DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 2/18/25, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Objections to the Specification: The appropriate corrections have been made to the specification. The specification objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 112: Claims 2 and 3 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The appropriate correction has been made for claim 2. The claim rejection for claims 2 and 3 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/25, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1 and 9, and dependent claims 2 – 8, and 10 – 19, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 11/22/2024 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang [CN 105979095]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang [CN 105979095], in view of Kodali [US 20130329637].
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches: A control method for network disconnection during screen off, [Wang, Fig. 4 discloses a method of prohibiting network use after a system sleep time N] applicable to a mobile device, [Wang, ¶2 “The present invention relates to the field of communication technologies, and in particular to a mobile terminal and an application power consumption control method.”] the control method comprising:
setting a network restriction list based on a plurality of applications of the mobile device, [Wang, Fig. 4 Graylist background applications teaches network restriction list; ¶96 “Graylist applications do not need to be cleared from memory, but their power consumption needs to be limited, such as … prohibiting them from using data services and WiFi network connections” discloses that graylist applications have their network connections restricted, therefore teaching: setting a network restriction list based on a plurality of applications of the mobile device]
wherein an application run in a background in the applications is excluded from the network restriction list; [Wang, Fig. 4 Whitelist background applications; ¶94-95 “(1)Automatically clean up all background applications that are not in the whitelist or graylist, so that other applications will not consume the terminal power; (2) No restrictions are imposed on whitelist applications. Whitelist applications are generally frequently used by users and usually require timely acquisition of new information. Therefore, whitelist applications are not cleaned up to meet user usage needs.” discloses the method of Fig. 4 involves closing all applications run in the background except for a whitelist and graylist, and that whitelist applications will have no restrictions, therefore teaching: wherein an application run in a background in the applications is excluded from the network restriction list]
determining, based on a system status of the mobile device, whether the system status meets a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time [Wang, Fig. 4 After System Sleep Time N; ¶93 “In summary, in the embodiment of the present invention, after the mobile terminal is in standby sleep mode for a set time N, as shown in FIG. 4, the following processing is performed” discloses the method of Fig. 4 is performed after meeting the condition that the device is in sleep mode for a set time N, therefore teaching: determining, based on a system status of the mobile device, whether the system status meets a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time]
… starting a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met, to restrict network connections of the applications in the network restriction list; [Wang, Fig. 4 Prohibit network use discloses that applications in the Greylist are subjected to power-saving operations, and the power-saving operations include prohibiting network use, therefore teaching: starting a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met, to restrict network connections of the applications in the network restriction list]
and maintaining the network connections when the trigger condition is not met [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses ending the restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: maintaining the network connections when the trigger condition is not met].
Wang fails to teach: … and there is no external power supply.
Kodali, in analogous art, teaches: [wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time,] and there is no external power supply [Kodali, ¶11 “In representative embodiments, the set of one or more inactivity trigger conditions further includes the mobile wireless device is not connected to an external power supply, the activity state of the display of the mobile wireless device is off, the mobile wireless device is not tethered by a wired connection to a computing device, or a combination of these.” discloses inactivity triggers includes the activity state of the display is off and the mobile device is not connected to an external power supply, therefore teaching: wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time, and there is no external power supply].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kodali. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Kodali includes adjusting connection states between a mobile wireless device and a wireless network upon detection of a prolonged period of inactivity at the mobile wireless device [Kodali, ¶2].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 1, wherein after the step of starting a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met, the control method further comprises: monitoring the system status and restoring the network connections once the system status does not meet the trigger condition. [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses after network restrictions have been applied to the graylist applications, ending the network restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: after the step of starting a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met, the control method further comprises: monitoring the system status and restoring the network connections once the system status does not meet the trigger condition].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 2, wherein a case that the system status does not meet the trigger condition is that the screen is turned on or there is an external power supply [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses after network restrictions have been applied to the graylist applications, ending the restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: wherein a case that the system status does not meet the trigger condition is that the screen is turned on].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 1.
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein the preset time is 1 minute.
However, Wang discloses a variable preset time of System Sleep Time N [Wang, Fig. 4 After System Sleep Time N; ¶93 “In summary, in the embodiment of the present invention, after the mobile terminal is in standby sleep mode for a set time N, as shown in FIG. 4, the following processing is performed” discloses the method of Fig. 4 is performed after meeting the condition that the device is in sleep mode for a set time N].
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the preset time as 1 minute based on the teachings of Wang, because the Applicant has not disclosed that the preset time of 1 minute provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the System Sleep Time N of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Wang and Kodali to obtain the feature as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches: A mobile device, [Wang, ¶2 “The present invention relates to the field of communication technologies, and in particular to a mobile terminal and an application power consumption control method.”] comprising:
a screen [Wang, Fig. 1 display unit 151]
a power supply unit; [Wang, Fig. 1 power supply unit 190]
a processor, electrically connected to the screen and the power supply unit, [Wang, Fig. 1 controller 180; ¶64 “Various embodiments described herein may be implemented in a computer-readable medium using, for example, computer software, hardware, or any combination thereof. For hardware implementation, the embodiments described herein may be implemented using … a processor, … and in some cases, such embodiments may be implemented in the controller 180.”]
wherein the processor sets a network restriction list based on a plurality of applications of the mobile device, [Wang, Fig. 4 Graylist background applications teaches network restriction list; ¶96 “Graylist applications do not need to be cleared from memory, but their power consumption needs to be limited, such as … prohibiting them from using data services and WiFi network connections” discloses that graylist applications have their network connections restricted, therefore teaching: sets a network restriction list based on a plurality of applications of the mobile device]
wherein an application run in a background in the applications is excluded from the network restriction list, [Wang, Fig. 4 Whitelist background applications; ¶94-95 “(1)Automatically clean up all background applications that are not in the whitelist or graylist, so that other applications will not consume the terminal power; (2) No restrictions are imposed on whitelist applications. Whitelist applications are generally frequently used by users and usually require timely acquisition of new information. Therefore, whitelist applications are not cleaned up to meet user usage needs.” discloses the method of Fig. 4 involves closing all applications run in the background except for a whitelist and graylist, and that whitelist applications will have no restrictions, therefore teaching: wherein an application run in a background in the applications is excluded from the network restriction list]
the processor determines, based on a system status of the mobile device, whether the system status meets a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time, [Wang, Fig. 4 After System Sleep Time N; ¶93 “In summary, in the embodiment of the present invention, after the mobile terminal is in standby sleep mode for a set time N, as shown in FIG. 4, the following processing is performed” discloses the method of Fig. 4 is performed after meeting the condition that the device is in sleep mode for a set time N, therefore teaching: determines, based on a system status of the mobile device, whether the system status meets a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time]
… and the processor starts a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met, [Wang, Fig. 4 Prohibit network use discloses that applications in the Greylist are subjected to power-saving operations, and the power-saving operations include prohibiting network use, therefore teaching: the processor starts a network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met]
and maintains the network connections when the trigger condition is not met; [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses ending the restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: maintains the network connections when the trigger condition is not met]
a storage unit, electrically connected to the processor, and configured to store the network restriction list and the trigger condition; [Wang, Fig. 1 memory 160]
and a firewall, electronically connected to the processor, wherein the firewall restricts network connections of the applications in the network restriction list according to the network disconnection mechanism [Wang, Fig. 1 controller 180; ¶64 “Various embodiments described herein may be implemented in a computer-readable medium using, for example, computer software, hardware, or any combination thereof. For hardware implementation, the embodiments described herein may be implemented using … a processor, … and in some cases, such embodiments may be implemented in the controller 180.”].
Wang fails to teach: … and the power supply unit does not have an external power supply.
Kodali, in analogous art, teaches: [wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time,] and the power supply unit does not have an external power supply [Kodali, ¶11 “In representative embodiments, the set of one or more inactivity trigger conditions further includes the mobile wireless device is not connected to an external power supply, the activity state of the display of the mobile wireless device is off, the mobile wireless device is not tethered by a wired connection to a computing device, or a combination of these.” discloses inactivity triggers includes the activity state of the display is off and the mobile device is not connected to an external power supply, therefore teaching: [wherein the trigger condition is that a screen of the mobile device is off for more than a preset time,] and the power supply unit does not have an external power supply].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kodali. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Kodali includes adjusting connection states between a mobile wireless device and a wireless network upon detection of a prolonged period of inactivity at the mobile wireless device [Kodali, ¶2].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9, wherein the processor monitors the system status after starting the network disconnection mechanism, and restores the network connections once the system status does not meet the trigger condition [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses after network restrictions have been applied to the graylist applications, ending the network restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: monitors the system status after starting the network disconnection mechanism, and restores the network connections once the system status does not meet the trigger condition ].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 10, wherein a case that the system status does not meet the trigger condition is that the screen is turned on or there is an external power supply [Wang, ¶96 “When the user uses the gray-listed application after waking up the system, the restrictions on the gray-listed application are lifted, network connection is enabled, sensor use and other functions are enabled, and application data is updated at the same time.” discloses after network restrictions have been applied to the graylist applications, ending the restrictions on the graylist applications when the graylist applications are used and the system is not asleep, therefore teaching: wherein a case that the system status does not meet the trigger condition is that the screen is turned on].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9.
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein the preset time is 1 minute.
However, Wang discloses a variable preset time of System Sleep Time N [Wang, Fig. 4 After System Sleep Time N; ¶93 “In summary, in the embodiment of the present invention, after the mobile terminal is in standby sleep mode for a set time N, as shown in FIG. 4, the following processing is performed” discloses the method of Fig. 4 is performed after meeting the condition that the device is in sleep mode for a set time N].
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the preset time as 1 minute based on the teachings of Wang, because the Applicant has not disclosed that the preset time of 1 minute provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the System Sleep Time N of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Wang and Kodali to obtain the feature as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9, further comprising a memory unit, electrically connected to the processor, and configured to store the applications [Wang, Fig. 1 memory 160, ¶83 “Furthermore, in this embodiment, the set whitelist applications and graylist applications may be stored in the memory 160 shown in FIG. 1.”].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 17, wherein the processor further comprises:
an application management module, electrically connected to the storage unit, the firewall, and the memory unit, [Wang, Fig. 1 controller 180] and configured to monitor the applications [Wang, ¶13 The grey list setting submodule is used to collect statistics on the usage of other applications except the white list applications within a set time period, and when the usage of the other applications reaches a set standard, the applications that meet the set standard are added to the grey list. discloses a grey list setting submodule that collects usage of applications] and set the network restriction list; [Wang, ¶8 “A setting module is used to set whitelist applications and greylist applications according to preset policies”]
and a system status monitoring module, electrically connected to the screen, the power supply unit, the storage unit, and the firewall, [Wang, Fig. 1 controller 180] wherein the system status monitoring module monitors the system status, [Wang, ¶15 “Optionally, the memory management module is specifically used to clear out the applications running in the background except the whitelist applications and the graylist applications from the memory and trigger the application management module after the mobile terminal enters standby sleep mode, if the standby sleep time reaches a set sleep time threshold.” discloses the memory management module monitoring when the mobile device enters standby sleep mode, therefore teaching: wherein the system status monitoring module monitors the system status] and starts the network disconnection mechanism when the trigger condition is met [Wang, ¶89-90 “The application management module 330 is used to prohibit one or more power-consuming operations of the gray-list applications running in the background after the mobile terminal is in standby or dormancy.
In this embodiment, the power-consuming operations include but are not limited to: … prohibiting applications from data services, prohibiting applications from using the network” discloses the application management module prohibits power-saving operations of applications in the gray list (wherein graylist teaches network restriction list), and power-saving operations include restricting network connections of applications.].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 18, wherein the application management module [Wang, Fig. 1 controller 180] is further electrically connected to a sound unit, [Wang, Fig. 1 A/V input unit 120] a sensing unit [Wang, Fig. 1 sensing unit 140] and a positioning unit, [Wang, Fig. 1 location information module 115] wherein the application management module monitors the sound unit, the sensing unit and the positioning unit [Wang, ¶62 “The controller 180 typically controls the overall operations of the mobile terminal.”].
Claims 4-5, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang [CN 105979095] in view of Kodali [US 20130329637] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chakra [US 20170123477].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 1 … the application is added to the network restriction list [Wang, ¶80-81 “The gray list setting submodule 312 is used to collect statistics on the usage of other applications except the white list applications within a set time period, and when the usage of other applications reaches a set standard, the applications that meet the set standard are added to the gray list.
In this embodiment, the gray list setting submodule 312 determines whether the usage of the application meets the set standard in the following manner: within a set time period, detecting the number of times the application is opened and/or the foreground usage time of the application; if the number of openings is greater than the set number threshold and/or the usage time is greater than the set usage time threshold, then it is determined that the usage of the application meets the set standard.” wherein graylist teaches network restriction list, discloses the gray list setting submodule adding applications that meet a set standard to the graylist, and the set standard includes the foreground usage in a set time period, therefore teaching: the application is added to the network restriction list].
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time.
Chakra, in analogous art, teaches: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time [Chakra, Fig. 2 step 210; ¶22-23 “Application manager 112 determines whether an application has been idle by monitoring the application and determining whether any actions taken are user-directed. If application manager 112 does not receive any user input or any indication of user interaction, such as mouse clicks, page scrolls, zooming in or out, etc., for the user-set period of inactivity, then energy consuming functionality of the application may be hibernated according to the hibernation configurations received in step 202.
If application manager 112 determines that an application has been idle for the user-set period of time (decision 210 “YES” branch), then application manager 112 hibernates the application (step 212). Hibernating an application involves temporarily suspending certain aspects or the entirety of application operation, depending on the received hibernation settings.” discloses that an application is idle when it has not received user input, and when an application has been idle for an idle time, the application manager hibernates the application, therefore teaching: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Chakra. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wang includes efficiently managing applications to conserve energy [Chakra, ¶1].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang, Kodali, and Chakra teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 4.
The combination of Wang, Kodali, and Chakra fails to explicitly teach: wherein the idle time ranges from 10 seconds to 30 minutes.
However, Chakra discloses an idle time of fifteen minutes [Chakra, ¶23 “Continuing the example above, if user Alpha has configured the email client to hibernate the process of checking for new mail after fifteen minutes, then application manager 112 hibernates the process of checking for new email after fifteen minutes of inactivity.” discloses an idle time of fifteen minutes of inactivity before the application manager hibernates an application].
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an idle time ranging from 10 seconds to 30 minutes based on the teachings of Chakra, because the Applicant has not disclosed that the idle time range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the idle time being fifteen minutes as taught by Chakra.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Wang, Kodali, and Chakra to obtain the feature as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9, … the application is added to the network restriction list [Wang, ¶80-81 “The gray list setting submodule 312 is used to collect statistics on the usage of other applications except the white list applications within a set time period, and when the usage of other applications reaches a set standard, the applications that meet the set standard are added to the gray list.
In this embodiment, the gray list setting submodule 312 determines whether the usage of the application meets the set standard in the following manner: within a set time period, detecting the number of times the application is opened and/or the foreground usage time of the application; if the number of openings is greater than the set number threshold and/or the usage time is greater than the set usage time threshold, then it is determined that the usage of the application meets the set standard.” wherein graylist teaches network restriction list, discloses the gray list setting submodule adding applications that meet a set standard to the graylist, and the set standard includes the foreground usage in a set time period, therefore teaching: the application is added to the network restriction list].
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time.
Chakra, in analogous art, teaches: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time [Chakra, Fig. 2 step 210; ¶22-23 “Application manager 112 determines whether an application has been idle by monitoring the application and determining whether any actions taken are user-directed. If application manager 112 does not receive any user input or any indication of user interaction, such as mouse clicks, page scrolls, zooming in or out, etc., for the user-set period of inactivity, then energy consuming functionality of the application may be hibernated according to the hibernation configurations received in step 202.
If application manager 112 determines that an application has been idle for the user-set period of time (decision 210 “YES” branch), then application manager 112 hibernates the application (step 212). Hibernating an application involves temporarily suspending certain aspects or the entirety of application operation, depending on the received hibernation settings.” discloses that an application is idle when it has not received user input, and when an application has been idle for an idle time, the application manager hibernates the application, therefore teaching: wherein after at least one of the applications is away from a foreground for an idle time].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Chakra. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wang includes efficiently managing applications to conserve energy [Chakra, ¶1].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 12.
The combination of Wang, Kodali, and Chakra fails to explicitly teach: wherein the idle time ranges from 10 seconds to 30 minutes.
However, Chakra discloses an idle time of fifteen minutes [Chakra, ¶23 “Continuing the example above, if user Alpha has configured the email client to hibernate the process of checking for new mail after fifteen minutes, then application manager 112 hibernates the process of checking for new email after fifteen minutes of inactivity.” discloses an idle time of fifteen minutes of inactivity before the application manager hibernates an application].
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an idle time ranging from 10 seconds to 30 minutes based on the teachings of Chakra, because the Applicant has not disclosed that the idle time range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the idle time being fifteen minutes as taught by Chakra.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Wang, Kodali, and Chakra to obtain the feature as specified in claim 13.
Claims 6-7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang [CN 105979095] in view of Kodali [US 20130329637] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arif [US 20170053129].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 1.
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein the application run in the background is a navigation application, a player application, a file management application, or any combination thereof.
Arif, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the application run in the background is a navigation application, a player application, a file management application, or any combination thereof [Arif, ¶110 “Upon determining, the application is currently running the audio service in background mode, the data controlling unit 404 prevents forcible termination of the application and allows background data usage of the application.” discloses a data controlling unit that allows data usafe of applications running an audio service in background mode, therefore teaching: wherein the application run in the background is a player application].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Arif. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Arif includes identifying a first set of applications among a plurality of applications installed in the electronic device based on a predefined list, allowing first data usage for a first set of applications, and restricting second data usage for a second set of applications among the plurality of applications other than the first set of applications [Arif, ¶8].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The control method for network disconnection during screen off according to claim 1 … the application is added to the network restriction list [Wang, ¶80-81 “The gray list setting submodule 312 is used to collect statistics on the usage of other applications except the white list applications within a set time period, and when the usage of other applications reaches a set standard, the applications that meet the set standard are added to the gray list.
In this embodiment, the gray list setting submodule 312 determines whether the usage of the application meets the set standard in the following manner: within a set time period, detecting the number of times the application is opened and/or the foreground usage time of the application; if the number of openings is greater than the set number threshold and/or the usage time is greater than the set usage time threshold, then it is determined that the usage of the application meets the set standard.” wherein graylist teaches network restriction list, discloses the gray list setting submodule adding applications that meet a set standard of usage to the graylist, therefore teaching: the application is added to the network restriction list].
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped.
Arif, in analogous art, teaches: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped [Arif, ¶89 “For the sake of brevity, the analysing unit 403 and the data controlling unit 404 are represented as DS 1103”;
¶119-120 “At step 14S6, the audio module 1401 sends confirmation regarding the termination of the audio service in background mode. Accordingly, the audio module 1401 sends corresponding response message to the DS 1103. In an example, the audio module 1401 sends a response message indicating ‘False’ to the DS 1103.
At step 14S7, the DS 1103 restricts background data usage of the application. Accordingly, the DS 1103 sends corresponding request to the network policy manager 1105.” discloses the running of the application (audio service) in the background is stopped, and sends a corresponding message to the DS (14S6), and in response the DS restricts network connections of the application (14S7), therefore teaching: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped [the application has its network connections restricted] ].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Arif. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Arif includes identifying a first set of applications among a plurality of applications installed in the electronic device based on a predefined list, allowing first data usage for a first set of applications, and restricting second data usage for a second set of applications among the plurality of applications other than the first set of applications [Arif, ¶8].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9.
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein the application run in the background is a navigation application, a player application, a file management application, or any combination thereof.
Arif, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the application run in the background is a navigation application, a player application, a file management application, or any combination thereof [Arif, ¶110 “Upon determining, the application is currently running the audio service in background mode, the data controlling unit 404 prevents forcible termination of the application and allows background data usage of the application.” discloses a data controlling unit that allows data usafe of applications running an audio service in background mode, therefore teaching: wherein the application run in the background is a player application].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Arif. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Arif includes identifying a first set of applications among a plurality of applications installed in the electronic device based on a predefined list, allowing first data usage for a first set of applications, and restricting second data usage for a second set of applications among the plurality of applications other than the first set of applications [Arif, ¶8].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Kodali teaches: The mobile device according to claim 9 … the application is added into the network restriction list [Wang, ¶80-81 “The gray list setting submodule 312 is used to collect statistics on the usage of other applications except the white list applications within a set time period, and when the usage of other applications reaches a set standard, the applications that meet the set standard are added to the gray list.
In this embodiment, the gray list setting submodule 312 determines whether the usage of the application meets the set standard in the following manner: within a set time period, detecting the number of times the application is opened and/or the foreground usage time of the application; if the number of openings is greater than the set number threshold and/or the usage time is greater than the set usage time threshold, then it is determined that the usage of the application meets the set standard.” wherein graylist teaches network restriction list, discloses the gray list setting submodule adding applications that meet a set standard of usage to the graylist, therefore teaching: the application is added to the network restriction list].
The combination of Wang and Kodali fails to explicitly teach: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped.
Arif, in analogous art, teaches: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped [Arif, ¶89 “For the sake of brevity, the analysing unit 403 and the data controlling unit 404 are represented as DS 1103”;
¶119-120 “At step 14S6, the audio module 1401 sends confirmation regarding the termination of the audio service in background mode. Accordingly, the audio module 1401 sends corresponding response message to the DS 1103. In an example, the audio module 1401 sends a response message indicating ‘False’ to the DS 1103.
At step 14S7, the DS 1103 restricts background data usage of the application. Accordingly, the DS 1103 sends corresponding request to the network policy manager 1105.” discloses the running of the application (audio service) in the background is stopped, and sends a corresponding message to the DS (14S6), and in response the DS restricts network connections of the application (14S7), therefore teaching: wherein when running of the application run in the background is stopped [the application has its network connections restricted] ].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Wang and Kodali to incorporate the teachings of Arif. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Arif includes identifying a first set of applications among a plurality of applications installed in the electronic device based on a predefined list, allowing first data usage for a first set of applications, and restricting second data usage for a second set of applications among the plurality of applications other than the first set of applications [Arif, ¶8].
Conclusion
/SHAMIHA SAFWAT KHAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414