DETAILED ACTION RCE
3. This action is in response claims filed on 07/02/26.
4. Claims 1-6 are under examination.
5. Claims 7-20 are canceled.
Drawing
6. The drawings filed on 09/29/22 are accepted by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments/amendments filed on 10/21/25, regarding to a 102 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive. See final office action mailed out on 03/09/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson et al. (hereinafter referred as Ericsson) NPL document, “Handling LBT failures” Chongqing, China, 14-18 Oct 2019 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of 3GPP et al. (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) NPL Document (Handling Consistent UL LBT failures) 24th Feb-6th Mar, 2020 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1: Ericsson discloses a terminal equipment (See Section 5.X; the UE performing a consistent LBT failure recovery), comprising:
a transmitter or a receiver (See Section 2.4; a User Equipment (UE) is equipped with a transceiver); and
processor (See Section 2.4; a User Equipment (UE) is equipped with a Controller/CPU/Processor) circuitry configured to, for an activated serving cell configured with ibt-FailureRecoveryConfig (See 5.X; the UE performing a consistent LBT failure recovery is located in the active serving in which an LBT-MAC is set. FailureRecoveryConfig when a consistent LBT failure recovery is configured on active BWP of the serving cell),
in response to occurrence of an event causing a scheduling request for LBT failure Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) to be triggered, reset a counter for consistent LBT failure detection (See Section 1, 2.2; The UE wilt report the occurrence of consistent UL LBT failures an PSCell and SCell. In the RLF report, the UE includes a failure cause indicating that the RLF was triggered due to occurrence of consistent UL LBT failures. If the reset of the MAC entity is requested by the upper layers, the MAC shall reset LBT counter).
Ericsson does not explicitly disclose a scheduling request for LBT failure Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) to be triggered.
However, 3GPP from the same field of endeavor discloses a scheduling request for LBT failure Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) to be triggered (See Section 2.4; LBT failure MAC CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a scheduling request for LBT failure Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) to be triggered as taught by Ericsson in the system of Vivo, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Ericsson and 3GPP disclose a terminal equipment.
Furthermore, Ericsson disclose the terminal equipment, wherein the event causing instructing a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate an LBT failure MAC CE comprises at least one of the following events that: upon reception of Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration or RRC reconfiguration for BWP switching (See Section 2.4 & 4; RRC reconfiguration for the SCell).
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Ericsson and 3GPP disclose a terminal equipment.
Furthermore, Ericsson disclose the terminal equipment, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to, in response to an event causing instructing a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate an LBT failure MAC CE, reset a counter for consistent LBT failure detection, and the event causing instructing a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate an LBT failure MAC CE comprises at least one of the following events that: consistent LBT failure has been triggered and not cancelled in a special cell (SpCell), and uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resources are available for a new transmission in the special cell and these UL-SCH resources can accommodate theLBT failure MAC CE plus its sub-header as a result of logical channel prioritization (LCP) (See Section 5.X.1 & 5.X.2; consistence LBT failure has been triggered, and not canceled, in the SPCell. UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission in the SPCell and these UL-SCH resources can accommodate the LBT failure MAC CE plus its subleader as a result of logical channel prioritization).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Ericsson and 3GPP disclose a terminal equipment.
Furthermore, Ericsson disclose the terminal equipment, wherein the event causing a scheduling request for LBT failure MAC CE to be triggered (See Section 3; Scheduling request is triggered to request resource for UL LBT failure MAC CE) comprises: consistent LBT failure has been triggered and not cancelled in at least one secondary cell, and uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resources are not available for a new transmission in a serving cell for which consistent LBT failure has not been triggered and these UL-SCH resources can accommodate the LBT failure MAC CE plus its sub-header as a result of logical channel prioritization (LCP) (See Section 5.X.1; consistence LBT failure has been triggered, and not canceled, in the SPCell. UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission in the SPCell and these UL-SCH resources can accommodate the LBT failure MAC CE plus its subleader as a result of logical channel prioritization).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Ericsson and 3GPP disclose a terminal equipment.
Furthermore, Ericsson disclose the terminal equipment, wherein reset a counter for consistent LBT failure detection comprises: set the counter to 0 (See Section 5.X; a LBT counter is set to 0).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Ericsson and 3GPP disclose a terminal equipment.
Furthermore, Ericsson disclose the terminal equipment, wherein, one of the lower layers of the terminal equipment is a physical layer (See Section 1; a physical layer).
Conclusion
10. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Lohr et al. 2025/0024500 A1 (Title: Techniques for listen before talk failure recovery for sidelink) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Jeong et al. 2024/0049286 A1 (Title: SL resource selection and reselection for SL transmission) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Kung et al. 2023/0199638 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for uplink time alignment in a wireless communication system) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469