The amendment filed December 12, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by He (CN 103192612; paragraph references to attached English language translation) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over He in view of Gatenholm (US 2018/0326665).
Claim 15: He discloses a field control system for controllably delivering magnetic fields to a ferrofluid (¶ 3). The system includes a reversibly hardenable ferrofluid (¶ 46), a magnetic field chamber (¶¶ 61-63; fig. 2), a processor and memory communicably coupled to the processor and storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive an input from a user for the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid, the input being for a novel object (¶¶ 59-60); provide a magnetic field to the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in the magnetic field chamber (¶¶ 59-60); and harden the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in a shaped form corresponding to the novel object, the shaped form being removable from and usable outside of the magnetic field chamber (¶¶ 59-60, 85-87, 103). The deposition stage (1) and magnetic poles (2) together form at least a partial chamber including a defined region in which the ferrofluid is subjected to a magnetic field. Alternatively, if He’s disclosure is determined to not include a chamber, Gatenholm discloses a chamber for 3D printers (abstract). As taught by Gatenholm, an airtight chamber provides a clean environment for 3D printing (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the chamber of Gatenholm in the system including the magnetic field of He to provide a magnetic field chamber for clean printing.
Claim 16: Gatenholm discloses a plurality of chamber walls (fig. 3), and He discloses an array of magnets positioned in connection with at least the bottom wall (deposition stage) of the partial chamber (fig. 2), a plurality of actuators positioned in connection with the magnets (¶¶ 70, 78; magnetic field generation system to switch the magnets on and off), a reservoir configured to receive and dispense a reversibly hardenable magnetic substance (¶ 64).
Claim 17: He discloses a ferrofluid and a reversible hardening agent dispersed in the ferrofluid, the reversible hardening agent being capable of repeatedly transitioning the ferrofluid between a liquid state and a solid state (¶ 9).
Claim 20: He discloses computer-controlled delivery of the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to the magnetic field chamber from a reservoir (¶¶ 22-23).
Claim 21: He is silent as to the claimed shape. However, He teaches than any desired shape can be produced (¶ 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have selected any desired shape for the object being produced depending simply on the desired design choice.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Zlokamik (US 6,594,630).
Claim 19: He is silent as to receiving voice commands. However, Zlokamik discloses a voice-activated control apparatus for receiving user voice commands (abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the well-established voice-recognition front end, yielding predictable benefits (hands-free operation, safety, convenience) in controlling the underlying user input.
Claims 15-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Lamprecht (US 2012/0225252).
Claim 15: Lamprecht discloses a field control system for controllably delivering magnetic fields to a ferrofluid (abstract). The system includes a reversibly hardenable ferrofluid (¶ 44), a magnetic field chamber (¶ 43; fig. 1), a processor (logic circuit 50) and memory communicably coupled to the processor and storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive an input from a user for the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid, the input being for a novel object (¶¶ 57-58); provide a magnetic field to the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in the magnetic field chamber (¶ 85); and harden the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid in a shaped form corresponding to the novel object, the shaped form being removable from and usable outside of the magnetic field chamber (¶ 89).
Claim 16: Lamprecht discloses a plurality of chamber walls (chip body 20 forming a bottom wall, a sealing lip 41 forming side walls, and a cover layer 70 or sealing cover 75 forming a top wall), and an array of micromagnets positioned in connection with at least one wall of the chamber (OCCs arranged as a pixelated electromagnet array), a plurality of actuators positioned in connection with the micromagnets (the CMOS drive circuits and current control circuitry individually actuate each OCC/micromagnet), a reservoir configured to receive and dispense a reversibly hardenable magnetic substance (the enclosure of the device, which holds the ferrofluid and from which the cured shape is released, functions as a reservoir).
Claim 17: Lamprecht discloses a ferrofluid and a reversible hardening agent dispersed in the ferrofluid, the reversible hardening agent being capable of repeatedly transitioning the ferrofluid between a liquid state and a solid state (¶ 64; UV or thermal curing polymer).
Claim 20: Lamprecht discloses computer-controlled delivery of the reversibly hardenable ferrofluid to the magnetic field chamber from a reservoir (¶ 83).
Claim 21: Lamprecht discloses the object is a mold tool for surface replication (¶ 89).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamprecht, as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Zlokamik (US 6,594,630).
Claim 19: Lamprecht is silent as to receiving voice commands. However, Zlokamik discloses a voice-activated control apparatus for receiving user voice commands (abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the well-established voice-recognition front end, yielding predictable benefits (hands-free operation, safety, convenience) in controlling the underlying user input.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754