DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, intermediate mirror in claim 8,22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by US 20190310351 A1 (Hughes et al).
Claim 1,15,31 and 32 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches a scanning lidar system for performing a redundant beam scan to reduce data loss resulting from obscurants (In light of specification redundant beam scan is interpreted as multiple scans and multiple scans inherently reduce data loss. Hughes teaches scanning multiple pulses in para 196, para 02), the system comprising:
a first light source configured to emit a first light beam comprising a first light pulse (see fig. 4 Ref 110A1);
a second light source configured to emit a second light beam comprising a second light pulse and having a spatial displacement relative to the first light source (see fig. 4 Ref 110A2);
a mirror assembly configured to adjust an azimuth emission angle and an elevation emission angle of the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see fig. 4 Ref80, 60-1);
an optical window configured to transmit the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see figure 6A Ref 242-1,242-2 and para 124), wherein the spatial displacement of the second light source relative to the first light source is such that the first light pulse and the second light pulse produce two pixels corresponding to a same portion of an image, wherein the two pixels are used to render the same portion of the image (see figure 4 Ref122A-1 and 122A-2);
and a receiver configured to receive the first light pulse and the second light pulse that are scattered by one or more targets, the receiver including two or more detectors, wherein each detector is configured to detect the first light pulse or the second light pulse and output an electric signal for generating the two pixels (see figure 4 Receiver 18C-1 and para 109-110 and note separate APDs).
Claim 3 and 17 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1, wherein the mirror assembly comprises an azimuth mirror configured to adjust the azimuth emission angle of the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see fig.4 note the polygon mirror 80).
Claim 4 and 18 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 3, wherein the azimuth mirror is configured to adjust the azimuth emission angle of the first light pulse and the second light pulse by rotating at least 35 degrees along an axis that is orthogonal to a propagation axis of the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see figure 4 Ref 80).
Claim 5 and 19 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 3, wherein the azimuth mirror comprises a polygonal mirror (see fig.4 note the polygon mirror 80).
Claim 6 and 20 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 3, wherein the mirror assembly comprises an elevation mirror configured to adjust the elevation emission angle of the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see fig. 4 Ref 60-1).
Claim 7 and 21 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 6, wherein the elevation mirror is configured to adjust the elevation emission angle of the first light pulse and the second light pulse by rotating up to 15 degrees along an axis that is orthogonal to a propagation axis of the first light pulse and the second light pulse (see fig. 4 Ref 60-1).
Claim 9 and 23 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1, wherein the two or more detectors comprises a first detector configured to receive a first portion of the first light pulse, and a second detector configured to receive a second portion of the second light pulse (para 110).
Claim 10 and 24 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1, wherein the first light source has an angular displacement relative to the second light source (see fig. 4 Ref 110A1 and 110A2).
Claim 11 and 25 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 10, wherein the angular displacement is in an orthogonal direction relative to the spatial displacement of the first light source from the second light source (see fig. 4 Ref 110A1 and 110A2).
Claim 13 and 27 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1, wherein the first light pulse and the second light pulse have approximately identical wavelengths (para 138).
Claim 14 and 28 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the average diameter of the obscurant expected to contact the optical window is approximately 1 millimeter (para 92 note rain).
Claim 29. The method of claim 15, wherein the spatial displacement of the second light source relative to the first light source is such that the first light pulse and the second light pulse produce two pixels corresponding to a same portion of an image, wherein the two pixels are used to render the same portion of the image (see figure 4 Ref122A-1 and 122A-2).
Claim 30. The method of claim 29, wherein the two or more detectors are configured to output the electric signal for generating the two pixels (para 76-78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190310351 A1 (Hughes et al).
Claim 2 and 16 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1.
Hughes fails to explicitly teach that the spatial displacement of the second light source relative to the first light source is approximately 7 millimeters, such that the displacement is greater than an average diameter of an obscurant expected to contact the optical window. However. Hughes teaches that the distance between two light sources is approximately 5mm (para 103 note receiver 18 is in between the two light sources and active region of the receiver is approximately 5mm and average an average diameter of an obscurant is 1mm (in light of specification of instant application para 40)).
Hughes discloses the claimed invention except for the distance between the two light sources is 7mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hughes such that the distance between the two light sources is approximately 7mm instead of 5mm , since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190310351 A1 (Hughes et al) in view of US 20210103056 A1 (Braunreiter).
Claim 8 and 22 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 6. Hughes fails to explicitly teach but Braunreiter teaches wherein the mirror assembly comprises an intermediate mirror configured to reflect the first light pulse and the second light pulse from the azimuth mirror to the elevation mirror (see figure 2. And note mirror 216 is the intermediate mirror).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Hughes and Braunreiter and modify the lidar system such that the mirror assembly comprises an intermediate mirror configured to reflect the first light pulse and the second light pulse from the azimuth mirror to the elevation mirror. The motivation to do so would be to illuminate target in desired way.
Claim(s) 12,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190310351 A1 (Hughes et al) in view of US 20200363511 A1 (Takeda).
Claim 12 and 26 (mutatis mutandis). Hughes teaches the scanning lidar system of claim 1. Hughes teaches that any desired beam diameter can be achieved but fails to explicitly teach that the first light pulse and the second light pulse have a beam diameter at the optical window of approximately 2 millimeters. However, Takeda teaches that the beam diameter is 2mm (Para 67 note 2mm beam diameter)
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Hughes and Takeda and modify the lidar system such that the first light pulse and the second light pulse have a beam diameter at the optical window of approximately 2 millimeters The motivation to do so would be to detect an object at an longer distance (Takeda para 8).
Conclusion
/SANJIDA NASER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645