DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 1/20/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 10/21/2025. Claims 1, 12-14, and 20-22 have been amended. Claims 1 and 12-25 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-13), filed on 1/20/2026, with respect to the independent claim
1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 8 for the amended independent claim 1, Applicant asserts that “the AMF network element receives a MES session suspend request from an access network device. The MES session suspend request is sent by the access network device when the access network device determines to deactivate a MES session in response to no User Equipment (UE) receiving the MES session.”, and “LI discloses that the base station/access network device receives suspending indicating information sent by an MCE. This is different from what is claimed in claim 1 which requires that the AMF receives a MBS session suspend request from an access network device”.
LI et al. (US 2023/0345310 Al) discloses (the RAN node 202 may send a notification message to individual UE to start switch or send a N2 message to AMF 203 to start the switch. The evolved notification control parameter or the new Delivery Mode control parameter may be used by the core network ( e.g., a network server or other entity) to indicate whether notifications are requested from the NG-RAN when QoS requirement can no longer be met using the currently configured delivery mode. RAN node 202 may send a notification message to MB-UPF 209 through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF 209 that no UE 201 under the RAN node 202 is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0273]-[0275]).
And DAO et al. (US 2019/0223250 Al) discloses (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The MB Session Report may include the electronic device (ED) information (e.g. the list of ED IDs that successfully received the MB message, the list of ED IDs that failed to receive the MB message, the list of ED IDs that fail to join the MB Session). if the User Plane Function (UPF) finds that the MBS session has no data activity for a period of time, the UPF sends the Data Inactivity message to the Session Management Function (SMF). SMF receives notification messages from (R)AN to confirm the end of Data Transmission after successfully sending data. the SMF may decide to deactivate the connections of MBS session, Dao: [0047], [0083]-[0084], [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding remarks in page 10 for the independent claim 1, Applicant asserts “None of messages 516 and 517 can be equated to the "MB S session suspend request" for the following reasons:”.
DAO discloses (the ED 102 may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF 310 via (R)AN 302 and AMF 308. This step includes ED 102 sending an MB Session Modification Request 521 to the (R)AN 302. Message 521 could be in a format of N1 SM message or N1 MM message. The ED 102 may send the message when the ED joins or leaves the MB Session, Dao: [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding remarks in page 10 for the independent claim 1, Applicant asserts “Time to Release MB Session" indicates the time for releasing the MB session, but is not used to indicate whether to release tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device”.
DAO discloses (The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL Tunnel endpoint Identifier (TEID), and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)), Dao: [0094]-[0096]).
Regarding remarks in page 12 for the independent claim 1, Applicant asserts “The N4 MB session release request is sent from SMF to 1-UPF, rather than being sent from an access network device to an AMF. And, the N4 MB session release request does not include an operation type which is used to indicate whether to release tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device”.
DAO discloses (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL Tunnel endpoint Identifier (TEID), and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)), Dao: [0083]-[0084], [0094]-[0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1 and 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al. (US
2019/0223250 Al, hereinafter “Dao”) in view of LI et al. (US 2023/0345310 Al, hereinafter “Li”) and in further view of Aramoto et al. (US 2013/0279395 Al, hereinafter “Aramoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Dao discloses:
A session processing method, comprising (Methods and Systems for modifying or releasing a Multicast/Broadcast (MB) session, Dao: [0007]):
wherein the MBS session suspend request is sent by the access network device in response to the access network device determining to deactivate a MBS session in response to no User Equipment (UE) receiving the MBS session (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The MB Session Report may include the electronic device (ED) information (e.g. the list of ED IDs that successfully received the MB message. the list of ED IDs that failed to receive the MB message, the list of ED IDs that fail to join the MB Session). if the User Plane Function (UPF) finds that the MBS session has no data activity for a period of time, the UPF sends the Data Inactivity message to the Session Management Function (SMF). SMF receives notification messages from (R)AN to confirm the end of Data Transmission after successfully sending data. the SMF may decide to deactivate the connections of MBS session, Dao: [0047], [0083]-[0084], [0089]-[0090]);
wherein the MBS session suspend request comprises identity information of the MBS session and an operation type, the identity information of the MBS session is used to uniquely determine the MBS session through an Identity (ID) of the MBS session (PCF 316 may send a message, e.g. MB Session Modification Request 516 to the SMF 310. The message 516 may include new PCC rules, such as QoS rules and charging policy. The message may contain MB Session ID, location information (e.g. RAN Addresses (e.g. IP Address or FQDN)), MB Session Report, Time to Release MB Session, and Cause. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (MB Session Anchor UPF Address and DL and UL TEID) to connect the I-UPF and MB Session Anchor UPF. The Cause indicates the reason to release the MB Session, for example (R)AN errors, network function maintenance (e.g. (R)AN node shutdown, (R)AN node migration), network function migration (e.g. AMF migration), policy change (e.g. the MB Session QoS is no longer supported by (R)AN), Successful delivery of data to EDs, End of MB Session duration, Dao: [0078], [0094], [0213]-[0217]),
and the operation type is used to indicate whether to release tunnel information between the core network device and the access network (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL Tunnel endpoint Identifier (TEID), and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)), Dao: [0083]-[0084], [0094]-[0096]); and
so that the access network device releases an access network resource for the MBS session and the tunnel information between the access network device and the core network device upon receipt of the MBS session suspend response (the N6 tunnel information may be updated (e.g. AS Address, or PFD); New I-UPF: the I-UPF Address and UL and DL TEIDs for N9 tunnel will be included; in case of removing I-UPF and/or (R)AN nodes. UPF 304 may send a message, e.g. an N4 MB Session Modification Response 554, to the SMF 310 over the N4 interfaces, Dao: [0096]-[0097]).
Dao does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element a core network device in a core network device, a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session suspend request from an access network device,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element a core network device in a core network device, a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session suspend request from an access network device (the RAN node 202 may send a notification message to individual UE to start switch or send a N2 message to AMF 203 to start the switch. The evolved notification control parameter or the new Delivery Mode control parameter may be used by the core network (e.g., a network server or other entity) to indicate whether notifications are requested from the NG-RAN when QoS requirement can no longer be met using the currently configured delivery mode. RAN node 202 may send a notification message to MB-UPF 209 through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF 209 that no UE 201 under the RAN node 202 is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0273]-[0275]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Li in order to further modify receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element a core network device in a core network device, a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session suspend request from an access network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Yet, Dao in view of Li does not explicitly disclose:
sending, by the AMF network element, an MBS session suspend response to the access network device in response to the MBS session suspend request,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aramoto teaches:
sending, by the AMF network element, an MBS session suspend response to the access network device in response to the MBS session suspend request (An Mobility Management Entity (MME) of the present invention is, in an MME connected to a mobile communication system that performs distribution of broadcast data by an MBMS bearer service, from a BM-SC (Broadcast Multicast Service Center) to a mobile station device that is connected to a base station device, via an MBMS GW (MBMS Gateway) and an MME (Mobility Management Entity) for which an MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Service) bearer has been established, characterized in that. MME 2030 receives the session stop request and sends a session stop response to eNB 2040 (S2406), Aramoto: Fig. 28, [0049], [0364]-[0367]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Li in view of Aramoto and in order to further modify sending, by the AMF network element, an MBS session suspend response to the access network device in response to the MBS session suspend request from the teachings of Aramoto.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the entry of eNB is deleted from the distribution node of MBMS bearer context or is checked with a mark indicating "suspended" (Aramoto: [0373]).
Regarding claim 12, Dao discloses:
A session processing method, comprising (Methods and Systems for modifying or releasing a Multicast/Broadcast (MB) session, Dao: [0007]):
in response to no User Equipment (UE) receiving a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session, determining, by an access network device, to deactivate the MBS session ((R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The message may contain MB Session ID, location information (e.g. RAN Addresses (e.g. IP Address or FQDN)), MB Session Report, Time to Release MB Session, and Cause. The Cause indicates the reason to release the MB Session, for example (R)AN errors, network function maintenance (e.g. (R)AN node shutdown, (R)AN node migration), network function migration (e.g. AMF migration), policy change (e.g. the MB Session QoS is no longer supported by (R)AN), Successful delivery of data to EDs, End of MB Session duration. The MB Session Report may contain the list of ED IDs that have been received the MB data, and/or the list of ED IDs that failed to receive the MB data, or unreachable, Dao: [0216]),
wherein the MBS session suspend request comprises identity information of the MBS session and an operation type, the identity information of the MBS session is used to uniquely determine the MBS session through an Identity (ID) of the MBS session (PCF 316 may send a message, e.g. MB Session Modification Request 516 to the SMF 310. The message 516 may include new PCC rules, such as QoS rules and charging policy. The message may contain MB Session ID, location information ( e.g. RAN Addresses ( e.g. IP Address or FQDN)), MB Session Report, Time to Release MB Session, and Cause. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (MB Session Anchor UPF Address and DL and UL TEID) to connect the I-UPF and MB Session Anchor UPF. The Cause indicates the reason to release the MB Session, for example (R)AN errors, network function maintenance (e.g. (R)AN node shutdown, (R)AN node migration), network function migration ( e.g. AMF migration), policy change (e.g. the MB Session QoS is no longer supported by (R)AN), Successful delivery of data to EDs, End of MB Session duration, Dao: [0078], [0094], [0213]-[0217]),
and the operation type is used to indicate whether to release tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL Tunnel endpoint Identifier (TEID), and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)), Dao: [0083]-[0084], [0094]-[0096]);
releasing, by the access network device, an access network resource for the MBS session and the tunnel information between the access network device and the core network device upon receipt of the MBS session suspend response (the N6 tunnel information may be updated ( e.g. AS Address, or PFD); New I-UPF: the I-UPF Address and UL and DL TEIDs for N9 tunnel will be included; in case of removing I-UPF and/or (R)AN nodes. UPF 304 may send a message, e.g. an N4 MB Session Modification Response 554, to the SMF 310 over the N4 interfaces, Dao: [0096]-[0097]).
Dao does not explicitly disclose:
sending, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element, in a core network device,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
sending, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element, in a core network device (the RAN node 202 may send a notification message to individual UE to start switch or send a N2 message to AMF 203 to start the switch. The evolved notification control parameter or the new Delivery Mode control parameter may be used by the core network (e.g., a network server or other entity) to indicate whether notifications are requested from the NG-RAN when QoS requirement can no longer be met using the currently configured delivery mode. RAN node 202 may send a notification message to MB-UPF 209 through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF 209 that no UE 201 under the RAN node 202 is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0273]-[0275]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Li in order to further modify sending, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element, in a core network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Yet, Dao in view of Li does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aramoto teaches:
receiving, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request (An Mobility Management Entity (MME) of the present invention is, in an MME connected to a mobile communication system that performs distribution of broadcast data by an MBMS bearer service, from a BM-SC (Broadcast Multicast Service Center) to a mobile station device that is connected to a base station device, via an MBMS GW (MBMS Gateway) and an MME (Mobility Management Entity) for which an MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Service) bearer has been established, characterized in that. MME 2030 receives the session stop request and sends a session stop response to eNB 2040 (S2406), Aramoto: Fig. 28, [0049], [0364]-[0367]; and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Li in view of Aramoto and in order to further modify receiving, by the access network device, an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request from the teachings of Aramoto.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the entry of eNB is deleted from the distribution node of MBMS bearer context or is checked with a mark indicating "suspended" (Aramoto: [0373]).
Regarding claim 13, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
sending the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element through the AMF network element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
sending the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element through the AMF network element (Upon receiving a notification from the NG-RAN, the AMF/SMF may forward the notification to the PCF or to the BM-SC/MBMF. RAN node may send a notification message to MB-UPF through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF that no UE under the RAN node is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0274]-[0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify sending the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 14, Dao-Li-Zhu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the access network device, the MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element through the SMF network element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
receiving, by the access network device, the MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element through the SMF network element (MB-SMF sends MBS session establishment or update response to AMF with MB-UPF information. The MB-UPF information may be used by the RAN node to establish the N3 tunnel to transfer the data, Li: [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify receiving, by the access network device, the MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element through the SMF network element from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 15, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Dao further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the access network device stores context information for the deactivated MBS session (The (R)AN node may create an ED Group Context for the ED group and the MB Session Context. If the N1 MB Session Establishment message sent from the AMF, the (R)AN may store this message in the MB Session Context and sends this message to the ED in a radio control channel, Dao: [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 16, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Dao further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the access network resource for the MBS session comprises air interface resource allocated by the access network device for the MBS session (The message may contain: N2 SM Message received in message to the (R)AN; N1 MB Session Establishment message for ED that have ED IDs in the N2 SM message; Access and Mobility parameters: e.g. Encryption information that is used to encrypt the MB data over the air interface. The (R)AN node may create an ED Group Context for the ED group and the MB Session Context. If the N1 MB Session Establishment message sent from the AMF, the (R)AN may store this message in the MB Session Context and sends this message to the ED in a radio control channel, Dao: [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 17, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Dao further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein releasing, by the access network device, the tunnel information between the access network device and the core network device comprises (message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, Dao: [0094]):
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
releasing, by the access network device, the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
releasing, by the access network device, the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device (Upon receiving a notification from the NG-RAN, the AMF/SMF may forward the notification to the PCF or to the BM-SC/MBMF. RAN node may send a notification message to MB-UPF through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF that no UE under the RAN node is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0274]-[0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify releasing, by the access network device, the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 18, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dao further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the access network resource for the MBS session comprises air interface resource allocated by the access network device for the MBS session (The message may contain: N2 SM Message received in message to the (R)AN; N1MB Session Establishment message for ED that have ED IDs in the N2 SM message; Access and Mobility parameters: e.g. Encryption information that is used to encrypt the MB data over the air interface. The (R)AN node may create an ED Group Context for the ED group and the MB Session Context. If the N1 MB Session Establishment message sent from the AMF, the (R)AN may store this message in the MB Session Context and sends this message to the ED in a radio control channel, Dao: [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 19, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device is tunnel information between the access network device a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device is tunnel information between the access network device a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device (Upon receiving a notification from the NG-RAN, the AMF/SMF may forward the notification to the PCF or to the BM-SC/MBMF. RAN node may send a notification message to MB-UPF through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF that no UE under the RAN node is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0274]-[0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify the tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device as the tunnel information between the access network device a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 20, Dao discloses:
An access network device, comprising one or more processors, and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the access network device to (certain nodes or functional entities in the RAN. computer readable instructions may be executed within a processor, to cause computing system to do work. The processor may be a general purpose processor, a special purpose processor, a conventional processor. (R)AN node includes at least one processor. The (R)AN node further includes a non-transitory computer readable storable medium including software instructions configured to control the at least one processor to perform steps, Dao: [0076], [0336]):
in response to no User Equipment (UE) receiving a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) session, determine to deactivate the MBS session ((R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The message may contain MB Session ID, location information (e.g. RAN Addresses (e.g. IP Address or FQDN)), MB Session Report, Time to Release MB Session, and Cause. The Cause indicates the reason to release the MB Session, for example (R)AN errors, network function maintenance (e.g. (R)AN node shutdown, (R)AN node migration), network function migration (e.g. AMF migration), policy change (e.g. the MB Session QoS is no longer supported by (R)AN), Successful delivery of data to EDs, End of MB Session duration. The MB Session Report may contain the list of ED IDs that have been received the MB data, and/or the list of ED IDs that failed to receive the MB data, or unreachable, Dao: [0216]),
wherein the MBS session suspend request comprises identity information of the MBS session and an operation type, the identity information of the MBS session is used to uniquely determine the MBS session through an Identity (ID) of the MBS session (PCF 316 may send a message, e.g. MB Session Modification Request 516 to the SMF 310. The message 516 may include new PCC rules, such as QoS rules and charging policy. The message may contain MB Session ID, location information (e.g. RAN Addresses (e.g. IP Address or FQDN)), MB Session Report, Time to Release MB Session, and Cause. The Cause indicates the reason to release the MB Session, for example (R)AN errors, network function maintenance (e.g. (R)AN node shutdown, (R)AN node migration), network function migration (e.g. AMF migration), policy change (e.g. the MB Session QoS is no longer supported by (R)AN), Successful delivery of data to EDs, End of MB Session duration, Dao: [0078], [0213]-[0217]),
and the operation type is used to indicate whether to release tunnel information between the core network device and the access network device (the (R)AN may send MB Session Modification Request to the SMF via the AMF. The (R)AN(s) may send an N2 SM MB Session Modification Request to the AMF. (R)AN(s) sending MB Session Release Request to the SMF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL Tunnel endpoint Identifier (TEID), and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)), Dao: [0083]-[0084], [0094]-[0096]);
release an access network resource for the MBS session and the tunnel information between the access network device and the core network device upon receipt of the MBS session suspend response (the N6 tunnel information may be updated (e.g. AS Address, or PFD); New I-UPF: the I-UPF Address and UL and DL TEIDs for N9 tunnel will be included; in case of removing I-UPF and/or (R)AN nodes. UPF 304 may send a message, e.g. an N4 MB Session Modification Response 554, to the SMF 310 over the N4 interfaces, Dao: [0096]-[0097]).
Dao does not explicitly disclose:
send an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element in a core network device,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
send an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element in a core network device (the RAN node 202 may send a notification message to individual UE to start switch or send a N2 message to AMF 203 to start the switch. The evolved notification control parameter or the new Delivery Mode control parameter may be used by the core network (e.g., a network server or other entity) to indicate whether notifications are requested from the NG-RAN when QoS requirement can no longer be met using the currently configured delivery mode. RAN node 202 may send a notification message to MB-UPF 209 through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF 209 that no UE 201 under the RAN node 202 is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0273]-[0275]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Li in order to further modify sending an MBS session suspend request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) network element in a core network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Yet, Dao in view of Li does not explicitly disclose:
receive an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element, wherein the MBS session suspend response is sent by the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aramoto teaches:
receive an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element, wherein the MBS session suspend response is sent by the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request (An Mobility Management Entity (MME) of the present invention is, in an MME connected to a mobile communication system that performs distribution of broadcast data by an MBMS bearer service, from a BM-SC (Broadcast Multicast Service Center) to a mobile station device that is connected to a base station device, via an MBMS GW (MBMS Gateway) and an MME (Mobility Management Entity) for which an MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Service) bearer has been established, characterized in that. MME 2030 receives the session stop request and sends a session stop response to eNB 2040 (S2406), Aramoto: Fig. 28, [0049], [0364]-[0367]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Li in view of Aramoto and in order to further modify receiving an MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element, wherein the MBS session suspend response is sent by the AMF network element in response to the MBS session suspend request from the teachings of Aramoto.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the entry of eNB is deleted from the distribution node of MBMS bearer context or is checked with a mark indicating "suspended" (Aramoto: [0373]).
Regarding claim 21, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Dao further discloses:
The access network device according to claim 20, wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the access network device is caused to (certain nodes or functional entities in the RAN. computer readable instructions may be executed within a processor, to cause computing system to do work. The processor may be a general purpose processor, a special purpose processor, a conventional processor. (R)AN node includes at least one processor. The (R)AN node further includes a non-transitory computer readable storable medium including software instructions configured to control the at least one processor to perform steps, Dao: [0076], [0336]):
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
send the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element through the AMF network element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
send the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element through the AMF network element (Upon receiving a notification from the NG-RAN, the AMF/SMF may forward the notification to the PCF or to the BM-SC/MBMF. RAN node may send a notification message to MB-UPF through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF that no UE under the RAN node is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0274]-[0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify sending the MBS session suspend request to a Session Management Function (SMF) network element through the AMF network element from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 22, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Daoin view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
The access network device according to claim 21, wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the access network device is caused to:
receive the MBS session suspend response from the the AMF network element through the SMF network element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the access network device is caused to (AMF also sends a N2 message to RAN node including a NAS message (switch response) that may be forwarded to UE by the RAN node. AMF forwards the session modification message from UE to the MBSF. MBSF then sends the message to the selected MB-SMF to perform the requested session management process, Li: Fig.10, [0244], [0160]):
receive the MBS session suspend response from the AMF network element through the SMF network element (MB-SMF sends MBS session establishment or update response to AMF with MB-UPF information. The MB-UPF information may be used by the RAN node to establish the N3 tunnel to transfer the data, Li: [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify receive the MBS session suspend response from the SMF network element from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Regarding claim 23, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Dao further discloses:
The access network device according to claim 20, wherein the access network device stores context information for the deactivated MBS session (The (R)AN node may create an ED Group Context for the ED group and the MB Session Context. If the N1 MB Session Establishment message sent from the AMF, the (R)AN may store this message in the MB Session Context and sends this message to the ED in a radio control channel, Dao: [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 24, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Dao further discloses:
The access network device according to claim 20, wherein the access network resource for the MBS session comprises air interface resource allocated by the access network device for the MBS session (The message may contain: N2 SM Message received in message to the (R)AN; N1 MB Session Establishment message for ED that have ED IDs in the N2 SM message; Access and Mobility parameters: e.g. Encryption information that is used to encrypt the MB data over the air interface. The (R)AN node may create an ED Group Context for the ED group and the MB Session Context. If the N1 MB Session Establishment message sent from the AMF, the (R)AN may store this message in the MB Session Context and sends this message to the ED in a radio control channel, Dao: [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 25, Dao-Li-Aramoto teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Dao further discloses:
The access network device according to claim 20, wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the MB-SMF network element is caused to ((R)AN node includes at least one processor. The (R)AN node further includes a non-transitory computer readable storable medium including software instructions configured to control the at least one processor to perform steps. configuring, by the SMF, any needed changes in the User Plane Functions (UPF) associated with the MB session, Dao: [0008], 0336]):
Dao in view of Aramoto does not explicitly disclose:
release the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
release the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device (Upon receiving a notification from the NG-RAN, the AMF/SMF may forward the notification to the PCF or to the BM-SC/MBMF. RAN node may send a notification message to MB-UPF through the N3 tunnel indicating to the MB-UPF that no UE under the RAN node is still in the multicast group (e.g., receiving the application data over the multicast session), Li: [0274]-[0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao and Aramoto in view of Li in order to further modify releasing the tunnel information between the access network device and a User Plane Function (UPF) network element in the core network device from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have the potential enhancement for multicast and broadcast service in 5G network (Li: [0101]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 19, 2026