18DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments were submitted on 2/20/26. Claims 1, 4, 11, 17 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claims 4 and 17 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claim 10 is withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, “wherein each of the first negative framework layer and the second negative electrode framework layer is formed as a solid layer without inclusion of a binder” is not within the scope of Applicant’s invention (even if it is was omitted from the specification, as argued). The Applicants invention discloses that the framework can include a polymer which is broad enough to include polymer binders. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the scope of the Applicant’s invention does not exclude 0% or greater than 0%. Appropriate correction is required.
The rejections dependent on the independent claim rejected under 35 U.S.C 112 rejections are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the “total thickness/µm” is unclear. It appears the thickness may be a constant since it states thickness over a measurement of micron. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawai et al., on claims 1-3, 6, 7 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
Claim(s) 14-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawai et al. (JP 2003077542).
Regarding claims 14, 18, the Kawai et al. reference discloses an electronic apparatus (portable device) with electrochemical apparatus (secondary battery), comprising a negative electrode plate, the negative electrode plate comprises, a current collector, a negative electrode plate comprising a current collector and a negative electrode framework located on the current collector. The negative electrode framework comprises at least a first negative electrode framework layer and a second negative electrode framework layer, and the first negative electrode framework layer is located between the current collector and the second negative electrode framework layer (A2) and a porosity of the first negative electrode framework layer (A1) is higher than a porosity of the second negative electrode framework layer.
Regarding claims 15, the Kawai et al. reference discloses the porosity of the first negative electrode framework layer ranges from 55% to 90% (specifically, 90%, 70% 60%).
Regarding claims 16, the Kawai et al. reference discloses wherein the porosity of the second negative electrode framework layer ranges from 10% to 50% (specifically, 14%).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (JP 2003077542) in view of Ogawa et al. on claim 5 is withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claim.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (JP 2003077542) in view of Yamauchi et al. on claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claim.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (JP 2003077542) in view of Choi et al. on claims 10-13 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues,
However, the Applicant’s invention does not exclude 0%. The limitation, “approximately 0%” does have variations about 0% but it would also include 0%. The scope of the invention would not exclude 0% from its range, thus “greater than 0%” is considered new matter. Appropriate corrections are required.
Applicant argues, “
However, just because the limitation is omitted does not pertain that the boundaries of the patent protection sought are reasonably conveyed. Yes, a negative disclosure is generally fine as long as it is within the scope of the Applicants invention, that is that the negative disclosure is taught in the Applicants disclosure not that it was omitted from the disclosure. Thus, the Applicant misunderstood MPEP 2713.05.
Paragraph 73 of the Applicant’s disclosure teaches that binders are present in the positive electrode material, the disclosure of “may” as argued was never present. However, the argument is moot since the amendments discloses negative electrode.
In addition, the negative electrode was taught in Paragraph 137 to comprise a polymer which is broad enough to include a binder.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752