Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 and 23-24 set forth in the amendment submitted 5/04/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-13, filed 5/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-13, of the remarks, filed on 5/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1, that “Lin does not teach or suggest such a determination. Lin's proximity switch is a binary metal detector. As Lin explains at paragraph [0015], the proximity switch "detect[s] presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch[es] on or off the luminescent component." When "a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil," eddy currents are induced and the resulting "change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected." Lin's detection output is therefore a single presence-or-absence signal. The luminescent component is then either switched on or it is not. Lin nowhere teaches comparing voltage characteristics of any variation against multiple sets of pre-associated characteristics, let alone a first set associated with one connector type and a second set associated with another connector type (Remarks-Page 10).
…..
Walsh, which the Office Action introduced solely to remedy Lin's lack of a capacitor in the detection circuitry (Office Action, page 12), does not cure this deficiency. Walsh is directed to inductive sensing of metallic targets generally and discloses an LC tank circuit whose amplitude VAmp varies with changes in sensor-coil inductance. Walsh contains no teaching of distinguishing between different types of connectors, of associating particular voltage characteristics with particular connector types, or of comparing a measured variation against multiple type-associated characteristic sets. The Office Action does not contend otherwise.
For at least these reasons, the combination of Lin and Walsh fails to teach or suggest the amended subject matter of claim 1. Withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1, and of the rejections of claims 2-8 and 23-24 which depend therefrom, is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 11). Similar Argument for independent claims 9 and 16 (Remarks-Page 11-12).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-13, of the remarks, filed on 5/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 2/26/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 2/26/2026 has been withdrawn. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation, “determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector.” Similar amendment for independent claims 9 and 16. Sung et al. (Hereinafter, “Sung”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120003863 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitations of claim 1, 9 and 16. Therefore Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 12, 16, 19 and 23-24 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Sung et al. (Hereinafter, “Sung”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120003863 A1 9, Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18 and 20 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘397 A1 in view of Sung ‘863 A1, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 16 above, and further in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), and Claims 8 and 15 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘397 A1 in view of Sung ‘863 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 12, 16, 19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Sung et al. (Hereinafter, “Sung”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120003863 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches an apparatus (an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
detection circuitry [coil] including an inductor (coil as the inductor) (The indicating structure 31 includes at least one proximity switch 312 and at least one luminescent component 315. The luminescent component 315 may be a light-emitting diode (LED) light; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-4; The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6; The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Coli is considered as the inductor because coil can also refer to an electrical component, like an inductor); and
controller circuitry [metal detector] (The proximity switch 312 can detect presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch on or off the luminescent component 315. The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6) coupled to the detection circuitry (coil is connected to the metal detector as current flows from the oscillator to the coil), the controller circuitry [metal detector] configured to:
generate a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supply the voltage pulse to the detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitor a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is used and the indicator is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Lin discloses that the detector circuitry including an inductor as the coil.
However, Lin fails to teach that the detector circuitry including a capacitor; determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector.
Sung teaches a receiving device, or sink device, operates to identify a type of cable for a transmitting device, or source device, attached to the sink device via a cable connection (Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4), wherein
the detector circuitry (Figure 4) including a capacitor [440] (In some embodiments, the second pin 420 of the connector 410 is coupled with a sense node 445 (CD_SENSE) for sensing of a voltage potential in order to determine the connection of a cable. In some embodiments, the sink device 400 further includes a pull-down resistor 435 (R.sub.CABLE.sub.--.sub.DETECT.sub.--.sub.TYPE.sub.--.sub.A.sub.--.su- b.REC) and pull-down capacitor 440 (C.sub.CABLE DETECT TYPE A REC), where a first end of the resistor 435 and the capacitor 440 are coupled with the sense node 445 and a second end of the resistor and capacitor are coupled to ground; Paragraph [0040] Line 13-22);
determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector (first protocol) and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector (second protocol) (In some embodiments, if the detected voltage is greater than a first threshold 235, where the voltage is indicative of voltage drop generated by the current path made possible by the connection of the cable and the linking of the first and second pins, then the sink device determines that the cable is a first protocol device cable 240, such as an MHL cable, and the sink device operates consistently with discover of a device under the first protocol, such as driving a voltage on a bus (VBUS) 245 and continuing with first protocol device process 250. In some embodiments, if the voltage is not greater than the first threshold 235 and is less than a second threshold 255, then the cable is not a first protocol device cable 260, and the process may proceed with other operations under a different protocol 265. In some embodiments, the sink device may proceed with other operations, such as, for example, one or more processes for a second protocol device, such as an HDMI device. If the voltage falls between the thresholds, then the result may be undetermined 270; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-20; In some embodiments, the sink device 400 includes a voltage detection element 450 to detect the voltage potential on the sense node 445, where the voltage detection element may be any known mechanism for the detection of a voltage. In the first protocol (MHL) the pull-down resistor provides a voltage drop, where a value of the pull-down resistor is provided such that in series with the pull-up resistor (which as a set value in HDMI specification) to provide a detectable logic voltage value a In some embodiments, if a voltage at the sense node is greater than a certain threshold voltage, then a connection to a first protocol cable at the receptacle is detected, and the sink device may proceed with operations for the first protocol, including discovery of a connected device. In some embodiments, the values of the resistors 430 and 435 are selected, together with the value of a resistance of a connector, are utilized to generate one or more voltages at the sense node 445; Paragraph [0040] Line 26-42). The purpose of doing so is to provide a path to ground for AC (alternating current) signals for second protocol (HDMI) operation, while there is a high impedance path to ground for sensing for a first protocol cable, to utilize a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed, to detection of cable connections for electronic devices.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Sung, because Sung teaches to include a capacitor and to determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation provides a path to ground for AC (alternating current) signals for second protocol (HDMI) operation, while there is a high impedance path to ground for sensing for a first protocol cable (Paragraph [0040]), utilizes a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed (Paragraph [0006]), detects cable connections for electronic devices (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the inductor is a first inductor (a coil), the detection circuitry further including a second inductor (another coil), the second inductor to be magnetically coupled to the first inductor (first coil and second coil is magnetically coupled) when the connector is in proximity to the detection circuitry (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13)
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a magnitude of current induced in the second inductor by the first inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Regarding claim 9, Lin teaches non-transitory machine readable storage medium (FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an electronic device 10 in accordance with one embodiment. The electronic device may be a laptop computer, a smart phone, or desktop computer, for example. In FIG. 1, it is a laptop computer; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4) comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry (an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) to at least:
generate a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supply the voltage pulse to detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitor a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and
determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
However, Lin fails to teach that determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector.
Sung teaches a receiving device, or sink device, operates to identify a type of cable for a transmitting device, or source device, attached to the sink device via a cable connection (Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4), wherein
determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector (first protocol) and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector (second protocol) (In some embodiments, if the detected voltage is greater than a first threshold 235, where the voltage is indicative of voltage drop generated by the current path made possible by the connection of the cable and the linking of the first and second pins, then the sink device determines that the cable is a first protocol device cable 240, such as an MHL cable, and the sink device operates consistently with discover of a device under the first protocol, such as driving a voltage on a bus (VBUS) 245 and continuing with first protocol device process 250. In some embodiments, if the voltage is not greater than the first threshold 235 and is less than a second threshold 255, then the cable is not a first protocol device cable 260, and the process may proceed with other operations under a different protocol 265. In some embodiments, the sink device may proceed with other operations, such as, for example, one or more processes for a second protocol device, such as an HDMI device. If the voltage falls between the thresholds, then the result may be undetermined 270; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-20; In some embodiments, the sink device 400 includes a voltage detection element 450 to detect the voltage potential on the sense node 445, where the voltage detection element may be any known mechanism for the detection of a voltage. In the first protocol (MHL) the pull-down resistor provides a voltage drop, where a value of the pull-down resistor is provided such that in series with the pull-up resistor (which as a set value in HDMI specification) to provide a detectable logic voltage value a In some embodiments, if a voltage at the sense node is greater than a certain threshold voltage, then a connection to a first protocol cable at the receptacle is detected, and the sink device may proceed with operations for the first protocol, including discovery of a connected device. In some embodiments, the values of the resistors 430 and 435 are selected, together with the value of a resistance of a connector, are utilized to generate one or more voltages at the sense node 445; Paragraph [0040] Line 26-42). The purpose of doing so is to provide a path to ground for AC (alternating current) signals for second protocol (HDMI) operation, while there is a high impedance path to ground for sensing for a first protocol cable, to utilize a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed, to detection of cable connections for electronic devices.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Sung, because Sung teaches to determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation utilizes a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed (Paragraph [0006]), detects cable connections for electronic devices (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium,
further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output caused by variations in a magnitude of current induced in a first inductor by a second inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches a method (FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an electronic device 10 in accordance with one embodiment. The electronic device may be a laptop computer, a smart phone, or desktop computer, for example. In FIG. 1, it is a laptop computer; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4; an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
generating, by pulse generator circuitry [oscillator as the pulse generator] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8), a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supplying, by pulse generator circuitry [oscillator as the pulse generator], the voltage pulse to detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitoring, by controller circuitry [metal detector] (The proximity switch 312 can detect presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch on or off the luminescent component 315. The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6) a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determining, by comparison circuitry (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13) a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and
determining, by the comparison circuitry, a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
However, Lin fails to teach that determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector.
Sung teaches a receiving device, or sink device, operates to identify a type of cable for a transmitting device, or source device, attached to the sink device via a cable connection (Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4), wherein
determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector (first protocol) and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector (second protocol) (In some embodiments, if the detected voltage is greater than a first threshold 235, where the voltage is indicative of voltage drop generated by the current path made possible by the connection of the cable and the linking of the first and second pins, then the sink device determines that the cable is a first protocol device cable 240, such as an MHL cable, and the sink device operates consistently with discover of a device under the first protocol, such as driving a voltage on a bus (VBUS) 245 and continuing with first protocol device process 250. In some embodiments, if the voltage is not greater than the first threshold 235 and is less than a second threshold 255, then the cable is not a first protocol device cable 260, and the process may proceed with other operations under a different protocol 265. In some embodiments, the sink device may proceed with other operations, such as, for example, one or more processes for a second protocol device, such as an HDMI device. If the voltage falls between the thresholds, then the result may be undetermined 270; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-20; In some embodiments, the sink device 400 includes a voltage detection element 450 to detect the voltage potential on the sense node 445, where the voltage detection element may be any known mechanism for the detection of a voltage. In the first protocol (MHL) the pull-down resistor provides a voltage drop, where a value of the pull-down resistor is provided such that in series with the pull-up resistor (which as a set value in HDMI specification) to provide a detectable logic voltage value a In some embodiments, if a voltage at the sense node is greater than a certain threshold voltage, then a connection to a first protocol cable at the receptacle is detected, and the sink device may proceed with operations for the first protocol, including discovery of a connected device. In some embodiments, the values of the resistors 430 and 435 are selected, together with the value of a resistance of a connector, are utilized to generate one or more voltages at the sense node 445; Paragraph [0040] Line 26-42). The purpose of doing so is to provide a path to ground for AC (alternating current) signals for second protocol (HDMI) operation, while there is a high impedance path to ground for sensing for a first protocol cable, to utilize a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed, to detection of cable connections for electronic devices.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Sung, because Sung teaches to determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry based on a comparison of voltage characteristics (VBUS) of the variation utilizes a connector for multiple purposes in order to minimize the number of connectors needed (Paragraph [0006]), detects cable connections for electronic devices (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches a method,
w further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a magnitude of current induced in an inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Regarding claim 23, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the threshold value includes a first range (three types of indicators-first indicator output is considered as the first threshold) associated with a first connector type (the type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators as the first connector type), and a second range (three types of indicators-second indicator output is considered as the second threshold) associated with a second connector type (the type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes an earphone jack indicator as the second connector type) (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7) and the controller circuitry is to:
determine the connector in proximity to the detection circuitry is the first connector type when the characteristic of the detection output is in a first range (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates); and
determine the connector in proximity to the detection circuitry is the second connector type when the characteristic of the detection output is in the second range (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Regarding claim 24, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the detection circuitry (coil) is first detection circuitry (first coil) associated with a first port, further including second detection circuitry (second coil) associated with a second port, wherein the controller circuitry is to determine whether the type of connector in proximity to the first port is a first type or a second type based on the comparison (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; any point can be considered as the first port and depending on the distance of the connector from the indicator the type of the connector is determined).
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘397 A1 in view of Sung ‘863 A1, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 16 above, and further in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of the inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the detection circuitry (sensor excitation pin) is configured to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of the inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches an apparatus, if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach that wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the controller circuitry is further to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the controller circuitry is further to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage [VAmp (peak)]; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2), wherein
determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches non-transitory machine readable storage medium wherein if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected (Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach that the non-transitory machine readable storage medium o, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
to determine the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a method, further comprising modifying a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising modifying a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of an inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a method, further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches a method, if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach that wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘397 A1 in view of Sung ‘863 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the controller circuitry is further to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry.
Ligtenberg teaches electronic devices and, more particularly, to electronic devices that have connector ports coupled to cables and other accessories (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the controller circuitry is further to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry (Based on information on the relative position of plug 28 and available port(s) 30, device 10 (e.g., storage and processing circuitry 32) may determine how plug 28 should be moved to successfully align plug 28 with port 30 and thereby insert plug 28 into port 30. Consider, as an example, a situation in which plug 28 is laterally misaligned with respect to input-output port 30. In this type of situation, device 10 may display information on display 14 or other visual output device (e.g., an array of light-emitting diodes, etc.) such as visual alignment assistance information 50 of FIG. 7; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-11; Alignment assistance information 50 may include a visual representation of the location of port 30 such as port location indicator 52 and a visual representation of plug 28 such as plug location indicator 54. Port location indicator (icon) 52 and plug location indicator (icon) 54 may be placed at locations on display 14 on the front of device 10; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-6; Claim 14: The electronic device defined in claim 1 wherein the input-output port comprises one of a plurality of input-output ports and wherein the control circuitry is configured to identify which of the plurality of input-output ports are of a type that mates with the plug). The purpose of doing so is to attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer, to provide ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Ligtenberg, because Ligtenberg teaches to generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer (Paragraph [0002]), provides ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lin and Sung fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry.
Ligtenberg teaches electronic devices and, more particularly, to electronic devices that have connector ports coupled to cables and other accessories (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
further comprising: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry (Based on information on the relative position of plug 28 and available port(s) 30, device 10 (e.g., storage and processing circuitry 32) may determine how plug 28 should be moved to successfully align plug 28 with port 30 and thereby insert plug 28 into port 30. Consider, as an example, a situation in which plug 28 is laterally misaligned with respect to input-output port 30. In this type of situation, device 10 may display information on display 14 or other visual output device (e.g., an array of light-emitting diodes, etc.) such as visual alignment assistance information 50 of FIG. 7; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-11; Alignment assistance information 50 may include a visual representation of the location of port 30 such as port location indicator 52 and a visual representation of plug 28 such as plug location indicator 54. Port location indicator (icon) 52 and plug location indicator (icon) 54 may be placed at locations on display 14 on the front of device 10; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-6; Claim 14: The electronic device defined in claim 1 wherein the input-output port comprises one of a plurality of input-output ports and wherein the control circuitry is configured to identify which of the plurality of input-output ports are of a type that mates with the plug). The purpose of doing so is to attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer, to provide ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Sung in view of Ligtenberg, because Ligtenberg teaches to generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer (Paragraph [0002]), provides ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device (Paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pance et al. (US 20110012727 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DETERMINING THE RELATIVE POSITIONS OF CONNECTORS- [0001] The present disclosure relates generally to methods and apparatus for determining the relative positions of connectors, and more particularly relates to methods and apparatus for identifying the relative position and orientation of an external connector relative to an integrated connector, such as on a computing system. [0015] Referring now to FIGS. 1A and 1B, therein is depicted an example system 100 including a computing device 102 having a plurality of ports and configured to communicate with a display 104, which can be coupled to one of the plurality of ports (via a display connector, not shown), such as display port 120 or 122. In the depicted example, computing device 102 is depicted in the basic form of a Mac mini.TM. computer, which is commercially available from Apple Inc. of Cupertino, Calif. Computing device 102 includes circuitry to identify a connector of an external device 135. In this example, external device 135 is a USB flash memory device including a USB connector 134. [0016] In this example, computing device 102 is configured to detect an orientation of external device 135 and therefore of associated connector 134, and to provide a visual representation of a state of a connection process (including position and orientation information associated with external device 135) through display 104. [0017] Computing device 102 includes a power button 106 that is accessible by a user to activate a power supply to turn on computing device 102. In some instances, power button 106 will be used to turn off the power supply or to place computing device 102 into a sleep or standby mode. In other instances, computing device 102 will be turned off via software controls. [0018] Computing device 102 also includes a plurality of ports 108, 116, 118, 120, 122, and 124. The ports can have a particular size, shape, or any combination thereof that is unique or known for the particular type of connection. Computing device 102 includes a power port 108 to receive a connector of a power cable (not shown). Further, computing device 102 includes an Ethernet port 116 to receive a device (typically an Ethernet cable) having an RJ-45 connector. Computing device 102 also includes an IEEE 1394 ("FireWire".TM.) port 118 configured to receive a cable or other device having an appropriate IEEE 1394-compliant connector. Audio input and output ports 112 and 114 can be tip-ring-sleeve (TRS) connectors or variations thereof, such as a tip-ring-ring-sleeve (TRRS) connector, a tip-sleeve (TS) connector, or any other audio connectors. In some examples, computing device 102 will further include an imaging device (such as a camera) with a lens 136 arranged to capture images proximate one or more of the ports, which images show an external device 135 proximate the ports. [0019] Display ports 120 and 122 are configured to receive a connector, typically on a cable or dongle (a short cable or extender device, typically only a few inches in length) for coupling to a display device, such as a flat panel display, a cathode ray tube monitor or another type of display device. In this example, each video port 120 is a digital video interface: video port 120 is a Mini DisplayPort.TM. and video port 122 is a Mini-DVI port. In other examples, other types of display ports may be used, including VGA, DVI, etc. Additionally, a port such as an HDMI port may be included, which can carry video information as well as audio and other information and signals as known to those skilled in the art-However Pance does not disclose determine a type of a connector in proximity to a port associated with the detection circuitry, the determination of the type based on a comparison of voltage characteristics of the variation with at least first signal characteristics associated with a first type of connector and second signal characteristics associated with a second type of connector.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858