DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs. 19A-21 in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 5, 8, 10-11 and 16-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 21 shows two “heatsink 1702”. It’s also unclear where the semiconductor chip 1706 is located in Fig. 21, which is important to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacGregor et al. (US 2008/0081489; hereinafter “MacGregor”)
Regarding claim 1, MacGregor discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1A, 1B) comprising:
a carrier plate (101, Fig. 1A) including:
a first surface (top surface of 101) to face a heatsink (not shown, but mentioned in [0030]: “…The thermal solution may be a heat sink, a fan or combination…”);
a second surface (bottom surface of 101) opposite the first surface; and
an aperture (aperture of 101) extending between the first and second surfaces, the aperture dimensioned to surround a semiconductor device (103, Figs. 1A, 1B); and
a spring (same as the resilient surface of 101, which is like a spring when under load lever 109 as shown in Fig. 1B) carried by the carrier plate, the spring to contact a surface (outer edge surface of 103 as shown in Fig. 1B) of the semiconductor device proximate an outer edge of the semiconductor device (as shown in Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6, MacGregor discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and MacGregor further discloses wherein a first end of the spring is to contact the surface of the semiconductor device and a second end of the spring (see two ends in cropped Fig. 1B below) is to contact a bolster plate (same as 107, Fig. 1A) on a printed circuit board (111, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, MacGregor discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and MacGregor further discloses wherein the spring is a first spring positioned on a first side of the carrier plate (such as left side of 101 in Fig. 1B), further including a second spring (such as right side of 101 in Fig. 1B) positioned on a second side of the carrier plate, the second side opposite the first side.
Regarding claim 12, MacGregor discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spring is to distribute a load from the heatsink to the surface of the semiconductor device when the semiconductor device is pressed into a corresponding socket (see load distribution arrows in Fig. 1B; note heatsink can be loaded on top of 103).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15 and 23-26 are allowed.
Re claims 3, 4, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the apparatus of claim 3, in particular, wherein the carrier plate includes a cavity in the first surface, the spring positioned in the cavity.
Re claims 9, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the apparatus of claim 3, in particular, wherein the spring is a torsional spring.
Re claims 13-15, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the apparatus of claim 13, in particular, a carrier plate to be coupled to a heatsink, the carrier plate including an aperture to receive a semiconductor device, the semiconductor device to be thermally coupled to the heatsink; and a torsional spring to extend through a channel in the carrier plate, the torsional spring to contact a surface of the semiconductor device.
Re claims 23-26, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the method of claim 23, in particular, positioning an integrated circuit (IC) package in an aperture of a carrier plate; positioning a torsional spring in a cavity of the carrier plate to contact a surface of the IC package proximate an outer edge of the IC package; and
attaching the carrier plate to a heatsink to thermally couple the IC package to the heatsink.
*Note that if the case is found allowable, species II can be withdrawn and claims 16-17 can be rejoined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cheng (US 11,411,332) discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a carrier plate (70, Fig. 2) including: a first surface (top surface of 70, Fig. 2); a second surface (bottom surface of 70 shown in Fig. 2) opposite the first surface; and an aperture (aperture within 70 for 80 in Figs. 1, 2) extending between the first and second surfaces, the aperture dimensioned to surround a semiconductor device (80, Figs. 1, 2); and a spring (spring in 40, Fig. 2; can refer to 43 in Fig. 8) carried by the carrier plate.
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841