DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/14/2025 has been entered. Claims 3-10 and 13-20 remain pending in this application. The examiner acknowledges no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Regarding paragraph 3 of page 1 of Applicant’s remarks to paragraph 2 of page 3 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that Kubota et al. fails to teach the amended chemical structure.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 3 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Choi et al. fails to cure the deficiencies of Kubota with respect to amended claim 3. In paragraph 3 of page 3 to 4 of page 5 of Applicant’s remarks.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 7, 8, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of Chernyshov et al. and the references cited in the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/14/2025 of Choi et al. to addresses the newly added limitations
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chernyshov et al. (US 2014/0178748 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Chernyshov et al. teaches a secondary battery electrolyte by the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery in [0018] comprising:
a lithium salt by lithium salt in [0018];
a non-aqueous organic solvent by the non-aqueous organic solvent in [0018]; and
Chernyshov et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2: [Chemical Formula 2]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2: where R is fluoro or fluoro C1-C10 alkyl;
R11 is independently hydrogen;
R12 is C1-C10 alkyl, or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl;
P is an integer of 0 to 3; and
n is an integer of 0 to 5.
Chernyshov et al. teaches the above claimed structure by electrolyte additive represented by chemical formula 1 in [0018-0019], Fig. 2, [0034] and [0100-0101]. It is explained that the additive will undergo a reaction after the positive active material releases an oxygen molecule so that it may bond with the additive in the electrolyte in [0031].
[0020] notes that R2 and R4 may be independently hydrogen. [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl or a C7-C20 arylalkyl group mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and R12 is C1-C10 alkyl or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). This is because a C6 aryl and C1 alkyl would form a C7 arylalkyl group as best understood and a C10 aryl and C10 alkyl would form a C20 arylalkyl and a C12 aryl and C8 alkyl would form a C20 arylalkyl.
[0020] notes R1 may be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group, an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group, or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring, it may meet when p is 0 and n is 0.
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7-C9 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 to 3 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C9, p may be 1-3 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group.
For the C7-C9 arylalkyl group, it may also be substituted in [0020] which would meet when n is 1+ and R is fluoro based upon [0040]. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0 and n is 1 and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C20, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1-C10 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group.
Regarding claim 4, [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl or a C7-C20 arylalkyl group mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and R12 is C1-C10 alkyl or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). This is because a phenyl or C6 aryl and C1 alkyl would form a C7 arylalkyl group as best understood and a phenyl or C6 aryl and C5 alkyl would form a C11 arylalkyl.
R1 may be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group, an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring, it may meet when p is 0 and n is 0.
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7-C8 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 to 2 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C8, p may be 1-2 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group.
For the C7-C9 arylalkyl group, it may also be substituted in [0020] which would meet when n is 1+ and R is fluoro based upon [0040]. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be located on either or both the aryl or alkyl.
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0, n is 1, and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C20, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1-C10 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be on either or both the aryl and the alkyl and may be repeated on the same carbon of the alkyl.
Regarding claim 5, Chernyshov et al. teaches the claimed structure by electrolyte additive represented by chemical formula 1 in [0018-0019] and Fig. 2, [0034] and [0100-0101]. It is explained that the additive will undergo a reaction after the positive active material releases an oxygen molecule so that it may bond with the additive in the electrolyte in [0031].
[0020] notes that R2 and R4 may be independently hydrogen. [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and overlaps with where R12 is a C1 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
For the above structure, R1 may be an unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group in [0020]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05) of an unsubstituted C6 aryl group.
For the above structure, R1 may be a substituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group or an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1, and R is fluoro.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen.
For the above structure, R1 may be a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0, n is 1, and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and it is a C7 aryl alkyl, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be on either or both the aryl and the alkyl and may be repeated on the same carbon of the alkyl. This would lead to the possibility of multiple F atoms on the C1 alkyl.
For the above structure, R1 may be an unsubstituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7, p may be 1 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group or phenyl group.
Regarding claim 6, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the cyclophosphate compound is in an amount of 1 to 15% with respect to a total amount of the secondary battery electrolyte as [0024] notes the additive may be in an amount of 0.1 wt. % to about 20 wt. % based on the total amount of the electrolyte. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the lithium salt includes one or more of LiPF6 by the LiPF6 in [0064], LiBF4 by the LiBF4 in [0064], LiSbF6 by the LiSbF6 in [0064], LiAsF6 by the LiAsF6 in [0064], LiN(SO3C2F5)2 by the Li(CF3SO2)2N in [0064], LiC4F9SO3 by the LiC4F9SO3 in [0064], LiAlO2 by LiAlO2 in [0064], LiAlCl4 by LiAlCl4 in [0064], LiCl by LiCl in [0064], and LiI by LiI in [0064].
Regarding claim 10, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the lithium salt may be used in a concentration of about 0.1 M to about 2.0 M. This sits within the range of wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of 0.3 to 1.2 moles.
Regarding claim 13, Chernyshov et al. teaches a lithium secondary battery by the rechargeable lithium battery in [0067] and Fig. 1 comprising:
a cathode by the positive electrode 114 in [0069] and [0104] and Fig. 1;
an anode by the negative electrode 112 in [0069] and [0104] and Fig. 1
a separator interposed between the cathode and the anode by the separator 113 interposing the positive and negative electrodes 114 and 112 respective in [0069] and Fig. 1;
a secondary battery electrolyte comprising by the electrolyte for a secondary battery in [018] and [0101];
a lithium salt by lithium salt in [0018];
a non-aqueous organic solvent by the non-aqueous organic solvent in [0018]; and
Chernyshov et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2: [Chemical Formula 2]
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2: where R is fluoro or fluoro C1-C10 alkyl;
R11 is independently hydrogen;
R12 is C1-C10 alkyl, or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl;
P is an integer of 0 to 3; and
n is an integer of 0 to 5.
and p is 0.
Chernyshov et al. teaches the above claimed structure by electrolyte additive represented by chemical formula 1 in [0018-0019] and Fig. 2, [0034] and [0100-0101]. It is explained that the additive will undergo a reaction after the positive active material releases an oxygen molecule so that it may bond with the additive in the electrolyte in [0031].
[0020] notes that R2 and R4 may be independently hydrogen. [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl or a C7-C20 arylalkyl group mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and R12 is C1-C10 alkyl or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). This is because a C6 aryl and C1 alkyl would form a C7 arylalkyl group as best understood and a C10 aryl and C10 alkyl would form a C20 arylalkyl and a C 12 aryl and C8 alkyl would form a C20 arylalkyl.
[0020] notes R1 may be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group, an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring, it may meet when p is 0 and n is 0.
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7-C9 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 to 3 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C9, p may be 1-3 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group.
For the C7-C9 arylalkyl group, it may also be substituted in [0020] which would meet when n is 1+ and R is fluoro based upon [0040]. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0 and n is 1 and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C20, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1-C10 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group.
Regarding claim 14, [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl or a C7-C20 arylalkyl group mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and R12 is C1-C10 alkyl or C6-C12 aryl C1-C10 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). This is because a phenyl or C6 aryl and C1 alkyl would form a C7 arylalkyl group as best understood and a phenyl or C6 aryl and C5 alkyl would form a C11 arylalkyl.
R1 may be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group, an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring, it may meet when p is 0 and n is 0.
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1+, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and cannot be more than 5 due to available substitution spots of a C6 aryl or phenyl group.
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7-C8 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 to 2 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C8, p may be 1-2 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group.
For the C7-C9 arylalkyl group, it may also be substituted in [0020] which would meet when n is 1+ and R is fluoro based upon [0040]. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be located on either or both the aryl or alkyl.
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0, n is 1, and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and the total carbons may be C7 to C20, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1-C10 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be on either or both the aryl and the alkyl and may be repeated on the same carbon of the alkyl.
Regarding claim 15, Chernyshov et al. teaches the claimed structure by electrolyte additive represented by chemical formula 1 in [0018-0019] and Fig. 2, [0034] and [0100-0101]. It is explained that the additive will undergo a reaction after the positive active material releases an oxygen molecule so that it may bond with the additive in the electrolyte in [0031].
[0020] notes that R2 and R4 may be independently hydrogen. [0020] notes R3 may be an unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl mapping to where R11 is hydrogen and overlaps with where R12 is a C1 alkyl. R3 overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
For the above structure, R1 may be an unsubstituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group in [0020]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05) of an unsubstituted C6 aryl group.
For the above structure, R1 may be a substituted aryl C6-C30 aryl group or an unsubstituted C6-C30 halogenated aryl group or a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
If R1 is a substituted C6 aryl group and the substituent is F, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1, and R is fluoro.
If R1 is an unsubstituted C6 halogenated aryl group, it may meet when p is 0, n is 1, and R is fluoro because F is a halogen.
For the above structure, R1 may be a substituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. The substituent may be F in [0040]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
As best understood if R1 is a substituted C7-C16 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 0, n is 1, and R is a fluoro C1-C10 alkyl. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the aryl, and it is a C7 aryl alkyl, the alkyl of the fluoro alkyl of R may be C1 in which the remaining carbons are a C6 aryl group i.e. a phenyl group or unsaturated C6 ring. Chernyshov et al. does not limit the amount of substitution in [0020] and [0040] so it is expected that it is at least 1 and may be on either or both the aryl and the alkyl and may be repeated on the same carbon of the alkyl. This would lead to the possibility of multiple F atoms on the C1 alkyl.
For the above structure, R1 may be an unsubstituted C7-C20 arylalkyl group in [0020]. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
As best understood if R1 is an unsubstituted C7 arylalkyl group it may meet where p is 1 and n is 0. This is because it does not appear to be limited on where the arylalkyl attaches to the rest of the chemical formula i.e. whether the R1 attachment point would be on the aryl or the alkyl section of the arylalkyl. If it attaches to the alkyl, and the total carbons may be C7, p may be 1 in which the remaining carbons add up to a C6 aryl group or phenyl group.
Regarding claim 16, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the cyclophosphate compound is in an amount of 1 to 15% with respect to a total amount of the secondary battery electrolyte as [0024] notes the additive may be in an amount of 0.1 wt. % to about 20 wt. % based on the total amount of the electrolyte. This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the lithium salt includes one or more of LiPF6 by the LiPF6 in [0064], LiBF4 by the LiBF4 in [0064], LiSbF6 by the LiSbF6 in [0064], LiAsF6 by the LiAsF6 in [0064], LiN(SO3C2F5)2 by the Li(CF3SO2)2N in [0064], LiC4F9SO3 by the LiC4F9SO3 in [0064], LiAlO2 by LiAlO2 in [0064], LiAlCl4 by LiAlCl4 in [0064], LiCl by LiCl in [0064], and LiI by LiI in [0064].
Regarding claim 20, Chernyshov et al. teaches wherein the lithium salt may be used in a concentration of about 0.1 M to about 2.0 M. This sits within the range of wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of 0.3 to 1.2 moles.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chernyshov et al. (US 2014/0178748 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0246233 A1). Choi et al. was cited in the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/14/2025.
Regarding claim 7, Chernyshov et al. fails to explicitly teach further comprising one or more additives selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based compound, a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound, a vinylidene carbonate-based compound, or a sulfinyl group-containing compound.
However, Choi et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound in an electrolyte in [0018] and chemical formula 1 for a secondary battery as noted in the abstract. Choi et al. further comprising one or more additives by the other additives in [0041] that are additionally added selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound by the lithium difluro(oxalato)borate in [0042], an oxalatophosphate-based compound by the lithium tetrafluro(oxalate) phosphate in [0042] or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound by the fluoroethylene carbonate in [0042]. Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery in [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte containing a cyclophosphate compound for a secondary battery of Chernyshov et al. to contain an additional additive such as a oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound as Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery as noted in [0041] of Choi et al..
Regarding claim 8, Chernyshov et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the additive is in an amount of 0.2 to 5 weight % with respect to a total weight of the secondary battery electrolyte.
However, Choi et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound in an electrolyte in [0018] and chemical formula 1 for a secondary battery as noted in the abstract. Choi et al. further comprising one or more additives by the other additives in [0041] that are additionally added selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound by the lithium difluro(oxalato)borate in [0042], an oxalatophosphate-based compound by the lithium tetrafluro(oxalate) phosphate in [0042] or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound by the fluoroethylene carbonate in [0042]. Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery in [0041]. Choi et al. also teaches that the additive may a metal phosphate in [0042] and that the weight % of the metal phosphate may be modified to be in the range of 0.3 to 1.5 weight % in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery in [0044]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte containing a cyclophosphate compound for a secondary battery of Chernyshov et al. to contain an additional additive such as an oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound as Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery as noted in [0041] of Choi et al.. Furthermore, because Choi et al. teaches modifying the weight % of the additive if it’s a metal phosphate compound in order to improve lifespan characteristics of the battery in [0044] of Choi et al., it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the other additives weight % of the electrolyte such as an oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound in order to improve the lifespan characteristics of the secondary battery when other additives were used as supported by [0044] of Choi et al..
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chernyshov et al. (US 2014/0178748 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0246233 A1). Choi et al. was cited in the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/14/2025.
Regarding claim 17, Chernyshov et al. fails to explicitly teach further comprising one or more additives selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based compound, a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound, a vinylidene carbonate-based compound, or a sulfinyl group-containing compound.
However, Choi et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound in an electrolyte in [0018] and chemical formula 1 for a secondary battery as noted in the abstract. Choi et al. further comprising one or more additives by the other additives in [0041] that are additionally added selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound by the lithium difluro(oxalato)borate in [0042], an oxalatophosphate-based compound by the lithium tetrafluro(oxalate) phosphate in [0042] or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound by the fluoroethylene carbonate in [0042]. Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery in [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte containing a cyclophosphate compound for a secondary battery of Chernyshov et al. to contain an additional additive such as a oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound as Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery as noted in [0041] of Choi et al..
Regarding claim 18, Chernyshov et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the additive is in an amount of 0.2 to 5 weight % with respect to a total weight of the secondary battery electrolyte.
However, Choi et al. teaches a cyclophosphate compound in an electrolyte in [0018] and chemical formula 1 for a secondary battery as noted in the abstract. Choi et al. further comprising one or more additives by the other additives in [0041] that are additionally added selected from an oxalatoborate-based compound by the lithium difluro(oxalato)borate in [0042], an oxalatophosphate-based compound by the lithium tetrafluro(oxalate) phosphate in [0042] or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound by the fluoroethylene carbonate in [0042]. Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery in [0041]. Choi et al. also teaches that the additive may a metal phosphate in [0042] and that the weight % of the metal phosphate may be modified to be in the range of 0.3 to 1.5 weight % in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery in [0044]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte containing a cyclophosphate compound for a secondary battery of Chernyshov et al. to contain an additional additive such as a oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound as Choi et al. teaches that adding these additional additives to improve lifespan characteristics of a battery, suppress a decrease in battery capacity, and improve the discharge capacity of the battery as noted in [0041] of Choi et al.. Furthermore, because Choi et al. teaches modifying the weight % of the additive if it’s a metal phosphate compound in order to improve lifespan characteristics of the battery in [0044] of Choi et al., it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the other additives weight % of the electrolyte such as an oxalatoborate-based compound, an oxalatophosphate-based, or a fluorine-substituted carbonate-based compound in order to improve the lifespan characteristics of the secondary battery when other additives were used as supported by [0044] of Choi et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0305374 A1 teaches additional additives to the lithium battery electrolyte. This was cited in the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/14/2025.
US 2021/0265662 A1 teaches modifying additives weight %. This was cited in the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/14/2025.
US 2006/0240329 A1 teaches a cyclophosphate compound in a nonaqueous electrolyte for a lithium-ion cell. This was cited in the IDS filed 7/19/2023.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE J METZGER/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/MILTON I CANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1723