Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted on 10/14/2025, have been considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 20220407634) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20250184966).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses an information feedback apparatus, applicable to a first terminal equipment side, the apparatus comprising: a memory; and processor circuitry coupled to the memory (Figs. 2A, 24-26) and configured to:
receive sidelink control information, the sidelink control information being used to indicate the first terminal equipment to perform hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, wherein HARQ feedback information comprises only NACK (Negative acknowledgment) (reception UE may not transmit ACK when the decoding of PSSCH transmitted from the transmission UE is successful, and transmit NACK via PSFCH only when decoding failed; [0135].
transmission UE may transmit, to the reception UE, SL HARQ feedback enabling information via SCI; [0432]),
receive sidelink data transmitted by a second terminal equipment; decode the received sidelink data at the first terminal equipment (reception UE may transmit ACK via PSFCH when decoding of PSSCH transmitted from an NR V2X transmission UE is successful; [0135]);
determine, at the first terminal equipment, a decoding result for the received sidelink data (the V2X reception UE may transmit ACK/NACK information indicating success or failure of decoding of SL data to the V2X transmission UE on PSFCH; [0152]);
at the first terminal equipment, instruct a physical layer of the first terminal equipment to generate HARQ feedback information, when a value of a one-bit HARQ feedback indicator field in the sidelink control information is set to 1 (transmission UE may transmit, to the reception UE, a 1-bit indicator of whether to enable HARQ operation via SCI. ‘0’ may denote disabling of SL HARQ operation and ‘1’ may denote enabling of SL HARQ operation; [0426]) and
NACK-only is indicated by the sidelink control information (reception UE may transmit NACK via PSFCH only when decoding failed; [0135]
Transmission UE may transmit, to the reception UE, SL HARQ feedback enabling information via SCI. Upon receiving SCI, the physical layer and MAC layer of the reception UE may not transmit PSFCH according to ‘00’ indicator of SCI. Upon receiving SCI, the physical layer and MAC layer of the reception UE may not transmit PSFCH according to ‘00’ indicator of SCI even when a cast type is not identified; [0432-0433]) and
when the first terminal equipment is within a communication range of the second terminal equipment and the decoding result is being not correctly decoded at the first terminal equipment (NACK information may be transmitted only when decoding of received PSSCH is failed. UEs transmitting NACK information may transmit the NACK information only when a specific condition is satisfied. UE-B and UE-C may determine an additional condition. Such a condition may be a distance to the UE-A; [0260]); and
generate NACK and transmit the generated NACK to the second terminal equipment when the first terminal equipment is within the communication range of the second terminal equipment and the sidelink data is not correctly decoded (NACK information may be transmitted only when decoding of received PSSCH is failed. UEs transmitting NACK information may transmit the NACK information only when a specific condition is satisfied. UE-B and UE-C may determine an additional condition. Such a condition may be a distance to the UE-A; [0260]).
Ryu does not expressly disclose decode received data at a MAC layer; and determine, at the MAC layer, a decoding result for the received data; at the MAC layer, instruct a physical layer to generate HARQ feedback information when the decoding result is being not correctly decoded at the MAC layer.
In an analogous art, Jiang discloses decode received data at a MAC layer; and determine, at the MAC layer, a decoding result for the received data (The MAC sublayer 302 provides multiplexing between a logical channel and a transport channel. The MAC sublayer 302 is also responsible for allocating between first communication nodes various radio resources (i.e., resource block) in a cell. The MAC sublayer 302 is also in charge of HARQ operation; [0198]);
at the MAC layer, instruct a physical layer to generate HARQ feedback information when the decoding result is being not correctly decoded at the MAC layer (PSFCH channel is introduced for HARQ transmission on sidelink. the HARQ feedback selection 1 is to only feed back a NACK, and the HARQ feedback selection 2 is to feed back both an ACK and a NACK; [0005, 0015].
The L1 is called PHY 301 in the present disclosure. The layer 2 (L2) 305 is above the PHY 301, and is in charge of a link between a first communication node and a second communication node, as well as two UEs via the PHY 301. L2 305 comprises a Medium Access Control (MAC) sublayer 302. The MAC sublayer 302 is also in charge of HARQ operation; [0198]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Jiang into the system of Ryu in order to in order to improve the transmission and spectral efficiency of a feedback channel for a sidelink (Jiang; [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ryu and Jiang, particularly Ryu discloses wherein the sidelink control information further used to indicate the first terminal equipment to perform groupcast communication with HARQ feedback information only comprising NACK (When HARQ-ACK/NACK is mentioned in the embodiments of the disclosure, PSSCH may be unicast or groupcast PSSCH configured or indicated to transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK; [0296]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ryu and Jiang, particularly Ryu discloses wherein the sidelink control information further comprises: location information of the second terminal equipment and/or the communication range (SCI includes information about a location of the transmission UE (for example, zone ID or at least one of altitude or latitude of the transmission UE) and a range requirement; [0438]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ryu and Jiang, particularly Ryu discloses wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to perform the HARQ feedback according to the location information of the second terminal equipment and/or the communication range in the sidelink control information (NACK information may be transmitted only when decoding of received PSSCH is failed. UEs transmitting NACK information may transmit the NACK information only when a specific condition is satisfied. UE-B and UE-C may determine an additional condition. Such a condition may be a distance to the UE-A; [0260]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ryu and Jiang, particularly Ryu discloses when the first terminal equipment is within the communication range of the second terminal equipment and the sidelink data is not correctly decoded, determine at an MAC layer whether a layer 1 destination address ID indicated in a sidelink control information (SCI) is equal to lower 16 bits of a layer 2 ID of the first terminal equipment; and when a determination result is yes, generate HARQ feedback, and transmit the generated HARQ feedback information to the second terminal equipment (transmission UE may set an indicator to ‘1’ and transmit the source ID configured of 8 bits and the destination ID configured of 16 bits to the reception UE via SCI. Here, when the even number of source ID and/or destination ID are detected, the physical layer of the reception UE may determine unicast communication. When the odd number of source ID and/or destination ID are detected, the physical layer of the reception UE may determine groupcast communication. As for another example, the source ID configured of 8 bits and the destination ID configured of 16 bits may be converted into a decimal number and when the source ID and/or destination ID is equal to or greater than a certain threshold value (or greater than the threshold value), the physical layer of the reception UE may determine unicast communication; [0437]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seidel et al. (US 20210167897), “LOW LATENCY HARQ PROTOCOL FOR URLLC SERVICES.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413