DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaser (US 3673653).
Regarding claim 1, Kaser discloses a chip former 48 for directing material 56 cut from a workpiece. The chip former comprises a body having a top side, a bottom side a front side, a back side, a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 3). The front side consists of a surface forming a linear wall (trailing half portion of surface 51 that adjoins 53) extending uniformly between the first end and the second end at an angled incline running from the first end to the second end. A section of the surface 53 has a concave geometry configured to direct material that comes off of a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Kaser discloses the front side including a ramp (50 and leading half portion of surface 51) sloping at an angle from an edge of the bottom side and terminating at the surface forming the wall.
Regarding claim 4, Kaser discloses the ramp configured with a first incline 50 at a first end and a second incline 51 at a second end opposite the first end.
Regarding claim 5, Kaser discloses the ramp being configured with at least one peak (intersection of 50 & 51) formed thereon.
Regarding claim 7, Kaser discloses the body being configured for disposal proximate to an insert 5 configured to cut material from the workpiece (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kaser discloses the chip former body being configured with a protrusion (intersection of 55 & 53) extending from where the front side of the body adjoins with the top side of the body.
Regarding claim 10, Kaser discloses a method for directing material cut from a workpiece comprising disposing a chip former 48 in proximity to material 56 coming off of a workpiece. The chip former comprises a body having a top side, a bottom side a front side, a back side, a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 3). The front side consists of a surface forming a linear wall (trailing half portion of surface 51 that adjoins 53) extending uniformly between the first end and the second end at an angled incline running from the first end to the second end. A section of the surface 53 has a concave geometry. Material is accumulated at the front side of the chip former body as the material comes off of the workpiece (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kaser discloses the front side including a ramp (50 and leading half portion of surface 51) sloping at an angle from an edge of the bottom side and terminating at the surface forming the wall.
Regarding claim 13, Kaser discloses the ramp configured with a first incline 50 at a first end and a second incline 51 at a second end opposite the first end.
Regarding claim 14, Kaser discloses the ramp being configured with at least one peak (intersection of 50 & 51) formed thereon.
Regarding claim 16, Kaser discloses the body being configured for disposal proximate to an insert 5 configured to cut material from the workpiece (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kaser discloses the chip former body being configured with a protrusion (intersection of 55 & 53) extending from where the front side of the body adjoins with the top side of the body.
Regarding claim 19, Kaser discloses a method for directing material from a workpiece comprising disposing a chip former 48 in proximity to a workpiece to receive material 56 coming off the workpiece. The chip former comprises a body having a top side, a bottom side a front side, a back side, a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 3). The front side consists of a surface forming a linear wall (trailing half portion of surface 51 that adjoins 53) extending uniformly between the first end and the second end at an angled incline running from the first end to the second end. A section of the surface 53 has a concave geometry configured to direct material that comes off of a workpiece.
Regarding claim 20, Kaser discloses the body being configured with a protrusion (intersection of 55 & 53) extending from where the front side of the body adjoins with the top side of the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaser (US 3673653) in view of Cave (US 4123194).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Kaser does not disclose the claimed groove in the bottom side of the body.
Cave discloses a similar chip former body 10, wherein the bottom surface is provided with at least one groove 40.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the bottom surface of the chip former body of Kaser by providing the at least one groove taught by Cave in order to provide coolant to the workpiece.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaser (US 3673653) in view of Proska (US 2860402).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Kaser discloses the front edge of the ramp 50 being situated at an undisclosed angle with respect to the bottom side of the body.
Proska discloses a similar cutting tool wherein the chip clamp/former appears to have a 90 degree angle with respect to the bottom side of the body (see e.g. Figs. 8 & 15). While not explicitly disclosed, Proska at least suggests such an orientation.
Therefore, with the undisclosed angle of Kaser, and the suggestion of a 90 degree front surface of the body as taught by Proska, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the surface at the front side of the body to be at an angle of 90 degrees to the bottom side of the body. Such a modification would be made in order to provide the optimum chip forming/breaking properties to the chip former.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaser (US 3673653) in view of Lach et al. (DE 19937740, hereinafter ‘Lach’).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Kaser does not disclose the body and insert being a unitary structure.
Lach discloses a similar tool, wherein the chip former 14 and insert 12 for cutting material from the workpiece are brazed/welded together to form a unitary structure (Paragraphs [0009-0010] of the English translation provided earlier in prosecution).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the chip former/body and insert of Kaser as a unitary structure as taught by Lach, to ensure that the chip former is always in the appropriate position to form chips cut from the workpiece and is not vibrated loose during the heavy loads and vibrations experienced during machining operations. See also MPEP 2144.04, V, B.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722