DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 11, and 19, with subsequent amendments to dependent claims 2-7, 12-16, and 20, arguing that the amendments traverse the rejection of claims 1-7, 11-16, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant has further cancelled claims 8-10 and 17-18 to incorporate their subject matter into independent claims 1, 11, and 19. Applicant’s last response does not include any arguments against the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1, 11, and 19 recite the limitation “resistance at the one or more first resistors and the resistance at the one or more second resistors with a threshold”, wherein the inventor does not distinctly claim which resistance is being compared to the threshold. It is unclear if the first resistor is being compared to the threshold, the second resistor is being compared to the threshold, the combined resistance of the first resistor and the second resistor is being compared to the threshold, or both the first resistor and the second resistor are individually being compared to a threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughan et al (US 20170274792 A1) as modified by Gale et al (US 20160096433 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Vaughan teaches a system, comprising: a first one or more first resistors connected to a first terminal of a first direct current bus of a first charger, (¶0017 “power buses 140A-B are coupled with the DC output terminal 135, which itself is coupled with the EVSE 150A over the output 152A (corresponding with the power bus 140A) and coupled with the dispenser 150B over the output 152B (corresponding with the power bus 140B)", ¶0082 " isolation detect module 865 manages the isolation sensor 825 to detect whether the circuits are isolated. For instance, with respect to a DC output, rail isolation is the resistance between each DC rail and ground including any measuring device")
the first charger configured to deliver power to a first electric vehicle; (EVSE 150A and EV 170A respectively)
one or more second resistors in parallel with the one or more first resistors, the one or more second resistors connected to a second terminal of a second direct current bus of a second charger, (¶0017 “power buses 140A-B are coupled with the DC output terminal 135, which itself is coupled with the EVSE 150A over the output 152A (corresponding with the power bus 140A) and coupled with the dispenser 150B over the output 152B (corresponding with the power bus 140B)", ¶0082 " isolation detect module 865 manages the isolation sensor 825 to detect whether the circuits are isolated. For instance, with respect to a DC output, rail isolation is the resistance between each DC rail and ground including any measuring device")
and the second charger configured to deliver power to a second electric vehicle: (EVSE 150B and EV 170B respectively)
and a controller (¶0081 "dispenser 800 includes the operating system 810 that is coupled with the embedded microcontroller 815")
comprising circuitry configured to: determine (i) a resistance at the first one or more first resistors (¶0082 " isolation detect module 865 manages the isolation sensor 825 to detect whether the circuits are isolated. For instance, with respect to a DC output, rail isolation is the resistance between each DC rail and ground including any measuring device")
and control delivery of power to both the first electric vehicle and the second electric vehicle responsive to a comparison of the resistance at the first one or more first resistors and the resistance at the one or more second resistors with a threshold. (¶0078 "The dispenser 800 will terminate a charge when the isolation of either rail to ground is under a certain amount.", ¶0081 “FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary dispenser according to an embodiment. The dispensers 150A-D may take the form of the dispenser 800”)
Vaughan does not teach a system comprising a controller comprising circuitry configured to: determine (i) a resistance at the first one or more first resistors and (ii) a resistance at the one or more second resistors; and control delivery of power to both the first electric vehicle and the second electric vehicle responsive to a comparison of the resistance at the first one or more first resistors and the resistance at the one or more second resistors with a threshold.
Gale teaches an electrical isolation bus comprising a first one or more resistors connected to a first terminal of a first direct current bus of a charger (¶0021 "A leakage resistance 41 represents the level of isolation between positive bus 31 and chassis 40"),
a controller comprising circuitry configured to: determine (i) a resistance at the first one or more first resistors (¶0022 "Controller circuit 47 may include a microcontroller such as in a battery energy controller module", ¶0029 “[FIG 7] step 73, leakage resistances R.sub.LP and R.sub.LM are calculated. The smaller of the two resistances is chosen in step 74 in order to identify a worst-case bus leakage resistance”)
and (ii) a resistance at the one or more second resistors; (¶0022 "Controller circuit 47 may include a microcontroller such as in a battery energy controller module", ¶0029 “[FIG 7] step 73, leakage resistances R.sub.LP and R.sub.LM are calculated. The smaller of the two resistances is chosen in step 74 in order to identify a worst-case bus leakage resistance”)
and control delivery of power to both the first electric vehicle responsive to a comparison of the resistance at the first one or more first resistors with a threshold. (¶0030 “step 76, the isolation value is compared to an isolation threshold. If less ii) than the threshold, then the invention signals an atypical condition in step 77”)
The system for charging an electric vehicle as taught by Vaughan, uses an electrical isolation bus attached to each EVSE 150. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system for charging an electric vehicle as taught by Vaughan to use the electrical isolation bus as taught by Gale for the purpose of protecting users from electric shock and safeguarding sensitive components from damage.
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 11 and as applied to a system to deliver power to electric vehicles for claim 19.
Regarding claim 2, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale does not teach a system wherein the first one or more first resistors comprise: a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor.
Gale further teaches a system wherein the first one or more first resistors comprise: a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor. (¶0021 "a balanced leakage resistance, 43a ").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the system, as taught by Vaughan as modified by Gale, wherein the first one or more resistors comprise: a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor, as taught by Gale, for the purpose of adding redundancy to ensure electrical isolation of the high-voltage components and protecting users from electric shock and safeguarding sensitive components from damage.
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 12.
Regarding claim 3, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale does not teach a system comprising: the first one or more first resistors comprising a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor, wherein the threshold is set equal to a predetermined resistance of the first resistor in parallel with the second resistor.
Gale further teaches a system comprising: the first one or more first resistors comprising a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor, (¶0021 "a balanced leakage resistance, 43a ")
wherein the threshold is set equal to a predetermined resistance of the first resistor in parallel with the second resistor. (Equations 2 and 3, ¶0030 "step 76, the isolation value is compared to an isolation threshold").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the system, as taught by Vaughan as modified by Gale, to comprise a first one or more resistors comprising a first resistor connected in parallel with a second resistor wherein the threshold is set equal to a predetermined resistance of the first resistor in parallel with the second resistor, as taught by Gale, for the purpose of indicating a safe level of isolation between the high-voltage components and the ground for safe operation.
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale further teaches a system comprising the controller to: measure the resistance at the first one or more resistors is less than the threshold; (Vaughan ¶0078 "The dispenser 800 will terminate a charge when the isolation of either rail to ground is under a certain amount.", Gale ¶0030 “step 76, the isolation value is compared to an isolation threshold. If less ii) than the threshold, then the invention signals an atypical condition in step 77”)
Vaughan as modified by Gale does not teach a system comprising the controller to trigger an alert responsive to the resistance at the first one or more first resistors being less than the threshold.
Gale further teaches a system comprising the controller to trigger an alert responsive to the resistance at the first one or more first resistors being less than the threshold. (110030 "step 76, the isolation value is compared to an isolation threshold. If less ii) than the threshold, then the invention signals an atypical condition in step 77 (e.g., by notifying the driver or disconnecting power to the high-voltage buses)").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the system, as taught by Vaughan as modified by Gale, to trigger an alert responsive to the resistance at the first one or more resistors being less than the threshold, as taught by Gale, for the purpose of alerting a user of a potential safety hazard.
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale further teaches a system comprising the controller to: determine that the resistance at the first one or more first resistors is less than the threshold; (Vaughan ¶0078 "The dispenser 800 will terminate a charge when the isolation of either rail to ground is under a certain amount.", Gale ¶0030 “step 76, the isolation value is compared to an isolation threshold. If less ii) than the threshold, then the invention signals an atypical condition in step 77”)
and prevent delivery of power to the first electric vehicle responsive to the determination that the resistance at the first one or more first resistors is less than the threshold. (Vaughan ¶0078 "The dispenser 800 will terminate a charge when the isolation of either rail to ground is under a certain amount.")
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 15 and as applied to a system to deliver power to electric vehicles for claim 20.
Regarding claim 6, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale further teaches a system comprising the controller (Vaughan PCU 120) to: receive an indication that the first electric vehicle is coupled to the first charger; (Vaughan ¶0026 "dispenser can charge the connected electric vehicle. The requesting dispenser may send a command to each one of the selected available power modules 115A-L directly (which may be relayed by the PCU 120) ")
and measure, prior to delivery of power to the first electric vehicle and responsive to the indication, the resistance at the first one or more first resistors. (Vaughan ¶0078 "The dispenser 800 will terminate a charge when the isolation of either rail to ground is under a certain amount.")
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, Vaughan as modified by Gale teaches the system of claim 1. Vaughan as modified by Gale does not teach a system comprising the controller to: measure the resistance at the first one or more first resistors based on a time interval.
Gale further teaches a system comprising the controller to: measure the resistance at the first one or more first resistors based on a time interval. (¶0026 "R.sub.lp and R.sub.lm can further be used to separate the balanced and unbalanced components of the resistances so that the components can be monitored over time in order to detect or predict certain potential failures").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the system, as taught by Vaughan as modified by Gale, to measure the resistance at the first one or more resistors based on a time interval, as taught by Gale, for the purpose of continually monitoring the electrical isolation of high-voltage components to increase safety during high-voltage charging operation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859