Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 10/19/2025 are entered. Additionally, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens et al. (WO 03081135 A1; hereinafter Stephens) in view of Poe et al. (US 20070292811 A1; hereinafter Poe), and Perry (US 2596507 A).
Regarding claim 1, Stephens teaches a refractory apparatus (the apparatus shown in FIG. 5), comprising: a refractory block (FIG. 5, floor 14, wall 60, and annular tile 22) comprising a heat shield (FIG. 5, the annular tile 22 forms a heat shield), wherein the refractory block includes a plurality of flue gas ports (FIG. 5, air ports 30, which, according to paragraph 26, are for flue gas recirculation) that acts as a gateway for flue gas produced due to combustion downstream of a burner, wherein a suction created in the burner drives the flue gas into the burner through the plurality of flue gas ports (FIG. 5, gas is drawn in through the ports 30 via suction); and a discharge cone (FIG. 5, the cone shaped opening in the tile 22 surrounding burner tip 20) located in the refractory block for flame stabilization in the burner.
Stephens fails to teach a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block.
However, Poe teaches a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block (FIG. 1, the risers 164, which, according to paragraph 114, are staged risers, and which are surrounded by housings in the surrounding material).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Stephens by including staged risers and gas circulation ports, as taught by Poe, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stephens with these aforementioned teachings of Poe with the motivation of creating a more efficient burn.
Stephens and Poe fails to teach that each flue gas port among the plurality of flue gas ports includes a slot having a slot area selected to obtain flue gas up to 20% of combustion air.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Perry teaches a flue gas mixture with several percent air), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that flue gas composition is a result effective variable because it affects the way that a mixture using flue gas burns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry teaches that the plurality of flue gas ports comprise angles that vary from 0 to 90 degrees (Stephens, FIG. 5, the air ports 30 are positioned to have a 0 degree angle along their length).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 20, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry that the slot comprises a shape that is at least one of: circular or rectangular with curved edges (Stephens, FIG. 6, the ports 30 are rectangular with edges that curve).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry teaches a flange connected to the refractory block (Stephens, FIG. 5, FIG. 7, the tile 22 may act as a flange to the wall 60).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry teaches that the plurality of flue gas ports include a number of flue gas ports ranging from four flue gas ports to twelve flue gas ports (Stephens, FIG. 6, there are between four and 12 ports 30).
Regarding claim 9, Stephens teaches refractory apparatus (the apparatus shown in FIG. 5), comprising: a refractory block (FIG. 5, floor 14, wall 60, and annular tile 22) comprising a heat shield (FIG. 5, the annular tile 22 forms a heat shield), wherein the refractory block includes a plurality of flue gas ports (FIG. 5, air ports 30, which, according to paragraph 26, are for flue gas recirculation) that acts as a gateway for flue gas produced due to combustion downstream of a burner, wherein a suction created in the burner drives the flue gas into the burner through the plurality of flue gas ports (FIG. 5, gas is drawn in through the ports 30 via suction), wherein the plurality of flue gas ports comprise angles that vary from 0 to 90 degrees (Stephens, FIG. 5, the air ports 30 are positioned to have a 0 degree angle along their length); and a discharge cone (FIG. 5, the cone shaped opening in the tile 22 surrounding burner tip 20) located in the refractory block for flame stabilization in the burner.
Stephens fails to teach a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block.
However, Poe teaches a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block (FIG. 1, the risers 164, which, according to paragraph 114, are staged risers, and which are surrounded by housings in the surrounding material).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Stephens by including staged risers and gas circulation ports, as taught by Poe, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stephens with these aforementioned teachings of Poe with the motivation of creating a more efficient burn.
Stephens and Poe fails to teach that each flue gas port among the plurality of flue gas ports includes a slot having a slot area selected to obtain flue gas up to 20% of combustion air.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Perry teaches a flue gas mixture with several percent air), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that flue gas composition is a result effective variable because it affects the way that a mixture using flue gas burns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 16, Stephens teaches a method of operating a refractory apparatus (the method of operating the apparatus shown in FIG. 5), comprising: providing a refractory block (FIG. 5, floor 14, wall 60, and annular tile 22) comprising a heat shield (FIG. 5, the annular tile 22 forms a heat shield), wherein the refractory block includes a plurality of flue gas ports (FIG. 5, air ports 30, which, according to paragraph 26, are for flue gas recirculation) that act as a gateway for flue gas produced due to combustion downstream of a burner, wherein a suction created in the burner drives the flue gas into the burner through the plurality of flue gas ports ports (FIG. 5, gas is drawn in through the ports 30 via suction); and stabilizing a flame with respect to the flue gas in a discharge cone (FIG. 5, the cone shaped opening in the tile 22 surrounding burner tip 20) located in the refractory block, wherein the discharge cone facilitates flame stabilization in the burner.
Stephens fails to teach a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block.
However, Poe teaches a plurality of staged risers housed within the refractory block, wherein the plurality of staged risers is protected in staged fuel riser housings in the refractory block (FIG. 1, the risers 164, which, according to paragraph 114, are staged risers, and which are surrounded by housings in the surrounding material).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Stephens by including staged risers and gas circulation ports, as taught by Poe, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stephens with these aforementioned teachings of Poe with the motivation of creating a more efficient burn.
Stephens, Poe, Huang, and Sato fails to teach that each flue gas port among the plurality of flue gas ports includes a slot having a slot area selected to obtain flue gas up to 20% of combustion air.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Perry teaches a flue gas mixture with several percent air), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that flue gas composition is a result effective variable because it affects the way that a mixture using flue gas burns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the flue gas of Stephens 20% air, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens, Poe, and Perry as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-17, and 20 above, and further in view of Huang (CN 206219426 U) in view of Sato (JP 2012127619 A).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 18, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry fails to teach that the refractory block comprises a refractory material configured on aluminum and silicon oxides with a temperature rating greater than 2600 F.
However, Huang teaches that the refractory block comprises a refractory material configured on aluminum and silicon oxides (“Preferably, the plastic refractory block 122 comprises aluminum oxide and silicon oxide”).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Stephens by making the refractory block assembly out of aluminum oxide and silicon oxide, as taught by Huang, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stephens with these aforementioned teachings of Huang since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the aluminum oxide and silicon oxide for the unspecified material of Stephens. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Huang fails to teach a temperature rating greater than 2600 F.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the temperature rating of the block of Stephens higher than 2600 degrees Fahrenheit, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Sato teaches an insulator for a burner with a maximum temperature of 1000 degrees Celsius), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that maximum temperature is a result effective variable because it affects the range of temperatures the burner can operate at. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the temperature rating of the block of Stephens higher than 2600 degrees Fahrenheit, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens, Poe, and Perry as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-17, and 20 above, and further in view of Coscia (US 20210215337 A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combination of Stephens, Poe, and Perry fails to teach that each staged riser among the plurality of staged rises comprises stainless steel.
However, Coscia teaches that each staged riser among the plurality of staged rises comprises stainless steel (paragraph 15, the risers may be made of stainless steel).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Stephens by making the risers out of stainless steel, as taught by Coscia, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stephens with these aforementioned teachings of Coscia with the motivation of preventing corrosion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, on pages 9-18 of the remarks, the Applicant asserts that the previous rejection is invalid. However, on pages 18 and 19 of the remarks, the Applicant further specifies that because the particular mixture of flue gas in the claims is recirculated, that the assembly achieves unexpected results, and that the combination in the independent claims would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. However, the Examiner notes that the 20% of recirculate combustion air is not outside the range achievable to previous flue gas ports, and that naming a “better number” does not necessarily entail novelty in the eyes of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762