Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 and 23-24 set forth in the amendment submitted 2/04/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/03/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 11/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Specification (abstract), set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 11/04/2025 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 2/04/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11-13, filed 2/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18 and 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 15 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12-13, of the remarks, filed on 2/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), that “Lin cannot determine what type of connector is nearby because Lin only has a proximity switch. For example, if an USB cable connector was brought into proximity of a headphone port, the headphone port of Lin would be illuminated indicating that its proximity switch was activated, but Lin would not be able to determine the type of the connector. Lin does not teach or suggest any technique for detecting characteristics of the connector that is approaching a port. Therefore, Lin cannot teach or suggest determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation as set forth in claim 1.
While Walsh was additionally cited in the rejection of claim 1, Walsh was not cited in relation to the connector type element of claim 1. Walsh does not include any teaching or suggestion of detecting a connector type or making such determination based on a variation or any other information. Accordingly, Walsh does not cure the deficiencies of the citation to the Lin (Remarks-Page 12).
Thus, because Lin and Walsh are missing the same elements of claim 1, the Lin/Walsh combination is likewise missing these elements. Reconsideration of the rejection of claim 1 and all claims depending therefrom is requested (Remarks-Page 13).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12-13, of the remarks, filed on 2/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/04/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Lin discloses, “The proximity switch 312 can detect presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch on or off the luminescent component 315. The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected (Paragraph [0015] Line 1-13)”. Lin discloses Proximity switch which has the metal detector. Due to different kind of coil the characteristics of the metallic object has been changed. Here the characteristics is the magnetic field. Characteristic is not defined in the claim and therefore any parameter can be considered as the characteristics. Considering the characteristics of the metallic object as the threshold the change is magnetic field of the coil is detected.
Lin discloses in Paragraph, “[0016] FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 illustrate a detecting state of the proximity switch 312 from two aspects. When a periphery device with a peripheral connector 100 is moved near the proximity switch 312, the proximity switch 312 detects the peripheral connector 100 and switches on the luminescent component 315 to indicate the location of the connector 33. The luminescent component 315 indicates the user from a top of the bottom housing 30.” The proximity switch detects the connector by using luminescent component 315 to indicate the connector. The changes in the magnetic field in the proximity switch is used to indicate the type of connector. Lin discloses proximity switch to determine the variation in the magnetic field and depending on the variation the indicator in the proximity switch determine the type of connector as Lin discloses, “FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates.” Lin discloses to determine the type of connector such as USB connectors and an earphone jack. However, claim does not recite that present invention determines any specific type of connector. Lin also discloses the type of connector although it is for only USB connectors and an earphone jack. Claim also does not recite any specific variation of Characteristics of the connectors. Claim recites variation in the detection output. Claim also does not recite what the detection output and what characteristic of the detection output is considered to determine the variation for determining the type of connector. Lin discloses proximity switch which does the same function by using the magnetic field as the characteristic to indicate the type of the connector by using an indicator. Therefore, applicant’s argument that would not be able to determine the type of the connector is not persuasive as the “type of connector” is not defined in the claim to differentiate the present application from the prior art reference Lin.
Walsh is never applied in the rejection to reject the limitation of, “type of connector”. Lin discloses all the limitation of independent claim 1 however Lin does not disclose the detector circuitry including an inductor as the coil. And Walsh is introduced to remedy the deficiency of Lin to include the limitation of the detector circuitry including an inductor as the coil.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., type of connector) are rejected under Lin. Walsh is never applied in the rejection to reject those limitations. Lin teaches all the limitation of the independent claims and Walsh was applied to remedy the deficiency of Lin as Hong does not teach, " type of connector". So applicant’s argument that Walsh does not cure the deficiencies of the citation to Lin is not persuasive.
Therefore, applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/04/2025 is not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/04/2025 is maintained below, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 13, of the remarks, filed on 2/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 9 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 that “Claim 9 sets forth a non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to at least: determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value and determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation. As described in conjunction with claim 1, the Lin/Walsh combination fails to teach or suggest such instructions. Reconsideration of the rejection of claim 9 and all claims depending therefrom is requested.
Claim 16 sets forth a method comprising determining a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value and determining a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation. As described in conjunction with claim 1, the Lin/Walsh combination fails to teach or suggest such a method. Reconsideration of the rejection of claim 16 and all claims depending therefrom is requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 13, of the remarks, filed on 12/04/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 9 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/04/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive because of the same reason as stated above for the independent claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 9 and 16 and dependent claims 12 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/04/2025 is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
New claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31), as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh (Hereinafter, “Paul”) in the NPL- Inductive Sensing Design Guide (Document Number: 002-19207 Rev. *C) (2019-12-31).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches an apparatus (an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
detection circuitry [coil] including an inductor (coil as the inductor) (The indicating structure 31 includes at least one proximity switch 312 and at least one luminescent component 315. The luminescent component 315 may be a light-emitting diode (LED) light; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-4; The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6; The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Coli is considered as the inductor because coil can also refer to an electrical component, like an inductor); and
controller circuitry [metal detector] (The proximity switch 312 can detect presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch on or off the luminescent component 315. The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6) coupled to the detection circuitry (coil is connected to the metal detector as current flows from the oscillator to the coil), the controller circuitry [metal detector] configured to:
generate a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supply the voltage pulse to the detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitor a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is used and the indicator is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Lin discloses that the detector circuitry including an inductor as the coil.
However, Lin fails to teach that the detector circuitry including a capacitor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the detector circuitry including a capacitor (The sensor coil is placed in parallel with a capacitor. The parallel combination of sensor inductance and the external capacitor is called a tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-7; A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to set the frequency to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0), to appear a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) across the tank circuit, to provide a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include a capacitor sets the frequency to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0), appears a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) across the tank circuit (Page 4 Line 1-6), provides a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and detects the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Lin fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of the inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the detection circuitry (sensor excitation pin) is configured to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of the inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 3, Lin fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the inductor is a first inductor (a coil), the detection circuitry further including a second inductor (another coil), the second inductor to be magnetically coupled to the first inductor (first coil and second coil is magnetically coupled) when the connector is in proximity to the detection circuitry (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13)
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the detection circuitry is to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a magnitude of current induced in the second inductor by the first inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches an apparatus, if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, Lin fails to teach that wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 7, Lin fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the controller circuitry is further to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the controller circuitry is further to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage [VAmp (peak)]; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Regarding claim 10, Lin fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2), wherein
determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 11, Lin fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output in response to a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches non-transitory machine readable storage medium wherein if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected (Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, Lin fails to teach that the non-transitory machine readable storage medium o, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
to determine the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 14, Lin fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to: determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage; determine a second time that the voltage of the detection output is equal to the reference voltage; and determine a resonant frequency of the detection circuitry based on a difference between the first time and the second time (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to determine a first time that a voltage of the detection output is equal to a reference voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 9, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation of a resonant frequency of the detection output caused by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Regarding claim 17, Lin fails to teach a method, further comprising modifying a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising modifying a resonant frequency of the detection output by varying an inductance of an inductor (The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6; The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil. The change in the amplitude of the sensor coil signal is measured by the PSoC 4 MCU to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance. Note that the inductance of the sensor coil increases in the presence of ferromagnetic metal targets. An increase in the sensor inductance causes a down shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 6-12). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a resonant frequency of the detection output excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 18, Lin fails to teach a method, further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) on an inductor (Inductive sensing works on the principle of electromagnetic coupling between a sensor coil and the metal target to be detected. When the metal target enters the electromagnetic field induced by a sensor coil, some of the electromagnetic energy is transferred into the metal target as shown in Figure 1. This transferred energy causes a circulating electrical current called an eddy current. The eddy current flowing in the metal target induces reverse electromagnetic field on the sensor coil, which results in a reduction of the effective inductance of the sensor coil…. The reduction in the sensor coil inductance causes an upward shift in the resonant frequency of the tank circuit. This shift in resonant frequency changes the amplitude of the signal across the sensor coil; Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to detect the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to modify a voltage of the detection output based on a reverse electromotive force (EMF) of the inductor detects the presence of the metal target in the proximity-sensing distance (Page 2 Inductive Sensing Overview Line 9-10), controls the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches a method, if another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13).
However, Lin fails to teach that wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage.
Paul teaches inductive sensing which is a low-cost, robust solution that seamlessly integrates with existing user interfaces, and is also used to detect the presence of metallic or conductive objects (Introduction Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the characteristic of the detection output is one of a resonant frequency (A block diagram of the inductive sensing system using a PSoC 4700 MCU is shown in Figure 2. A capacitor (C) is placed in parallel with the coil to create a parallel LC ‘tank’; Page 3 Designing an Inductive Sensing System Line 1-3; The frequency of the Lx GPIO (sensor excitation pin) is set to the resonant frequency of the tank (f0). This pin then drives the tank circuit through a resistor, RLx. The impedance of the tank circuit is the maximum at the resonant frequency, so a significant sinusoidal component with amplitude VAmp (peak) appears across the tank circuit. This signal is AC-coupled into the Amplitude to Digital Converter through the capacitance CC as shown in Figure 2 and is then converted into equivalent raw count. A change in inductance of the LC tank causes a change in VAMP resulting in a change in the raw count of corresponding channels; Page 4 Line 1-6), a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage (Claim requires only one limitation). The purpose of doing so is to excite the tank circuit to a known frequency, to resonate at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and to design for the best EMC performance.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Paul, because Paul teaches to include the characteristic of the detection output as one of a resonant frequency, a local maximum voltage, or an average voltage excites the tank circuit to a known frequency, resonates at different frequencies, to control the frequency of operation of the tank circuit and designs for the best EMC performance (Page 4 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 23, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the threshold value includes a first range (three types of indicators-first indicator output is considered as the first threshold) associated with a first connector type (the type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators as the first connector type), and a second range (three types of indicators-second indicator output is considered as the second threshold) associated with a second connector type (the type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes an earphone jack indicator as the second connector type) (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7) and the controller circuitry is to:
determine the connector in proximity to the detection circuitry is the first connector type when the characteristic of the detection output is in a first range (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates); and
determine the connector in proximity to the detection circuitry is the second connector type when the characteristic of the detection output is in the second range (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Regarding claim 24, Lin teaches an apparatus,
wherein the detection circuitry (coil) is first detection circuitry (first coil) associated with a first port, further including second detection circuitry (second coil) associated with a second port, wherein the controller circuitry is to determine whether the type of connector in proximity to the first port is a first type or a second type based on the comparison (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; any point can be considered as the first port and depending on the distance of the connector from the indicator the type of the connector is determined);
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Paul Walsh in the NPL-as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ligtenberg et al. (Hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160014390 A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lin and Paul fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the controller circuitry is further to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry.
Ligtenberg teaches electronic devices and, more particularly, to electronic devices that have connector ports coupled to cables and other accessories (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the controller circuitry is further to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry (Based on information on the relative position of plug 28 and available port(s) 30, device 10 (e.g., storage and processing circuitry 32) may determine how plug 28 should be moved to successfully align plug 28 with port 30 and thereby insert plug 28 into port 30. Consider, as an example, a situation in which plug 28 is laterally misaligned with respect to input-output port 30. In this type of situation, device 10 may display information on display 14 or other visual output device (e.g., an array of light-emitting diodes, etc.) such as visual alignment assistance information 50 of FIG. 7; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-11; Alignment assistance information 50 may include a visual representation of the location of port 30 such as port location indicator 52 and a visual representation of plug 28 such as plug location indicator 54. Port location indicator (icon) 52 and plug location indicator (icon) 54 may be placed at locations on display 14 on the front of device 10; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-6; Claim 14: The electronic device defined in claim 1 wherein the input-output port comprises one of a plurality of input-output ports and wherein the control circuitry is configured to identify which of the plurality of input-output ports are of a type that mates with the plug). The purpose of doing so is to attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer, to provide ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin and Paul in view of Ligtenberg, because Ligtenberg teaches to generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer (Paragraph [0002]), provides ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device (Paragraph [0004]).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN ‘397 A1 in view of Ligtenberg ‘390 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Lin fails to teach a non-transitory machine readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry.
Ligtenberg teaches electronic devices and, more particularly, to electronic devices that have connector ports coupled to cables and other accessories (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
further comprising: generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry; and generate a second indication in response to determining the type of the connector is incompatible with the port in proximity to the detection circuitry (Based on information on the relative position of plug 28 and available port(s) 30, device 10 (e.g., storage and processing circuitry 32) may determine how plug 28 should be moved to successfully align plug 28 with port 30 and thereby insert plug 28 into port 30. Consider, as an example, a situation in which plug 28 is laterally misaligned with respect to input-output port 30. In this type of situation, device 10 may display information on display 14 or other visual output device (e.g., an array of light-emitting diodes, etc.) such as visual alignment assistance information 50 of FIG. 7; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-11; Alignment assistance information 50 may include a visual representation of the location of port 30 such as port location indicator 52 and a visual representation of plug 28 such as plug location indicator 54. Port location indicator (icon) 52 and plug location indicator (icon) 54 may be placed at locations on display 14 on the front of device 10; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-6; Claim 14: The electronic device defined in claim 1 wherein the input-output port comprises one of a plurality of input-output ports and wherein the control circuitry is configured to identify which of the plurality of input-output ports are of a type that mates with the plug). The purpose of doing so is to attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer, to provide ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin in view of Ligtenberg, because Ligtenberg teaches to generate a first indication in response to determining the type of the connector is compatible with a port in proximity to the detection circuitry attach peripherals to the input-output ports, to attach a peripheral such as printer to a computer, one end of a cable may be plugged into the printer and the other end of the cable may be plugged into an input-output port on the computer (Paragraph [0002]), provides ways in which to assist a user when plugging cables or other accessories into the input-output ports of an electronic device (Paragraph [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Lin”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140211397 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Lin teaches non-transitory machine readable storage medium (FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an electronic device 10 in accordance with one embodiment. The electronic device may be a laptop computer, a smart phone, or desktop computer, for example. In FIG. 1, it is a laptop computer; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4) comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry (an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) to at least:
generate a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supply the voltage pulse to detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitor a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and
determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium,
further comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to determine the variation to a voltage of the detection output caused by variations in a magnitude of current induced in a first inductor by a second inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches a method (FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an electronic device 10 in accordance with one embodiment. The electronic device may be a laptop computer, a smart phone, or desktop computer, for example. In FIG. 1, it is a laptop computer; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4; an electronic device and an indicating method for connectors of the electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
generating, by pulse generator circuitry [oscillator as the pulse generator] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8), a voltage pulse (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8);
supplying, by pulse generator circuitry [oscillator as the pulse generator], the voltage pulse to detection circuitry [coil] (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; Although Lin explains that an alternating current is produced however if there is alternating current there is also alternating voltage as the pulse voltage. Because Alternating current (AC) is directly related to AC voltage because the voltage source dictates the flow of current, with both oscillating sinusoidally over time; https://www.google.com/search?q=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&safe=active&sca_esv=b42e3f891f312bc2&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=bh8DaaT8AbGM8L0P78eroAs&ved=0ahUKEwik69KyvsuQAxUxBrwBHe_jCrQQ4dUDCBM&uact=5&oq=alternating+current+relation+with+voltage&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiKWFsdGVybmF0aW5nIGN1cnJlbnQgcmVsYXRpb24gd2l0aCB2b2x0YWdlMgUQIRigATIFECEYoAEyBRAhGKABMgUQIRigATIFECEYnwUyBRAhGJ8FSMNEUK8MWIVCcAF4AZABAJgBXKABww2qAQIyMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCF6AC1w7CAgoQABiwAxjWBBhHwgINEAAYgAQYsAMYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAgUQABiABMICCxAAGIAEGJECGIoFwgIGEAAYFhgewgIHEAAYgAQYDcICCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFwgIFEAAY7wXCAggQABiABBiiBMICBRAhGKsCmAMAiAYBkAYKkgcEMjIuMaAH050BsgcEMjEuMbgH0Q7CBwYwLjQuMTnIB18&sclient=gws-wiz-serp );
monitoring, by controller circuitry [metal detector] (The proximity switch 312 can detect presence of a nearby object without physical contact and switch on or off the luminescent component 315. The proximity switch 312 includes a metal detector. The metal detector is a portable electronic instrument which detects the presence of metal nearby; Paragraph [0015] Line 4-6) a characteristic of a detection output of the detection circuitry in response to the voltage pulse (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13);
determining, by comparison circuitry (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13) a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value (If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-13; another coil is used measure the change in magnetic field and here the magnetic field of the another coil is considered as the threshold value and the compare with the measured value to calculate the change in the magnetic field as the detection output); and
determining, by the comparison circuitry, a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation (FIGS. 4 to 6 illustrate three types of indicators on the housing 30 in other embodiments. FIG. 4 shows that the bottom housing 30 includes a type indicator 36 adjacent to the connectors 33. The luminescent component 315 (not shown) is located under the type indicator 36. The type indicator 36 indicates a type of corresponding connector 33 when the luminescent component 315 illuminates. The type indicator 36 is transparent, made of transparent plastic or transparent glass. The type indicator 36 in the shown embodiment includes two USB indicators and an earphone jack indicator, corresponding to two USB connectors and an earphone jack, respectively; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-12; Claim 14. The detecting method of claim 11, wherein the housing comprises a type indicator adjacent to the mating connector to indicate a type of the mating connector when the luminescent component illuminates).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches a method,
w further comprising modifying a voltage of the detection output based on a magnitude of current induced in an inductor (The metal detector includes an oscillator producing an alternating current that passes through a coil producing an alternating magnetic field. If a piece of electrically conductive metal is close to the coil, eddy currents will be induced in the metal, and this produces a magnetic field of its own. If another coil is used to measure the magnetic field, the change in the magnetic field due to the metallic object can be detected; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-13; another coil is placed in the coil to measure the change in magnetic field due to change in current which corresponds to voltage).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Quinones et al. (US 20110115527 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND DETECTOR FOR DETERMINING A STATE OF A SWITCH- [0002] This disclosure relates generally to semiconductors, and more specifically, to power usage in semiconductor detection circuits. [0009] In one embodiment FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit 10 for determining whether a switch is electrically closed or electrically open (i.e. an open circuit). In the illustrated form the circuit 10 has an integrated circuit 12 as designated by the dashed lines and external circuitry 14 that is external to the perimeter of the integrated circuit 12. Integrated circuit 12 has a current source 16 that has a first terminal connected to a first power supply voltage terminal labeled V.sub.DD. A control terminal of current source 16 receives an enable signal. A second terminal of the current source 16 is connected to an input/output (I/O) terminal 18, to a drain of an N-channel transistor 20 and to a positive input of a comparator 30. A gate of transistor 20 is provided for receiving a control signal or bias signal labeled "Control 2". A source of transistor 20 is connected to a node 22. A capacitive element in the form of a capacitor 24 has a first terminal connected to node 22 and a second terminal connected to a second power supply voltage terminal labeled V.sub.SS. In one form the V.sub.SS voltage is a ground voltage, but other voltage values may be used. In the illustrated form the voltage V.sub.DD has a higher potential than the voltage V.sub.SS. An N-channel transistor 26 has a source connected to node 22, a gate for receiving a control signal labeled "Control 3" and a drain connected to a negative input of comparator 30 at a node 28. A reference voltage generator 32 for providing a reference voltage, V.sub.REF, has a negative terminal connected to the V.sub.SS terminal and a positive terminal connected to a drain of an N-channel transistor 34. A gate of transistor 34 is provided for receiving a control signal labeled "Control 1". A source of transistor 34 is connected to node 28. The external circuitry 14 has a switch 36 having a first terminal connected to the V.sub.SS terminal and a second terminal connected to the input/output terminal 18. In one form switch 36 is a portion of a mechanical relay. Switch 36 is controlled by a control signal (not shown) that will make switch 36 either electrically conductive (i.e. closed) or electrically open circuited. A capacitor 38 has a first terminal connected to the V.sub.SS terminal and a second terminal connected to the input/output terminal 18-However Quinones does not disclose determine a variation in the detection output based on a comparison of the characteristic of the detection output to a threshold value; and
determine a type of a connector in proximity to the detection circuitry based on the variation.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858