DETAILED ACTION
BASE STATION AND CLEANING ROBOT SYSTEM
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 01-29-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7,9,11-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 8 has been cancelled. The previous 103 rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01-29-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,17,19 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record to teach the amendments.
Additionally, regarding applicant’s argument that prior at Huang fails to teach a diversion trench vertical position higher than the cleaning tank.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Huang teaches a cleaning tank (116 and 117, figures 8-13) that is vertically positioned lower than a diversion trench (see annotated figure below), prior art Huang discloses a base station (1, figures 1-16) that cleans the cleaning member (90, figures 1-16; claims 1-10) of a robotic cleaner (abstract), figure 13 shows the cleaning member (90, figure 13) is situated over the diversion trench (see figure 13) while being cleaned, liquid would flow down from diversion trench to the cleaning tank (116 and 117, figures 1-16) to be suctioned by the water suction pipe (51, figures 13).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cleaning mechanism, drying mechanism in claims 1-3,11-12,17.
Examiner is interpreting the cleaning mechanism as disclosed in applicant specification (see para 0072) or an equivalent structure.
Examiner is interpreting the drying mechanism as disclosed in applicant specification (see para 0017-0018) or an equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-6,13-14,16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids, Huang (CN211862710U) cited in ids.
Regarding claim 1, Mao teaches a base station (20) comprising: a cleaning tank (72, figure 1), configured to accommodate at least part of the cleaning mechanism (51, figure 1) and clean the at least part of the cleaning mechanism (abstract), wherein the cleaning tank (72, figure 1) comprises a first end face (see annotated figure 3) and a second end face (see annotated figure 3), and a direction of a connection line between the first end face (figures 3-5, annotated figure 3) and the second end face (figures 3-5, annotated figure 3) is substantially parallel to an extension direction of a rotation axis (see 513, figures 4-5 and see 51, figure 1) of the cleaning mechanism (51, figure 1); a cleaning wiper (75, figure 1), arranged to extend between the first end face and the second end face of the cleaning tank (72,figure 1)
a first pump (78, figure 1-5), the first pump being in communication with the, such that the first pump pumps away cleaning liquid after the cleaning liquid (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”), wherein a liquid outlet (“the sewage tank 73 is provided with a drain pipe 792… one end of the drain pipe 792 is inserted into the drain hole 722, and the other end is connected with the sewage tank 73.”) the liquid outlet being in communication with the first pump (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”).
Mao fails to teach an auxiliary container, located on a first side of the cleaning tank and arranged independently of the cleaning tank base station further comprises a first floater, arranged in the auxiliary container and configured to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet, wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench, located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench.
Gao teaches a base station (abstract, figures 1-29) for a cleaning robot (2, figures 1-10) where the base station has an auxiliary container (1053, figure 7; “the sewage collection area 1053 is set as a box structure, which forms a relatively closed structure” ) located on a first side of the cleaning tank (1052, figure 7) connected to a pump that pumps cleaning liquid away (fourth power mechanism, and the fourth power mechanism is used to transfer the sewage and/or garbage in the cleaning tank to the sewage tank; the fourth power mechanism 1041 and the airflow generator 101 are both connected to the sewage collecting area 1053. The fourth power mechanism 1041 is used to pump the sewage and smaller garbage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, and the airflow generator 101 is used to absorb the larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, ensuring that all the sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Gao’s auxiliary container connected to a pump where auxiliary container is located on a first side of cleaning can help transfer sewage from the cleaning tank. (See Gao “to absorb larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collection area 1053 into the sewage tank 104 to ensure that all the sewage in the sewage collection area 1053).
Wenhoz teaches a cleaning apparatus that has auxiliary container that has holds cleaning liquid, that includes a first floater (71, figure 3) in the auxiliary container (15, figure 3) and configured (capable of performing this action) to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet. (“the water storage container of the storage cavity 14 is 15 set on the inner wall of the water storage chamber 15 and can slide up and down the floating plate 71, when the water level is changed, and it can drive the floating 71 slide up and down so as to drive other components to realize the dry burning resistant function. floating the storage chamber 15 the water level descends until consumption, floating plate 71 moves downward, the downward movement of 71 orderly through the slide bar 72, the cable 83 drives the lifting sliding block 74 moves upward, the spring 82 is elongated. when the water level in the storage chamber 15 reaches the lowest”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Wenhoz’s floater. This modification would help with controlling the flow of liquid within a system (see Wenhoz’s abstract).
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a second pump (74, figures 5-9) that pumps clean water from a clean water tank and a first pump (51, figure 8) that discharges sewage in a sewage receiving chamber (13, figure 8), where the filter screen (40, figure 8) is close to each side wall (112, figure 8), and lock block (80,figures 12-13) on guide top surface (figure 13; the pressing device is configured to apply downward pressure on the cleaning robot 9 during the squeeze cleaning of the wiping member) and above the cleaning tank (117, figures 8,12) and , wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench (see annotated figure below), located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench (“the base station 1 further includes a sewage tank 50 and a water suction pipe 51, and the water suction pipe 51 can discharge the sewage in the sewage receiving chamber 13 into the sewage tank 50 for temporary storage to dump the sewage in the sewage tank 50 after the cleaning operation is completed. In the specific example of the present embodiment, the sewage tank 50 is provided on the base station upper cover 12, and sewage is drawn up from the sewage receiving chamber 13 by negative pressure and enters the sewage tank 50 through the water suction pipe 51. Of course, the waste water tank 50 and/or the water suction pipe 51 may not be provided, and for example, waste water in the waste water receiving chamber 13 may be discharged to the outside through another discharge pipe. In the specific example of the present embodiment, a sinking area 116, figures 8 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a diversion trench. This modification would help with ensuring that dirty liquid and sewage is collected. (see Huang’s npl and figures 8- 13)
Regarding claim 2, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above and teaches the second end face (see annotated figure above) is configured to discharge cleaning liquid accommodated in the cleaning tank for cleaning the cleaning mechanism (capable of performing this action due to the water discharge pump 78, figure 3), but fails to teach the base station further comprises a first filter arranged close to the second end face
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a first pump (74, figures 5-9) that pumps clean water from a clean water tank and a second pump (51, figure 8) that discharges sewage in a sewage receiving chamber (13, figure 8), where the filter screen (40, figure 8) is close to each side wall (112, figure 8), and lock block (80,figures 12-13) on guide top surface (figure 13; the pressing device is configured to apply downward pressure on the cleaning robot 9 during the squeeze cleaning of the wiping member) and above the cleaning tank (117, figure 8,12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a filter arranged close the second end face. This modification ensures that large pieces of sewage is filtered out and is not pump through to a sewage tank (see Huang’s page 8).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above and teaches the first pump (78, figures 1-5) in communication with the cleaning tank (72, figures 1-5), configured to pump the cleaning liquid out of the cleaning tank (“drainage pump 78 work to make the water in the cleaning tank 72 to the sewage tank 73 to realize drainage, the control device in the cleaning tank 72 after the water completely discharged command drainage pump stops working”), but fails to teach a second pump in communication with the cleaning tank, configured to pump cleaning liquid into the cleaning tank.
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a second pump (74, figures 5-9) that pumps clean water from a clean water tank and a first pump (51, figure 8) that discharges sewage in a sewage receiving chamber (13, figure 8), where the filter screen (40, figure 8) is close to each side wall (112, figure 8), and lock block (80,figures 12-13) on guide top surface (figure 13; the pressing device is configured to apply downward pressure on the cleaning robot 9 during the squeeze cleaning of the wiping member) and above the cleaning tank (117, figures 8,12) and diversion trench (73, figures 8) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a first pump in communication with the cleaning tank. This modification helps with drawing in clean water to the cleaning tank (see Huang’s page 8) and keeping robot body in place.
Regarding claim 6, modified Mao teaches the second pump (see Huang’s 74, figures 5-9) and the first pump (see Mao 78, figures 5-9) are configured to operate at the same time (capable of performing this action), the second pump (see Huang’s 74, figures 5-9; see Huang’s page 8) is configured to spout the cleaning liquid into the cleaning tank, and the second pump (see Mao 78, figures 5-9) is configured to pump the cleaning liquid out of the cleaning tank; and wherein only the second pump operates while the first pump does not operate, such that the cleaning liquid is drained out of the cleaning tank (see Mao discloses “the control command drainage pump 78 works to make the water in the cleaning tank 72 flow to the sewage tank 73 to realize drainage, the control device in the cleaning tank 72 after the water completely discharged command drainage pump stops working,”)
Regarding claim 13, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach a guide bottom surface provided with an anti-skid protrusion; wherein the cleaning robot is configured to move onto the guide bottom surface along the anti-skid protrusion; and
the cleaning tank is arranged on the guide bottom surface and spaced from the anti-skid protrusion.
Gao teaches a base station (abstract, figures 1-29) for a cleaning robot (2, figures 1-10) where the base station has a guide bottom (106, figures 19- 20) provided with an anti-skid protrusion (“the working table 106 is provided with a guide structure; the guide structure or the guide structure limiting driving wheel to the cleaning robot 2 sliding or offset”) ;
wherein the cleaning robot (2, figures 1-29) is configured to move onto the guide bottom surface along the anti-skid protrusion; and
the cleaning tank (105, figure 12) is arranged on the guide bottom surface and spaced from the anti-skid protrusion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Gao’s teachings of anti-skid protrusion. This modification would help with limiting cleaning robot mobility while the base station is in use (see Gao pages 18-19).
Regarding claim 14, modified Mao teaches a first charging electrode (see Mao 81, figure 3), configured to be electrically connected with a second charging electrode ( see Mao “the machine body 10 returns to the base station 20, the body 10 on the electric sheet and the base station 20 on the charging sheet 81 attached to realize connection. In order to better satisfy the charging requirement, the charging sheet 81 is elastically set on the base station 20, can make the contact between the charging sheet and the electric sheet is more reliable.” And “matched with the electric sheet and the bottom of the wiping piece 51 is located”) of the cleaning robot; and a guide side surface, wherein the first charging electrode (see Mao 81, figure 13) is arranged on the guide side surface (see annotated figure below) and above the cleaning container (see Mao 72, figures 1, 3).
Regarding claim 16, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above and guide top surface (see annotated figure above) ,but fails to teach a lock block configured to contact with the cleaning robot is arranged on the guide top surface and above the cleaning tank.
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a lock block (see Huang’s 80, figures 12-13) configured to contact with the cleaning robot is arranged on the guide top surface and above the cleaning tank (see Huang’s page 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a lock block. This modification would ensure that a cleaning apparatus can be held in place (see Huang page 12) and improve the cleaning effect (see Huang page 9).
Regarding claim 17, Mao teaches a base station (20) comprising: a cleaning container (72, figure 1), configured to accommodate at least part of the cleaning mechanism (51, figure 1) and clean the at least part of the cleaning mechanism (abstract); and a sewage tank (73, figure 3) in communication with the cleaning tank (72, figures 1, 3), wherein the sewage tank is provided with a liquid inlet (792, figure 3), and cleaning liquid entering the sewage tank through the liquid inlet is configured to flush the cleaning liquid in the sewage tank (“the control command drainage pump 78 works to make the water in the cleaning tank 72 flow to the sewage tank 73 to realize drainage, the control device in the cleaning tank 72, wherein the liquid inlet is provided on at least one of a side wall and a bottom of the sewage tank”)
and a first pump (78, figure 1-5), the first pump being in communication such that the first pump pumps away cleaning liquid after the cleaning liquid enters (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”), wherein a liquid outlet (“the sewage tank 73 is provided with a drain pipe 792… one end of the drain pipe 792 is inserted into the drain hole 722, and the other end is connected with the sewage tank 73.”) is arranged, the liquid outlet being in communication with the first pump (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”).
Mao fails to teach an auxiliary container, located on a first side of the cleaning tank and arranged independently of the cleaning tank base station further comprises a first floater, arranged in the auxiliary container and configured to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet, wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench, located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench.
Gao teaches a base station (abstract, figures 1-29) for a cleaning robot (2, figures 1-10) where the base station has an auxiliary container (1053, figure 7; “the sewage collection area 1053 is set as a box structure, which forms a relatively closed structure” ) located on a first side of the cleaning tank (1052, figure 7) connected to a pump that pumps cleaning liquid away (fourth power mechanism, and the fourth power mechanism is used to transfer the sewage and/or garbage in the cleaning tank to the sewage tank; the fourth power mechanism 1041 and the airflow generator 101 are both connected to the sewage collecting area 1053. The fourth power mechanism 1041 is used to pump the sewage and smaller garbage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, and the airflow generator 101 is used to absorb the larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, ensuring that all the sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Gao’s auxiliary container connected to a pump where auxiliary container is located on a first side of cleaning can help transfer sewage from the cleaning tank. (See Gao “to absorb larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collection area 1053 into the sewage tank 104 to ensure that all the sewage in the sewage collection area 1053).
Wenhoz teaches a cleaning apparatus that has an auxiliary container (15, figure 3) that has holds cleaning liquid, that includes a first floater (71, figure 3) in the auxiliary container (15, figure 3) and configured (capable of performing this action) to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet (“the water storage container of the storage cavity 14 is 15 set on the inner wall of the water storage chamber 15 and can slide up and down the floating plate 71, when the water level is changed, and it can drive the floating 71 slide up and down so as to drive other components to realize the dry burning resistant function. floating the storage chamber 15 the water level descends until consumption, floating plate 71 moves downward, the downward movement of 71 orderly through the slide bar 72, the cable 83 drives the lifting sliding block 74 moves upward, the spring 82 is elongated. when the water level in the storage chamber 15 reaches the lowest”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Wenhoz’s floater. This modification would help with controlling the flow of liquid within a system (see Wenhoz’s abstract).
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a second pump (74, figures 5-9) that pumps clean water from a clean water tank and a first pump (51, figure 8) that discharges sewage in a sewage receiving chamber (13, figure 8), where the filter screen (40, figure 8) is close to each side wall (112, figure 8), and lock block (80,figures 12-13) on guide top surface (figure 13; the pressing device is configured to apply downward pressure on the cleaning robot 9 during the squeeze cleaning of the wiping member) and above the cleaning tank (117, figures 8,12) and , wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench (see annotated figure below), located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench (“the base station 1 further includes a sewage tank 50 and a water suction pipe 51, and the water suction pipe 51 can discharge the sewage in the sewage receiving chamber 13 into the sewage tank 50 for temporary storage to dump the sewage in the sewage tank 50 after the cleaning operation is completed. In the specific example of the present embodiment, the sewage tank 50 is provided on the base station upper cover 12, and sewage is drawn up from the sewage receiving chamber 13 by negative pressure and enters the sewage tank 50 through the water suction pipe 51. Of course, the waste water tank 50 and/or the water suction pipe 51 may not be provided, and for example, waste water in the waste water receiving chamber 13 may be discharged to the outside through another discharge pipe. In the specific example of the present embodiment, a sinking area 116, figures 8 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a diversion trench. This modification would help with ensuring that dirty liquid and sewage is collected. (see Huang’s npl and figures 8- 13)
Regarding claim 18, modified Mao teaches the cleaning tank (Mao 72, figure 1) is further provided with a liquid inlet (Mao 721, figure 3), the sewage tank (Mao 73, figure 3) is provided with a liquid outlet (Mao “the sewage tank 73 is provided with a drain pipe 792… one end of the drain pipe 792 is inserted into the drain hole 722, and the other end is connected with the sewage tank 73.”)which is configured to discharge the cleaning liquid in the sewage tank (Mao 73, figure 3)
Regarding claim 19, Mao teaches a cleaning robot (abstract, figures 1-4) comprising a cleaning mechanism (51, figure 1); and a base station (20, figure 1), comprising a cleaning tank (72, figure 1) configured to accommodate at least part of the cleaning mechanism (abstract) and clean the at least part of the cleaning mechanism (abstract), wherein the cleaning tank comprises a first end face (see annotated figure above) and a second end face (see annotated figure above), and a direction of a connection line between the first end face and the second end face is substantially parallel to an extension direction of the cleaning mechanism (51, figures 1-5)
a first pump (78, figure 1-5), the first pump being in communication with the, such that the first pump pumps away cleaning (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”), wherein a liquid outlet (“the sewage tank 73 is provided with a drain pipe 792… one end of the drain pipe 792 is inserted into the drain hole 722, and the other end is connected with the sewage tank 73.”), the liquid outlet being in communication with the first pump (see Mao “to work to drain the water in the cleaning tank 72 into the sewage tank 73, and commands the drainage pump to stop working after the water in the cleaning tank 72 is completely drained”).
Mao fails to teach an auxiliary container, located on a first side of the cleaning tank and arranged independently of the cleaning tank base station further comprises a first floater, arranged in the auxiliary container and configured to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet, wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench, located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench.
Gao teaches a base station (abstract, figures 1-29) for a cleaning robot (2, figures 1-10) where the base station has an auxiliary container (1053, figure 7; “the sewage collection area 1053 is set as a box structure, which forms a relatively closed structure” ) located on a first side of the cleaning tank (1052, figure 7) connected to a pump that pumps cleaning liquid away (fourth power mechanism, and the fourth power mechanism is used to transfer the sewage and/or garbage in the cleaning tank to the sewage tank; the fourth power mechanism 1041 and the airflow generator 101 are both connected to the sewage collecting area 1053. The fourth power mechanism 1041 is used to pump the sewage and smaller garbage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, and the airflow generator 101 is used to absorb the larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053 into the sewage tank 104, ensuring that all the sewage in the sewage collecting area 1053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Gao’s auxiliary container connected to a pump where auxiliary container is located on a first side of cleaning can help transfer sewage from the cleaning tank. (See Gao “to absorb larger garbage or concentrated sewage in the sewage collection area 1053 into the sewage tank 104 to ensure that all the sewage in the sewage collection area 1053).
Wenhoz teaches a cleaning apparatus that has an auxiliary container (15, figure 3) that has holds cleaning liquid, that includes a first floater (71, figure 3) in the auxiliary container (15, figure 3) and configured (capable of performing this action) to switch between a first vertical position and a second vertical position, wherein at the first vertical position, the cleaning liquid is not existing in the auxiliary container and the first floater shields the liquid outlet, and at the second vertical position, the cleaning liquid is existing in the auxiliary container, the first floater floats up relative to the first vertical position and exposes the liquid outlet, and the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary container via the liquid outlet. (“the water storage container of the storage cavity 14 is 15 set on the inner wall of the water storage chamber 15 and can slide up and down the floating plate 71, when the water level is changed, and it can drive the floating 71 slide up and down so as to drive other components to realize the dry burning resistant function. floating the storage chamber 15 the water level descends until consumption, floating plate 71 moves downward, the downward movement of 71 orderly through the slide bar 72, the cable 83 drives the lifting sliding block 74 moves upward, the spring 82 is elongated. when the water level in the storage chamber 15 reaches the lowest”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Wenhoz’s floater. This modification would help with controlling the flow of liquid within a system (see Wenhoz’s abstract).
Huang teaches a base station for cleaning machines the base station that includes a second pump (74, figures 5-9) that pumps clean water from a clean water tank and a first pump (51, figure 8) that discharges sewage in a sewage receiving chamber (13, figure 8), where the filter screen (40, figure 8) is close to each side wall (112, figure 8), and lock block (80,figures 12-13) on guide top surface (figure 13; the pressing device is configured to apply downward pressure on the cleaning robot 9 during the squeeze cleaning of the wiping member) and above the cleaning tank (117, figures 8,12) and , wherein the base station further comprises: a diversion trench (see annotated figure below), located on a second side opposite to the first side of the cleaning tank and being in communication with the cleaning tank, wherein the diversion trench is disposed at a vertical position higher than the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid returns into the cleaning tank after the cleaning liquid enters the diversion trench (“the base station 1 further includes a sewage tank 50 and a water suction pipe 51, and the water suction pipe 51 can discharge the sewage in the sewage receiving chamber 13 into the sewage tank 50 for temporary storage to dump the sewage in the sewage tank 50 after the cleaning operation is completed. In the specific example of the present embodiment, the sewage tank 50 is provided on the base station upper cover 12, and sewage is drawn up from the sewage receiving chamber 13 by negative pressure and enters the sewage tank 50 through the water suction pipe 51. Of course, the waste water tank 50 and/or the water suction pipe 51 may not be provided, and for example, waste water in the waste water receiving chamber 13 may be discharged to the outside through another discharge pipe. In the specific example of the present embodiment, a sinking area 116, figures 8 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Huang’s teachings of having a diversion trench. This modification would help with ensuring that dirty liquid and sewage is collected. (see Huang’s npl and figures 8- 13)
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids, Huang (CN211862710U) cited in ids further in view of Liu (US20200405119A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the cleaning wiper is configured to squeeze the cleaning mechanism, and wherein the cleaning wiper comprises a plurality of protrusions arranged at intervals.
Liu teaches an automatic cleaning storage base for a cleaning apparatus (abstract) that has cleaning wiper (5b, figures 4- 5) is configured to squeeze the cleaning mechanism on bottom of cleaning tank (para 0022 discloses and squeeze affect) that has connection plate and has plural protrusions that are arrange at intervals (see annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Liu’s teachings of a cleaning wiper that can squeeze, has a connection plate, and protrusions that are arrange at intervals. This modification would help with reducing decontamination and removing sewage from a cleaning roller of a robot cleaner (see Mao para 0022).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mao teaches cleaning wiper (see Liu 5b, figures 4-5) further comprises a connection plate (see Liu 5b, figures 4-5 and annotated figure above) arranged on a bottom wall of the cleaning tank (see Mao 72, figures 1-5 and liu 5b, figures 4-5)and extending along an extension direction of the cleaning tank (see Liu 5aa, figures 4-5); and the plurality of protrusions are arranged at intervals on the connection plate (see annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids ,Huang (CN211862710U) cited in ids further in view of Zhou (US2023/0172410A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach a drying mechanism configured to dry the cleaning mechanism, wherein the drying mechanism and the cleaning tank are located at two ends of the base station respectively.
Zhou teaches a cleaning apparatus system that includes a drying mechanism (23 figure 8) configured to dry the cleaning mechanism (abstract), wherein the drying mechanism (23,abstract; para 0078) and the cleaning tank (11, abstract; figure 8-9) are located at two ends of the base station respectively (figure 8) and a through hole (13 and 14, figure 8) arranged apart from the cleaning tank (11, figure 8-9); wherein the drying mechanism (23, figure 8) is configured to dry the cleaning mechanism through the through hole (13 and 14, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include the teachings of Zhou drying mechanism. This modification would help reduce the growth of bacteria on a cleaning apparatus’s roller brush (see Zhou para 0005).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mao teaches a through hole (see Zhou 13 and 14, figure 8) arranged apart from the cleaning tank (see Zhou 11, figure 8-9); wherein the drying mechanism (see Zhou 23, figure 8) is configured to dry the cleaning mechanism through the through hole (see Zhou 13 and 14, figure 8).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids, Huang (CN211862710U) cited in ids further in view of Gao (CN111973090A) hereinafter Gao -2
Regarding claim 20, modified Mao teaches all limitations stated above and teaches cleaning mechanism comprises at least one of a sweeping brushroll (see Mao 51, figures 1-5), but fails to teach a mopping brushroll.
Gao-2 teaches a base station (abstract) for a cleaning robot that has a sweeping brushroll (2010, figure 4) and a mopping brushroll (2012, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Gao-2’s teachings of sweeping brush and a mopping brushroll for cleaning robot. This modification would allow for a cleaning robot to two different areas on a surface (see Gao-2 pages 10-14).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids as applied to claim 1 further in view of Xie (WO2020125774A1).
Regarding claim 15, Mao as modified in claim 1 taches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach a guide side surface; and a guide wheel, arranged on the guide side surface for contact with the cleaning robot; wherein the guide wheel is located above the cleaning tank.
Xie teaches base station (200, figure 34) that has guide side surface (figure 34;” In a specific embodiment, two inner side walls of the base station 200 are respectively provided with at least one set of auxiliary guide structures, which are used to contact the two side walls of the cleaning robot to guide the cleaning robot to return to the operating position accurately,”); and a guide wheel (290, figure 34), arranged on the guide side surface for contact with the cleaning robot (100, figures 1-34); wherein the guide wheel (290, figures 1-34)is located above the cleaning tank (251-252, figures 1-16,34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include Xie’s guide wheel. This modification would help with guiding and assisting the robot cleaner (see Xie page 50).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A) and Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids, Huang (CN211862710U) cited in ids further in view of Chen (TWM547119U)
Regarding claim 7, Mao as modified in claim 5 teaches al limitations stated above and a liquid level detector (see Mao page 7) configured to detect a liquid level of the cleaning liquid in the cleaning tank, wherein the liquid level detector comprises:
a signal transmitter (see Mao 76, figure 3);
a signal receiver ( see Mao 32 and “control device”; pages 7,8, figures 3), arranged opposite to the signal transmitter (see Mao 76, figure 3), but fails to teach a mount base; a connection rod, rotatably arranged on the mount base;
a second floater, arranged at a first end face of the connection rod and located in the cleaning tank, wherein the second floater is configured to drive the connection rod to rotate relative to the mount base under an effect of the cleaning liquid; and
a shielding member, arranged at a second end face of the connection rod and configured to rotate between an uppermost position and a lowermost position relative to the mount base with the rotation of the connection rod, wherein the shielding member comprises a hollow part and a peripheral part surrounding the hollow part, the peripheral part is sandwiched between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver when the shielding member is at the uppermost position and the lowermost position for disconnecting the signal transmitter from the signal receiver, and the hollow part is sandwiched between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver when the shielding member is at a position between the uppermost position and the lowermost position for connecting the signal transmitter with the signal receiver; wherein in response to the signal connection between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver being disconnected, the second pump pumps the cleaning liquid into the cleaning tank.
Chen teaches a water level control structure that includes a connection rod (21, figure 4), rotatably arranged on the mount base (figures 3-5);
a floater (22, figures 3-5), arranged at a first end face of the connection rod and located in the cleaning tank, wherein the floater is configured to drive the connection rod to rotate relative to the mount base under an effect of the cleaning liquid (figures 3-5); and
a shielding member (see 23 and 102, figure 4), arranged at a second end face of the connection rod and configured to rotate between an uppermost position and a lowermost position relative to the mount base with the rotation of the connection rod, wherein the shielding member comprises a hollow part and a peripheral part (see figure 4) surrounding the hollow part, the peripheral part is sandwiched between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver when the shielding member is at the uppermost position and the lowermost position for disconnecting the signal transmitter from the signal receiver, and the hollow part is sandwiched between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver when the shielding member is at a position between the uppermost position and the lowermost position for connecting the signal transmitter with the signal receiver; wherein in response to the signal connection between the signal transmitter and the signal receiver being disconnected, the second pump pumps the cleaning liquid into the cleaning tank (see abstract, and Chen discloses “the first water level control device 10 (electronic structure) Sending a signal, the processor 14 receives the signal and transmits power to the solenoid valve 104, so that the solenoid valve 104 closes the water inlet of the water inlet pipe 103, and when the first water level control device 10 senses a fault. The second water level control device 20 (mechanical structure) is blocked by the support rod 21 “; see figures 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include additional floater, connection rod, and shielding member based on the teachings of Chen. This modification would help with controlling the flow of liquid within a system and increase safety within protection. (Chen discloses “The main purpose of this creation is to provide a water level control structure for a water storage container, which has an electronic and mechanical structure switch to prevent the occurrence of overflow and achieve double protection.)
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (CN111820824A) cited in ids in view of Wenzhou (CN110946520A), Gao (CN112006615A) cited in ids, Huang (CN211862710U) cited ids further in view of Buehler (US20180368646A1).
Regarding claim 9, Mao as modified in claim 1 teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach a sealing strip is arranged between the auxiliary container and the cleaning tank, such that the cleaning liquid in the cleaning container is prevented from entering the auxiliary container.
Buehler teaches a refilling, emptying, recharging system for an autonomous floor cleaner (abstract) that includes a tight seal (para 0086) between disposal conduit (para 0086) and a container (530, figure 9) to ensure only wastes flows from the container (530, figure 9) into disposal conduit (para 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mao to include Buehler’s teachings of a tight seal. This modification would help with controlling the flow of liquid within a system (see Buehler para 0086).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723