DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 5/20/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10, and 12-13 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendment to claims have overcome each and every objection to the claims set forth in Non-Final Office Action previously mailed 2/20/2026.
Applicant’s amendment to claims have overcome each and every rejection to the claims under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
No patentable weight is given to the limitation, “wherein a public land mobile network (PLMN) is selected at the UE, based on verification of roaming information from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a visited PLMN, and wherein a timer to release the PDU session is set at the UE” newly recited in claims 5 and 12. Although claims 5 and 12 are directed to a method performed by a session management function (SMF) and a SMF respectively, the limitation is about operations of UE (i.e., a PLMN selection and a timer setting at the UE), which are neither performed by a SMF, nor have any impact on the structure of a SMF.
Similarly, no patentable weight is given to the limitation, “wherein the roaming information includes mobility-related information and changed subscription data information” recited in claims 6 and 13. The limitation is directed to “the roaming information” which is used for an operation of UE (i.e., a PLMN selection at the UE), which is neither performed by a SMF, nor has any impact on the structure of a SMF.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10 and 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.122 V17.4.0, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) functions related to Mobile Station (MS) in idle mode (Release 17) (September 24, 2021) (hereafter TS 23.122) in view of Li et al. (WO 2022001671 A1, hereafter Li) in view of Baek et al. (US 20180270781 A1, Baek). EP 4156728 A1 is used as the English translation of Li. The line-numbered version of TS 23.122 is used for claim mapping.
Regarding claim 1, TS 23.122 discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.C.4.3.1, UE), the method comprising: receiving (p.94, ll.29-30, 3) The AMF to the UE: the AMF sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message to the served UE. The AMF includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information received from the UDM) roaming information (Fig.C.4.3.1, p.94, ll.29-30, steering of roaming information in the DL NAS Transport) from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig.C.4.3.1, AMF) of a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (p.93, ll.33-34, The selected PLMN can be the HPLMN or a VPLMN. The AMF is located in the selected PLMN.); selecting a PLMN (UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in order to attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN) based on verification of the roaming information (if the security check is successful) (Fig.C.4.3.1, Steering of roaming information security check; p.95, ll.4-5, a) if the security check is successful, the UE shall store the SOR-CMCI according to clause C.4.1. If the UE has one or more Tsor-cm timers running, the UE shall apply the received SOR-CMCI as described in C.4.2.; p.93, ll. 12-22, When the UE determines that … the last running Tsor-cm timer expires, if: i) the UE has a list of available and allowable PLMNs in the area and based on this list or any other implementation specific means, the UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN; … ; then if the UE is in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode, the UE shall perform the deregistration procedure (see clause 4.2.2.3 of 3GPP TS 23.502 [63]) that releases all the established PDU sessions and services, if any, and once the UE enters idle mode it shall attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN as specified in clause 4.4.3.3 by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired.); setting a timer (Tsor-cm timers) to release a protocol data unit (PDU) session (any of all the established PDU sessions) previously established at the UE (UE shall perform the deregistration procedure … that releases all the established PDU sessions and services) (See Fig.C.4.3.1, p.93, ll. 12-22, p.95, ll.4-5); performing a PDU session release (UE shall perform the deregistration procedure … that releases all the established PDU sessions and services) based on an expiry of the timer (the last running Tsor-cm timer expires) (See Fig.C.4.3.1, p.93, ll. 12-22, p.95, ll.4-5); and transmitting a registration request message (REGISTRATION REQUEST message) to an AMF of the selected PLMN (VPLMN AMF) (p.36, ll.4-5, 4.4.3.1.1 Automatic Network Selection Mode Procedure, The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations; p.44, 4.4.3.3 In VPLMN, 4.4.3.3.1, Automatic and manual network selection modes, If the MS is in a VPLMN, the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combinations listed in "user controlled PLMN selector" or "operator controlled PLMN selector" by scanning in accordance with the requirements that are applicable to i), ii) and iii) as defined in the Automatic Network Selection Mode in clause 4.4.3.1.1.; p.79, ll.5-8, 1) The UE to the VPLMN AMF: The UE initiates initial registration, emergency registration or mobility registration update procedure to the VPLMN AMF by sending REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the 5GS registration type IE indicating "initial registration", "emergency registration" or "mobility registration updating"; p.93, ll. 12-22, When the UE determines that … the last running Tsor-cm timer expires, if: i) the UE has a list of available and allowable PLMNs in the area and based on this list or any other implementation specific means, the UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN; … ; then if the UE is in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode, the UE shall perform the deregistration procedure (see clause 4.2.2.3 of 3GPP TS 23.502 [63]) that releases all the established PDU sessions and services, if any, and once the UE enters idle mode it shall attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN as specified in clause 4.4.3.3 by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired.)).
TS 23.122 does not disclose the UE transmitting, to a session management function (SMF), a notification for notifying that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released.
However, Li discloses:
UE transmitting, to a session management function (SMF) (SMF), a notification (registration request notifying a status of a UE) for notifying a status of the UE (Fig.13; [0473] S1305: The UE sends a registration request (registration request) to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the registration request from the UE. [0474] The registration request includes the location and/or the status of the UE. The location may be the identification information of the RA. [0476] S1306: The AMF network element sends a subscription response to the SMF network element, and the SMF network element receives the subscription response from the AMF network element. [0477] The subscription response includes content, for example, the location and/or the status of the UE, in the registration request in S1305. [0478] It should be noted that the registration request in S1305 and the subscription response in S1306 are used by the UE to send the location and/or the status of the UE to the SMF network element.; UE transmits, to SMF receives, a registration request notifying the status of the UE).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of TS 23.122 so that the UE transmits, to a SMF, a notification as taught by Li, in order to facilitate a registration procedure by supplying information about UE status (TS 23.122, p.36, ll.4-5, 4.4.3.1.1, p.79, ll.5-8; Li, Fig.13; [0473]-[0478]).
TS 23.122 and Li do not disclose that the status of the UE includes a status that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE.
However, Baek discloses:
The status of the UE includes a status that a PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE (Fig.16; [0150] On the other hand, if the terminal is set to release the PDU session for the non-3gpp access or the user selects to do so in a state where the use of the non-3gpp access is impossible until the timer expires (16-05), the terminal locally releases the PDU session for the non-3gpp access, or performs local deregistration for the non-3gpp access according to the setting (16-06). Thereafter, when the terminal performs registration update through the 3gpp access, the registration request message may include an indication for notifying that the PDU session for the non-3gpp access is to be released or an indication for notifying that the local deregistration has been performed for the non-3gpp access (16-07).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the status of the UE of TS 23.122 and Li to include a status that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released as taught by Baek, in order to facilitate registration and connection managements via SMF subscription to AMF in Service-Based Architecture (SBA) (Baek, [0147] FIG. 16 illustrates a process of performing registration management and connection management; Li, [0463] S1301: The SMF network element sends a subscription request to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the subscription request from the SMF network element. [0464] The subscription request is for subscribing to a location and/or a status of the UE).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, TS 23.122 disclose:
wherein the roaming information (Fig.C.4.3.1, p.94, ll.9-15, 29-30, steering of roaming information in the DL NAS Transport) includes mobility-related information and changed subscription data information (p.94, ll.4-15, 1) The SOR-AF to the HPLMN UDM: Nudm_ParameterProvision_Update request is sent to the HPLMN UDM to trigger the update of the UE with the SOR-CMCI (in plain text or secured packet). In case of providing SOR-CMCI in plain text, include the "Store the SOR-CMCI in the ME" indicator, if applicable. In case of providing SOR-CMCI in a secured packet, include an indication that "the list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations is not included in the secured packet". 2) The HPLMN UDM to the AMF: The UDM notifies the changes of the user profile to the affected AMF by the means of invoking Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation. The Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation contains the steering of roaming information that needs to be delivered transparently to the UE over NAS within the Access and Mobility Subscription data).
Regarding claim 8, TS 23.122 discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig.C.4.3.1, UE) comprising: a transceiver (transceiver of UE); and at least one processor (processor of UE) coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive (p.94, ll.29-30, 3) The AMF to the UE: the AMF sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message to the served UE. The AMF includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information received from the UDM) roaming information (Fig.C.4.3.1, p.94, ll.29-30, steering of roaming information in the DL NAS Transport) from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig.C.4.3.1, AMF) of a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (p.93, ll.33-34, The selected PLMN can be the HPLMN or a VPLMN. The AMF is located in the selected PLMN.); select a PLMN (UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in order to attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN) based on verification of the roaming information (if the security check is successful) (Fig.C.4.3.1, Steering of roaming information security check; p.95, ll.4-5, a) if the security check is successful, the UE shall store the SOR-CMCI according to clause C.4.1. If the UE has one or more Tsor-cm timers running, the UE shall apply the received SOR-CMCI as described in C.4.2.; p.93, ll. 12-22, When the UE determines that … the last running Tsor-cm timer expires, if: i) the UE has a list of available and allowable PLMNs in the area and based on this list or any other implementation specific means, the UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN; … ; then if the UE is in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode, the UE shall perform the deregistration procedure (see clause 4.2.2.3 of 3GPP TS 23.502 [63]) that releases all the established PDU sessions and services, if any, and once the UE enters idle mode it shall attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN as specified in clause 4.4.3.3 by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired.); set a timer (Tsor-cm timers) to release a protocol data unit (PDU) session (any of all the established PDU sessions) previously established at the UE (UE shall perform the deregistration procedure … that releases all the established PDU sessions and services) (See Fig.C.4.3.1, p.93, ll. 12-22, p.95, ll.4-5); perform a PDU session release (UE shall perform the deregistration procedure … that releases all the established PDU sessions and services) based on an expiry of the timer (the last running Tsor-cm timer expires) (See Fig.C.4.3.1, p.93, ll. 12-22, p.95, ll.4-5); and transmit a registration request message (REGISTRATION REQUEST message) to an AMF of the selected PLMN (VPLMN AMF) (p.36, ll.4-5, 4.4.3.1.1 Automatic Network Selection Mode Procedure, The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations; p.44, 4.4.3.3 In VPLMN, 4.4.3.3.1, Automatic and manual network selection modes, If the MS is in a VPLMN, the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combinations listed in "user controlled PLMN selector" or "operator controlled PLMN selector" by scanning in accordance with the requirements that are applicable to i), ii) and iii) as defined in the Automatic Network Selection Mode in clause 4.4.3.1.1.; p.79, ll.5-8, 1) The UE to the VPLMN AMF: The UE initiates initial registration, emergency registration or mobility registration update procedure to the VPLMN AMF by sending REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the 5GS registration type IE indicating "initial registration", "emergency registration" or "mobility registration updating"; p.93, ll. 12-22, When the UE determines that … the last running Tsor-cm timer expires, if: i) the UE has a list of available and allowable PLMNs in the area and based on this list or any other implementation specific means, the UE determines that there is a higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN; … ; then if the UE is in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode, the UE shall perform the deregistration procedure (see clause 4.2.2.3 of 3GPP TS 23.502 [63]) that releases all the established PDU sessions and services, if any, and once the UE enters idle mode it shall attempt to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN as specified in clause 4.4.3.3 by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired.)).
TS 23.122 does not disclose the at least one processor is configured to transmit, to a session management function (SMF), a notification for notifying that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released.
However, Li discloses:
UE transmitting, to a session management function (SMF) (SMF), a notification (registration request notifying a status of a UE) for notifying a status of the UE (Fig.13; [0473] S1305: The UE sends a registration request (registration request) to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the registration request from the UE. [0474] The registration request includes the location and/or the status of the UE. The location may be the identification information of the RA. [0476] S1306: The AMF network element sends a subscription response to the SMF network element, and the SMF network element receives the subscription response from the AMF network element. [0477] The subscription response includes content, for example, the location and/or the status of the UE, in the registration request in S1305. [0478] It should be noted that the registration request in S1305 and the subscription response in S1306 are used by the UE to send the location and/or the status of the UE to the SMF network element.; UE transmits, to SMF receives, a registration request notifying the status of the UE).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the least one processor of TS 23.122 to be configured to transmit, to a SMF, a notification as taught by Li, in order to facilitate a registration procedure by supplying information about UE status (TS 23.122, p.36, ll.4-5, 4.4.3.1.1, p.79, ll.5-8; Li, Fig.13; [0473]-[0478]).
TS 23.122 and Li do not disclose that the status of the UE includes a status that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE.
However, Baek discloses:
The status of the UE includes a status that a PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE (Fig.16; [0150] On the other hand, if the terminal is set to release the PDU session for the non-3gpp access or the user selects to do so in a state where the use of the non-3gpp access is impossible until the timer expires (16-05), the terminal locally releases the PDU session for the non-3gpp access, or performs local deregistration for the non-3gpp access according to the setting (16-06). Thereafter, when the terminal performs registration update through the 3gpp access, the registration request message may include an indication for notifying that the PDU session for the non-3gpp access is to be released or an indication for notifying that the local deregistration has been performed for the non-3gpp access (16-07).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the status of the UE of TS 23.122 and Li to include a status that the PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released as taught by Baek, in order to facilitate registration and connection managements via SMF subscription to AMF in Service-Based Architecture (SBA) (Baek, [0147] FIG. 16 illustrates a process of performing registration management and connection management; Li, [0463] S1301: The SMF network element sends a subscription request to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the subscription request from the SMF network element. [0464] The subscription request is for subscribing to a location and/or a status of the UE).
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Baek.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses
A method performed by a session management function (SMF) (Fig.13, SMF (First session management network element)), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a notification (registration request notifying a status of a UE) for notifying a status of the UE (Fig.13; [0473] S1305: The UE sends a registration request (registration request) to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the registration request from the UE. [0474] The registration request includes the location and/or the status of the UE. The location may be the identification information of the RA. [0476] S1306: The AMF network element sends a subscription response to the SMF network element, and the SMF network element receives the subscription response from the AMF network element. [0477] The subscription response includes content, for example, the location and/or the status of the UE, in the registration request in S1305. [0478] It should be noted that the registration request in S1305 and the subscription response in S1306 are used by the UE to send the location and/or the status of the UE to the SMF network element.; SMF receives, from a UE, a registration request notifying the status of the UE); and
identifying the status of the UE based on the received notification (registration request notifying a status of a UE) (Fig.13; [0473]-[0478]; SMF identifies the status of UE by receiving registration request notifying the status of a UE),
wherein a public land mobile network (PLMN) is selected at the UE, based on verification of roaming information from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a visited PLMN, and wherein a timer to release the PDU session is set at the UE (See Claim Interpretation above).
Li does not disclose that the status of the UE includes a status that a protocol data unit (PDU) session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE.
However, Baek discloses:
The status of the UE includes a status that a protocol data unit (PDU) session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE (Fig.16; [0150] On the other hand, if the terminal is set to release the PDU session for the non-3gpp access or the user selects to do so in a state where the use of the non-3gpp access is impossible until the timer expires (16-05), the terminal locally releases the PDU session for the non-3gpp access, or performs local deregistration for the non-3gpp access according to the setting (16-06). Thereafter, when the terminal performs registration update through the 3gpp access, the registration request message may include an indication for notifying that the PDU session for the non-3gpp access is to be released or an indication for notifying that the local deregistration has been performed for the non-3gpp access (16-07).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the status of the UE of Li to include a status that a PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released as taught by Baek, in order to facilitate registration and connection managements via SMF subscription to AMF in Service-Based Architecture (SBA) (Baek, [0147] FIG. 16 illustrates a process of performing registration management and connection management; Li, [0463] S1301: The SMF network element sends a subscription request to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the subscription request from the SMF network element. [0464] The subscription request is for subscribing to a location and/or a status of the UE).
Regarding claim 6, Li and Baek disclose
wherein the roaming information includes mobility-related information and changed subscription data information (See the claim interpretation and the rejection of claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses
A session management function (SMF) (Fig.13, SMF (First session management network element); Fig.17, 1700) comprising:
a transceiver (1702); and
at least one processor (1701) coupled with the transceiver and configured to (In some other embodiments, the communication apparatus 1700 may be used in the communication system shown in FIG. 1, to perform functions of the second device in the communication method shown in FIG. 9; or may be used in the communication system shown in FIG. 2, to perform functions of the SMF network element in the communication method shown in FIG. 10, FIG. 12, FIG. 13, or FIG. 15, functions of the B-SMF network element in the communication method shown in FIG. 11, functions of the AMF network element in the communication method shown in FIG. 12, or functions of the T-RAN in the communication method shown in FIG. 14.):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a notification (registration request notifying a status of a UE) for notifying a status of the UE (Fig.13; [0473] S1305: The UE sends a registration request (registration request) to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the registration request from the UE. [0474] The registration request includes the location and/or the status of the UE. The location may be the identification information of the RA. [0476] S1306: The AMF network element sends a subscription response to the SMF network element, and the SMF network element receives the subscription response from the AMF network element. [0477] The subscription response includes content, for example, the location and/or the status of the UE, in the registration request in S1305. [0478] It should be noted that the registration request in S1305 and the subscription response in S1306 are used by the UE to send the location and/or the status of the UE to the SMF network element.; SMF receives, from a UE, a registration request notifying the status of the UE)), and
identify the status of the UE based on the received notification (Fig.13, [0473]-[0478]; SMF identifies a status of UE by receiving registration request notifying the status of a UE),
wherein a public land mobile network (PLMN) is selected at the UE, based on verification of roaming information from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a visited PLMN, and wherein a timer to release the PDU session is set at the UE (See Claim Interpretation above).
Li does not disclose that the status of the UE includes a status that a protocol data unit (PDU) session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE.
However, Baek discloses:
The status of the UE includes a status that a protocol data unit (PDU) session previously established at the UE is to be released at the UE (Fig.16; [0150] On the other hand, if the terminal is set to release the PDU session for the non-3gpp access or the user selects to do so in a state where the use of the non-3gpp access is impossible until the timer expires (16-05), the terminal locally releases the PDU session for the non-3gpp access, or performs local deregistration for the non-3gpp access according to the setting (16-06). Thereafter, when the terminal performs registration update through the 3gpp access, the registration request message may include an indication for notifying that the PDU session for the non-3gpp access is to be released or an indication for notifying that the local deregistration has been performed for the non-3gpp access (16-07).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the status of the UE of Li to include a status that a PDU session previously established at the UE is to be released as taught by Baek, in order to facilitate registration and connection managements via SMF subscription to AMF in Service-Based Architecture (SBA) (Baek, [0147] FIG. 16 illustrates a process of performing registration management and connection management; Li, [0463] S1301: The SMF network element sends a subscription request to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the subscription request from the SMF network element. [0464] The subscription request is for subscribing to a location and/or a status of the UE).
Regarding claim 13, Li and Baek disclose
wherein the roaming information includes mobility-related information and changed subscription data information (See the claim interpretation and the rejection of claim 12 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418