DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is an office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed in connection with the RCE on 01/23/2026 for response of the final office action mailed on 08/13/2025. Independent Claim 1 and dependent Claims 2-6, 9-11, 14-17 are amended. Claims 7-8 and 12-13 are previously canceled. Claims 1-6, 9-11, 14-17 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each of the elements recited in Claims 1-6, 9-11, 14-17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), e.g. a lunar access point must be shown and labeled. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4-6, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 4, and 10, all references of “said [claim element]” should read - - the [claim element] - - for consistency and clarity of the record, e.g. Claim 2, “said communication link” should read - - the communication link- -.
Claim 5 is objected to by virtue of its dependency on Claim 4.
Claim 6, line 3, “the power generation apparatus” should read - - a power generation apparatus - -, for Claim 6 is not dependent on Claim 5, which contains first mention of limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16, line 4 recites the limitation "the data center”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. US 10419106 B1, hereinafter Liu (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1,
Liu teaches a lunar or moon-based electronic data storage and transfer system (Liu, Abstract; satellite-based content delivery network (CDN) 100 ; includes FIG. 1A, Col. 4, line 25 one or more space-based data-centers 102 positioned at the moon (lunar data-center)101)) comprising:
a lunar or moon-based electronic data storage and transfer device (Liu, FIG 1A, Col. 4, line 25- one or more space-based data-centers 102 positioned at the moon 101 (lunar data-center); Col. 3, line 24 the data centers on the lunar surface to store permanently the massive data uploaded from the Earth);
a terrestrial access point (Liu, FIG. 1A, Col. 4, line 40-44, one or more ground stations 116/ “terrestrial access points” that can communicate with the HAA’s 112 or GEO satellites 108);
a lunar access point operatively coupled to the lunar or moon-based electronic data storage and
transfer device (Liu, FIG. 1A, Col. 4, line 53 a wireless communication subsystem of the space-based data-center 102 positioned at the moon 101, i.e. “operative coupling”); and
wherein the terrestrial access point is configured to establish a communication link with the
lunar access point directly and which enables the data storage and transfer device to store, retrieve, and transmit data to and from the terrestrial access point via the lunar access point (Liu, FIG. 1A, FIG. 4B, Col. 4, line 39-58, a first path 402 of three inter-layer communication links 119, 111, and 105 between a ground station 118 and a space-based data-center 102 on the moon and a second path 404 of two inter-layer communication links 121, 105 and an intra-layer communication link 103 between a ground station 118 and the space-based data-center 102 on the moon, i.e. the “communication link”; see also Col. 3, line 24, the data centers on the lunar surface to store permanently the massive data uploaded from the Earth).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches Claim 1.
Liu further teaches a geostationary communications satellite (Liu, FIG. 1A, FIG. 4B, Col. 4, line 28-29, one or more GEO satellites 108);
wherein the geostationary communications satellite is operable to enable a communication between the terrestrial access point and the lunar access point (Liu, (10)/ (59) FIG. 4B illustrates a first path of three inter-layer communication links between a ground station 118 and a space-based data-center 102 on the moon); and
wherein the terrestrial access point is configured to establish a communication link with the geostationary communications satellite which is further operable to enable a communication link with a low-earth orbit data storage satellite, for storing data and for transmitting a retrieval request of the stored data via said communication link (Liu, FIG. 4A; FIG. 4C ; Col. 19, line 44-45, terminal devices sends a content request . . [and] the GEO satellite forwards the content request to a L4/L5 storage and relay station, 5) upon cache miss in the L4/L5 station, the L4/L5 station forwards the content request to the lunar data center; see also FIG. 1A Col 5, line 5, inter-layer communication links 115 can be established between the LEO satellites 110 and the terminal devices 114; Claim 12 which discloses a low earth orbit (LEO) vehicle in a first orbit/”satellite” comprising, a storage device and processor coupled to the storage device).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches Claim 1.
Liu further teaches the lunar access point is configured to establish said communication link with: the geostationary communications satellite, which relays the communication link from the terrestrial access point to the lunar access point, for storing data in the data storage and transfer device (and wherein the lunar access point is further configured to establish the communication link with the geostationary communications satellite, which relays a request from the terrestrial access point for retrieval of data stored within the data storage and transfer device (Liu, FIG. 1A, inter-layer communication links 105 can be established between space-based data-centers 102, 104, 106 and GEO satellites 108; FIG. 4B, illustrates a first path 402 of three inter-layer communication links 119, 111, and 105 between a ground station 118 and a space-based data-center 102 on the moon and a second path 404 of two inter-layer communication links 121, 105 and an intra-layer communication link 103 between a ground station 118 and the space-based data-center 102 on the moon; ie the– geostationary communications satellite acts as a gateway between ground station / “terrestrial access point” / “lunar access point”)).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches Claim 4.
Liu further teaches a control device coupled to the power generation apparatus; and configured to control a direction of the power generation apparatus relative to the sun (Liu, Column 17, line 37- 42, system control, consists of the typical elements required to manage the satellite system: Network Operation Center (NOC), Operational Support Network (OSN), and Telemetry, Tracking and Commands (TTC)) controller re solar panel rotation/ orientation; Col. 24, line 35, FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an electronic device 900 with a wireless communication subsystem 902).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu teaches Claim 1.
Liu further teaches [further comprising] an Artificial Intelligence (AI)-based, automated network operations center (NOC) to monitor, maintain, and repair the data center (Liu, Column 17, line 37- 42, system control, consists of the typical elements required to manage the satellite system: Network Operation Center (NOC), Operational Support Network (OSN), and Telemetry, Tracking and Commands (TTC; Col. 24, line 35, FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an electronic device 900 with a wireless communication subsystem 902; see also 35 USC §112 herein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as cited herein), in view of Magcale et al. (US 20190342146 A1), hereinafter Magcale.
Regarding Claim 3, Liu teaches Claim 2.
Liu further teaches the terrestrial access point is configured to execute instructions to:
collect data from the lunar access point, the geostationary communications satellite, and the low-earth orbit data storage satellite (Liu, FIG. 4A; FIG. 4B, ground station 18 / ground gateway station; collects data and feeds to LEO satellite, as previously disclosed)
Liu does not explicitly teach [to] analyze if the collected data matches a prior pattern; based on the analysis, determine an alert condition of the lunar access point, the data storage and transfer device, the geostationary communications satellite, and the low-earth orbit data storage satellite; match the determined alert condition to a historical alert condition; based on the matched determined alert condition to the historical alert condition, determine a corrective action; and based on the determined corrective action, trigger a performance of the determined corrective action.
However, in the analogous art, Magcale discloses to analyze if the collected data matches a prior pattern (Magcale, FIG. 2, at step 205 check whether the input matches a prior pattern); based on the analysis, determine an alert condition of the lunar access point, the data storage and transfer device, the geostationary communications satellite, and the low-earth orbit data storage satellite (Magcale, FIG. 1, ;
match the determined alert condition to a historical alert condition (Magcale, FIG. 1, at 105 matching module , see also Claim 1); based on the matched determined alert condition to the historical alert condition, determine a corrective action (Magcale, FIG. 1, corrective action module 106); and based on the determined corrective action, trigger a performance of the determined corrective action (Magcale, FIG. 1, ¶0021 corrective action module 106 assigns a virtual self-healing module from a plurality of virtual self-healing modules in a virtual self-healing module database 107, and then triggers the performance of the determined corrective action by the assigned virtual self-healing module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with Magcale’s methods and systems for autonomous computing comprising processing historical data. The motivation would be to refine and improve future outcomes [Magcale, ¶0036].
Claims 5, 9-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as cited herein), in view of Jacobson (US 20250181129 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches Claim 4.
Liu further teaches the lunar based electronic data storage and transfer system further comprising] luna data centers as main storage facilities with high speed links/”data transfer” and can have extremely large storage capacity (cited in Claim 1 herein); see also Table 2, at Col. 21 line 15; Col. 21, line 30 ultra-high-speed links are projected between GEO satellites and lunar space-based data-centers).
Liu does not explicitly teach a machine cabinet, cooling equipment, and a power generation apparatus; wherein the machine cabinet comprises the data storage and transfer device for processing, storage, and transmission of data; wherein the cooling equipment is thermally coupled to the machine cabinet, and configured to release heat generated inside the machine cabinet into the lunar atmosphere; and wherein the power generation apparatus is operatively coupled to the cooling equipment and to the machine cabinet.
However, in the analogous art, Jacobson explicitly discloses [a satellite constellation a machine cabinet, cooling equipment, and a power generation apparatus (Jacobson, FIG. 5, ¶0137-0141; ¶0153-0158 a housing 57/”machine cabinet”;¶0152 cooling unit 520; ¶0141, one or more power generation modules 506, power unit 510; see also Fig. 6); wherein the machine cabinet comprises the data storage and transfer device for processing, storage, and transmission of data (Jacobson, FIG. 5, ¶0137-0137; ¶0157-0163; Fig. 10, ¶0222-0233);
wherein the cooling equipment is thermally coupled to the machine cabinet, and configured to release heat generated inside the machine cabinet into the lunar atmosphere (Jacobson, FIG. 5, ¶0149-0153; ¶0153-0154, ; heat-rejection in the “surrounding environment/exterior of housing 570” interpreted to be a functional equivalent of “release[ing] generated heat”); and
wherein the power generation apparatus is operatively coupled to the cooling equipment and to the machine cabinet (Jacobson, FIG. 5, ¶0140-0149; FIG. 6, operative coupling via electrical bus 572, which distributes generated/stored electrical power to the housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with Jacobson’s data center apparatus with satellite constellation data network connectivity. The motivation would be to provide a grid-independent computing device with satellite constellation data network connectivity [Jacobson, ¶0132].
Regarding Claim 9, Liu and Jacobson teach Claim 5.
Liu does not explicitly teach the cooling equipment comprising a heat sink 523 : a male heat sink, a female heat sink, a radiator, a pump and a drive tube; wherein the male heat sink is disposed away from the data storage and transfer device server on a sun-facing side of the machine; wherein the female heat sink is disposed on an opposite surface of the machine cabinet; wherein the radiator is operatively coupled to the female heat sink; and wherein a tubular body connects the male heat sink and the female heat sink, a thermally conductive working medium circulates through the tubular body, the circulation being driven by a pump disposed in a machine room.
However, in the analogous art, Jacobson discloses the cooling equipment comprising a heat sink 523 : a male heat sink, a female heat sink, a radiator, a pump and a drive tube; wherein the male heat sink is disposed away from the data storage and transfer device server on a sun-facing side of the machine; wherein the female heat sink is disposed on an opposite surface of the machine cabinet; wherein the radiator is operatively coupled to the female heat sink; and wherein a tubular body connects the male heat sink and the female heat sink, a thermally conductive working medium circulates through the tubular body, the circulation being driven by a pump disposed in a machine room ((Jacobson ¶0154, the cooling source 521 and the heat sink 523 can be the same [and] ¶0155, the cooling unit 520 can be configured to provide a cooling capacity that is based at least in part on dynamic conditions, such as ambient environmental conditions (e.g., ambient temperature, day or night, direct sun on housing 570 or overcast/shadows on housing 570, etc.) and ambient internal conditions within housing 570).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with Jacobson’s data center apparatus with satellite constellation data network connectivity. The motivation would be to provide a grid-independent computing device with satellite constellation data network connectivity [Jacobson, ¶0132].
Regarding Claim 10, Liu and Jacobson teach Claim 5.
Liu does not explicitly teach [said cooling equipment further comprises:] at least two secondary heat sinks disposed symmetrically on two opposite sides of the machine cabinet.
However, in the analogous art, Jacobson discloses said cooling equipment further comprises: at least two secondary heat sinks disposed symmetrically on two opposite sides of the machine cabinet (¶0157, each server rack 534 (and/or some or all of the constituent servers or motherboards of each server rack) can be associated with or otherwise coupled to one or more heatsinks for more efficiently dissipating waste heat. In some aspects, the server racks 534 can be implemented using horizontally distributed motherboards spread out along the bottom surface of housing 570 and coupled to corresponding heatsinks on the bottom surface of housing 570 . . (interpreted as a “symmetric disposition”) e.g. each server rack may be associated with 5-10 CPU motherboards on heatsinks mounted to the bottom surface (e.g., floor) of housing 570 / “secondary heatsinks”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with Jacobson’s data center apparatus with satellite constellation data network connectivity. The motivation would be to provide a grid-independent computing device with satellite constellation data network connectivity [Jacobson, ¶0132].
Regarding Claim 11, Liu and Jacobson teach Claim 5.
Liu further teaches the power generation apparatus comprises a solar cell panel disposed away from the data storage and transfer device and between the male heat sink and the female heat sink (LIU, FIG. 3D; FIG. 4A; FIG. 4C; FIG. 4F; (76) the a high-altitude airship (HAA) has 3) Large surface area for self-sustaining solar cell power source; 4) Enough space for very high gain phased array antennas for both uplink and downlink; and 5) Ability to support dense population with very high data rate). (see also Jacobson, ¶¶0141; 0145; 0148; 0155; FIG. 8B; FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu and Jacobson teach Claim 5.
Liu further teaches the machine cabinet is constructed from materials comprising one or more of metals, alloys, carbon-fiber, kevlar, wood, high-density polyethylene (HDPE), and fiberglass (Liu, Col. 23, line 19-21, the storage medium (glass) is also easy to construct by heating . . .Si dioxide easily found on the Earth and the moon).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as cited herein), in view of White et al. (US 20140259995 A1), hereinafter White.
Regarding Claim 14, Liu teaches a lunar or moon based data storage and transfer system as cited in Claim 1 herein.
Liu does not explicitly teach the system [lunar or moon-based electronic data storage and transfer system] is housed inside at least one of a lava tube and a lava tunnel beneath the lunar surface.
However, in the analogous art, White discloses a system housed inside at least one of a lava tube and a lava tunnel beneath the lunar surface (White, Abstract, a lightweight modular structure/”system” that can be transported to the surface of an extraterrestrial mass; [and] ¶0048, the structure can be buried under one to two meters of extraterrestrial material; see also ¶0049 the structure in an excavated trench, or with its rear wall abutted against a crater wall, lava tube or cave, and then burying the structure in extraterrestrial material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with White’s structure for extraterrestrial habitation. The motivation would be to bear the exterior load of being buried under one to two meters of extraterrestrial material on extraterrestrial masses with gravity up to 40% of Earth's gravity, a configuration that can provide additional thermal insulation, additional radiation protection, and additional protection against micrometeoroid penetration [White, Abstract; ¶0020].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Jacobson and further in view of Sobhani et al. (US 20170195040 A1), hereinafter Sobhani.
Regarding Claim 15, Liu and Jacobson teach Claim 5.
Liu does not explicitly teach a plurality of heat-exchangers; and a cooling medium comprising at least one of carbon dioxide (CO2), Ammonia (NH₃), and space-based radiative cooling.
However, in the analogous art, Jacobson discloses [the cooling equipment further comprises:] a plurality of heat-exchangers; and a cooling medium (Liu, ¶0149 a plurality of heat exchange loops and multiple-thermal management components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment with Jacobson’s data center apparatus with satellite constellation data network connectivity. The motivation would be to provide a grid-independent computing device with satellite constellation data network connectivity [Jacobson, ¶0132].
Liu and Jacobson do not explicitly teach [a cooling medium] comprising at least one of carbon dioxide (CO2), Ammonia (NH₃), and space-based radiative cooling.
However, in the analogous art, Sobhani discloses [a cooling medium] comprising at least one of carbon dioxide (CO2), Ammonia (NH₃), and space-based radiative cooling (Sobhani, ¶0064, he network satellite 110 is configured and dimensioned with a heat management system to optimize heat absorption and dissipation . . . [and] optimize(s) thermal energy through manipulating the dispersal and radiative dissipation of thermal energy, and this heat management may include energy capture from heated elements, increased surface area (e.g. heat sinks) on some surfaces, and/or satellite rotation to avoid over-heating any side of the network satellite 110 due to prolonged solar exposure.to improve the performance, reliability, and survival of network satellite 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s satellite-based Content Delivery Network (CDN) In an extraterrestrial environment and Jacobson’s data center apparatus with satellite constellation data network connectivity with Sobhani’s space-based electronic data storage and transfer network system. The motivation would be to provide a new and improved remote data storage network [Sobhani, ¶0009; ¶0064].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Palermo et al. (US 20230208510 A1): Abstract, a data center located at one or more satellites operating in a middle Earth orbit (MEO) plane, geosynchronous orbit (GEO) plane, or high-Earth elliptical orbit (HEO) plane, may be used to provide network and data processing operations for a low-Earth orbit (LEO) constellation; ¶0102 housings may include materials that form one or more exterior surfaces that partially or fully protect contents of the appliance, in which protection may include weather protection, hazardous environment protection (e.g., EMI, vibration, extreme temperatures), and/or enable submergibility; ¶0152-01547, terrestrial and non-terrestrial NOCs.
GAO et al. (US 20250020365 A1): Abstract; ¶0041, the system for utilizing waste heat of data center can further have a heat storage mode, the data center heat dissipation system 6 is capable of transferring the heat absorbed from the data center 60 to the heat storage and extraction flow path 3 through the first heat exchange module 1, and the heat of the data center 60 can be transferred to the soil through the buried pipe 4 buried below the ground surface . . to avoid energy waste.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is 571-270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465