DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to application number 17/955,339 filed on September 28th 2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Applicant’s amendment filed 01/13/2026 is acknowledged
Claims 1,10,15,23,29 and 30 have been amended
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on March 4th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,6,8-17,19-25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (WO-2022013717 A2) in view of Cox et al. (WO 2018175760 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Basu et al. disclose a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity via a first radio of the first UE, control signaling indicating a configuration associated with a set of sidelink communication resources for receiving, via a wake up radio of the first UE while the first radio is in a sleep mode, a wake up signal (FIG. 8 block 802 discloses “Receive A Radio Resource Configuration For Wake-Up Signal Reception, Wherein The Radio Resource Configuration Comprises Candidate Wake Up Signal Monitoring Slots In A Resource Pool, Candidate Wake Up Signal Monitoring Symbols In The Resource Pool, Candidate Wake Up Signal Monitoring Subchannels In The Resource Pool, A Time Offset From The Second Receiver On-Duration, Or Some Combination Thereof”. Furthermore subsequent block FIG.8 block 804 discloses “Monitor, Via A First Receiver Comprising A Wake-Up Receiver, A Sidelink Control Channel For A Wake- Up Signal…”. Through FIG 8. Blocks 802 and 804 it is evident that the UE is configured to and monitors for through the wake up receiver a sidelink control channel for a wake up signal; receiving, from a second UE and via the wake up radio while the first radio is in the sleep mode,(Figure 1 and Paragraph 0034 disclose “…any number of remote units 102 and network units 104 may be included in the wireless communication system 100.” Here the remote unit is equivalent to a UE. Paragraph 0041 and 0049 disclose respectively “…the remote unit 102 may include one or more of the processor 202,the memory 204, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212…” and “the remote unit 102 may have any suitable number of transmitters 210 and receivers 212. The transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be any suitable type of transmitters and receivers.” This along with Paragraph 0035 discloses “…the remote units 102 may communicate directly with other remote units 102 via sidelink communication…” that the remote unit may include more than one transmitter and receiver to support communications with more than one sidelinks. Furthermore, Paragraph 0005 discloses a first receiver and a second receiver comprising of wake up receivers to monitor wake up signals on the sidelink transmitted by a plurality of UE, stated as “…monitors, via a first receiver comprising a wake-up receiver, a sidelink control channel for a wake-up signal…” and “…the wake-up signal is transmitted by at least one transmitter user equipment of a plurality of transmitter user equipments; and monitors, via a second receiver, a physical sidelink control channel and a data channel.”; and receiving, from the second UE via the wake up radio while the first radio is in the sleep mode, the wake up signal via the set of sidelink communication resources in accordance with the configuration (Paragraph 0114 and FIG. 8 disclose reception of the wake up signal by the wake up radio outside of the active period (sleep mode)).
Basu et al. fail to explicitly disclose and a synchronization signal in a preamble corresponding to the wake up signal and additionally the synchronization signal in the preamble corresponding to the wakeup signal.
However in an analogous art Cox et al. teaches and a synchronization signal in a preamble corresponding to the wake up signal. (Paragraph 00228 discloses “Upon waking, the WUR may start checking the signal to see whether the predetermined preamble sequence can be detected. In embodiments in which the WUS contains both a preamble and payload, once the WUR detects the preamble sequence, the WUR may process the signal to obtain time and frequency synchronization.”). the synchronization signal in the preamble corresponding to the wakeup signal (Paragraph 0089 discloses “In this embodiment, the UEs 601 and 602 may further directly exchange communication data via a ProSe interface 605. The ProSe interface 605 may alternatively be referred to as a sidelink interface…”. Paragraph 0093 discloses “In accordance with some embodiments, the UEs 601 and 602 can be configured to communicate using … or a Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access (SC-FDMA) communication technique (e.g., for uplink and ProSe or sidelink communications)…”.Paragraph 00228 discloses “Upon waking, the WUR may start checking the signal to see whether the predetermined preamble sequence can be detected. In embodiments in which the WUS contains both a preamble and payload, once the WUR detects the preamble sequence, the WUR may process the signal to obtain time and frequency synchronization.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Basu et al. to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. to configure and receive a wake up signal and a synchronization signal in a preamble corresponding to the wake up signal, in order to enable the receiver to align its timing.
Regarding claim 2, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating with one of the network entity or the second UE via the first radio based at least in part on receiving the wake up signal via the wake up radio (Paragraph 0004 discloses the reception of the wake up signal via the wake up radio, and waking up the second receiver).
Regarding claim 3, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 2, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a first subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with the network entity and a second subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with other UEs, and wherein communicating with the one of the network entity or the second UE is based at least in part on the wake up signal being received via the first subset or the second subset (Paragraph 0068 discloses resource allocation for PUSCH transmissions (network side) and PSSCH transmissions (sidelink)).
Regarding claim 6, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of the configuration per resource pool, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprises a resource pool of a plurality of resource pools associated with a bandwidth part associated with sidelink communications for the first UE (Paragraph 0127 discloses the resource pool comprising a plurality of wake up signal blocks whereby each wake up signal block carries sidelink control information).
Regarding claim 8, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a third UE via the wake up radio while the first radio is in the sleep mode, a second signal via a default resource pool in accordance with a default configuration (Paragraph 0114 and FIG. 8 disclose reception of the wake up signal by the wake up radio outside of the active period (sleep mode) in a resource indicated by the radio resource configuration).
Regarding claim 9, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting an indication of a quantity of resource pools the UE is capable of supporting via the wake up radio, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the indication of the quantity of resource pools the UE is capable of supporting via the wake up radio (Paragraph 0128 and 131 disclose that the number of wake up signal blocks in a wake up signal resource is configured based on the capability of the member - “member identifier“).
Regarding claim 10, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of whether a reference signal, the synchronization signal, or a combination thereof is enabled for a resource pool corresponding to the set of sidelink communication resources (Paragraph 0102 discloses the physical sidelink shared channel reference signal for each of the subchannels in the resource pool).
Regarding claim 11, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a plurality of resource pools for sidelink communications, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprise a resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, wherein the first UE deactivates monitoring of each resource pool of the plurality of resource pools except for the resource pool while the first radio is in the sleep mode (Paragraphs 0074 -0076 disclose the plurality of wake up signal monitoring resources and the ability to configure the monitoring of the wake up signa in terms of monitoring occasions).
Regarding claim 12, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication that the configuration is associated with the second UE (Paragraph 0080 discloses that the received wake up signal blocks within the wake up signal resource can be associated with a first UE and second UE).
Regarding claim 13, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication that the configuration is associated with a first sub-resource pool of a resource pool for sidelink communications, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprises the first sub-resource pool, and wherein a guard band separates the first sub-resource pool from a second sub-resource pool of the resource pool (Paragraphs 0077 and 0078 disclose subchannels for SL-WUS transmission. Whereby wake up signal resources are defined within a subchannel of resource pool whereby the wake up signal resource is in a slot containing multiple wake up signal blocks).
Regarding claim 14, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, with the control signaling, an indication of a plurality of configurations associated with the set of sidelink communication resources, the plurality of configurations comprising the configuration (Paragraph 0039 discloses candidate wake up signal monitoring slots in a resource pool for receiving the wake up signal via sidelink); and receiving, from the second UE, second control signaling indicating the configuration from the plurality of configurations (Paragraph 0039 discloses receiving the wake up signal in a resource indicated by the radio resource configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Basu et al. disclose a method for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a configuration associated with a set of sidelink communication resources for transmitting, to a first UE while a first radio of the first UE is in a sleep mode, a wake up signal and at least one of a synchronization signal or a reference signal for channel estimation; transmitting, to the first UE, a synchronization signal or a reference signal via the set of sidelink communication resources in accordance with the configuration; and transmitting, to the first UE, a wake up signal via the set of sidelink communication resources in accordance with the configuration (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #1).
Regarding claim 16, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising: communicating with the first UE based at least in part on transmitting the wake up signal (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #2).
Regarding claim 17, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a first subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with the network entity and a second subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with other UEs, and wherein communicating with the first UE is based at least in part on the wake up signal being transmitted via the second subset (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #3).
Regarding claim 19, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of the configuration per resource pool, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprises a resource pool of a plurality of resource pools associated with a bandwidth part associated with sidelink communications for the first UE (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #6).
Regarding claim 20, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a plurality of resource pools for sidelink communications, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprise a resource pool of the plurality of resource pools (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #11).
Regarding claim 21, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication that the configuration is associated with a first sub-resource pool of a resource pool for sidelink communications, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprises the first sub-resource pool, and wherein a guard band separates the first sub-resource pool from a second sub-resource pool of the resource pool (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #13).
Regarding claim 22, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving, with the control signaling, an indication of a plurality of configurations associated with the set of sidelink communication resources, the plurality of configurations comprising the configuration; and transmitting, to the first UE, second control signaling indicating the configuration from the plurality of configurations (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #14).
Regarding claim 23, Basu et al. disclose a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: receiving, from a first user equipment (UE), an indication of a UE type of the first UE; and transmitting, to the first UE, control signaling indicating a configuration associated with a set of sidelink communication resources for receiving from a second UE while a first radio of the first UE is in a sleep mode, a wake up signal and at least one of a synchronization signal or a reference signal for channel estimation. (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #1).
Regarding claim 24, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 23, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE, second control signaling indicating to transmit a wake up signal to the first UE in accordance with the configuration; and communicating with the first UE based at least in part on transmitting the second control signaling (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #2).
Regarding claim 25, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 23, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting an indication of a first subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with the network entity and a second subset of the set of sidelink communication resources associated with wake up signals for communications with other UEs (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #3).
Regarding claim 27, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 23, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting an indication of the configuration per resource pool, wherein the set of sidelink communication resources comprises a resource pool of a plurality of resource pools associated with a bandwidth part associated with sidelink communications for the first UE (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #6).
Regarding claim 28, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 23, further comprising: receiving, from the first UE, an indication of a quantity of resource pools the UE is capable of supporting in the sleep mode, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on the indication of the quantity of resource pools the UE is capable of supporting in the sleep mode (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #9).
Regarding claim 29, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 23, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting an indication of whether a reference signal, the synchronization signal, or a combination thereof is enabled for a resource pool corresponding to the set of sidelink communication resources (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #10).
Regarding claim 30, Basu et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with one or more the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity via a first radio of the first UE, control signaling indicating a configuration associated with a set of sidelink communication resources for receiving via a wake up radio of the first UE while the first radio is in a sleep mode, a wake up signal and at least one of a synchronization signal or a reference signal for channel estimation; receive, from a second UE and via the wake up radio while the first radio is in the sleep mode, the synchronization signal or the reference signal via the set of sidelink communication resources in accordance with the configuration; and receive, the second UE via the wake up radio while the first radio is in the sleep mode, the signal via the set of sidelink communication resources in accordance with the configuration (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #1).
Claims 4-5, 7,18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (WO 2022013717 A2) in view of Cox et al. (WO 2018175760 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (KR 2022124735 A).
Regarding claim 4, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 3.
Basu et al. fail to explicitly teach receiving an indication of one or more of a first discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset and a second discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset.
However, in an analogous art, Chen et al. disclose receiving an indication of one or more of a first discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset and a second discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset (Page 7 Paragraph 7 discloses sidelink (DRX) configuration for a UE sidelink resource pool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Basu et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., to receive the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration, in order to save power in user devices that communicate directly with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. disclose the method of claim 3, wherein a first discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset is associated with a first radio resource control state between the first UE and the network entity, a second discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset is associated with a second radio resource control state between the first UE and the network entity, a third discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset is associated with a third radio resource control state between the first UE and the network entity, a fourth discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset is associated with a fourth radio resource control state between the first UE and the second UE, a fifth discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset is associated with a fifth radio resource control state between the first UE and the second UE, and a sixth discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset is associated with a sixth radio resource control state between the first UE and the second UE (Page 7 Paragraph 7 discloses sidelink (DRX) configuration for a UE sidelink resource pool. The sidelink resource configuration indicates the location of the allocated resources in the resource pool thus accounting for the different combinations mentioned in the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 1.
Basu et al. fail to explicitly teach transmitting, to the network entity, an indication of a UE type of the first UE, wherein the configuration is based on the UE type.
However, in an analogous art, Chen et al. disclose transmitting, to the network entity, an indication of a UE type of the first UE, wherein the configuration is based on the UE type (Page 8 Paragraph 4 discloses the exchange of UE capability information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Basu et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., to exchange UE capability information, so that the network can understand the capabilities of a device so that it can optimize performance and provide the best service to the end user.
Regarding claim 18, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of one or more of a first discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset and a second discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #4).
Regarding claim 26, Basu et al. disclose the method of claim 25, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting an indication of one or more of a first discontinuous reception configuration associated with the first subset and a second discontinuous reception configuration associated with the second subset (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471