DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
NOTE: The Applicant’s arguments against the 112(f) interpretation are addressed in the “Response to Arguments” section, below.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, as best understood, Sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by any structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a visual unit, the cable rotation module rotates the end of the cable under visual guidance of the visual unit” (claim 13, lines 2-4); “an imaging module… for capturing an image of the end of the cable” (claim 14, lines 2-3); “a determination unit determining whether the core wires of the cable have been adjusted to the predetermined orientation according to the image” (claim 14, lines 3-4); and “a pair of imaging modules… for taking images of a pair of ends of the cable respectively” (claim 16, lines 1-3).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, as best understood, Sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitations have been presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, as best understood, Sixth paragraph, because they meet the following 3-prong analysis:
(A) The claim limitations use the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic replacement therefore: the words “module” and “unit” are generic replacements for “means for”. The claims would carry the same weight and meaning if they instead disclosed: “a visual means for providing visual guidance”; “an imaging means… for capturing an image of the end of the cable”; “a determination means for determining whether the core wires of the cable have been adjusted to the predetermined orientation according to the image”; and “a pair of imaging means… for taking images of a pair of ends of the cable respectively”.
(B) The “means for” or “step for” is modified by functional language: “[providing] visual guidance”, “capturing an image”, and “taking images” are each examples of purely functional language.
(C) The phrase “means for” or “step for” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for achieving the specified function. In this instance, there is no structure in the claims cited for any of the above “means”. What is a visual unit? This is not an industry standard term, and does not convey any specific structures. The same question can be asked of each of the above noted “means” (units or modules), and in each instance, there is no industry standard, nor is there any structure in the claim which dictates what is intended. As such, the reader must look to the specification in order to ascertain what structure(s) is/are intended. Because the structure of these elements is entirely absent from the claims, the reader must look to the specification for structure, and therefore the presumption of invocation of 112(f) interpretation is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanno et al. (US 2016/0351329 A1) according to a first interpretation, which will hereinafter be referred to as Kanno-1.
Regarding claim 1, according to the first interpretation, Kanno-1 discloses a cable core wire orientation adjustment system (Title; Abstract; fig. 1: All), comprising: a cable rotation module (10) configured for adjusting a pair of core wires (17) of a cable exposed from an end of the cable to a predetermined orientation by rotating the end of the cable, the cable rotation module includes a fixed frame (10a and/or 31), a rotating wheel (13) rotatably mounted on the fixed frame, and a driving mechanism (13e, 13h, 14, 16) having a connecting rod mechanism (13a, 14a) installed on the rotating wheel, the connecting rod mechanism has a first connecting rod (14a) having an end directly fixed to the rotating wheel (figs. 2A, 2B and 4; pars. 0025 and 0027-0029).
Regarding claim 2, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein the rotating wheel is configured to rotate the end of the cable, and at the predetermined orientation, a connecting line between a pair of centers of the core wires is in a horizontal direction, and one of the core wires is on a predetermined side (fig. 3: above, as viewed) relative to the other of the core wires (figs. 1, 2A and 3; pars. 0091, 0118-0119).
Regarding claim 3, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein the cable rotation module also includes a gripper (13b) configured for clamping the end of the cable, the gripper is installed on the rotating wheel, the end of the cable which can be clamped by the gripper is capable of being rotated by rotating the rotating wheel, the rotating wheel is rotatable around a *horizontal rotation axis (figs. 2A-3 and 6-8; pars. 0032-0036 and 0115).
*NOTE: as there is no previous disclosure of relative directions or axes, the determination of what is considered “horizontal” is relative and subjectively defined by the reader. As such, for this interpretation it is entirely reasonable to determine that the Z-axis of Kanno is the “horizontal rotation axis”.
Regarding claim 5, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 3, wherein the cable rotation module includes a driving device (14) installed on the fixed frame and configured for driving the rotating wheel to rotate (fig. 4; par. 0038).
Regarding claim 7, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 3, wherein the driving mechanism drives the gripper to open or close to loosen or clamp the end of the cable (by way of 11) (figs. 6-7; pars. 0032-0036).
Regarding claim 19, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 1, further comprising a conveying device (41, 42) configured for clamping and moving the end of the cable, and the conveying device is also configured to clamp the end of the cable with the core wires at the predetermined orientation and move the end of the cable with the core wires at the predetermined orientation to a next processing station (fig. 6; pars. 0052-0056 and 0059).
Regarding claim 20, Kanno-1 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 19, wherein, the conveying device is configured to clamp the end of the cable with unadjusted core wires and move the end of the cable with the unadjusted core wires to a gripper of the cable rotation module (figs. 2, 4 and 6; pars. 0052-0056 and 0059).
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanno according to a second interpretation, which will hereinafter be referred to as Kanno-2.
Regarding claim 1, according to the second interpretation, Kanno-2 discloses a cable core wire orientation adjustment system (Title; Abstract; fig. 1: All), comprising: a cable rotation module (10) configured for adjusting a pair of core wires (17) of a cable exposed from an end of the cable to a predetermined orientation by rotating the end of the cable, the cable rotation module includes a fixed frame (10a and/or 31), a rotating wheel (19) rotatably mounted on the fixed frame, and a driving mechanism (21) having a connecting rod mechanism (24a, 27a-c) installed on the rotating wheel, the connecting rod mechanism has a first connecting rod (27a) having an end directly fixed to the rotating wheel (figs. 1, 2A, and 3; pars. 0039 and 0042-0045).
Regarding claim 17, Kanno-2 discloses the cable core wire orientation adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein the cable rotation module is one of a pair of cable rotation modules (10 and 60) arranged side by side for rotating a pair of ends of the cable respectively (fig. 1), the core wires at the ends of the cables are adjustable to the predetermined orientation simultaneously (fig. 1; par. 0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno-2, in view of Enomoto (CN 109074922 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kanno-2 discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kanno-2 further discloses that the cable rotation module also includes a gripper (18), the gripper is installed on the rotating wheel, the end of the cable which can be clamped by the gripper is capable of being rotated by rotating the rotating wheel, the rotating wheel is rotatable around a *horizontal rotation axis (Y-axis) (figs. 2A-3 and 6-8; pars. 0032-0036 and 0115). Kanno-2, however, does not explicitly disclose that the gripper is configured for clamping the end of the cable.
*NOTE: as there is no previous disclosure of relative directions or axes, the determination of what is considered “horizontal” is relative and subjectively defined by the reader. As such, for this interpretation it is entirely reasonable to determine that the Z-axis of Kanno is the “horizontal rotation axis”.
Enomoto teaches that it is well known to provide a similar cable core wire orientation adjustment system (Title; Abstract), comprising: a cable rotation module (fig. 1, 1; or fig. 4, one of 2a or 2b; or fig. 1, one of 51 or 52) configured for adjusting a pair of core wires (first and second wires) of a cable exposed from an end of the cable to a predetermined orientation by rotating the end of the cable (fig. 1), the cable rotation module includes a fixed frame (4); a rotating wheel (14) rotatably mounted on the fixed frame, (Abstract; figs. 1 and 4; pg. 5, pars. 2, 4 and 5), and a driving mechanism (any or all of 17, 20, 20a, 21, 21a, 21b, 23, 24a-24c, 24) (figs. 4-5; pg. 5, par. 6; pg. 6, pars. 1-2) having a connecting rod mechanism (7a, 8, 13, 14, 18) installed on the rotating wheel (figs. 1-2 and 4), the connecting rod mechanism has a first connecting rod (8) having an end fixed to the rotating wheel (figs. 1-2 and 4; pg. 5, par. 5), wherein the cable rotation module also includes a gripper (2a/2b) configured for clamping the end of the cable, the gripper is installed on the rotating wheel (Abstract; figs. 1 and 4; pg. 5, pars. 2, 4 and 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Kanno-2 to incorporate the gripper configured for clamping the end of the cable of Enomoto. POSITA would have realized that employing a nozzle with the ability to clamp the wires can be easily and readily incorporated to achieve the desired wire feeding control and precision, thus predictably decreasing manufacturing costs due to rework. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special clamping gripper was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old system of Kanno-2 with the well-known system of Enomoto. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 4, Kanno-2 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 3 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known that the gripper is configured for clamping the end of the cable, whereupon a central axis of the end of the cable coincides with the horizontal rotation axis (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Kanno-2 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 3 as detailed above, and Kanno-2 further discloses that the cable rotation module includes a driving device (24, 24a, 27a-27c) installed on the fixed frame and configured for driving the rotating wheel to rotate (fig. 3; pars. 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 6, Kanno-2 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 5 as detailed above, and Kanno-2 further discloses that the driving device includes: a motor (14) mounted on the fixed frame; a drive wheel (27b) connected to an output shaft (24a) of the servo motor; and a drive belt (27c) connected between the drive wheel and the rotating wheel (fig. 3; pars. 0045-0046). Enomoto further teaches that it is well known to use a motor which is a servo motor (pg. 16, lines 18-19).
Both Kanno-2 and Enomoto disclose the use of servo motors. POSITA would have realized that servo motors are old and well-known in the art and predictably allow for very precise degrees of rotation, thus enhancing the ability to accurately twist the wires to the exact extent required, which would naturally decrease manufacturing cost due to time consuming rework and lost materials.
Regarding claim 18, Kanno-2 discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17. Kanno-2, however, does not explicitly disclose that the cable rotation modules are configured to rotate the two of the cable in opposite directions.
Enomoto teaches that it is well known to provide two cable rotation modules (51 and 52), wherein the cable rotation modules are configured to rotate the two of the cable in opposite directions (figs. 1-4; pg. 5, pars. 4-5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Kanno-2 to incorporate the *** of Enomoto. POSITA would have realized that the modules of Kanno-2 can be easily and readily made to rotate in whichever direction is preferred to achieve the desired degree of twist and/or twisting speed. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special rotational device was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old system of Kanno-2 with the well-known system of Enomoto. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno-1, in view of Enomoto.
Regarding claim 7, Kanno-1 discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Kanno-1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the driving mechanism drives the gripper to open or close to loosen or clamp the end of the cable
Enomoto teaches that it is well known that the driving mechanism (any or all of 17, 20, 20a, 21, 21a, 21b, 23, 24a-24c, 24) drives the gripper to open or close to loosen or clamp the end of the cable (figs. 4-5; pg. 5, par. 6; pg. 6, pars. 1-2) .
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Kanno-1 to incorporate the driving mechanism being capable of opening or closing the gripper of Enomoto. POSITA would have realized that the grippers of Kanno-1 must be driven, and that using the driving mechanism can be easily and readily employed to achieve the desired control of the gripper and to decrease the number of actuation elements, thus decreasing cost and complexity of the system. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special driving mechanism was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old system of Kanno-1 with the well-known system of Enomoto. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 8, Kanno-1 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 7 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known that the gripper is fixed to the connecting rod mechanism, and the connecting rod mechanism is movable between a first state and a second state (figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, Kanno-1 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 8 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known that the connecting rod mechanism is configured to be moved to the first state, whereupon the gripper is configured to be driven to a closed position by the connecting rod mechanism to clamp the end of the cable, and the connecting rod mechanism is configured to be moved to the second state, whereupon the gripper is configured to be driven to an open position by the connecting rod mechanism to loosen the end of the cable (figs. 4-5; pg. 5, par. 6; pg. 6, pars. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Kanno-1 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 9 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known to that the driving mechanism includes a cylinder (24a) installed on the fixed frame, a telescopic rod (24b) of the cylinder is rotationally connected to the connecting rod mechanism to drive the connecting rod mechanism to move between the first state and the second state (figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 11, Kanno-1 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 10 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known that the connecting rod mechanism includes: a second connecting rod (one of 21b) having an end rotatably connected to another end of the first connecting rod; a third connecting rod (one of 21a) having an end rotatably connected to the another end of the first connecting rod; a fourth connecting rod (another of 21b) having an end rotationally connected to another end of the second connecting rod; a fifth connecting rod (another of 21a) having an end rotatably connected to another end of the third connecting rod; and a sixth connecting rod (17) having a pair of ends respectively rotationally connected to another end of the fourth connecting rod and to another end of the fifth connecting rod (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Kanno-1 in view of Enomoto teaches the system of claim 11 as detailed above, and Enomoto further teaches that it is well known that the gripper has a first clamping arm (one of 22) and a second clamping arm (another of 22) respectively fixed to the second connecting rod and the third connecting rod, the telescopic rod of the cylinder is rotationally connected to the sixth connecting rod (figs. 4-5).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno-2, in view of Si (CN 111326939 A).
Regarding claim 13, Kanno-2 discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kanno-2, however, does not explicitly disclose a visual unit, the cable rotation module rotates the end of the cable under visual guidance of the visual unit until the core wires of the cable are adjusted to the predetermined orientation.
Si teaches that it is well known to provide the apparatus as noted above with respect to claim 6, including a visual unit (30), the cable rotation module rotates the end of the cable under visual guidance of the visual unit until the core wires of the cable are adjusted to the predetermined orientation (figs. 1-2; pg. 4, final paragraph as highlighted in prior office action).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Kanno-2 to incorporate the visual unit for inspection and adjustment of Si. POSITA would have realized that cameras and other imaging devices can be easily and readily incorporated into wire processing devices to achieve the desired reduction in material and time waste, due to misalignments, misidentification and the like. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special visual unit was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old cable core wire orientation adjustment system of Kanno-2 with the well-known imaging device of Si. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 14, Kanno-2 in view of Si teaches the cable core wire orientation adjustment system of claim 13 as detailed above, and Si further teaches that it is well known that the visual unit includes a support, an imaging module mounted on a bracket for capturing an image of the end of the cable, and a determination unit (“controller”) determining whether the core wires of the cable have been adjusted to the predetermined orientation according to the image (figs. 1-2; pg. 4, final paragraph as highlighted in prior office action; pg. 5 first paragraph as highlighted in prior office action).
Regarding claim 15, Kanno-2 in view of Si teaches the cable core wire orientation adjustment system of claim 14 as detailed above, and Si further teaches that it is well known that the imaging module includes a camera capturing the image of the end of the cable, a focusing lens (camera lens) adjusting a focal length of the camera, and a light source (31) emitting illumination light to the end of the cable (figs. 1-2; pg. 4, final paragraph as highlighted in prior office action; pg. 5 first paragraph as highlighted; pg. 6 first paragraph as highlighted in prior office action).
Claims 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno-2, in view of Herrmann et al. (EP 3 739 697 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kanno-2 discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kanno-2, however, does not explicitly disclose a visual unit, the cable rotation module rotates the end of the cable under visual guidance of the visual unit until the core wires of the cable are adjusted to the predetermined orientation.
Herrmann teaches that it is well known to provide a similar a cable core wire orientation adjustment system (Title; Abstract), comprising: a cable rotation module (2) adjusting a pair of core wires of a cable exposed from an end of the cable to a predetermined orientation by rotating the end of the cable (figs. 1-2); further comprising a visual unit (26), the cable rotation module rotates the end of the cable under visual guidance of the visual unit until the core wires of the cable are adjusted to the predetermined orientation (pg. 5, as highlighted in prior office action; pg. 10, as highlighted in prior office action).
Please refer to the 103 rejection of claim 13, above, as the rationale is applicable to the instant rejection for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Kanno-2 in view of Herrmann teaches the cable core wire orientation adjustment system of claim 13 as detailed above, and Herrmann further teaches that it is well known that the visual unit includes a support (19), an imaging module (camera, 26) mounted on a bracket (21) for capturing an image of the end of the cable, and a determination unit determining (control unit, 24) whether the core wires of the cable have been adjusted to the predetermined orientation according to the image (pg. 5, as highlighted in prior office action; pg. 10, as highlighted in prior office action).
Regarding claim 16, Kanno-2 in view of Herrmann teaches the cable core wire orientation adjustment system of claim 14 as detailed above, and Herrmann further teaches that it is well known that the imaging module is one of a pair of imaging modules arranged side by side for taking images of a pair of ends of the cable respectively (pg. 10, as highlighted in prior office action).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the assertion of the claims as invoking 112(f) interpretation, the amendments to the claims have eliminated some of those interpretations. Regarding the remaining instances wherein it has been found that 112(f) interpretation is being invoked, the Applicant has merely alleged that the Examiner has not shown sufficient evidence. This is not the case, and the Applicant is encouraged to review the Claim Interpretation section above, wherein it is entirely clear that all three prongs for evaluation have been considered and satisfied. The burden is upon the Applicant to either amend the claims or to provide express evidence of where in the cited claims the structure for performing the claimed functions has been disclosed. The Applicant has not satisfied either requirement to overcome the interpretation as indicated above.
Applicant’s arguments (filed 12/05/2025), regarding the applicability of Enomoto in 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claim 1 to Enomoto has been withdrawn. The arguments directed to the previously applied 103 rejections merely allege that the secondary reference do not overcome the deficiencies of Enomoto with respect to claim 1. However, as Enomoto is no longer relied upon to disclose the argued features of claim 1, these arguments are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to Haruta (US 2002/0017585 A1), which is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729