DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on November 13, 2025, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 3 and 5 and cancel claims 6-20.
Claims 1-5 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Xiong et al (US 2024/0302793 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Horimai et al (US 2011/0134497 A1) and US patent application publication by Lu et al (US 2021/0033770 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Xiong et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a system and method for duplicating a hologram hat is comprised of an incident light beam (110, Figure 1) that implicitly includes a light outputting element configured to output the incident light beam serves as the first beam propagating toward a beam interference zone within a photoalignment layer (131) and a wavefront shaping assembly comprises a film master (121) that may include a reflective polarization grating, (please see paragraph [0042]). The wavefront shaping assembly is disposed at a second side of the beam interference zone (131) and configured to reflect the first beam transmitted through the beam interference zone as a second beam (111) propagating toward the beam interference zone from the second side. Xiong et al teaches that the first light beam (110) and the second light beam (111) are configured to interfere with one another within the beam interference zone to generate an interference pattern that is recordable in a recording medium layer (131) disposed in the beam interference zone, (please see Figure 1 and paragraph [0042]). Xiong et al teaches that the duplicating system is to duplicate a hologram from the film master including the reflective polarization grating, this means the reflective polarization grating is a polarization hologram.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. Xiong et al teaches that the first light beam and the second light beam each is a circularly polarized beams, (please see paragraph [0042]). It however does not teach explicitly that they are linearly polarized beams. Horimai in the same field of endeavor teaches a hologram generating device wherein the interfering light beams (121a and 122d, Figures 1(A) to 1(C)), that each of a linearly polarized light. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Horimai et al to modify the hologram duplicating system alternatively use linearly polarized light beams for duplicating a hologram for the benefit of expanding the duplicating system to utilize linearly polarized light beams.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “wherein the polarization hologram is formed of liquid crystal material and generated intensity interference patterns of multiple and different types to be disposed in the recording layer of the beam interference zone”.
Xiong et al teaches that the two interfering beams (110 and 111) may have the same polarization (i.e. same handiness of the circular polarization state), and the two interfering beams (121b and 122d, Figure 1(c)) of Horimai et al also have the same polarization state, which as evident by the teachings of Lu et al, the interfering beams with the same polarization state will create intensity pattern in the recording medium, (please see Figures 1A, 1B, paragraphs [0039] and [0048] of Xiong et al and Figure 1(c )). This means the interference pattern created by the interfering beams (110 and 111 and/or 121b and 122b) is indeed an intensity pattern.
Lu et al further teaches that the polarization volume grating may be recorded in liquid crystal material (please see paragraph [0004]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Lu et al to alternatively use art well known recording material to record the polarization hologram.
With regard to claim 2, it is implicitly true that the polarization hologram grating of Xiong et al is configured with a predetermined phase profile and the second beam (111, Figure 1) is configured with predetermined wavefront that is associated with the predetermined phase profile.
With regard to claim 3, Xiong et al teaches that the reflective polarization grating is a reflective polarization hologram. Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the reflective polarization hologram is a volume hologram (i.e. a “PVH”) element, such modification would have been obvious to one skilled in the art since PVH is a well-known polarization hologram.
With regard to claim 4, Horimai et al teaches that the wavefront shaping assembly further includes a polarization conversion means that may be a quarter wavelength plate (105, please see paragraph [0050]), that is disposed between the polarization means or a polarization hologram (in light of the Xiong et al) and the beam interference zone (112, Figure 1(A)-1(C) of Horimai et al or 131, Figure 1 of Xiong et al). The quarter wavelength plate (105) is configured to convert the first beam (121b, Figure 1(A) to 1(C) of Horimai et al or 110, Figure 1 of Xiong et al) received from the light outputting element into a first polarized beam having a predetermined handiness toward the polarization hologram, the polarization hologram (121, Figure 1 of Xiong et al) is configured to reflect the first polarized beam back to the quarter wavelength plate as a second polarized beam (111, Figure 1 of Xiong et al or 122c of Figure 1(C) of Horimai et al) having the predetermined handiness and the quarter wavelength plate (105) is configured to convert the second polarized beam received from the polarization hologram into the second beam (122d, Figure 1(C) of Horimai et al) propagating toward the beam interference zone from the second side, (please see Figure 1 of Xiong et al and Figures 1(A) to 1(C)).
With regard to claim 5, both Xiong et al and Horimai et al teaches that the first light beam and the second light beam have the same polarization direction such that the interference pattern is an intensity interference pattern, (please see please see Figure 1, paragraph [0039] of Xiong et al and Figure 1(C) of Horimai et al).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 13, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended features that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872