DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending. Independent claim 9 is amended to correct objections.
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
This application is related to 17/144,201 (filed 01/08/2021) as a continuation, further related to 16/984,065 (filed 08/03/2020,) and 14/160,860 (filed 01/22/2014). This application is further related to KR10-2013-0127294, filed 10/24/2013, and to Indian Patent Application No. 254/CHE/2013, filed on 01/21/2013.
This application has been examined in light of its parent applications; no double patenting rejection is being made at this time.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 18 were objected to.
Claim 9 has been amended so that the “receiving” step in claim 18 is not duplicated.
The objection of claims 9 and 18 is withdrawn.
Statutory Review under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 17 are directed towards a method and have been reviewed.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 17 appear to be patent-eligible as they do not recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong One of the patent subject matter eligibility determination and thus are not directed to a judicial exception and qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claims 4 and 7-8 appear to be patent-eligible at this time as the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement as per MPEP 2106.04(d)(1): the claims are drawn to using user input of a non-phone number keyword to retrieve and simultaneously display three elements from two separate storage spaces: (1) contact information from a (A) phonebook storage space that corresponds to the keyword and (2) a message from a separate (B) message storing space that corresponds to the keyword and a (3) phone number from that same separate (B) message storage space not primarily meant for phone number storage/not dedicated to phone number storage (and would not be retrieved from the (A) phonebook storage space through conventional means), which shows improved retrieval techniques.
These additional claim elements improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Claims 9-16 and 18 are directed toward a system and have been reviewed.
Claims 9-16 and 18 initially appear to be statutory, as the system includes hardware (a memory) as disclosed in ¶ 0049 of the applicant’s specification.
The processor is not being considered hardware at this time as the specification does not explicitly define it as hardware or hardware and software only.
The touch display is not being considered hardware at this time as the specification refers to an example of a cathode ray tube (CRT) that may display search results as in ¶ 0051 but does not explicitly define the display as hardware.
Claims 9-11, 13-15, and 18 appear to be patent-eligible as they do not recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong One of the patent subject matter eligibility determination and thus are not directed to a judicial exception and qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claims 12 and 16 are considered to remain patent-eligible at this time as the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement as per MPEP 2106.04(d)(1): the claims are drawn to using user input of a non-phone number keyword to retrieve and simultaneously display three elements from two separate storage spaces: (1) contact information from a (A) phonebook storage space that corresponds to the keyword and (2) a message from a separate (B) message storing space that corresponds to the keyword and a (3) phone number from that same separate (B) message storage space not primarily meant for phone number storage/not dedicated to phone number storage (and would not be retrieved from the (A) phonebook storage space through conventional means), which shows improved retrieval techniques.
These additional claim elements improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Response to Arguments
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pp10-12, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the combined cited references do not disclose or suggest each and every feature of claim 1.
Applicant specifically disagrees that Daniell 514 does not disclose:
searching using the same received search keyword across both the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space and the at least one message stored in the message storing space;
Applicant specifies that the GUID is an identifier of the email message and in no way suggests that the content of the email message is being searched for a keyword, and that there is no disclosure or suggestion in Daniell 514 of searching for a keyword in the email message.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the combination of prior art, including Daniell 514, is capable of addressing the claims as currently structured.
Scott teaches usage of a received search keyword; Daniell 514 is relied on for the remainder of the limitation.
Daniell 514 ¶ 0071 uses a received request 462 (shown to include information such as the cited globally-unique identifier (GUID) interpreted as addressing the “search keyword”)) to generate a command 466 that includes a pointer to an address book object, and the same command 466 results in retrieval of an email message from the mail store.
This results in the capability of Daniell 514 to address the claim requirements of a received keyword that is used in the performance of searches into a phonebook storing space and into a message storing space.
Applicant specifically disagrees that Daniell 514 does not disclose:
“displaying, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message.”
Applicant specifies that Daniell 514 FIG. 10 merely discloses an email message that was received recently and that the email message is in no way related to any “search keyword.”
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the combination of prior art, including Daniell 514, is capable of addressing the claims as currently structured.
Daniell 514 FIG. 10, ¶ 0087-0089 as cited shows instantiation of a read window, shown above in Daniell 514 to be instantiated in response to the command 466 (generated after receipt of the request).
Daniell 514 thus is capable of addressing the claims as currently structured requiring display of “the found message corresponding to the search keyword” in the limitation of “displaying, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message.”
The independent claims remain rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Daniell 514 in further view of Maeng. The dependent claims remain rejected at least by virtue of their dependence on rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0203874 (provided in the IDS of 09/29/2022, reference #59; hereinafter Scott) in view of Daniell et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0064514 (hereinafter Daniell 514) in further view of Maeng, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0188202 (hereinafter Maeng).
Regarding claim 1, Scott teaches:
A method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising: based on receiving, via a phonebook application, a first user input, storing at least one of contact information including a phone number and a keyword related to the phone number in a phonebook storing space of the electronic device; (Scott FIG. 8, ¶ 0121: the caller information is optionally added to the personal address book (step 818), typically in response to corresponding user input, such as causing a phone application menu to appear and selecting a menu item requesting the mobile device to add the contact to the personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space]; ¶ 0098 teaches a keyword being associated with a phone number: When a contact record which matches the telephone number 406 is found in the personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space], the corresponding name of a contact record is displayed in the incoming call screen 402, possibly along with extended contact information 410 (i.e., contact information in addition to the phone number 406 and name 408))
…
receiving, via the touch display, a search keyword as a search request input; (Scott FIGs. 3-6, ¶ 0056: a first dialing user interface screen 302 for the phone application 270 on the mobile device 201; The dialing screen 302 includes a dialing field 322 for entry of an input comprising a telephone number or contact name of a party to be called. The dialing field 322, in at least some embodiments, is the active field of the dialing screen 302 when it is invoked; ¶ 0061 describes this involving a touchscreen: Touchscreen-based devices having a similarly configured virtual keyboard may operate in a similar fashion when corresponding virtual keys are activated; ¶ 0063 teaches that this involves accessing a phonebook: the input of the dialing field 322 is compared to electronic contact records in a personal address book 274 stored in memory 244)
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, (Scott FIGs. 3, ¶ 0063: The phone application 270 performs a local lookup operation in which the input of the dialing field 322 is compared to electronic contact records in a personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space] stored in memory 244. As the input in the dialing field 322 changes (e.g., more characters are added or characters are removed or changed), the phone application 270 re-compares the input in the dialing field 322 to the electronic contact records in the personal address book 274 to dynamically generate the list of contacts 326 based on the input in the dialing field 322)
Scott does not expressly disclose:
receiving at least one message from at least one external device,
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the at least one message in a message storing space of the electronic device, wherein the message storing space is a storing space in the electronic device, and is in a different area than the phonebook storing space;
searching using the same … search keyword across both the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space and the at least one message stored in the message storing space;
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and (ii) a message corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one message stored in the message storing space, displaying, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message.
However, Daniell 514 teaches:
receiving at least one message from at least one external device, (Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database)
storing the at least one message … in a message storing space of the electronic device, (Daniell 514 ¶ 0053: the email user agent 106 retrieves all of the email messages stored on the email accounts and stores them at a local mail store 206; Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database; see Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
wherein the message storing space is a storing space in the electronic device, and is in a different area than the phonebook storing space; (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
searching using the same … search keyword across both the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space and the at least one message stored in the message storing space; (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and (ii) a message corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one message stored in the message storing space,( Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database; see the GUID utilized as a 'search keyword' in Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
displaying, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message. (Daniell 514 shows displaying both contact information and a message in its at least one email of FIG. 10, ¶ 0087-0089: a user interface 1055 for the read window 412 … the read window 412 provides IM Internet presence information for each of the email addresses shown on the read window 412 ... for the contacts shown in FIG. 10, the email address and at least one corresponding IM address was found in the user's address book database 110 for Larry@Yahoo.com, Moe@AOL.com, and contact1@MSN.com; see also Daniell 514 FIG. 28B, ¶ 0137: a user interface is instantiated to display the retrieved email messages ... conveys (2830) the email messages to the email user interface 210 for display; see Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott with the messaging record management of Daniell 514.
In addition, both of the references (Scott and Daniell 514) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott with similar reference Daniell 514 also performing record retrieval and display but with the use of globally-unique identifiers to track families of related messages.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to more closely integrate communications systems such as email and instant messaging as seen in Daniell 514 ¶ 0005-0007.
Scott in view of Daniell 514 does not expressly disclose:
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the message in a message storing space of the electronic device,
However, Maeng addresses this by teaching:
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the message in a message storing space of the electronic device, (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); ¶ 0030: the terminal checks the unchanged phone number and the changed phone number and detects a message containing the unchanged phone number from the message DB 110 in step 205)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Maeng) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 2, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above.
Daniell 514 teaches:
wherein the phonebook is provided by a phonebook application executed on the electronic device, and the phonebook application provides the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and does not provide the phone number of a sender of the at least one message… (Daniell 514 ¶ 0046: Information stored in the address book database 110 may include, for example, names and email addresses of the user's email contacts, names and IM addresses of the user's IM contacts, phone numbers for the various email and IM contacts; Daniell 514 ¶ 0053: the email user agent 106 retrieves all of the email messages stored on the email accounts and stores them at a local mail store 206; Daniell 514 ¶ 0070: The command 456 includes a pointer to the address book object 108, which eventually permits the compose window 408 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108, thereby permitting retrieval of email addresses of contacts [shows use of phonebook storing space and not of message storing space])
Maeng teaches:
wherein the phonebook is provided by a phonebook application executed on the electronic device, and the phonebook application provides the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0019-0020: The portable terminal includes a control unit 100 having … a phonebook 108; ¶ 0023: The phonebook 108 stores a plurality of phone numbers and names input by the user)
…the at least one message stored in the message storing space. (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0019-0020: The portable terminal includes a control unit 100 having … a message DB 110; ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); ¶ 0030: the terminal checks the unchanged phone number and the changed phone number and detects a message containing the unchanged phone number from the message DB 110 in step 205)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 3, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features above including:
wherein the searching for the received search keyword comprises searching for the search keyword … by using the … keyword… (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
Scott in view of this embodiment of Daniell 514 and Maeng but does not expressly disclose separating a keyword from the at least one message, the search keyword [being] from the at least one message stored in the message storing space, and using the separated keyword from the at least one message.
However, another embodiment of Daniell 514 addresses this by teaching:
separating a keyword from the at least one message, wherein the searching … comprises searching for the search keyword from the at least one message stored in the message storing space by using the separated keyword from the at least one message. (Daniell 514 FIG. 5, ¶ 0072: upon receiving the selected email message from the email user agent 106, the read window 412 extracts all of the email addresses in the email message … the read window 412 generates a request 502 to the address book object 108 for TM Internet presence information of the contacts at the extracted email addresses. In this regard, the request 502 includes the extracted email addresses)
Regarding claim 4, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 above including:
mapping the … keyword from the at least one message to a … sender of a corresponding message; and storing mapping information generated by the mapping… (Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database)
Daniell 514 also teaches a phone number of a sender. (Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
Daniell 514 also teaches the separated keyword. (Daniell 514 FIG. 5, ¶ 0072: upon receiving the selected email message from the email user agent 106, the read window 412 extracts all of the email addresses in the email message … Upon extracting all of the email addresses from the email message, the read window 412 generates a request 502 to the address book object 108 for TM Internet presence information of the contacts at the extracted email addresses. In this regard, the request 502 includes the extracted email addresses)
Maeng teaches storing mapping information … in the message storing space. (Maeng ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); see also Maeng ¶ 0020)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 5, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches:
displaying a phone number which are communicated at least once, together with communication detail information comprising at least one of a communication time, a communication type, or a number of communications, as a search result on the touch display. (Scott FIGs. 3-6, ¶ 0057: the dialing screen 302 also includes a status bar 312 which displays information such as the current date and time, icon-based notifications, device status and/or device state [shows communication time; fulfills claim limitation due to alternative 'at least one of ... or' language] || Scott ¶ 0038: The device 201 may comprise a touchscreen display in some embodiments. The touchscreen display may be constructed using a touch-sensitive input surface connected to an electronic controller and which overlays the display screen 204)
Regarding claim 7, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches:
further comprising, based on a user input selecting the found contact information displayed as the search result, providing a user interface for transmitting a text message to the selected contact information. (Scott FIG. 9, ¶ 0129-0133: the processor 240 performs a local lookup operation of the personal address book 274 (step 904) using the input in the address field as the search term; The returned contact information may be displayed with the contact names of contact records from the personal address book 274 (step 912) which match the input in the address field; The user can then add further contacts in one or more address fields, add a subject in the subject field, and add a message body in the body portion 608 in the normal way ... After the completion of the message composition, the device user can send the message to the selected recipients (contacts) specified in the address field(s) using the wireless network 101 in the normal way)
Regarding claim 8, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above including:
further comprising, based on a user input selecting the found contact information displayed as the search result, providing a user interface for starting a call to the selected contact information. (Maeng ¶ 0034: When the detail view option is opted, the terminal displays the unchanged phone number on an area that displays a sending phone number, and displays that the unchanged phone number is changed in step 213; ¶ 0036-0037: When the linking operation is opted, the terminal displays a pop-up message to ask the user whether the user opts changing the unchanged phone number into the changed phone number in step 217 ... When, in step 219, the user opts changing the unchanged phone number into the changed phone number, the terminal stores the changed phone number in the original phone number field in step 221. The terminal performs the linking operation to the changed phone number stored in the current phone number field; see Maeng describing 'linking operations' as including 'calls' in ¶ 0020: When a linking operation associated with a specific message (e.g., a reply to the specific message or a call connection) is opted by the user, the control unit 100 controls and processes a function for performing the linking operation to a phone number changed through the synchronization mode)
Claims 9-13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Daniell 514 in further view of Daniell, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0190546 (hereinafter Daniell 546) in further view of Maeng.
Regarding claim 9, Scott teaches:
An electronic device comprising: a touch display; a communication interface; at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: (Scott FIG. 2, ¶ 0036-0041; ¶ 0036: a mobile device 201 in which example embodiments described in the present disclosure can be applied; ¶ 0038: The device 201 may comprise a touchscreen display; ¶ 0041: The processor 240 operates under stored program control and executes software modules 221 stored in memory such as persistent memory)
based on receiving, via a phonebook application, a first user input, store at least one of contact information including a phone number and a keyword related to the phone number in a phonebook storing space of the at least one memory; (Scott FIG. 8, ¶ 0121: the caller information is optionally added to the personal address book (step 818), typically in response to corresponding user input, such as causing a phone application menu to appear and selecting a menu item requesting the mobile device to add the contact to the personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space]; ¶ 0098 teaches a keyword being associated with a phone number: When a contact record which matches the telephone number 406 is found in the personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space], the corresponding name of a contact record is displayed in the incoming call screen 402, possibly along with extended contact information 410 (i.e., contact information in addition to the phone number 406 and name 408))
…
receive a search keyword as a search request input via the touch display; (Scott FIGs. 3-6, ¶ 0056: a first dialing user interface screen 302 for the phone application 270 on the mobile device 201; The dialing screen 302 includes a dialing field 322 for entry of an input comprising a telephone number or contact name of a party to be called. The dialing field 322, in at least some embodiments, is the active field of the dialing screen 302 when it is invoked; ¶ 0061 describes this involving a touchscreen: Touchscreen-based devices having a similarly configured virtual keyboard may operate in a similar fashion when corresponding virtual keys are activated; ¶ 0063 teaches that this involves accessing a phonebook: the input of the dialing field 322 is compared to electronic contact records in a personal address book 274 stored in memory 244)
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, (Scott FIGs. 3, ¶ 0063: The phone application 270 performs a local lookup operation in which the input of the dialing field 322 is compared to electronic contact records in a personal address book 274 [phonebook storing space] stored in memory 244. As the input in the dialing field 322 changes (e.g., more characters are added or characters are removed or changed), the phone application 270 re-compares the input in the dialing field 322 to the electronic contact records in the personal address book 274 to dynamically generate the list of contacts 326 based on the input in the dialing field 322)
based on receiving, via the touch display, a second user input which selects the phone number ... displayed on the touch display as the search result to add the selected phone number to a phonebook, storing the selected phone number ... into the phonebook storing space. (Scott FIGs. 3C-3E, ¶ 0071- 0072: The returned contact information 329 may be in the form of contact records, which may be a reduced or optimized format of the contact records in the global address book 134 or contact database 140 which is suitable for and compatible with the personal address book 274; the returned contact information 329 may be added to the personal address book 274 via respective user input; The prompt requests user input as to which one of any two or more of following operations should be performed: replacing the contact record; updating the contact record; adding a new contact record; cancelling the operation)
Scott does not expressly disclose:
receive at least one message from at least one external device via the communication interface,
store the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the at least one message in a message storing space of the electronic device, wherein the message storing space is a storing space in the electronic device, and is in a different area than the phonebook storing space;
search using the same … search keyword across both the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space and the at least one message stored in the message storing space;
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and (ii) a message corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one message stored in the message storing space, display, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message, and
…store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space.
Scott further does not expressly disclose the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result.
However, Daniell 514 teaches:
receiving at least one message from at least one external device, (Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database)
storing the at least one message … in a message storing space of the electronic device, (Daniell 514 ¶ 0053: the email user agent 106 retrieves all of the email messages stored on the email accounts and stores them at a local mail store 206; Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database; see Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
wherein the message storing space is a storing space in the electronic device, and is in a different area than the phonebook storing space; (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
searching using the same … search keyword across both the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space and the at least one message stored in the message storing space; (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
based on (i) contact information corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and (ii) a message corresponding to the search keyword being found from the at least one message stored in the message storing space,( Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database; see the GUID utilized as a 'search keyword' in Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
displaying, on a single screen as a search result, both the found contact information corresponding to the search keyword and the found message corresponding to the search keyword along with a phone number of a sender of the found message. (Daniell 514 shows displaying both contact information and a message in its at least one email of FIG. 10, ¶ 0087-0089: a user interface 1055 for the read window 412 … the read window 412 provides IM Internet presence information for each of the email addresses shown on the read window 412 ... for the contacts shown in FIG. 10, the email address and at least one corresponding IM address was found in the user's address book database 110 for Larry@Yahoo.com, Moe@AOL.com, and contact1@MSN.com; see also Daniell 514 FIG. 28B, ¶ 0137: a user interface is instantiated to display the retrieved email messages ... conveys (2830) the email messages to the email user interface 210 for display; see Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott with the messaging record management of Daniell 514.
In addition, both of the references (Scott and Daniell 514) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott with similar reference Daniell 514 also performing record retrieval and display but with the use of globally-unique identifiers to track families of related messages.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to more closely integrate communications systems such as email and instant messaging as seen in Daniell 514 ¶ 0005-0007.
Scott in view of Daniell 514 does not expressly disclose:
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the message in a message storing space of the electronic device,
…store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space.
Scott in view of Daniell 514 further does not expressly disclose the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result.
However, Daniell 546 addresses this by teaching:
based on receiving, via the touch display, a second user input which selects the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result to add the selected phone number to a phonebook, store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space. (Daniell 546 FIG. 40, ¶ 0186: displaying presence data for a secondary domain in an email interface … a domain search window 4070 can be displayed with the address(es) revealed in the search … Once the sender selects the desired address(es) in domain search window 4070, the address can be added to the associated recipient line, and in some embodiments, updated in the sender's address book; see also Daniell 546 FIG. 45, ¶ 0195: the client device can strip the domain from the associated address (block 4536) and compare the stripped address to at least one address at a different domain (block 4538) ... the client device can determine whether a desired address is found (block 4540). If a desired address is found, the client device can add the new address to the address book (block 4542); see relevant Daniell 546 ¶ 0118: this email address 1320 is stored in the address book database 110 so that it is correlated to the contact identifier 1310 for that contact ... Phone numbers 1340, fax numbers 1350, etc. are similarly stored in the address book database 110)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the secondary domain functionality of Daniell 546.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Daniell 546) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Daniell 546also performing record retrieval and display but with the use of secondary domains to ultimately derive user presence information.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to more accurately determine if retrieved addresses are associated with a desired recipient as seen in Daniell 546 ¶ 0186.
Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 does not expressly disclose:
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the message in a message storing space of the electronic device,
However, Maeng addresses this by teaching:
storing the at least one message including a phone number of a sender of the message in a message storing space of the electronic device, (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); ¶ 0030: the terminal checks the unchanged phone number and the changed phone number and detects a message containing the unchanged phone number from the message DB 110 in step 205)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Maeng) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 10, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above.
Daniell 514 teaches:
wherein the phonebook is provided by a phonebook application executed on the electronic device, and the phonebook application provides the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, and does not provide the phone number of a sender of the at least one message… (Daniell 514 ¶ 0046: Information stored in the address book database 110 may include, for example, names and email addresses of the user's email contacts, names and IM addresses of the user's IM contacts, phone numbers for the various email and IM contacts; Daniell 514 ¶ 0053: the email user agent 106 retrieves all of the email messages stored on the email accounts and stores them at a local mail store 206; Daniell 514 ¶ 0070: The command 456 includes a pointer to the address book object 108, which eventually permits the compose window 408 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108, thereby permitting retrieval of email addresses of contacts [shows use of phonebook storing space and not of message storing space])
Maeng teaches:
wherein the phonebook is provided by a phonebook application executed on the electronic device, and the phonebook application provides the at least one contact information stored in the phonebook storing space, (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0019-0020: The portable terminal includes a control unit 100 having … a phonebook 108; ¶ 0023: The phonebook 108 stores a plurality of phone numbers and names input by the user)
…the at least one message stored in the message storing space. (Maeng FIG. 1, ¶ 0019-0020: The portable terminal includes a control unit 100 having … a message DB 110; ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); ¶ 0030: the terminal checks the unchanged phone number and the changed phone number and detects a message containing the unchanged phone number from the message DB 110 in step 205)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 11, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features above including:
search for the search keyword … by using the … keyword… (Daniell 514 ¶ 0071: the option to read an email message from a contact ... the message center 212 generates a request 462 to the email user interface 210 to generate a read window 412. The request 462 includes information related to the selected email message, such as a globally-unique identifier (GUID) [shows 'search keyword'] associated with the selected email message. The email user interface 210 conveys the request 464 to the tray manager 102, which receives the request 464 and generates a command 466 to the email user interface 210 to instantiate the read window 412. The command 466 includes a pointer to the address book object 108 [shows relevance to 'phonebook storing space'] and a pointer to the email user agent 106. The pointer to the address book object 108 eventually permits the read window 412 to access the address book database 110 through the address book object 108 ... The email user agent 106 receives the request and retrieves the selected email message from the mail store 206 [shows 'message storing space']. The retrieved email message is conveyed from the email user agent 106 to the read window 412 and displayed to the user at the read window 412)
Scott in view of this embodiment of Daniell 514 and Maeng but does not expressly disclose separate a keyword from the at least one message, the search keyword [being] from the at least one message stored in the message storing space, and using the separated keyword from the at least one message.
However, another embodiment of Daniell 514 addresses this by teaching:
separate a keyword from the at least one message, and search for the search keyword from the at least one message stored in the message storing space by using the separated keyword from the at least one message. (Daniell 514 FIG. 5, ¶ 0072: upon receiving the selected email message from the email user agent 106, the read window 412 extracts all of the email addresses in the email message … the read window 412 generates a request 502 to the address book object 108 for TM Internet presence information of the contacts at the extracted email addresses. In this regard, the request 502 includes the extracted email addresses)
Regarding claim 12, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 above respectively including:
map the … keyword from the at least one message to a … sender of a corresponding message; and storing mapping information generated by the mapping… (Daniell 514 FIG. 26, ¶ 0135: when an email message is received (2620), a GUID associated with the received (2620) email message is generated (2630). The received (2620) email and the generated (2630) GUID are stored (2640) in the message thread history database)
Daniell 514 also teaches a phone number of a sender. (Daniell 514 ¶ 0134: the contact information may comprise a full name, one or more email addresses, one or more IM addresses, one or more phone numbers, one or more mailing addresses, and other detailed information related to the contact)
Daniell 514 also teaches the separated keyword. (Daniell 514 FIG. 5, ¶ 0072: upon receiving the selected email message from the email user agent 106, the read window 412 extracts all of the email addresses in the email message … Upon extracting all of the email addresses from the email message, the read window 412 generates a request 502 to the address book object 108 for TM Internet presence information of the contacts at the extracted email addresses. In this regard, the request 502 includes the extracted email addresses)
Maeng teaches store mapping information … in the message storing space. (Maeng ¶ 0024: The message DB 110 includes a name field, an original phone number field (o_number), and a current phone number field (c_number); see also Maeng ¶ 0020)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the phone record management of Maeng.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Maeng also performing record retrieval and display but with differing synchronization modes.
Regarding claim 13, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches:
display a phone number which are communicated at least once, together with communication detail information comprising at least one of a communication time, a communication type, or a number of communications, as a search result on the touch display. (Scott FIGs. 3-6, ¶ 0057: the dialing screen 302 also includes a status bar 312 which displays information such as the current date and time, icon-based notifications, device status and/or device state [shows communication time; fulfills claim limitation due to alternative 'at least one of ... or' language] || Scott ¶ 0038: The device 201 may comprise a touchscreen display in some embodiments. The touchscreen display may be constructed using a touch-sensitive input surface connected to an electronic controller and which overlays the display screen 204)
Regarding claim 15, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches:
based on a user input selecting the found contact information displayed as the search result, provide a user interface for transmitting a text message to the selected contact information. (Scott FIG. 9, ¶ 0129-0133: the processor 240 performs a local lookup operation of the personal address book 274 (step 904) using the input in the address field as the search term; The returned contact information may be displayed with the contact names of contact records from the personal address book 274 (step 912) which match the input in the address field; The user can then add further contacts in one or more address fields, add a subject in the subject field, and add a message body in the body portion 608 in the normal way ... After the completion of the message composition, the device user can send the message to the selected recipients (contacts) specified in the address field(s) using the wireless network 101 in the normal way)
Regarding claim 16, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 above including:
based on a user input selecting the found contact information displayed as the search result, provide a user interface for starting a call to the selected contact information. (Maeng ¶ 0034: When the detail view option is opted, the terminal displays the unchanged phone number on an area that displays a sending phone number, and displays that the unchanged phone number is changed in step 213; ¶ 0036-0037: When the linking operation is opted, the terminal displays a pop-up message to ask the user whether the user opts changing the unchanged phone number into the changed phone number in step 217 ... When, in step 219, the user opts changing the unchanged phone number into the changed phone number, the terminal stores the changed phone number in the original phone number field in step 221. The terminal performs the linking operation to the changed phone number stored in the current phone number field; see Maeng describing 'linking operations' as including 'calls' in ¶ 0020: When a linking operation associated with a specific message (e.g., a reply to the specific message or a call connection) is opted by the user, the control unit 100 controls and processes a function for performing the linking operation to a phone number changed through the synchronization mode)
Regarding claim 18, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 above including:
based on receiving, via the touch display, the second user input which selects the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result to add the selected phone number to a phonebook, store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space. (Daniell 546 FIG. 40, ¶ 0186: displaying presence data for a secondary domain in an email interface … a domain search window 4070 can be displayed with the address(es) revealed in the search … Once the sender selects the desired address(es) in domain search window 4070, the address can be added to the associated recipient line, and in some embodiments, updated in the sender's address book; see also Daniell 546 FIG. 45, ¶ 0195: the client device can strip the domain from the associated address (block 4536) and compare the stripped address to at least one address at a different domain (block 4538) ... the client device can determine whether a desired address is found (block 4540). If a desired address is found, the client device can add the new address to the address book (block 4542); see relevant Daniell 546 ¶ 0118: this email address 1320 is stored in the address book database 110 so that it is correlated to the contact identifier 1310 for that contact ... Phone numbers 1340, fax numbers 1350, etc. are similarly stored in the address book database 110)
Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Daniell 514 in further view of Maeng in further view of Daniell 546.
Regarding claim 17, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above including:
based on receiving, via the touch display, the second user input which selects the phone number ... displayed on the touch display as the search result to add the selected phone number to a phonebook, storing the selected phone number ... into the phonebook storing space. (Scott FIGs. 3C-3E, ¶ 0071- 0072: The returned contact information 329 may be in the form of contact records, which may be a reduced or optimized format of the contact records in the global address book 134 or contact database 140 which is suitable for and compatible with the personal address book 274; the returned contact information 329 may be added to the personal address book 274 via respective user input; The prompt requests user input as to which one of any two or more of following operations should be performed: replacing the contact record; updating the contact record; adding a new contact record; cancelling the operation)
Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng does not expressly disclose the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result.
Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng further does not expressly disclose to store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space.
However, Daniell 546 addresses this by teaching:
based on receiving, via the touch display, the second user input which selects the phone number of the sender of the found message displayed on the touch display as the search result to add the selected phone number to a phonebook, store the selected phone number stored in the message storing space into the phonebook storing space. (Daniell 546 FIG. 40, ¶ 0186: displaying presence data for a secondary domain in an email interface … a domain search window 4070 can be displayed with the address(es) revealed in the search … Once the sender selects the desired address(es) in domain search window 4070, the address can be added to the associated recipient line, and in some embodiments, updated in the sender's address book; see also Daniell 546 FIG. 45, ¶ 0195: the client device can strip the domain from the associated address (block 4536) and compare the stripped address to at least one address at a different domain (block 4538) ... the client device can determine whether a desired address is found (block 4540). If a desired address is found, the client device can add the new address to the address book (block 4542); see relevant Daniell 546 ¶ 0118: this email address 1320 is stored in the address book database 110 so that it is correlated to the contact identifier 1310 for that contact ... Phone numbers 1340, fax numbers 1350, etc. are similarly stored in the address book database 110)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the call record management of Scott as modified with the secondary domain functionality of Daniell 546.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Daniell 546) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Daniell 546also performing record retrieval and display but with the use of secondary domains to ultimately derive user presence information.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to more accurately determine if retrieved addresses are associated with a desired recipient as seen in Daniell 546 ¶ 0186.
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng in further view of Lai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0209871 (previously utilized in the rejection of the independent claims; hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 6, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above.
Scott teaches to display … on the touch display. (Scott ¶ 0038: The device 201 may comprise a touchscreen display in some embodiments. The touchscreen display may be constructed using a touch-sensitive input surface connected to an electronic controller and which overlays the display screen 204)
Lai teaches to display a name tagged image related to the found contact information together with the found contact information on … the display. (Lai ¶ 0023: for a well known sender, the presented information can be limited to basic information about a person such as name, email, and phone number. It serves the purpose of providing the user easy access to the contact information of people whom the user interacts with frequently. For an unknown sender, the presented information can include contact information, photo, geography, and job description)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the contact/call record management of Scott as modified with the email record management of Lai.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Lai) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Lai also performing record retrieval and display but with the addition of providing useful contextual information, including basic information of a well-known entity or thorough information of an unknown entity.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved email systems that automatically generate relevant content in context without requiring users to leave the application as in Lai ¶ 0004.
Claim 14 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng in further view of Lai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0209871 (previously utilized in the rejection of the independent claims; hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 14, Scott in view of Daniell 514 and Daniell 546 and Maeng teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 above.
Scott teaches to display … on the touch display. (Scott ¶ 0038: The device 201 may comprise a touchscreen display in some embodiments. The touchscreen display may be constructed using a touch-sensitive input surface connected to an electronic controller and which overlays the display screen 204)
Lai teaches to display a name tagged image related to the found contact information together with the found contact information on … the display. (Lai ¶ 0023: for a well known sender, the presented information can be limited to basic information about a person such as name, email, and phone number. It serves the purpose of providing the user easy access to the contact information of people whom the user interacts with frequently. For an unknown sender, the presented information can include contact information, photo, geography, and job description)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the functioning of the contact/call record management of Scott as modified with the email record management of Lai.
In addition, both of the references (Scott as modified and Lai) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as device management of user contact information.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of the record retrieval and display shown in Scott as modified with similar reference Lai also performing record retrieval and display but with the addition of providing useful contextual information, including basic information of a well-known entity or thorough information of an unknown entity.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved email systems that automatically generate relevant content in context without requiring users to leave the application as in Lai ¶ 0004.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lecciso et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0227328, “Method For Identifying Potentially Fraudulent Usage Of A User Identifier”; see Lecciso ¶ 0013, “The server will be able to reconcile name and surname of accounts, considering trivial mistakes, variations, nicknames, diminutives, etc., and based on other information that may be available on users' address books (e.g. accounts in Skype, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc.)”; relevant to at least the independent claim limitations involving using a search keyword and using contact information stored in a phonebook storing space.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2153 January 9, 2026
/KRIS E MACKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153