Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Lamprecht (US 2012/0225252).
Claim 15: Lamprecht discloses a field control system for controllably delivering magnetic fields to a ferrofluid (abstract). The system includes a magnetic field chamber (¶ 43; fig. 1), an array of micromagnets positioned in connection with a plurality of the chamber walls (figs. 8A-B), a reversibly hardenable ferrofluid (¶ 44) located within the magnetic field chamber in a liquid state (figs. 8A-8B); a processor (logic circuit 50) and memory communicably coupled to the processor and storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive an input from a user for the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid, the input being for a novel object (¶¶ 57-58);cause the array of micromagnets to provide a magnetic field to the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in the magnetic field chamber to cause the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to take a shaped form corresponding to the novel object (¶ 85); and harden the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in the shaped form corresponding to the novel object and in a solid state, the shaped form being removable from and usable outside of the magnetic field chamber (¶ 89).
Claim 16: Lamprecht discloses a plurality of actuators positioned in connection with the micromagnets (the CMOS drive circuits and current control circuitry individually actuate each OCC/micromagnet), a reservoir configured to receive and dispense a reversibly hardenable magnetic substance (the enclosure of the device, which holds the ferrofluid and from which the cured shape is released, functions as a reservoir).
Claim 17: Lamprecht discloses a ferrofluid and a reversible hardening agent dispersed in the ferrofluid, the reversible hardening agent being capable of repeatedly transitioning the ferrofluid between a liquid state and a solid state (¶ 64; UV or thermal curing polymer).
Claim 20: Lamprecht discloses computer-controlled delivery of the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to the magnetic field chamber from a reservoir (¶ 83).
Claim 21: Lamprecht discloses the object is a mold tool for surface replication (¶ 89).
Claim 22: Lamprecht discloses the micromagnets being independently movable (figs. 1-3; ¶¶ 43-48).
Claim 23: Lamprecht discloses a membrane formed over the plurality of the chamber walls, whereby the micromagnets can deliver the magnetic field without contacting the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid (¶ 51; CMOS-passivation layer).
Claim 24: Lamprecht discloses the chamber walls include a floor, one or more side walls, and a ceiling (figs. 8A-8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamprecht, as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Zlokamik (US 6,594,630).
Claim 19: Lamprecht is silent as to receiving voice commands. However, Zlokamik discloses a voice-activated control apparatus for receiving user voice commands (abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the well-established voice-recognition front end, yielding predictable benefits (hands-free operation, safety, convenience) in controlling the underlying user input.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “However, while Lamprecht appears to describe application of a magnetic field to a ferrofluid film, Lamprecht does not appear to disclose causing the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to take a shaped form corresponding to the novel object.” This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Paragraph 89 describes causing the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to take a shaped form of a mold.
Applicant argues that because “Lamprecht has magnetic field generators on only the bottom surface of the supposed chamber,” “Lamprecht fails to disclose ‘an array of micromagnets positioned in connection with a plurality of the chamber walls.’” The bottom surface of Lamprecht’s chamber is a chamber wall.
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754