DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 11/26/25. Claims 1 and 2 are amended. Claims 1-6 are pending and are rejected finally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the gas sensor" in the fourth from last and second from last indented limitations. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Applicant intended to claim “the pressure sensor” since the claimed amendment includes a new limitation to a pressure sensor … configured to detect a gas pressure. In order to expedite prosecution, the limitations will be interpreted as directed to “the pressure sensor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanishi et al. (US 2020/0091529) in view of Kawase et al. (US 2020/0232603).
Regarding claim 1, Yamanishi teaches a gas supply system, or fuel cell system, comprising:
a first tank (2a) and a second tank (2b) configured to store gas ([0045]);
a gas consumption device, or fuel cell stack (50), configured to consume gas;
a first valve (3a) and second valve (3b) configured to switch between supply and shutoff of the gas from the respective tanks ([0054]);
a storage device, or control device (1), that stores computer-executable instructions ([0048]);
one or more processors, or CPU (10), that executes the operation defined in the program ([0048]) to cause the gas supply system to perform opening/closing of the valves (3a, 3b) ([0054]-[0055]);
wherein
the storage device stores a first pressure threshold value, or standard value, for determining whether or not to supply the gas from the first tank to the gas consumption device, via opening or closing one or both of control valves (3a, 3b), when a decrease in pressure exceeds a standard value (Figures 5 and 10, [0014], [0132]-[0143]);
wherein the processors cause the gas supply system to:
open both valves (Figure 4);
acquire a gas pressure of the gas supplied to the gas consumption device via pressure sensor in tank ([0013]) and acquire the tank temperatures via temperature sensors (23a, 23b) (Figure 1);
and open and close valves based on measured and threshold values (Figures 5 and 10).
With further regard to claim 1, Yamanishi teaches a first pipe (92a), a second pipe (92b), and a common pipe (93) as well as pressure sensors as discussed above, but fails to teach a pressure sensor in the common pipe.
Kawase teaches a gas supply system comprising first and second tanks (12a, 12b), a gas consumption device (11a), first and second pipes (20, 22), a common pipe (24), and pressure sensors (34, 36) disposed on the common pipe and configured to detect a gas pressure of the gas supplied to the gas consumption device (Figure 1). Kawase further teaches that using multiple pressure sensors on the common pipe to determine pressures within a gas supply system is desirable for ensuring reliability of pressure values used for controlling the system in the event of an abnormality in a pressure sensor ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to include pressure sensors on the common line of Yamanishi such as suggested by Kawase in order to ensure reliability of pressure values used for controlling the system in the event of an abnormality in a pressure sensor.
As for claim 2, the storage device and processor of Yamanishi meets the limitations for both the first and second tanks as discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, Yamanishi teaches an adjustment valve, or pressure reducing valve (57), configured to adjust an amount of gas supplied to the gas consumption device ([0056]). The examiner finds that the processor cases the gas supply system to control the adjustment valve under all operating conditions, including if the first valve is closed and the second valve is opened (see Figure 5).
As for claim 6, Yamanishi teaches the gas supply system of claim 1 including a heat exchanger (4) attached to the first tank via connecting passage (91), wherein the heat exchanger absorbs heat from a portion other than the first tank, or the cooling water passages from the fuel cell stack, and releases heat to the first tank (Figures 1 and 5, [0075]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanishi in view of Kawase as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukatsu (US 2020/0014043).
The teachings of Yamanishi and Kawase as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Yamanishi in view of Kawase teaches the gas supply system of claim 1, but fails to teach warming an inside of a tank compartment as required by claims 4 and 5.
Fukatsu teaches a gas supply system, or fuel cell system, including first and second tanks, or storage containers (71), accommodated in tank compartments, or hydrogen storage units (70), which are caused by a processor, or control unit (11), to be warmed by a heat medium (6) that passes through a discharge port, which remains open allowing flow, via branch passage (Figure 1 , [0030]-[0031]). Fukastu further teaches that, when a new tank (70) is provided, the tank is heated to the predetermined temperature (Figures 2-5).
Fukatsu further teaches valves (73) associated with the tanks (71) and controlled by the control unit (11) (Figure 1, [0032]).
For instances when the pressure in the tank is below the predetermined temperature, the skilled artisan would be motivated to use the system of Fukatsu to close the valve (73) and heat the tank in order to ensure that the hydrogen provided to the fuel cell is in an adequate state.
Further, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to substitute the tanks and heating system of Fukatsu in the system of Yamashita in view of Kawase in order to provide more control of the heating of the tanks and allow for providing new tanks as needed. It has been held that substituting known parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2143 I B
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/26/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Yamanishi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kawase, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729