Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, and 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 5,205,601 to Ferris.
Claim 1, Ferris discloses device comprising a module base defined by a mounting part 10 that includes two latches defined by restraints (13,14,15,16) capable of securing a stretcher onto the mounting part (fig. 5), each of the two latches having a retracted position and an extended position, the module base further comprising an actuator 12 operably coupled with the two latches, the actuator being movable between an unlocked position and a locked position, such that each of the two latches is capable of moving from the retracted position to the extended position in response to movement of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position (fig. 2-4).
Claim 2, Ferris discloses the device wherein the actuator is a single-motion actuator that is configured to move between the unlocked position and the locked position in response to a tool-free operation (col. 4-5 lines 59-68 & 1-20).
Claim 3, Ferris discloses the device wherein the actuator comprises a lever (15,16) configured to move pivotally when the actuator moves between the unlocked position and the locked position.
Claim 4, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part has a top side, and each of the two latches when in the extended position projects upwardly from the top side of the mounting part (fig. 1).
Claim 5, Ferris discloses the device wherein the top side of the module base comprises a generally planar top wall configured to supportably receive a bottom side of the stretcher, the top side of the mounting part having two openings in the generally planar top wall through which the two latches extend respectively when in the extended position (fig. 1).
Claim 6, Ferris discloses the device wherein the module base has a length and a width, the length being greater than the width, the two latches being centered on a common axis extending along the length of the module base (fig. 1).
Claim 7, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part has a front side and a rear side, the common axis being located closer to the front side than to the rear side (fig. 1).
Claim 8, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part terminates at opposed head-side and feet-side ends, and the two latches are respectively spaced inwardly of the head-side and feet-side ends of the mounting part (fig. 1).
9. The aeromedical ambulance module of claim 1 wherein the module base is mounted adjacent to a floor of a vehicle, such that the mounting part is attached removably to two spaced-apart rails defined by runners (46,47) of a track (fig. 5).
Claim 11, Ferris discloses the device wherein the two latches are capable of pivot away from each other when they each move from the retracted position to the extended position.
Claim 12, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part further comprises a mount pin defined by the closing ends of the restraints (15,16) having a retracted position and an extended position, the mount pin when in the extended position projecting upwardly from a top side of the module base (fig. 2).
Claim 13, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mount pin and each of the two latches are configured to move from the retracted position to the extended position in response to movement of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position (fig. 2-4).
Claim 17, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part has a front side and a rear side, the latches are closer to the front side than to the rear side, and the seating shoulders are closer to the rear side than to the front side (fig. 1).
Claim 18, Ferris discloses the device wherein the two latches are each configured to pivot upwardly and rearwardly when they each move from the unlocked position to the locked position (fig. 2-4).
Claim 19, Ferris discloses the device wherein the actuator comprises a lever 24 received in an upright track defined by flanges (36,37).
Claim 20, Ferris discloses the device wherein each of the two latches comprises a curved bar (fig. 1-2).
Claim 21, Ferris discloses the device wherein each of the two latches comprises a bar defined by bolts (18,19) having a circular cross section, the top side of the module base has two openings each with a circular shape, and each bolt projects the two openings when the two latches are each in the extended position (fig. 1).
Claim 22, Ferris discloses the device wherein the actuator includes a detent defined by slotted recess capable of holding the actuator in place when the actuator is in the locked position (col. 5 lines 10-20).
Claim 23, Ferris discloses the device wherein the slotted recesses comprise a pin defined by lugs (32,33) that is moveable axially between engaged and disengaged positions (col. 5 lines 10-20).
Claim 24, Ferris discloses the device wherein module base includes a top wall defined by a plate 17 that is devoid of exposed openings other than a gap between the top wall and each latch, and a gap between the top wall and the mount pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 5,205,601 to Ferris.
Claims 10 and 14, Ferris discloses the device further including a stretcher having a top side and a bottom side, and the bottom side of the stretcher has a cross bar to which the two latches respectively are engaged releasably, and the bottom side of the stretcher has an aperture in which the restrain end is received (fig. 5). Ferris is silent to the cross bar including two bars. Selecting an additional cross bar is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select an additional cross bar for the device of Ferris with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative coupling for the device of Ferris.
Claims 15 and 16, Ferris discloses the device wherein the mounting part further comprises two seating shoulders defined by restraints (13,14) having a flange capable of receiving a mount portion on a bottom side of the stretcher (fig. 5).
Claim 16, Ferris discloses the device wherein each of the two seating shoulders comprises a flange that engages a respective one of the mount portion on the bottom side of the stretcher when the two seating shoulders respectively receive the two mount portions on the bottom side of the stretcher (fig. 5). Ferris is silent to two mount portions. Selecting additional mount portions is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select an additional mount portions for the device of Ferris with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative mount for the device of Ferris.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 5,494,386 to Paull disclose a lock for a vehicle.
U.S. Pat. No. 6,796,757 to Way et al. discloses a stretcher lock.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Justin C. Mikowski can be reached on (571) 272-8525. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673