DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the examiner finds the newly amended limitation “wherein a ratio of a magnification of particle images formed by the different particles falls within a range of 1 to 1.0358” unclear. Specifically, the examiner is unclear what particular structures from the noted limitation are being further limited to achieve this intended result. The examiner further when looking to of applicant’s instant disclosure fails to find clarification. “The image IM includes a first particle image P1′ and a second particle image P2′. The first particle image P1′ is an optical image corresponding to the first particle P1, while the second particle image P2′ is an optical image corresponding to the second particle P2. Magnification M1 of the first particle image P1′ is similar to magnification M2 of the second particle image P2′. For example, the ratio of the magnification M1 of the first particle image P1′ to the magnification M2 of the second particle image P2′ may range from 1 to 1.0358, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. In this embodiment, the magnification M1 of the first particle image P1′ is substantially the same as the magnification M2 of the second particle image P2′. Therefore, the first particle image P1′ and the second particle image P2′ may present the size relationship between the first particle P1 and the second particle P2 in a more accurately way. For example, if the size of the first particle P1 and the size of the second particle P2 are substantially the same, then the size of the first particle image P1′ and the size of the second particle image P2′ are also substantially the same, regardless of where the first particle P1 and the second particle P2 are located in the flow channel 20.” From applicant’s instant specification to support the limitation is reproduced here for clarity of the record. The disclosure itself does support the limitation in that the same words are reproduced from the disclosure into the claim; however it is not clear what particular structure is used to enabled the noted ratio. Again, how anything within the disclosed system manipulates the light in a particular manner via a specific structure to achieve the resulting magnification range is not disclosed or clearly linked to the range. The examiner’s best guess is that parallel/collimated light in conjunction with a telecentric lens achieves this result. The claim is therefore being interpreted that if a telecentric lens and collimated/parallel light is shown, applicant’s result is capable of being achieved. Claims 2-14 are rejected for their dependency instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seifert et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2008/0231854 A1) in view of Beil et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2017/0315039 A1) in view of Perrault, Jr. et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2013/0334407 A1) further in view of Ikehata et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2019/0331581 A1).
As to claim 1, Seifert discloses and shows in figure 5 an optical imaging system, adapted for presenting an image of a particles, the optical imaging system comprising ([0006]):
a collimated light source (via collimation optics disclosed but not shown), ([0043], ll. 1-6);
a flow channel (6), arranged on a transmission path of the beam and adapted for allowing the particles to pass through ([0037]); and
a telecentric lens (23 or 25), arranged on the transmission path of the parallel beam, wherein the parallel beam passes through the flow channel before transmitted to the telecentric lens (explicitly shown in figure 5), and the telecentric lens is adapted for converging (i.e. a focus range requires some amount of convergence) the parallel beam onto an imaging plane (surface area of detectors 19 and 20) ([0013]; [0051]),
wherein the optical imaging system does not include a holographic optical tweezer system (explicitly shown in figure 5), and
wherein the imaging plane is located at the output end of the telecentric lens (this is being interpreted as shown via the detectors (19 and 20) being directly attached to the telecentric lenses (23 and 25) ([0051]).
Seifert does not explicitly disclose where the collimated light source produces a parallel beam.
However, Beil does disclose and show in figure 7 and in ([0098], ll. 5-9) the use again a collimator lens (34) which as both explicitly disclosed and shown produces parallel light to image a sample under test.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert where the collimated light source produces a parallel beam in order to provide the advantage of increased efficiency as well-known in the art providing collimated light to the sample under test reduces optical losses relative to divergent light as all the light from the source reaches the sample area under test resulting in a higher signal to noise ratio during measurement.
Seifert in view of Beil does not explicitly disclose a microfluidic chip, wherein the flow channel is arranged on the microfluidic chip.
However, Perrault Jr. does disclose and show in figure 5 and in ([0074], ll. 1-4; [0076]; [0125], ll. 5-8; [0139]) the use of a microfluidic chip, where the flow channel under processing is within said chip.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil with a microfluidic chip, wherein the flow channel is arranged on the microfluidic chip in order to provide the advantage of increased versatility and efficiency as explicitly noted in Perrault Jr. microfluidic chips allow for processing at high speeds, and deliver particles with high yield and high purity ([0076], ll. 12-14).
Seifert in view of Beil further in view of Perrault Jr. does not explicitly disclose wherein a beam diameter of the parallel beam at the flow channel is greater than an inner diameter of the flow channel, wherein the telecentric lens is configured to image a portion of the flow channel illuminated by the parallel beam on to the imaging plane, wherein the particles across different positions along a depth direction of the flow channel are imaged with substantially uniform magnification within a defined tolerance range.
However, Ikehata does disclose and show in figure 1 and in ([0084]; [0087]) the use of collimated (i.e. parallel light) that illuminates a field Q1. As shown field Q1 is larger than that of the geometric dimensions of the flow cell. Obviously the concept of using a input/output field that is larger than the flow channel be it diameter or width yields the predictable result of ensuring all particles flowing in the flow field are accurately energized and measured. In other words rectangular or cylindrical does in no way define any unexpected result in providing sufficient light to cover the entire flow field of the sample stream under test. Further Q1 being the imaging field of lens telecentric lens 32 obviously also means entire region of the flow channel. Finally via this teaching it is being interpreted that the intended results of “wherein the particles across different positions along a depth direction of the flow channel are imaged with substantially uniform magnification within a defined tolerance range.” is taught by the prior art since the prior art shows the same structure, it is being interpreted as capable of the same result. Further, Ikehata explicitly discloses that the lens imagines at a magnification of 1. The examiner notes for compact prosecution that Ikehata was merely used as the clearest reference for dimensioned light input and imaged relative to the flow channel. Cited below in the “prior art made of record” section are multiple other references that disclose the above noted features.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil further in view of Perrault Jr. wherein a beam diameter of the parallel beam at the flow channel is greater than an inner diameter of the flow channel, wherein the telecentric lens is configured to image a portion of the flow channel illuminated by the parallel beam on to the imaging plane, wherein the particles across different positions along a depth direction of the flow channel are imaged with substantially uniform magnification within a defined tolerance range in order to provide the advantage of increased accuracy and expected results as obviously ensuring the input light is wide enough to cover the entire flow channel ensures that any particles imaged are fully illuminated within said channel. Further this illumination technique allows for sharp images and very accurate measurement as explicitly noted in Ikehata in the citation already provided.
Seifert as modified by Beil in view of Perrault further in view of Ikehata discloses wherein a ratio of a magnification of particle images formed by the different particles falls within a range of 1 to 1.0358 ([0045] from Seifert; the examiner notes that the prior art is merely being interpreted as capable of the intended result as noted above in the 112 rejection applicant has failed to in any manner link the noted result to any particular structure for performing the result relative to the sample under test, as such in showing the same structure, the prior art is being interpreted as capable of the noted result).
As to claim 2, Seifert as modified by Beil discloses and shows in figure 7 of Beil an optical imaging system, wherein a beam angle of the parallel beam ranges from -5 degrees to 5 degrees of a central optical axis of the parallel beam (Fig. 7 explicitly shows the divergence angle as 0 thus between the range [0098], ll. 5-9, again the same motivation and modification as applied above is applied hereinwith).
As to claim 3, Seifert discloses an optical imaging system, wherein the collimated light source comprises a point light source (16) and a collimated lens (collimation optics) ([0041], ll. 1-3; [0043], ll. 1-6; where an LED is known in the art as a point light source).
As to claim 4, Seifert discloses an optical imaging system, wherein an included angle between the parallel beam and the flow channel ranges from -5 degrees to 5 degrees off 90 degrees (Fig. 5; [0034], where the angle is shown as 0 degrees off of 90).
As to claim 5, Seifert disclose an optical imaging system, wherein a portion of the flow channel irradiated by the parallel beam is located within a depth of field of the telecentric lens (i.e. area M) ([0045], ll. 1-11).
As to claim 7, Seifert in view of Beil does not explicitly disclose an optical imaging system, wherein the beam diameter of the parallel beam at the flow channel ranges from 10 millimeters to 80 millimeters.
However, Seifert does disclose in ([0041], ll. 3-6; [0043], ll. 8-12) the use of a beam diameter of 3 mm, in a rectangular 6-20mm. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a range of 10-80 mm. Since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil with an optical imaging system, wherein a beam diameter of the parallel beam at the flow channel ranges from 10 millimeters to 80 millimeters in order to provide the advantage of expected results in optimizing the beam diameter to ensure it matches that of the fluid flow under test, one can ensure the sample under test is accurately measured.
As to claim 13 Seifert discloses an optical imaging system, wherein a sizes of the particle range from 1 micrometer to 100 micrometers ([0050]).
As to claim 14, Seifert discloses an optical imaging system, wherein the optical imaging system further comprises an image sensing apparatus (cameras 19 and 20) arranged on the imaging plane ([0051]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seifert et al. in view of Beil et al. in view of Perrault Jr. et al. in view of Ikehata et al further in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2007/0146704 A1).
As to claim 8, Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata does not explicitly disclose an optical imaging system, wherein the inner diameter of the flow channel ranges from 0.1 millimeter to 1 millimeter.
However, Schmidt does disclose in ([0091], ll. 14-21) that it is well-known to make the channel width inner diameter at least up to 1 mm in order to provide clogging and adhesion of particles flowing through the channel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. Ikehata with an optical imaging system, wherein the inner diameter of the flow channel ranges from 0.1 millimeter to 1 millimeter in order to provide the advantage of increased efficiency as noted by Schmidt, producing such a common inner diameter of 1mm reduces clogging and adhesion issues.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seifert et al. in view of Beil et al. in view of Perrault Jr. et al. in view of Ikehata et al further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0246029 A1).
As to claim 9, Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata does not explicitly disclose an optical imaging system according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the collimated light source and the flow channel ranges from 100 millimeters to 500 millimeters.
However, Wu does disclose in ([0064]) where the light source can be placed a position of 100 mm from the flow channel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata with an optical imaging system, wherein a distance between the collimated light source and the flow channel ranges from 100 millimeters to 500 millimeters in order to provide the advantage of expected results in using one of many known source location distances one can increase versatility in the measurement systems design in allowing many locations for mounting said source while still efficiently illuminating the sample under test.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seifert et al. in view of Beil et al. in view of Perrault Jr. et al. in view of Ikehata et al further in view of Berner et al. (CA 2640819 A1).
As to claim 10, Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata does not disclose the optical imaging system further comprising of a circular polarizer, arranged on the transmission path of the parallel beam, and the parallel beam passes through the flow channel before transmitted to the telecentric lens through the circular polarizer.
However, Berner discloses in (page 7, ll. 11-24) the basic concept of using a circular polarizer (11) to removed unwanted interference or stray light. The examiner further takes Office Notice on the basic concept of using circular polarization based rejection in optical measurement systems to remove/reduce ambient light from reaching the detector surface
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata with a circular polarizer, arranged on the transmission path of the parallel beam, and the parallel beam passes through the flow channel before transmitted to the telecentric lens through the circular polarizer in order to eliminate an influence of stray/interference light as described by Berner. (Page 7, Il. 11-24).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seifert et al. in view of Beil et al. in view of Perrault Jr. et al. in view of Ikehata et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,053,540 B1).
As to claims 11-12, Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata does not explicitly disclose an optical imaging system, wherein the particles are mixed in fluid, and the optical imaging system further comprises a fluid pump, adapted for driving the fluid for the particles to pass through the flow channel or optical imaging system, wherein the fluid pump cooperates with the flow channel so that a flow rate of the fluid ranges from 0.3 ml/min to 3 ml/min.
However, Chen does disclose in (col 77, ll. 13-18 and ll. 42-58) the basic concept of using a pump to the sample fluid into a flow cell under test. Further that the flow rate can fall within the claimed range as one obvious design choice.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seifert in view of Beil in view of Perrault Jr. further in view of Ikehata with an optical imaging system, wherein the particles are mixed in fluid, and the optical imaging system further comprises a fluid pump, adapted for driving the fluid for the particles to pass through the flow channel or optical imaging system, wherein the fluid pump cooperates with the flow channel so that a flow rate of the fluid ranges from 0.3 ml/min to 3 ml/min in order to provide the advantage of expected results and increased accuracy, as obviously a pump allows precise flow control as noted by Chen, further the flow rate as disclosed in one obvious choice to measure the samples under test, where obviously one having ordinary skill in the art recognizes that varying rates are used simply to ensure accurate imaging (i.e. if enough light has interacted with the particles under test or not), as such the flow rate as claimed is one obvious choice to result in accurate measurement of a particular particle size under test.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s argument regarding the newly amended limitation not being taught by the prior art of record, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the 112(b) rejection above, applicant has not linked the wherein clause ratio to any particular structural distinction of the system. As such in the prior art showing the same claimed system, the system is being interpreted as capable of the noted result. Any particular of the result argued by applicant are considered moot at this time without a clear link to what structures achieve the result. Therefore, the rejection is being maintained at this time. Please see MPEP 2114(II).
Prior art made of record
Moitzi et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2017/0074768 A1) appears to disclose and show in figure 7 and in ([0105]) the use of a parallel light illumination system that has multiple times the inner diameter input light to that of the flow channel diameter.
Tabata (U.S. PGPub No. 2020/0386973 A1) discloses and shows in figure 5 and in ([0081]) where multiple collimated light beams (12a-c) are larger than the diameter of the flow channel 21.
Berezhnyy (U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0364978) discloses and explicitly shows in figure 4A and in ([0092]) the basic concept of having the detection monitoring area (407) bigger than the flow cell inner diameter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael P LaPage/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877