DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-5, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 2/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaeriyama et al. [WO 2012-157180 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Kaeriyama et al. discloses a transformer [figure 26 and 29], comprising:
a substrate [4, 8, 5, 6];
a first metal layer comprising a first inductor [coil 12] having a first center tap;
a second metal layer comprising a second inductor [coil 11] having a second center tap [figures 26 and 29], wherein the second inductor including a bond pad [figures 26 and 29];
a third metal layer [figures 26 and 29] including a first conductor [W] electrically connecting the bond pad to the first center tap, and the third metal layer including a second conductor [W] electrically connecting the bond pad and the first center tap [figures 26 and 29]; and
wherein the third metal layer is situated between the substrate and the first metal layer [figures 26 and 29], and the first metal layer is situated between the third metal layer and the second metal layer [figures 26 and 9].
Regarding claims 2-3, Kaeriyama et al. discloses at least a portion of the first conductor is approximately parallel to at least a portion of the second conductor [figures 26 and 29], wherein the first inductor includes a first concentric ring and a second concentric ring, the first concentric ring defining a first interior space and the second concentric ring defining a second interior space; the first center tap between the first concentric ring and the second concentric ring; at least a portion of the first conductor extends through a projection of the first interior space; and at least a portion of the second conductor extends through a projection of the second interior space [figures 26 and 29].
Regarding claim 5, Kaeriyama et al. further discloses a first bond wire [W] coupled to the second center tap and including a second bond wire [W] coupled to the bond pad [figures 26 and 29].
Regarding claims 9-10, Kaeriyama et al. discloses a transformer [figures 26 and 29], comprising:
a substrate [4, 8, 5, 6];
a first metal layer comprising a first inductor [12] having first and second concentric rings and having a first center tap coupled between the first and second concentric rings, the first concentric ring defining a first interior space, and the second concentric ring defining a second interior space [figures 26 and 29];
a second metal layer comprising a second inductor [11] having a second center tap, the second metal layer including a bond pad, at least a portion of the first conductor is approximately parallel to at least a portion of the second conductor; and
a third metal layer [figures 26 and 29] between including a first conductor [W] electrically connecting the bond pad to the first center tap through a projection of the first interior space, and including a second conductor [W] electrically connecting the bond pad and the first center tap through a projection of the second interior space [figures 26 and 29].
Regarding claim 12, Kaeriyama et al. further discloses a first bond wire [W] coupled to the second center tap and including a second bond wire [W] coupled to the bond pad [figures 26 and 29].
Regarding claim 13, Kaeriyama et al. further discloses the second inductor includes a third concentric ring and a fourth concentric ring, the third concentric ring defining a third interior space and the fourth concentric ring defining a fourth interior space; and the second center tap coupled between the third concentric ring and the fourth concentric ring [figures 26 and 29].
Regarding claim 14, Kaeriyama et al. discloses the bond pad is a first bond pad, and the transformer further comprises: a second bond pad in the third interior space; a third bond pad in the fourth interior space; a first bond wire [W] coupled to the second bond pad; a second bond wire [W] coupled to the third bond pad; and a third bond wire [W] coupled to the second center tap [figures 26 and 29].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-8, 11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeriyama et al. in view of Uchida et al. [WO 2014097425 A1].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Kaeriyama et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific current flows.
Uchida et al. discloses a transformer including first and second coils [figures 12-15, 17-18 and 39-40] each has a center tap [figures 12-15, 17-18 and 39-40]. Uchida et al. further discloses the first and second coils each includes first and second concentric rings [figures 12-15, 17-18 and 39-40]. Uchida et al. further discloses the use of current flowing in clockwise or counterclockwise] for the coils.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have current flow in Kaeriyama et al. coils flow in clockwise and counterclockwise direction between the concentric rings, as suggested by Uchida et al., for the purpose of controlling inductances.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 15, Kaeriyama et al. discloses a plurality of bond pads [figures 26, 29] and a plurality of conductor lines and/or bond wires and internal/external connections [figures 25-39].
Kaeriyama et al. discloses the instant claimed invention except for except for the specific arrangement/connection between the conductor lines, center taps and the bond wires relative to the concentric rings of the coils.
Uchima et al. discloses a plurality of bond pads and bond wires [PDs, BWs, figures 3-4, 19-20] for connecting between the coils/taps and internal/external devices with a plurality of conductor lines [WRs, HWs, figures 3-40].
Uchima et al. and Kaeriyama et al. disclose different configurations and/or arrangements and/or connections between the coils/concentric rings relative to the bond wires, bond pads, center taps and conductor lines [figures 3-39 of Uchima et al. and figures 25-39 of Kaeriyama et al].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the bond pads, bond wires, conductor lines, center taps arrangements and/or connections of Uchima et al. in Kaeriyama et al. for the purpose of facilitating different connections between the coils [concentric rings] and bond pads, bond wires, center taps based on the intended applications and/or environments uses.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837