DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 06/10/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 06/01/2026. Claims 1, 10 and 16 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 10 and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 20180263036 A1) in view of Hedge et al. (US 20140376392 A1).
Consider claim 1, Hsieh discloses a method (read as communicating device 200 performing a scanning process in which radio frequency circuit 203 covers eight Wi-Fi channels, probe requests are sent over those channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points and the process returns to the next eight channels when additional channels remain, figure 7, par [0023]) comprising:
selecting a first plurality of channels of a wireless device, the first plurality of channels being sub-bands of a wireless (read as controller 301 setting radio frequency circuits 203 in communicating device 200 to cover the first eight Wi-Fi channel portions, which identifies these eight Wi-Fi channels for scanning (figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]);
scanning the first plurality of channels for a transmission from an access point, the first plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the first eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
selecting a second plurality of channels of the wireless device, the second plurality of channels being sub-bands of the wireless device (read as communication device 200 moving from the current eight Wi-Fi channels to the next eight channels by resetting the coverage of the radio frequency circuit 203, which identifies a second eight Wi-Fi channel set for scanning/processing (figure 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]); and
scanning the second plurality of channels for the transmission from the access point, the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
wherein the first plurality of channels is different from the second plurality of channels (read as the current eight channels followed by the next eight channels; the next channels are processed after completion of the current channels and therefore form a different channel set, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
wherein a first number of the first plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of a first transceiver (read as radio frequency circuit 203 which includes transmitter 302 and receiver 303 (i.e. transceiver) and includes controller 301 that sets its radio frequency width, which corresponds to the bandwidth available for the scan (figure 3, par [0018]); figure 1 shows individual channel portions covered in counts of one, two, four or eight by radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 or 160 MHz, while the number of packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n is set according to that radio frequency width; therefore, the first simultaneous channel count is determined from the configured radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and the individual channel width, figures 1 and 2, par [0015]-[0017]);
wherein a second number of the second plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of the first transceiver in the wireless device (read as applying the same radio frequency width and packet detector count relationship during each scanning loop; after the current eight channels are completed, radio frequency circuit 203 covers the next eight channels at one time, and changing the configurated radio frequency width changes the simultaneous channel count; accordingly, the second count of channels is determined from the available radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and individual channel width of the transmitter and receiver circuit in the communication device 200, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]);
wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned (read as communication device 200 scanning the current eight channels and then scanning the next eight channels as successive scanning loops in the same access point discovery process, figures 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
and wherein a switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via radio frequency circuit of the wireless device (read as controller 301 reconfiguring radio frequency circuit 203 to cover the next eight channels when additional channels remain, which move communication device 200’s scan coverage from the current channel set to the next channel set, figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]), and
wherein the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel is less than all of the available channels of a band of the wireless device (read as scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while figure 1 identifies sixteen individual channels and figure 7 repeats the eight-channel scanning process until all channels have been scanned; accordingly, the next eight channels are fewer than the complete/all available eight-channel sets, figures 1 and 7, par [0015] and [0023]).
However, Hsieh discloses the claimed invention above with scanning all 2.4G/5G channels (par [0002]) but does not specifically a second transceiver collocated with the first transceiver in the wireless device, with the second number determined from the available bandwidth and channel size of the second transceiver; wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned in parallel; and wherein the switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via a physical (PHY) layer of the wireless device.
Nonetheless, Hedge discloses dual transceiver physical layer scanning for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, in which the parallel scanning device 200 containing first transceiver 206 and second transceiver 210 in the same device, with each transceiver including its own radio frequency stage, transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry (figure 2, par [0025] and [0028]); scanning logic 204 assigns a channel or frequency band to each transceiver, direct the two transceivers to conduct a parallel scan operation and monitor both assign channels during the same period for access point (figures 2 and 3, par [0029]-[0030] and [0042]-[0044]); and each transceiver operates as a medium access control (MAC), physical layer (PHY) and radio chain, while figure 4 shows transceivers A and B moving from their current scan channels to their next scan channels, this structurally implies that the channel movement is implemented through transceiver chains that include that PHY (figure 4, par [0026] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, to configure Hsieh’s radio frequency communication device having scans for different sets of channels using Hedge’s first and second transceivers physical layer scanning, in order to reduce total access point discovery time by scanning two multi-channel sets concurrently (see par [0019] of Hedge).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first plurality of channels is used by the first transceiver operating on a first band, and wherein the second plurality of channels is used by the second transceiver operating on a second band.
Nonetheless, Hedge further discloses scanning 2.4 GHz frequency channels using first transceiver and scanning 5 GHz frequency channels using second transceiver, par [0033], [0043] and [0046]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s respective transceiver and band assignments, in order to scan channels in two wireless local area network bands concurrently and reduce the total time required for multiband access point discovery (see par [0043 of Hedge).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above and sending a probe request from the wireless device, wherein the transmission from the access point is a response to the probe request (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the probe request as probe request frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose an active scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point, par [0034]-[0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s probe request frame signaling, in order to use an established active scan frame form that access points recognize and answer on the scanned channel (par [0034] and [0050] of Hedge).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the transmission from the access point is a beacon (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the beacon as beacon frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose a scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point and receives beacon frame, par [0032], [0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s beacon frame response technique, in order to obtain access point announcements on a scanned channel with specific access point management information (par [0032] and [0035] of Hedge).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the first number of the first plurality of channels and the second number of the second plurality of channels are determined based, at least in part, on a bandwidth of the wireless device (read as setting the number of packet detectors 201-_1 to 201_n and thus the number of channels scanned at one time according to the configured radio frequency width of the radio frequency circuit 203 in the transceiver of the communication device 200; the width-controlled count is applied to the current channel group and the next channel group during the scanning process; therefore, both groups counts depends at least partly on a bandwidth/width of the device, figure 1, 2, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the first number and the second number are determined dividing the bandwidth of the wireless device by a size of a channel (read as each channel units having a 20 MHz width and the radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 and 160 MHz covering one, two, four and eight channels, respectively; each count mathematically equals the configured device bandwidth divided by the width of one channel; the same width to count relationship applies to both the current and next channel set, figures 1, 2, 5, par [0015], [0017] and [0020]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the wireless device is multi-band device (read as the Wi-Fi communication device for 2.4G and 5G, par [0002] and [0016]).
Consider claim 10, Hsieh discloses a device (read as communicating device 200 performing a scanning process in which radio frequency circuit 203 covers eight Wi-Fi channels, probe requests are sent over those channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points and the process returns to the next eight channels when additional channels remain, figure 7, par [0023]) comprising:
a memory configured to store channel information associated with channels of a wireless device; and processing elements configured to (read as the inherently existing storage element for storing the eight channels information associated with the communication device 200, and the controller 301 for controlling the execution of the scanning steps/process in figure 7, par [0023]):
selecting a first plurality of channels of a wireless device, the first plurality of channels being sub-bands of a wireless (read as controller 301 setting radio frequency circuits 203 in communicating device 200 to cover the first eight Wi-Fi channel portions, which identifies these eight Wi-Fi channels for scanning (figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]);
scanning the first plurality of channels for a transmission from an access point, the first plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the first eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
selecting a second plurality of channels of the wireless device, the second plurality of channels being sub-bands of the wireless device (read as communication device 200 moving from the current eight Wi-Fi channels to the next eight channels by resetting the coverage of the radio frequency circuit 203, which identifies a second eight Wi-Fi channel set for scanning/processing (figure 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]); and
scanning the second plurality of channels for the transmission from the access point, the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
wherein the first plurality of channels is different from the second plurality of channels (read as the current eight channels followed by the next eight channels; the next channels are processed after completion of the current channels and therefore form a different channel set, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
wherein a first number of the first plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of a first transceiver (read as radio frequency circuit 203 which includes transmitter 302 and receiver 303 (i.e. transceiver) and includes controller 301 that sets its radio frequency width, which corresponds to the bandwidth available for the scan (figure 3, par [0018]); figure 1 shows individual channel portions covered in counts of one, two, four or eight by radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 or 160 MHz, while the number of packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n is set according to that radio frequency width; therefore, the first simultaneous channel count is determined from the configured radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and the individual channel width, figures 1 and 2, par [0015]-[0017]);
wherein a second number of the second plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of the first transceiver in the wireless device (read as applying the same radio frequency width and packet detector count relationship during each scanning loop; after the current eight channels are completed, radio frequency circuit 203 covers the next eight channels at one time, and changing the configurated radio frequency width changes the simultaneous channel count; accordingly, the second count of channels is determined from the available radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and individual channel width of the transmitter and receiver circuit in the communication device 200, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]);
wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned (read as communication device 200 scanning the current eight channels and then scanning the next eight channels as successive scanning loops in the same access point discovery process, figures 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
and wherein a switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via radio frequency circuit of the wireless device (read as controller 301 reconfiguring radio frequency circuit 203 to cover the next eight channels when additional channels remain, which move communication device 200’s scan coverage from the current channel set to the next channel set, figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]), and
wherein the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel is less than all of the available channels of a band of the wireless device (read as scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while figure 1 identifies sixteen individual channels and figure 7 repeats the eight-channel scanning process until all channels have been scanned; accordingly, the next eight channels are fewer than the complete/all available eight-channel sets, figures 1 and 7, par [0015] and [0023]).
However, Hsieh discloses the claimed invention above with scanning all 2.4G/5G channels (par [0002]) but does not explicitly disclose memory and does not specifically disclose a second transceiver collocated with the first transceiver in the wireless device, with the second number determined from the available bandwidth and channel size of the second transceiver; wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned in parallel; and wherein the switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via a physical (PHY) layer of the wireless device.
Nonetheless, Hedge discloses dual transceiver physical layer scanning for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, in which the parallel scanning device 200 containing first transceiver 206 and second transceiver 210 in the same device with memory and processing unit (par [0064]), with each transceiver including its own radio frequency stage, transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry (figure 2, par [0025] and [0028]); scanning logic 204 assigns a channel or frequency band to each transceiver, direct the two transceivers to conduct a parallel scan operation and monitor both assign channels during the same period for access point (figures 2 and 3, par [0029]-[0030] and [0042]-[0044]); and each transceiver operates as a medium access control (MAC), physical layer (PHY) and radio chain, while figure 4 shows transceivers A and B moving from their current scan channels to their next scan channels, this structurally implies that the channel movement is implemented through transceiver chains that include that PHY (figure 4, par [0026] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, to configure Hsieh’s radio frequency communication device having scans for different sets of channels using Hedge’s first and second transceivers physical layer scanning, in order to reduce total access point discovery time by scanning two multi-channel sets concurrently (see par [0019] of Hedge).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first plurality of channels is used by the first transceiver operating on a first band, and wherein the second plurality of channels is used by the second transceiver operating on a second band.
Nonetheless, Hedge further discloses scanning 2.4 GHz frequency channels using first transceiver and scanning 5 GHz frequency channels using second transceiver, par [0033], [0043] and [0046]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s respective transceiver and band assignments, in order to scan channels in two wireless local area network bands concurrently and reduce the total time required for multiband access point discovery (see par [0043 of Hedge).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 10 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above and sending a probe request from the wireless device, wherein the transmission from the access point is a response to the probe request (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the probe request as probe request frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose an active scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point, par [0034]-[0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s probe request frame signaling, in order to use an established active scan frame form that access points recognize and answer on the scanned channel (par [0034] and [0050] of Hedge).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 10 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the transmission from the access point is a beacon (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the beacon as beacon frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose a scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point and receives beacon frame, par [0032], [0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s beacon frame response technique, in order to obtain access point announcements on a scanned channel with specific access point management information (par [0032] and [0035] of Hedge).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 10 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the first number of the first plurality of channels and the second number of the second plurality of channels are determined based, at least in part, on a bandwidth of the wireless device (read as setting the number of packet detectors 201-_1 to 201_n and thus the number of channels scanned at one time according to the configured radio frequency width of the radio frequency circuit 203 in the transceiver of the communication device 200; the width-controlled count is applied to the current channel group and the next channel group during the scanning process; therefore, both groups counts depends at least partly on a bandwidth/width of the device, figure 1, 2, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the first number and the second number are determined by dividing the bandwidth of the wireless device by a size of a channel (read as each channel units having a 20 MHz width and the radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 and 160 MHz covering one, two, four and eight channels, respectively; each count mathematically equals the configured device bandwidth divided by the width of one channel; the same width to count relationship applies to both the current and next channel set, figures 1, 2, 5, par [0015], [0017] and [0020]).
Consider claim 16, Hsieh discloses a system (read as communicating device 200 performing a scanning process in which radio frequency circuit 203 covers eight Wi-Fi channels, probe requests are sent over those channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points and the process returns to the next eight channels when additional channels remain, figure 7, par [0023]) comprising:
an antenna configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (read as inherently existing radiating element within Wi-Fi communication device 200 as it is wireless device (par [0001]) that including transmitter 302 and receiver 303 for transmitting and receiving wireless Wi-Fi signals, figure 3, par [0018]-[0019]);
a transceiver coupled to the antenna (read as the radiating element couples to the transmitter 302 and receiver 303 for transmitting and receiving wireless Wi-Fi signals, figure 3, par [0018]-[0019]);
a memory configured to store channel information associated with channels of a wireless device; and processing elements configured to (read as the inherently existing storing element for storing the eight channels information associated with the communication device 200, and the controller 301 for controlling the execution of the scanning steps/process in figure 7, par [0023]):
selecting a first plurality of channels of a wireless device, the first plurality of channels being sub-bands of a wireless (read as controller 301 setting radio frequency circuits 203 in communicating device 200 to cover the first eight Wi-Fi channel portions, which identifies these eight Wi-Fi channels for scanning (figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]);
scanning the first plurality of channels for a transmission from an access point, the first plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the first eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
selecting a second plurality of channels of the wireless device, the second plurality of channels being sub-bands of the wireless device (read as communication device 200 moving from the current eight Wi-Fi channels to the next eight channels by resetting the coverage of the radio frequency circuit 203, which identifies a second eight Wi-Fi channel set for scanning/processing (figure 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]); each channel occupies 20 MHz frequency portion within a wider configured radio frequency width and thus corresponds to a sub-band, figure 1, par [0015]); and
scanning the second plurality of channels for the transmission from the access point, the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel (read as packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while receiver 303 receives Wi-Fi response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0016], [0018] and [0020]);
wherein the first plurality of channels is different from the second plurality of channels (read as the current eight channels followed by the next eight channels; the next channels are processed after completion of the current channels and therefore form a different channel set, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
wherein a first number of the first plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of a first transceiver (read as radio frequency circuit 203 which includes transmitter 302 and receiver 303 (i.e. transceiver) and includes controller 301 that sets its radio frequency width, which corresponds to the bandwidth available for the scan (figure 3, par [0018]); figure 1 shows individual channel portions covered in counts of one, two, four or eight by radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 or 160 MHz, while the number of packet detectors 201_1 to 201_n is set according to that radio frequency width; therefore, the first simultaneous channel count is determined from the configured radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and the individual channel width, figures 1 and 2, par [0015]-[0017]);
wherein a second number of the second plurality of channels scanned in parallel is determined based on an available bandwidth and a size of a channel of the first transceiver in the wireless device (read as applying the same radio frequency width and packet detector count relationship during each scanning loop; after the current eight channels are completed, radio frequency circuit 203 covers the next eight channels at one time, and changing the configurated radio frequency width changes the simultaneous channel count; accordingly, the second count of channels is determined from the available radio frequency width (i.e. bandwidth) and individual channel width of the transmitter and receiver circuit in the communication device 200, figures 1, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]);
wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned (read as communication device 200 scanning the current eight channels and then scanning the next eight channels as successive scanning loops in the same access point discovery process, figures 5 and 7, par [0020] and [0023]),
and wherein a switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via radio frequency circuit of the wireless device (read as controller 301 reconfiguring radio frequency circuit 203 to cover the next eight channels when additional channels remain, which move communication device 200’s scan coverage from the current channel set to the next channel set, figures 3 and 7, par [0018] and [0023]), and
wherein the second plurality of channels being scanned in parallel is less than all of the available channels of a band of the wireless device (read as scanning the next eight Wi-Fi channels at one time, while figure 1 identifies sixteen individual channels and figure 7 repeats the eight-channel scanning process until all channels have been scanned; accordingly, the next eight channels are fewer than the complete/all available eight-channel sets, figures 1 and 7, par [0015] and [0023]).
However, Hsieh discloses the claimed invention above with scanning all 2.4G/5G channels (par [0002]) but does not explicitly disclose memory and antenna and does not specifically disclose a second transceiver collocated with the first transceiver in the wireless device, with the second number determined from the available bandwidth and channel size of the second transceiver; wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are scanned in parallel; and wherein the switching between pluralities of channels is implemented via a physical (PHY) layer of the wireless device.
Nonetheless, Hedge discloses dual transceiver physical layer scanning for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, in which the parallel scanning device 200 containing first transceiver 206 and second transceiver 210 and antennas 206/212 in the same device, with each transceiver including its own radio frequency stage, transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry (figure 2, par [0025] and [0028]); scanning logic 204 assigns a channel or frequency band to each transceiver, direct the two transceivers to conduct a parallel scan operation and monitor both assign channels during the same period for access point (figures 2 and 3, par [0029]-[0030] and [0042]-[0044]); and each transceiver operates as a medium access control (MAC), physical layer (PHY) and radio chain, while figure 4 shows transceivers A and B moving from their current scan channels to their next scan channels, this structurally implies that the channel movement is implemented through transceiver chains that include that PHY (figure 4, par [0026] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, to configure Hsieh’s radio frequency communication device having scans for different sets of channels using Hedge’s first and second transceivers physical layer scanning, in order to reduce total access point discovery time by scanning two multi-channel sets concurrently (see par [0019] of Hedge).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first plurality of channels is used by the first transceiver operating on a first band, and wherein the second plurality of channels is used by the second transceiver operating on a second band.
Nonetheless, Hedge further discloses scanning 2.4 GHz frequency channels using first transceiver and scanning 5 GHz frequency channels using second transceiver, par [0033], [0043] and [0046]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s respective transceiver and band assignments, in order to scan channels in two wireless local area network bands concurrently and reduce the total time required for multiband access point discovery (see par [0043 of Hedge).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above and sending a probe request from the wireless device, wherein the transmission from the access point is a response to the probe request (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the probe request as probe request frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose an active scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point, par [0034]-[0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s probe request frame signaling, in order to use an established active scan frame form that access points recognize and answer on the scanned channel (par [0034] and [0050] of Hedge).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the transmission from the access point is a beacon (read as probe requests are sent over the Wi-Fi channels, Wi-Fi response packets are received from access points, and the response packets including probe responses or beacons from access points through the corresponding packet detectors, figures 3 and 7, par [0016], [0018], [0020] and [0023]) but does not specifically disclose the beacon as beacon frame.
Nonetheless, Hedge further disclose a scan operation which the transceiver sends probe request frames to the access point and receives beacon frame, par [0032], [0035] and [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hedge into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device using first and second transceiver for scanning using Hedge’s beacon frame response technique, in order to obtain access point announcements on a scanned channel with specific access point management information (par [0032] and [0035] of Hedge).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 16 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the first number of the first plurality of channels and the second number of the second plurality of channels are determined based, at least in part, on a bandwidth of the wireless device (read as setting the number of packet detectors 201-_1 to 201_n and thus the number of channels scanned at one time according to the configured radio frequency width of the radio frequency circuit 203 in the transceiver of the communication device 200; the width-controlled count is applied to the current channel group and the next channel group during the scanning process; therefore, both groups counts depends at least partly on a bandwidth/width of the device, figure 1, 2, 5 and 7, par [0017], [0020] and [0023]), and wherein the first number and the second number are determined dividing the bandwidth of the wireless device by a size of a channel (read as each channel units having a 20 MHz width and the radio frequency widths of 20, 40, 80 and 160 MHz covering one, two, four and eight channels, respectively; each count mathematically equals the configured device bandwidth divided by the width of one channel; the same width to count relationship applies to both the current and next channel set, figures 1, 2, 5, par [0015], [0017] and [0020]).
Claims 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 20180263036 A1) in view of Hedge et al. (US 20140376392 A1), and in further view of Min et al. (US 20230209449 A1).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses the claimed invention above and scanning 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency channels but does not specifically disclose wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels combined include all available channels of the wireless device.
Nonetheless, MIN discloses using first core and second core of electronic device 200 to scan all channels of 2.4 GHz, 5GHz and 6 GHz bands at the same time, par [0077] and [0079]; accordingly, the channels scanned by first core and the channels scanned second core represent all the available channels (2.4 GHz, 5GHz and 6 GHz) of the electronic device 200.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of MIN into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to configure the radio frequency communication device having first and second transceivers for scanning using Min’s first and second core scanning all channels at the same time technique, in order to reduce total access point discovery time by scanning all the channels at the same time.
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Hsieh, as modified by Hedge, discloses wherein the wireless device is multi-band device (read as the Wi-Fi communication device for 2.4G and 5G, par [0002] and [0016]) but does not specifically disclose the multi-band device is a tri-band device.
Nonetheless, MIN discloses a Wi-Fi communication device as using 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and 6 GHz, par [0003] and [0076]-[0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of MIN into the teachings of Hsieh, which modified by Hedge, to design the Wi-Fi radio frequency communication device using MIN’s three different Wi-Fi scanning frequency bands technique, in order to allow the Wi-Fi communication device to operate in additional new frequency bands to cover more frequency bands.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645