Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalanne (WO9523406) in view of Uetabira (US20220375448).
With respect to claim 1 Lalanne discloses an antivibration sound insulation device comprising:
An anti-vibration mechanism installed on a floor of a plant (22 in figure 4, elastic supports);
A stand disposed close to a predetermined sound source and has legs (21 in figure 4) that is supported by the antivibration mechanism;
A support member (see figures 6 and 7) disposed on a top plate portion of the stand; and
A sound insulation wall (insulation members 29. 31) having sound absorbing properties, supported integrally by the support member, with a gap formed between it and the top plate portion, and disposed to surround the sound source;
The sound insulation wall is arranged in a U-shape when viewed from a side perspective, in which a side of the sound source and a part of the circumferential direction of the sound source are open (see specifically the shape of 18 and 29 in figure 4),
At least a portion of the stand forms a portion of the sound insulation wall (as can be seen in figure 4).
Lalanne does not disclose wherein the sound insulation wall is arranged in a U-shape when viewed from an upper side of the sound source.
Uetabira discloses a soundproof enclosure which when viewed from a top side is in the shape of a U with an opening in the sound insulation material (see insulation 113, and shape formed in figure 1 and 15, figure 15 showing an access door).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing to combine the teachings of Uetabira to provide such a shape to the enclosure so as to provide a means of access to the soundproof enclosure which would not require ladders or other similar additional structures. This would have allowed for an ease of entry and simplification of maintenance.
With respect to claim 4 Lalanne as modified by Uetabira further discloses wherein the sound insulation wall has a sound absorbing layer (see again figure 4 of Lalanne elements 29 in figure 5 being a close-up thereon)m on a surface facing the sound source.
With respect to claim 5 Lalanne as modified by Uetabira further discloses wherein the sound source is disposed to protrude upward of the stand (figure 4 Lalanne) and the sound insulation wall is disposed in an upper portion of the stand (see again figure 4, see also Uetabira).
With respect to claim 8 Lalanne as modified further discloses wherein a portion of the sound insulation wall is provided to b pivotable around a predetermined axis. Uetabira discloses the use of a door member for acess into the sound enclosure, this taken in conjcuntion with the teachings of ZLalanne to provide sound insulation members surrouinding on all side the sound source would have rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill the inclusion of sound absorbing material on the door and thus meet the limitations as claimed.
With respect to claim 9 Lalanne as modified further discloses wherein a portion of the sound insulation a wall is provided to be slidable. Again as Lalanne as modified (see figure 8) discloses the provision of an access door which includes sound insulation material, it would have been obvious to use nay known type of access door, sliding doors are well known in the art of access doors and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would have found such door obvious especially when taking available space into account, it is known that sliding doors require less floor space than hinged doors.
2. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalanne (WO9523406) in view of Uetabira (US20220375448) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Kochetv (RU2659922).
With respect to claim 6 Lalanne as modified by Uetabira discloses the invention as claimed except wherein the sound insulation wall has a duct penetrating the sound source side and a side opposite to the sound source, an d
A sound absorbing layer is provided on an inner surface of the duct.
Kochetv discloses a duct penetrating a sound insulation wall (see channel 8 figure 1) and a duct penetrating on a side opposite to the sound source (see channel 9 in figure 1), and a sound absorbing layer is provide on an inner surface of the duct (see inner wall 10 treated by insulation 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kochetv to provide a duct with absorbing material applied to the interior of to the enclosure of Lalanne as modified to provide both ventilation and sound reduction through the ventilation ducting so as to reduce the amount of noise escaping through the ventilation duct while improving the cooling of the machinery inside of the enclosure.
With respect to claim 7 Lalanne as modified further discloses wherein the sound insulation wall further includes a sound absorbing member disposed at a position corresponding to an open portion of the sound insulation wall (that is to say the duct constitutes an open portion and there is sound insulation applied thereto).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST M PHILLIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837