DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 6-7, 9 are amended and filed on 5/22/2026.
Claims 12-15, 20-23 are canceled and claims 24-33 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 24-30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldhauser et al. (US. 20040122360A1) (“Waldhauser”) in view of Landon et al. (US. 20190008639A1) (“Landon”) and further in view of Howat et al. (US 20100217257 A1) (“Howat”)
Re Claim 1, Waldhauser discloses a catheter (12, ¶0049, Figs. 1-13) comprising: an outer jacket (40, ¶0047); a main lumen (24) defined by an inner liner (44, ¶0049) that is disposed inside the outer jacket (Fig. 2); one or more layers positioned between the outer jacket and the inner liner (40.42, 45, ¶0047, ¶0069) ; a coil layer positioned inside the outer jacket (one wire of the braided 28 is coiled, braided has a wire in a coil pattern/ spiral, Fig. 7, ¶0052); wherein the outer jacket and a layer of the one or more layers are reflowed to bond the outer jacket, the coil layer, the inner liner; and the layer together (¶0056), but it fails to disclose wherein an outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer; wherein the outer leakage shield and the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket and the reflowed material of the layer.
However, Landon discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 45a-b) and the catheter comprises an outer shield (4502), inner lumen (104) and reinforced layer (4506, ¶0243) and wherein an outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer (4506, Fig. 45b) is disposed around only a portion of the coil layer (¶0243) wherein the outer leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket (¶0243).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an outer leakage shield so that the outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; wherein the outer leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket layer as taught by Landon for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while maintaining standard reinforced shaft performance features (Landon, ¶0241).
The modified Waldhauser fails to disclose an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer; wherein the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the layer
However, Howat discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 8) and wherein the reinforce material (46) has an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer (42, ¶0033), ¶0037 or 26, ¶0032); wherein the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of layer ( as the melting of 42 is 500 , ¶0037 or 26 is made form PTFE, ¶0032).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an inner leakage shield so that the inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer; wherein the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the layer as taught by Howat for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while insulating the inner lumen of the catheter (Howat, ¶0037).
Re Claim 5, Waldhauser discloses wherein a first portion of the outer jacket is formed from a material with an enhanced level of flexibility as compared to remaining portions of the outer jacket (portion 52, 54, ¶0047, Fig. 3).
Re Claim 7, the modified Waldhauser discloses the inner leakage shield located adjacent to the coil layer and situated between the coil layer and the inner liner that forms the main lumen (Howat, ¶0037, Fig. 8).
Re Claim 8, Waldhauser discloses a plurality of sub-lumens (¶204) .
Re Claim 9, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the second leakage shield is formed from polytetrafluoroethylene (Howat, ¶0032, ¶0037, PTFE).
Re Claim 10, Waldhauser discloses wherein a first portion of the outer jacket is formed from a material with an enhanced level of flexibility with regard to remaining portions of the outer jacket (52, ¶0047, Fig. 3).
Re Claim 24, Waldhauser discloses a catheter (12, ¶0049, Figs. 1-13) comprising: an outer jacket (40, ¶0047); a main lumen (24) defined by an inner liner (44, ¶0049Fig. 2); and a wall deposed around the inner (42, 45, ¶0047, ¶0069) ; a coil layer positioned inside the outer jacket and around the wall (one wire of the braided 28 is coiled, braided has a wire in a coil pattern/ spiral, Fig. 7, ¶0052); wherein the outer jacket and the wall are reflowed to bond the outer jacket, the coil layer, the inner liner, and the wall together (¶0056), and further it discloses that the wall is made from block copolymer (¶0078) with a melting temperature range from 100-130 degree, but it fails to disclose an outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; wherein the outer leakage shield and the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the wall.
However, Landon discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 45a-b) and the catheter comprises an outer shield (4502), inner lumen (104) and reinforced layer (4506, ¶0243) and wherein an outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer (4506, Fig. 45b) is disposed around only a portion of the coil layer (¶0243) wherein the outer leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket (¶0243).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an outer leakage shield so that the outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; wherein the outer leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the outer jacket from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket as taught by Landon for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while maintaining standard reinforced shaft performance features (Landon, ¶0241).
The modified Waldhauser fails to disclose an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; wherein the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of reflowed material of the wall
However, Howat discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 8) and wherein the reinforce material (46) has an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer (42, ¶0033), ¶0037 or 26, ¶0032); wherein the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of layer ( as the melting of 42 is 500 , ¶0037 or 26 is made form PTFE, ¶0032).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an inner leakage shield so that the inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; wherein the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of reflowed material of the wall as taught by Howat for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while insulating the inner lumen of the catheter (Howat, ¶0037).
Re Claim 25, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the inner leakage shield is a tube, a wrap, or a coating (coat 42, ¶0036 of Howat or tube 26, Fig. 6 of Howat).
Re Claim 26, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the inner leakage shield is a tube (coat 42, ¶0036 of Howat or tube 26, Fig. 6 of Howat).
Re Claim 27, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the outer leakage shield is a tube, a wrap, or a coating (tube 4504. Fig. 45a of Landon).
Re Claim 28, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the outer leakage shield is a tube (tube 4504. Fig. 45a of Landon ).
Re Claim 29, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the inner leakage shield has a higher melt temperature than the wall (¶0056 of Waldhauser and coat 42, ¶0037 of Howat or tube 26, Fig. 6 of Howat).
Re Claim 30, the modified Waldhauser discloses wherein the outer leakage shield has a higher melt temperature than the outer jacket (¶0056 of Waldhauser and ¶0243 of Landon).
Re Claim 32, Waldhauser discloses a catheter (12, ¶0049, Figs. 1-13) comprising: an outer jacket (40, ¶0047); a main lumen (24) defined by an inner liner (44, ¶0049Fig. 2); and a wall deposed around the inner (42, 45, ¶0047, ¶0069) ; a coil layer positioned inside the outer jacket and around the wall (one wire of the braided 28 is coiled, braided has a wire in a coil pattern/ spiral, Fig. 7, ¶0052); wherein the outer jacket and the wall are reflowed to bond the outer jacket, the coil layer, the inner liner, and the wall together (¶0056), and further disclose that the wall (42) is made from block copolymer typically melt in the ~100–140 °C rang (¶0078), but it fails to disclose an outer leakage shield tube disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; wherein the outer leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the outer jacket; an inner leakage shield tube disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; wherein the inner leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the wall; wherein the outer leakage shield and the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the wall.
However, Landon discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 45a-b) and the catheter comprises an outer shield (4502), inner lumen (104) and reinforced layer (4506, ¶0243) and wherein an outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer (4506, Fig. 45b) is disposed around only a portion of the coil layer (¶0243) and wherein the outer leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the outer jacket (¶0241, ¶0243); wherein the outer leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket (¶0243).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an outer leakage shield so that the outer leakage shield disposed around an outer surface of a portion of the coil layer; and wherein the outer leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the outer jacket, wherein the outer leakage shield tube prevent reflowed material of the outer jacket from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of the outer jacket as taught by Landon for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while maintaining standard reinforced shaft performance features (Landon, ¶0241).
The modified Waldhauser fails to disclose an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; and wherein the inner leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the wall, wherein the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of reflowed material of the wall.
However, Howat discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 8) and wherein the reinforce material (46) has an inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer (42, ¶0033), ¶0037 or 26, ¶0032); and wherein the inner leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the wall (¶0037); wherein the inner leakage shield prevent material of the outer jacket and reflowed material of the layer from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of layer ( as the melting of 42 is 500 , ¶0037 or 26 is made form PTFE, ¶0032).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include an inner leakage shield so that the inner leakage shield disposed inside an inner surface of the portion of the coil layer and around the wall; and wherein the inner leakage shield tube has a melt temperature that is higher than the wall, wherein the inner leakage shield prevent reflowed material of the wall from contacting the portion of the coil layer such that the portion of the coil layer is free from reflowed material of reflowed material of the wall as taught by Howat for the purpose of increasing the catheter shaft flexibility while insulating the inner lumen of the catheter (Howat, ¶0037).
Claim(s) 2, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldhauser in view of Landon and Howat and further in view of Kampa et al. (US. 20080251966A1) (“Kampa”).
Re Claim 2, Waldhauser fails to disclose further comprising a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer.
However, Kampa discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 7) and the catheter comprises a plurality of sub-lumens (30, ¶0061) disposed between the main lumen (core of 70, ¶0072) and the coil layer (55, ¶0061, Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer as taught by Kampa for the purpose of inserting the functional components such as steering wire or conductor wire into their respective lumen (Kampa, ¶0061).
Re Claim 31, Waldhauser fails to disclose further comprising a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer.
However, Kampa discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 7) and the catheter comprises a plurality of sub-lumens (30, ¶0061) disposed between the main lumen (core of 70, ¶0072) and the coil layer (55, ¶0061, Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer as taught by Kampa for the purpose of inserting the functional components such as steering wire or conductor wire into their respective lumen (Kampa, ¶0061).
Re Claim 33, Waldhauser fails to disclose further comprising a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer.
However, Kampa discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 7) and the catheter comprises a plurality of sub-lumens (30, ¶0061) disposed between the main lumen (core of 70, ¶0072) and the coil layer (55, ¶0061, Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the catheter of Waldhauser to include a plurality of sub-lumens disposed between the main lumen and the coil layer as taught by Kampa for the purpose of inserting the functional components such as steering wire or conductor wire into their respective lumen (Kampa, ¶0061).
Claim(s) 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldhauser in view of Landon and Howat and further in view of Mizuno (US. 20160057271A1).
Re Claim 6, Waldhauser fails to disclose wherein the coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face and a concave face where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place.
However, Kampa discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 8-9) and the catheter comprises a coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face (41) and a concave face (42) where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place (¶0026, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the coil layer of Waldhauser so that coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face and a concave face where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place as taught by Mizuno for the purpose of enabling bending and reducing misalignment (Mizuno , ¶0059).
Re Claim 11, Waldhauser fails to disclose wherein the coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face and a concave face where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place.
However, Kampa discloses a catheter shaft (Fig. 8-9) and the catheter comprises a coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face (41) and a concave face (42) where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place (¶0026, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the coil layer of Waldhauser so that coil layer comprises a plurality of coils formed from wire having a convex face and a concave face where the convex face of a first portion of the wire intrudes into a space formed by the concave face of a second portion of the wire to prevent the plurality of coils from slipping out of place as taught by Mizuno for the purpose of enabling bending and reducing misalignment (Mizuno, ¶0059).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 12/1/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 rejection using Waldhauser and newly added limitation have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Waldhauser in view of Landon and Howat.
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783