DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 1 “an amplifier having an input coupled to a first current terminal and an amplifier output, the amplifier output coupled to a switch control terminal; and a switch coupled between the switch control terminal and a second current terminal, the switch having a control terminal coupled to the amplifier output”; the limitations of claim 2 “a fourth switch coupled between the first and second current terminals, a control terminal of the fourth switch being the switch control terminal”; the limitations of claim 9 “a first switch having a first control terminal and first and second current terminals, the first current terminal coupled to the port; an amplifier having an input coupled to the first current terminal and an amplifier output, the amplifier output coupled to the first control terminal; and a second switch coupled between the first control terminal and the second current terminal, the second switch having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output”; and claim 18 “wherein the switch is a first switch, the current terminal is a first current terminal, the control terminal is a first control terminal, the first switch has a second current terminal, and the circuit further comprises a second switch coupled between the control terminal and the second current terminal, the second switch has a second control terminal coupled to the current limiter circuit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “a current limiter circuit having an input coupled to the current terminal and an output coupled to the control terminal, the current limiter circuit configurable to adjust a voltage at the control terminal at a first rate responsive to a current at the current terminal exceeding a first threshold and adjust the voltage at a second rate responsive to the current exceeding a second threshold” does not appear to have support in the originally filed disclosure. The applicant’s specification disclose various examples (embodiments), however fails to disclose “the current limiter circuit configurable to adjust a voltage at the control terminal at a first rate responsive to a current at the current terminal exceeding a first threshold and adjust the voltage at a second rate responsive to the current exceeding a second threshold”. The disclosure does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor has in possession of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, recite the following limitations “an amplifier having an input coupled to a first current terminal and an amplifier output, the amplifier output coupled to a switch control terminal; and a switch coupled between the switch control terminal and a second current terminal, the switch having a control terminal coupled to the amplifier output” which renders the claim vague and indefinite.
It is unclear because the applicant’s specification does not define the “first current terminal”, “switch control terminal”, “second current terminal”, and which component is “a switch coupled between the switch control terminal and a second current terminal, the switch having a control terminal coupled to the amplifier output”. A question is raised, so the Figures are correct or the instant language? Clarification is required.
Claim(s) 2-8 are indefinite by dependence on claim 1.
With regard to claim 9, recite the following limitations “a first switch having a first control terminal and first and second current terminals, the first current terminal coupled to the port; an amplifier having an input coupled to the first current terminal and an amplifier output, the amplifier output coupled to the first control terminal; and a second switch coupled between the first control terminal and the second current terminal, the second switch having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output” which renders the claim vague and indefinite.
It is unclear because the applicant’s specification does not define the “first switch”, “first control terminal”, “first and second current terminals”, “the first current terminal coupled to the port”, “amplifier having an input coupled the first current terminal”, “the amplifier output coupled to the first control terminal”, and which component is “a second switch coupled between the first control terminal and the second current terminal, the second switch having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output”. A question is raised, so the Figures are correct or the instant language? Clarification is required.
Claim(s) 10-16 are indefinite by dependence on claim 9.
With regard to claim 17, the limitation “a current limiter circuit having an input coupled to the current terminal and an output coupled to the control terminal” which renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Figs. 1-3 teach a current limiter (104) (for details see Fig. 4), it is unclear if the claimed “current limiter circuit” is the current limiter (104). The current limiter (104) comprises: a power switch (M1, M2), an amplifier (206), a gain adjustment circuit (208), and a speedup circuit (210). It is unclear how the current limiter circuit having an input coupled to the current terminal and an output coupled to the control terminal of the switch. A question is raised, so the Figures are correct or the instant language? Clarification is required.
Claim(s) 18-19 are indefinite by dependence on claim 17.
With regard to claim 18, recite the following limitations “the switch is a first switch, the current terminal is a first current terminal, the control terminal is a first control terminal, the first switch has a second current terminal, and the circuit further comprises a second switch coupled between the control terminal and the second current terminal, the second switch has a second control terminal coupled to the current limiter circuit” which renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Figs. 1-3 teach a current limiter (104) (for details see Fig. 4), it is unclear if the claimed “current limiter circuit” is the current limiter (104). The current limiter (104) comprises: a power switch (M1, M2), an amplifier (206), a gain adjustment circuit (208), and a speedup circuit (210). It is unclear the limitation “the second switch has a second control terminal coupled to the current limiter circuit”. A question is raised, so the Figures are correct or the instant language? Clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: If the examiner is incorrect and the claims were drafted correctly, a brief explanation as to where the claim is taught in the specification would be helpful to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they dependent.
Examination Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Matyscak (US 11,281,244 B2).
With regard to claim 1, Matyscak teaches an apparatus (Abstract, lines 1-2) comprising:
an amplifier (120 – Fig. 1) having an input (+ 120 – Fig. 1) coupled to a first current terminal (right terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) and an amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1), the amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1) coupled to a switch control terminal (switch control terminal of M0 – Fig. 2); and
a switch (110 – Fig. 1, Fig. 2) coupled between the switch control terminal (switch control terminal of M0 – Fig. 2) and a second current terminal (left terminal of 110 – Fig. 1), the switch (110 – Fig. 1, Fig. 2) having a control terminal (control terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) coupled to the amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1) (coupled via 140).
With regard to claim 9, Matyscak teaches a system (Fig. 1 – Fig. 4) comprising: a port (OUT – Fig. 1; 201 – Fig. 2-Fig. 3);
a first switch (110 – Fig. 1, Fig. 2) having a first control terminal (control terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) and first and second current terminals (right and left terminals of 110 – Fig. 1), the first current terminal (right terminal of 110 – Fig. 1; lower terminal of 110 Fig. 2) coupled to the port (OUT – Fig. 1; 201 – Fig. 2-Fig. 3);
an amplifier (120 – Fig. 1) having an input (+ 120 – Fig. 1) coupled to the first current terminal (right terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) and an amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1), the amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1) coupled to the first control terminal (first control terminal of M0 – Fig. 2); and
a second switch (M10 – Fig. 2) coupled between the first control terminal (first control terminal of M0 – Fig. 2) and the second current terminal (upper terminal of 110 – Fig. 2), the second switch (M10 – Fig. 2) having a second control terminal (second control terminal of M10 – Fig. 2) coupled to the amplifier output (121 – Fig. 1) (electrically coupled).
With regard to claim 17, Matyscak teaches a circuit (Abstract, lines 1-2), comprising:
a switch (110 – Fig. 1) having a current terminal (left terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) and a control terminal (111 – Fig. 1); and
a current limiter circuit (140 – Fig. 1) having an input (input to receive IQ3 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current terminal (left terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) and an output (output of 140 coupled to the control terminal of 110 – Fig. 1) coupled to the control terminal (111 – Fig. 1), the current limiter circuit (140 – Fig. 1) configurable to adjust a voltage (col. 4, lines 34-45) at the control terminal (111 – Fig. 1) at a first rate responsive to a current at the current terminal exceeding a first threshold (col. 3, lines 48-53) and adjust the voltage at a second rate responsive to the current exceeding a second threshold (col. 4, lines 25-33).
With regard to claim 18, Matyscak teaches all the limitations of claim 17, and further teaches the switch (110 – Fig. 1) is a first switch, the current terminal (left terminal of 110 – Fig. 1, upper terminal of 110 – Fig. 2) is a first current terminal, the control terminal (111 – Fig. 1) is a first control terminal, the first switch has a second current terminal (right terminal of 110 – Fig. 1), and the circuit further comprises a second switch (M1 – Fig. 2) coupled between the control terminal (111 – Fig. 1) and the second current terminal (right terminal of 110 – Fig. 1; lower terminal of 110 – Fig. 2), the second switch (M1 – Fig. 2) has a second control terminal (lower terminal of M1 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current limiter circuit (140 – Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 19, Matyscak teaches all the limitations of claim 17, and further teaches the current limiter circuit includes: an amplifier (120 – Fig. 1) having an input (- 120 – Fig. 1) coupled to the input (input to receive IQ3 – Fig. 1) of the current limiter circuit (140 – Fig. 1); and
one or more current mirror circuits (M11, M12 – Fig. 2) coupled between an output (121 – Fig. 1) of the amplifier circuit (120 – Fig. 1) and the output (output of 140 coupled to 111 – Fig. 1) of the current limiter circuit (140 – Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 2, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein the switch is a first switch, and the circuit further comprises a first current mirror having an input and an output; a second switch having a first terminal coupled to the amplifier output and having a second terminal coupled to the input of the first current mirror; a second current mirror having an input and an output; a third switch having a first terminal coupled to the amplifier output and having a second terminal coupled to input of the second current mirror; and a fourth switch coupled between the first and second current terminals, a control terminal of the fourth switch being the switch control terminal, wherein: the input is a first input, the amplifier has a second input and comprises a transconductance amplifier configured to receive a first voltage at a first input and a second voltage at a second input, wherein the first voltage represents a current at the first current terminal.”
Claim(s) 3-8 are allowed by dependence on claim 1.
With regard to claim 10, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “the amplifier comprises a transconductance amplifier configured to receive a first voltage at the first amplifier input and a reference voltage at the reference input; and the first voltage represents a current at the current terminal of the first switch.”
Claim(s) 11 is allowed by dependence on claim 10.
With regard to claim 12, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a first current mirror having an input and an output; a third switch having a first terminal coupled to the amplifier output and having a second terminal coupled to the input of the first current mirror; a second current mirror having an input and an output; a fourth switch having a first terminal coupled to the amplifier output and having a second terminal coupled to input of the second current mirror; and a resistor coupled between the first control terminal and the outputs of the first and second current mirrors.”
Claim(s) 13-15 are allowed by dependence on claim 12.
With regard to claim 16, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “the first current mirror is configurable to conduct a current from the first control terminal at a first rate responsive to the third switch being closed, and the second current mirror is configurable to conduct a current from the first control terminal at a second rate responsive to the fourth switch being closed, the second rate being different from the first rate, and the system further includes: a fifth switch having a first terminal coupled to the amplifier output and having a second terminal; and a third current mirror having an input coupled to the second terminal of the fourth switch and having an output coupled to the first control terminal, wherein the third current mirror is configurable to conduct a current from the first control terminal at a third rate responsive to the fifth switch being closed, the third rate being different from the first rate and the second rate.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Ideno (US 2020/0081466 A1) teaches a semiconductor integrated circuit includes an output transistor, an error amplifier, a replica transistor, a current-limiting circuit, and a potential regulation circuit. The output transistor is electrically connected between a power supply-side first node and an output-side second node. The replica transistor is electrically connected between the first node and a fourth node. The replica transistor constitutes a circuit that is configured to operate to correspond to the output transistor. The current-limiting circuit has an input node, that is electrically connected to a fifth node between the fourth node and a first current source, and an output node that is electrically connected to a gate of the output transistor and a gate of the replica transistor. The potential regulation circuit is electrically connected to the second node and the fourth node.
Contact Information
/N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/Scott Bauer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838