([0021]).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bauters et al. (US-9285540-B2) disclose an integrated dielectric waveguide. Shi et al. (US-20160357036-A1) disclose a ring optical modulator.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874