DETIALED ACTION
Claim Status:
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claims 1-2 are amended.
Claims 1-5 are being examined as follow:
Response to Arguments
The applicants argue: “…Applicant contends that PISANU, ZHU, Paganelli and Quick Guide alone or in combination, do not disclose at least the following technical features:
"the dustproof nozzle is fixed on a laser cleaning head, a laser cleaning head gas inlet and a laser cleaning head gas outlet are provided on the laser cleaning head; one end of the gas pump is connected to the filter, and the other end of the gas pump-is connected to the laser cleaning head gas inlet by the gas pipe; dustproof nozzle gas inlets are provided on both sides of the dustproof nozzle, a dustproof nozzle gas outlet is provided on the front end of the dustproof nozzle, and the laser cleaning head gas outlet is connected to the dustproof nozzle gas inlets by a pipeline assembly; gas passes through the filter to filter the dust in an air and enters the gas pump for pressurization, then reaches the interior of the laser cleaning head by the gas pipe, and is blown out of the dustproof nozzle gas outlet by blowing on both sides of the pipeline assembly to form an internal positive pressure".
Firstly, based on the above technical features, the amended claim 1 recites a dust removal system for a laser cleaning machine. The working principle of the present disclosure is as follows: gas passes through the filter to filter the dust in the air and enters the gas pump for pressurization, then reaches the interior of the laser cleaning head by means of the gas pipe, and then passes through the gas inlet elbow, the bypass three-way pipes and the gas pipe elbows on the two sides in sequence to achieve two-sided facing blowing (symmetrical air blowing). A cavity is formed between the laser cleaning head and the dustproof nozzle, a positive pressure of gas is formed inside the dustproof nozzle from inside to outside, and gas is blown out by means of the dustproof nozzle gas outlet, and thus ensuring the isolation between the lens and the dust and preventing the lens from being burned by dust pollution. However, PISANU relates to an end effector for a laser machine tool configured to direct a laser beam onto a working surface along an optical axis of propagation of the laser beam, the end effector comprises a supporting body having a duct with an axis parallel to at least one portion of the optical axis of propagation of the laser beam and an end effector, which comprises a further duct and is configured to be coupled to the supporting body and to provide an outlet for the laser beam.
Therefore, the amended claim 1 provides a dust removal system, but PISANU provides an end effector for a laser machine tool. The dust removal system and the end effector are completely different structures.
Secondly, according to paragraph [0057] of PISANU, "an outlet part, or sensor cone, 24 comprising inside it a duct 28 having a frustoconical shape comprising an inlet opening, which constitutes the major base of the duct having a conical shape, from which it receives the laser beam L, downstream of the central duct 26 of the supporting body 22, and an outlet opening 28a, i.e., the minor base, which faces the working surface 16 fortransmitting the laser beam L", that is, the sensor cone 24 is used to receive and transmit the laser beam. In the amended claim 1, the dustproof nozzle is fixed on the laser cleaning head for blowing out dust.So the dustproof nozzle does not correspond to the sensor cone 24.
Thirdly, according to paragraphs [0004] and [0008], in the field of laser machining, there exists multiple devices for conveying electromagnetic radiation, commonly known as "laser heads". Each type of laser head can be designed to direct laser beams emitted by laser radiation sources with particular characteristics. The laser cleaning head is used for cleaning, not for directing the laser beam. So the laser cleaning head does not correspond to the laser head 20. In the present disclosure, the laser cleaning machine uses high-frequency laser pulses to generate shock waves, and the shock waves cause the attachments on the surface of the cleaned object into dust, gasification and stripping, thereby achieving the effect of removing attachments. So, the laser cleaning head in the present disclosure is not a laser head, the laser cleaning head is used in combination with a laser generator to clean the surface of the workpiece, i.e., the laser cleaning head has nothing to do with the laser itself.
Fourthly, according to paragraph [0087] of PISANU, "a first tubular duct 520 configured to convey a laser-cutting assist gas, such as oxygen", that is, the tubular duct 520 is used to convey assist gas for laser cutting, but in the amended claim 1, the laser cleaning head gas inlet is used to convey an air for blowing out dust.So, the laser cleaning head gas inlet does not correspond to the tubular duct 520.
Fifthly, according to paragraph [0163] of PISANU, "in particular a sensor cone 24, which comprises a further duct 28 having an axis parallel to at least one portion of said optical axis OP of propagation of the laser beam L to provide an outlet for said laser beam L towards a working surface 16", that is, the duct 28 is used to provide an outlet for the laser beam, but in the amended claim 1, the air carrying dust leaves from the dustproof nozzle gas outlet. So, the dustproof nozzle gas outlet does not correspond to the duct 28.
Based on the above analysis, it can be seen that the amended claim 1 and PISANU involve two different structures, so the functions of each component are completely different, and it is not obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the dust removal system for the laser cleaning machine based on the technical solution of PISANU.
Furthermore, ZHU, Paganelli and Quick Guide do not disclose the dust removal system for the laser cleaning machine.
In addition, regarding the technical features of claim 2, in this non-final office action, the examiner asserted that: PISANU further discloses wherein the pipeline assembly (refer to #520, #520a-d in fig.1]) comprises a main gas inlet elbow (refer to "main gas inlet elbow": annotated in fig.11), bypass three-way pipes (refer to "three way pipes" annotated in fig.11), branch gas pipes on two sides (refer to the side #520a and b in fig.]), and branch gas inlet elbows (refer to "branch air inlet elbow") on two sides (refer to the two sides of 520b and #520a), and the laser cleaning head gas outlet (#521, fig.18) is correspondingly connected to the dustproof nozzle gas inlet (refer to "nozzle gas inlet/outlet" annotated in fig.12) by means of the main gas inlet elbow (refer to "branch air inlet elbow "), the bypass three-way pipes (refer to "three way pipes" annotated in fig.11), the branch gas pipes on the two sides (refer to the two sides of520b and #520a), and the branch gas inlet elbows (refer to "branch air inlet elbow") on the two sides. (refer to the side #520a and b in fig.1). Applicant respectfully disagrees.
According to paragraphs [0132], [0134] and fig. 11, "the distribution duct 520 for the machining assist gas may comprise four branches 520a, 520b,520c, 520d that can be configured in such a way as to couple to the first portion 242 of the cylindrical internal duct 28 of the sensor cone 24 at respective four points arranged at one and the same height on the circumference identified by the circular edge of the first portion 242 of the internal duct 28 at equal distances from one another, i.e., each arc of the circumference between two points subtends a right angle located on the circular edge. Hence, in this way the assist gas, for example oxygen, is distributed in a uniform way in the chamber. The configuration of the branches 520a, 520b, 520c, 520d may hence be made in such a way as to facilitate uniform distribution of the laser-machining assist fluid within the duct 26, 28 for propagation of the laser beam"; and "having a set of branches 520a, 520b, for example four branches of the tubular duct for distributing the laser-cutting assist gases may slow down the gas and reduce its turbulence, thus facilitating fluid dynamic coupling between the sensor cone 24 and the embodiment itself'.
Based on the above content disclosed by PISANU, on the one hand, the distribution duct 520 includes four branches 520a, 520b, 520c, 520d, which form three-way pipes structure similar to the amended claim 1 of the present disclosure, but the four branches are a part of the distribution duct 520, that is, the four branches are an integral structure, that is, an integrated internal branch structure, and the branches are inseparable. However, in the amended claim 1, the pipeline assembly comprises a main gas inlet elbow, bypass three-way pipes, branch gas pipes on two sides, and branch gas inlet elbows on two sides. These four parts form a three-way pipe structure, but they are not an integral structure and need to be connected together in some way. Therefore, the pipeline assembly in the amended claim 1 and the distribution duct 520 in PISANU are different structures; The pipeline assembly is a modular structure, the distribution duct 520 is an integrated structure. On the other hand, the purpose of the three-way pipe structure in the amended claim 1 is to achieve two-sided facing blowing (symmetrical air blowing), a positive pressure of gas is formed inside the dustproof nozzle from inside to outside, and gas is blown out by means of the dustproof nozzle gas outlet; but the circumferential arrangement of the four branches in PISANU is to make the assist gas evenly distributed in the chamber, thus slowing down the gas and reducing its turbulence.
It is therefore believed that the amended claim 1 is patentable over the cited references, and in condition for allowance. Correspondingly, other dependent claims 2-5 are also in condition for allowance, at least due to their dependency on claim 1…”, Remark Page 2-5.
The examiner's response: The applicant's arguments above are not persuasive.
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitation from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the argued terms and all six arguments in the remark are either from specification or interpretation of the actual term used in the rejected claims, there is not limitation cited in the rejected claims are not disclosed by the prior art of records. The argument of the combination of the Prior art of records does not perform the same function is also unpersuasive, because there is no limitation cited in the rejected claims that have distinct structural limitations that the prior art of records does not disclose, therefore the functional limitation would not carry a distinction than the prior art of records.
Furthermore, the arguments of the prior art of records is not a dust removal system for a laser cleaning machine are not persuasive too, because prior art of records pressurize gas can definitely remove dust, the prior art of records are also part of a laser cleaning machine.
It is suggested that to further amended in limitation that further distinct from prior art that is related to the functional languages that are argued or further clarified the structure of the laser cleaning machine, such that the arguments above would have ground to argue on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PISANU et al (US2021/0362276A1 previously cited) herein set forth as PISANU, in view of ZHU et al (US2021/0222684A1 previously cited) herein set forth as ZHU.
Regarding claim 1, PISANU discloses a dust removal system (refer to fig.2a and 2b) for a laser cleaning machine (#1 in fig.1), comprising:
a gas pipe (#520, fig.3), and
a dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11),
wherein the dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11) is fixed on a laser cleaning head (#20, fig.3, 9 and 11), a laser cleaning head gas inlet (refer to “head gas inlet” annotated in fi.3 which is #520 connected on #20 in fig.3) and a laser cleaning head gas outlet (#521, fig.18) are provided on the laser cleaning head (#20, fig.3, 9 and 11);
a dustproof nozzle gas inlet (refer to “nozzle gas inlet/outlet” annotated in fig.12) is provided on two different sides of the dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11), dustproof nozzle gas outlets (#28, fig. 3 and 11) are provided on the front end of the dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11), and the laser cleaning head gas outlet (#521, fig.18) is connected to the dustproof nozzle gas inlet (refer to “nozzle gas inlet/outlet” annotated in fig.12) by a pipeline assembly (refer to #520, #520a-d in fig. 11);
a compressed air (refer to Paragraph 0085 cited: “…a set of tubular ducts 520, 522, 523, 524 for conveying fluids for assisting laser machining. The set of tubular ducts may be coupled to one or more systems 50 for distributing gases or other machining assist elements …”) reaches the interior of the laser cleaning head (#20, fig.3, 9 and 11) by the gas pipe (#520, fig.3), and is blown out of the dustproof nozzle gas outlet (#28, fig.3 and 11) by blowing on both sides (refer to the side of #520a-d in fig.11) of the pipeline assembly (refer to #520, #520a-d in fig. 11) to form an internal positive pressure (refer to Paragraph 0141 cited: “…The coupling thus obtained between the sensor cone 24 and the embodiment itself facilitates increase in the flow rate of the gas at high pressure…”).
Examiner note: PISANU inherently discloses a pressurize gas source.
PISANU does not disclose a filter, a gas pump, one end of the gas pump is connected to the filter, and the other end of the gas pump is connected to the laser cleaning head gas inlet, gas passes through the filter to filter the dust in the air and enters the gas pump for pressurization.
In the field of compress gases generation, ZHU discloses a filter (#26, fig.1), a gas pump (refer to in abstract as “vehicle-mounted electric oil-free compressor” and fig.1), one end (refer to the end where #26 located in fig.1) of the gas pump (refer to in abstract as “vehicle-mounted electric oil-free compressor” and fig.1) is connected to the filter (#26, fig.1), and the other end (refer to the end that #17 in fig.1) of the gas pump (refer to in abstract as “vehicle-mounted electric oil-free compressor” and fig.1) is connected to supply compress gas, gas passes through the filter (#26, fig.1 and referring the “airflow direction” shown in fig.1) to filter the dust in the air and enters the gas pump (refer to in abstract as “vehicle-mounted electric oil-free compressor” and fig.1) for pressurization (refer to the term “compressor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute PISANU’s compress air source with ZHU’s air compression system, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results of generating and supplying compressed air or gases, such that to provide a cleaner pressurized gases and oil-free (refer to Paragraph 0020 cited: “…Use of a self-lubricating material piston ring, the guide ring, and a maintenance-free grease lubrication bearing realizes oil-free compression, so that an air source is cleaner …”).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of PISANU and ZHU discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, PISANU further discloses wherein the pipeline assembly (refer to #520, #520a-d in fig. 11) comprises a main gas inlet elbow (refer to “main gas inlet elbow: annotated in fig. 11), bypass three-way pipes (refer to “three way pipes” annotated in fig.11), branch gas pipes on two sides (refer to the side #520a and b in fig.1), and branch gas inlet elbows (refer to “branch air inlet elbow) on two sides (refer to the two sides of 520b and #520a), and the laser cleaning head gas outlet (#521, fig.18) is correspondingly connected to the dustproof nozzle gas inlet (refer to “nozzle gas inlet/outlet” annotated in fig.12) by the main gas inlet elbow (refer to “branch air inlet elbow), the bypass three-way pipes (refer to “three way pipes” annotated in fig.11), the branch gas pipes on the two sides (refer to the two sides of 520b and #520a), and the branch gas inlet elbows (refer to “branch air inlet elbow) on the two sides. (refer to the side #520a and b in fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of PISANU and ZHU discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, PISANU further disclose wherein a seal ring (refer to “seal ring” annotated in fig.12) is provided at a connection end face (refer to fig.12) of the dust-proof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11) and the laser cleaning head (#20, fig.3, 9 and 11).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PISANU et al (US2021/0362276A1 previously cited) herein set forth as PISANU, in view of ZHU et al (US2021/0222684A1 previously cited) herein set forth as ZHU, further in view of Paganelli (US2011/0120981A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Paganelli.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of PISANU and Tsai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, PISANU further discloses wherein one end of the dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11) is of a circular structure (refer to “circular” annotated in fig.12) and in connection with a laser cleaning head (#20, fig.3, 9 and 11), and the other end of the dustproof nozzle (#24, fig.3, 9 and 11) is of a flat structure (refer to “flat” annotate din fig.12)
PISANU does not specifically disclose one end of the dustproof nozzle in bolted connection with a laser cleaning head.
In the field of laser head for laser machining, Paganelli discloses one end (refer to “mounting plate” in paragraph cited below, #7 in fig.1) of the dustproof nozzle (refer to “laser head” in paragraph cited below, #8 in fig.1) in bolted connection (refer to “mounting plate” in paragraph cited below) with a laser cleaning head (refer to #8, #7 and #15-#16 in fig. 1, )(refer to Paragraph 0038 cited: “…The laser head 8 is held pressed against the mounting plate 48 via the face 49 of its frame and is rigidly rotated by said mounting plate by three bolts (not shown)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PISANU’s invention with one end of the dustproof nozzle in bolted connection with a laser cleaning head, as taught by PISANU, in order to provide a commonly use connection that widely used, such that would reduce in manufacturing and construction complexity.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PISANU et al (US2021/0362276A1 previously cited) herein set forth as PISANU, in view of ZHU et al (US2021/0222684A1 previously cited) herein set forth as ZHU, and further in view of NPL “A Quick Guide to Air line Couplers and Plugs” by Benjamen (previously cited) herein set forth as QuickGuide.
Regarding claim 5, , the modification of PISANU and ZHU discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, PISANU does not disclose wherein the dustproof nozzle gas inlet is in threaded connection.
In the field of air line coupler, QuickGuide discloses threaded connection for inlet line (refer to NPL figure of “Common Quick connect plug types”, Examiner note: notice that 2 of the inlet plugs are threaded connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PISANU’s dustproof nozzle gas inlet with thread connection, as taught by QuickGuide, in order to provide a more secure, and airtight connection for the gas inlet connection, such that would reduce air leakage and failure to connect.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Claim Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on October 30th 2025 that overcame the Claim Objection in the previous office action.
With respect to the Notification of 112f: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on October 30th 2025 that overcame the Notification of 112f in the previous office.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 December 15th 2025
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761