DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: a colon is required after the word “position” in the third line from the bottom. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, the word “continuous” is better as “continuously” for better grammar and form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Block et al (US 7,762,454 B2) in view of Ando ‘292 and further in view of Su et al (CN 111784904 B).
Regarding Claim 11, Block teaches
a media handling device, i.e., automated banking machine/ATM (10) as illustrated in figure 1, for example, comprising:
a media depository/recycler, noting the mention of deposits and dispensing of cash being performed by the ATM, as mentioned in col. 1, lines 31-45, for example;
a media infeed/outfeed module, i.e., delivery area (52) and deposit area (58), as mentioned in col. 10, line 57-col. 11, line 19, that comprises a media deposit/dispense slot, i.e., recessed pockets (56 and 60) accessible
through an aperture on an outside surface, i.e., first and second fascia portions (20, 22) as illustrated in figures 2 and 3, for example, of the media handling device (10);
a fan, i.e., blower (182) as illustrated in figure 9;
a tube, i.e,. duct (184) as illustrated in figure 9; and
a shutter blade, i.e., rear of chest portion (16) as illustrated in figure 9, comprising:
a hollow interior compartment, i.e., the interior of upper housing area (14) and chest portion (16) as illustrated in figure 9, adapted to house air;
an air vent, i.e, air cooling opening (160), as illustrated in figure 6, for example, adapted to expel air from the hollow interior compartment (14, 16); and
an air inlet, i.e., air opening (180) adapted to provide access to the hollow interior compartment (14, 16);
wherein the fan (182) and the air inlet (14, 16) are attached by the tube (184);
wherein the fan (182) is adapted to force air into the hollow interior compartment (14, 16) of the shutter blade (16) when the shutter blade (16) is in an open position.
Regarding Claim 11, Block does not expressly teach
a media infeed/outfeed module, interpreted as a combined media infeed outfeed module rather than two individual modules.
Regarding Claim 11, Block does not expressly teach, but Ando teaches
a media infeed/outfeed module, interpreted as a combined media infeed outfeed module rather than two individual modules, i.e., insertion/withdrawal unit (1), as mentioned at paragraphs 26 and 27 and as illustrated in figure 1, showing also taking-in conveyance section (40) and discharge conveyance section (50), which is part of the complete module, for example. Note also shutter/blade (70), as illustrated in figure 1. See also figures 2a-2c showing the operation of the deposit/infeed and withdrawal/outfeed operations.
Regarding Claim 11, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have substituted a media infeed/outfeed module, as taught by Ando, for Block’s separated infeed and outfeed modules for the purpose of reducing the amount of parts required for assembly as well as for reducing confusion of users between two separate infeed and outfeed units.
Regarding Claim 11, Block does not expressly teach
wherein the air vent is situated above the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module when the shutter blade is in the open position to force air provided by the fan air away from the aperture and to present debris from entering the aperture when the shutter blade is in the open position
wherein the shutter blade covers the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module when the shutter blade in a closed position.
Regarding Claim 11, Block does not expressly teach, but Su teaches
a media handling device, i.e., the banknote transportation devices such as conveyor belts (112, 114, 54) within machine/ATM body (1) as illustrated in figure 3, for example, comprising:
a media depository/recycler, noting the mention of deposits and withdrawals being performed by the ATM, as mentioned at abstract, for example;
a media infeed/outfeed module, i.e., construed as the area underneath shutter/gate (2, 11) as illustrated in figure 4, for example;
a shutter module (2, 11, 21), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a fan, i.e., rotating blade (41) within wind collecting shell (35), as illustrated in figures 5-8;
a tube, i.e., air outside shell, i.e., air outlet cavity (38), air outlet (39) and air outlet shell (40) as illustrated in figures 5-8; and
a shutter blade, i.e., gate (2) with supporting plate (21), as illustrated in figures 1-4, comprising:
a hollow interior compartment adapted to house air, noting the internal deposit/withdrawal module is construed as holding air;
an air vent, i.e., air outlet (39), as illustrated in figures 5-8, adapted to expel air from the hollow interior compartment; and
an air inlet, i.e., air inlet (37), as illustrated in figures 5-8, for example, adapted to provide access to the hollow interior compartment;
wherein the fan (35, 41) and the air inlet (37) are attached by the tube (38-40);
wherein the fan (35, 41) is adapted to force air into the hollow interior compartment of the shutter blade (2, 21) when the shutter blade (2, 21) is in an open position;
wherein the air vent (39) is situated above the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module, noting the slot located underneath shutter blade (2, 21), as illustrated in figure 4, when the shutter blade (2, 21) is in the open position to force air provided by the fan air, i.e., rotating blade (41) within wind collecting shell (35), as illustrated in figures 5-8, away from the aperture and to present debris from entering the aperture when the shutter blade (2, 21) is in the open position,
wherein the shutter blade (2, 21) covers the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module when the shutter blade in a closed position, as illustrated in figure 3, for example.
Regarding Claim 11, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the air vent is situated above the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module when the shutter blade is in the open position to force air provided by the fan air away from the aperture and to present debris from entering the aperture when the shutter blade is in the open position
wherein the shutter blade covers the aperture for the media deposit/dispense slot of the media infeed/outfeed module when the shutter blade in a closed position,
as taught by Su, in Block’s shutter module for the purpose of enabling proper cooling or heating or ventilation of the internal contents as required to combat environmental issues.
Regarding Claim 16, Block does not expressly teach wherein the fan is adapted to continuous/continuously run and pump air into the hollow interior compartment when the shutter blade is in the open position and when the shutter blade is in the closed position.
Regarding Claim 16, Block does not expressly teach, but Su teaches wherein the fan (41) is adapted to continuous/continuously run and pump air into the hollow interior compartment when the shutter blade (2, 21) is in the open position and when the shutter blade is in the closed position, noting that the shutter blade (2, 21) as illustrated in figures 3 and 4 showing both open and closed positions, for example.
Regarding Claim 17, Block teaches wherein the media handling device, i.e., conveyors (54, 112, 114) as illustrated in figure 3, is a peripheral to a transaction terminal, i.e., ATM (1) that performs currency-based transactions, as mentioned at col. 5, lines 18-30.
Regarding Claim 18, Block teaches wherein the transaction terminal (1) is an
automated teller machine (1), a self-service terminal, a point-of-sale terminal, or a kiosk, as mentioned in col. 1, lines 31-62, for example.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Block et al (US 7,762,454 B2) in view of Ando ‘292, further in view of Su et al (CN 111784904 B) and further in view of Secor (US 2012/0046792 A1).
Regarding Claims 12, 13, 15 and 19, Block teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 12, Block does not expressly teach
wherein the shutter blade further includes:
a pressure gauge; and
a pressure inlet adapted to provide access to the hollow interior compartment;
wherein the pressure gauge and the pressure inlet are attached by a second tube.
Regarding Claim 12, Block does not expressly teach, but Secor teaches
wherein the shutter blade further includes:
a pressure gauge, i.e., pressure sensor module (1102) as illustrated in figure 11c; and
a pressure inlet adapted to provide access to the hollow interior compartment, i.e., the hole in the wall of air duct (1131), as mentioned in paragraph 205, first two sentences, for example;
wherein the pressure gauge (1102) and the pressure inlet, i.e., the hole, are attached by a second tube, i.e., pitot tube (1141) as illustrated in figure 11c, as mentioned at paragraphs 205 and 213, which state as follows.
[0204] FIG. 11(c) illustrates differential pressure sensor module 1101 attached via included magnet 1113 to the side of an air duct. An industry standard probe 1132, a static tip, is inserted through a hole in the wall of duct 1131 and oriented into the airstream such that the static pressure of the duct is present at probe output port 1134. A flexible hose is connected between port 1134 and sensor module port 1111. The sensor module then measures the difference between the pressure of the air in the duct and the pressure of the air outside the duct. The result, e.g., 1.25 inches of water column, is sent wirelessly to control module 110.
[0205] Also in FIG. 11(c), differential pressure sensor module 1102, with four ports, is attached via included magnets to the side of air duct 1131. An industry standard probe 1141, a Pitot tube, is inserted through a hole in the wall of duct 1131 and oriented into the airstream. Pitot tube 1141 has two output ports, and there are two differential pressures typically of interest to users. Connected to the static pressure port is flexible hose 1142, which is connected to sensor module 1102 ports 1121 and 1123. Another flexible hose 1143 is connected to sensor module 1102 port 1124. In this configuration, the sensor module transmits two results of interest to control module 110. Duct static pressure is the difference between sensor module ports 1121 and 1122. Velocity pressure is the difference between sensor module ports 1123 and 1124.
[0213] Pressure differences are created by adjusting fan speeds and dampers to adjust the volume of supply air and return air for each space. The fans and dampers may be located at quite some distance from the points being measured. The pressures are interrelated, so adjusting one fan or damper can affect two or more room-to-room pressures. A conventional differential pressure sensor, usually held near a door by a technician using two hands, can measure only one or two differential pressures at a time, and the result is nowhere near the point of control, the fan or damper. The user records the measurement, moves to the point of control, makes and adjustment, and returns to make another measurement. The HVAC system is often organized such that the room characteristics are interrelated. An adjustment of one fan may affect two or three rooms, causing rooms that were in spec to go out of spec. Then the process begins again. The current industry method involves a long, drawn-out series of measurements and adjustments.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 12, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the shutter blade further includes:
a pressure gauge; and
a pressure inlet adapted to provide access to the hollow interior compartment;
wherein the pressure gauge and the pressure inlet are attached by a second tube,
as taught by Secor, in Block’s shutter module for the purpose of controlling proper cooling, heating or ventilation of the internal contents as required to combat environmental issues.
Regarding Claim 13, Block does not expressly teach wherein the media handling device is configured to monitor pressures of the hollow interior compartment against a range of threshold pressures using the pressure gauge when the shutter blade is in the closed position.
Regarding Claim 13, Block does not expressly teach, but Secor teaches wherein the media handling device is configured to monitor pressures of the hollow interior compartment, i.e., interpreted as the interior of the duct (1131) as illustrated in figure 11c, for example, against a range of threshold pressures, i.e., two differential pressures of interest to users, as mentioned in the third sentence of paragraph 205, and noting that there are necessarily several pressures experienced by the system, using the pressure gauge (1102) when the shutter blade is in the closed position, noting that such a condition would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have controlled the pressures so as to control the balance of the internal pressures to the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Block does not expressly teach wherein the media handling device is further configured to activate and deactivate the fan to establish a configured pressure within the hollow interior compartment of the shutter blade when the shutter blade is in the closed position using the pressure gauge.
Regarding Claim 15, Block does not expressly teach, but Secor teaches wherein the media handling device, as taught by Block, is further configured to activate and deactivate the fan to establish a configured pressure within the hollow interior compartment of the shutter blade, as taught by Su, when the shutter blade is in the closed position using the pressure gauge, as taught by Secor.
Regarding Claim 19, see the rejection of Claims 11 and 12, above.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Block et al (US 7,762,454 B2) in view of Ando ‘292, further in view of Su et al (CN 111784904 B), further in view of Secor (US 2012/0046792 A1) and further in view of Kwon (KR 200379635 Y1).
Regarding Claims 14 and 20, Block teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 14, Block does not expressly teach
wherein the media handling device is further configured to process a security action when a current pressure of the hollow interior compartment deviates from the range indicating that the media deposit/dispense slot is potentially being tampered with.
Regarding Claim 14, Block does not expressly teach, but Kwon teaches
wherein the media handling device, i.e., ATM (1201) with cash store unit (1301), is further configured to process a security action, i.e., alarm information transmitted via server (160) to a security company, when a current pressure of the hollow interior compartment, i.e., sensed via pressure sensor (240), deviates from the range indicating that the media deposit/dispense slot is potentially being tampered with, as mentioned in the English Translation as follows.
GPS receiver 232 receives a GPS code to a transmitting GPS satellite 110, and provides it to the control unit 234. Control unit 234 of the first cash storage unit 1301 has a first cash store unit 1301, the first case is mounted on an automatic teller machine 1201 is provided with a first provided by each predetermined time GPS receiver 232 when the calculating the current position from the GPS code and sent to the server 160 of the security company to generate first position information, a first cash store unit 1301 is removable from the first automatic teller machine 1201, the second every predetermined time calculating the current position from the GPS code provided by the GPS receiver 232 generates the second position information, and transmits to the server 160 of the security company. In addition, the control unit 234 when the pressure sensor 240 is sensing a pressure equal to or greater than a predetermined value from the outside, to generate the alarm information and the second position information is transmitted to the server 160 of the security company. By power source 238 to charge the first and supply a driving power to each section of the cash storage unit 1301, a battery as a driving power supplied from the power supply section 224 of the first automatic teller machine 1201 includes a rechargeable battery, It allows the leg to move the first cash storage unit 1301 can operate normally. The radio transmitter 236 transmits the first and second location information, the alarm information supplied from the controller 234 over the wireless network to the server 160 of the security company. Timer 242 generates time information by counting the current time and provides it to the control unit 234. Pressure sensor 240 senses the pressure from the outside and provides the sensing result to the controller 234. The Memory unit 244 stores such information for the identification information, the first and second predetermined time, and stores a variety of information, in particular the first cash storage unit 1301 including a processing program of the controller 234, . Cash storage device mounted sensor unit 226 senses that the first cash storage unit 1301 is physically attached to the first automatic teller machine 1201 and provides the sensing result to the controller 234. The Here, the cash storage unit attached sensor unit 226 is of a predetermined switch type sensor, as well as a sensor means of various methods such as photo sensor can be employed.
If the second predetermined time has not elapsed, the control unit 234 checks whether the external pressure is sensed that exceeds a predetermined value by the pressure sensor 240 (step 532). If it is detected by an external pressure, the pressure sensor 240, exceeding a predetermined value, the control section 234 radio transmits an alarm message indicating the abnormal state of the cash storage unit to the security company server 160 (534 step). radio transmits an alarm message indicating the abnormal state of the cash storage unit to the security company server 160 (534 step).
If the second predetermined time elapses or an external pressure exceeding a predetermined value detected, the control unit 234 by using the GPS code received through the GPS receiving unit 232 detects the current location information (step 536).
The server 160 of the security provider checks whether the received alert messages from the cash storage devices such as external pressure sensing predetermined value or more reasons (step 642). When the alarm message is received from the cash storage unit, the server 160 of the security company is determined that the state of the cash storage unit 644 enters the abnormal phase.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 14, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the media handling device is further configured to process a security action when a current pressure of the hollow interior compartment deviates from the range indicating that the media deposit/dispense slot is potentially being tampered with, as taught by Kwon, in Block’s shutter module for the purpose of maintaining security of Block’s media handling device.
Regarding Claim 20, see the rejection of Claim 14, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Ogorevc ‘887 is cited as teaching a cooling device for a display including fan (2) and ducts (3, 8) that leads to an interior of the housing (7) with gills/vents (16), as illustrated in figures 1-5.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
February 7, 2026