DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/15/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion" “width” “approximately” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently discloses a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “the distance across something from one side to the other” “reasonably close to” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 14-21, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meile et al (US 2021/0193558 A1 hereinafter Meile).
Regarding Claim 1, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: An apparatus comprising:
a heatsink (102), a base (104) of the heatsink to be thermally coupled to a semiconductor device; and
a rigid plate (108) to be coupled to the semiconductor device and the base of the heatsink, the rigid plate (steel) stiffer than the base (copper: Same materials as disclosed by applicant in [0114]), the rigid plate distinct from a bolster plate (110) to which the heatsink is to be coupled [0022-0024, 0034].
Regarding Claim 2, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rigid plate is metal [0045].
Regarding Claim 3, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rigid plate (108) is to be removably coupled to the base of the heatsink using at least one of screws or bolts (116/114).
Regarding Claim 4, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rigid plate (108) includes an aperture centrally positioned in the rigid plate (108), the semiconductor device to be disposed in the aperture [0034].
Regarding Claim 7, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rigid plate (108) is to be coupled to the base of the heatsink (104) without solder [0022].
Regarding Claim 8, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rigid plate (108) is to distribute a load from the semiconductor device to the base of the heatsink (102) when the semiconductor device is pressed into a corresponding socket (206) [0022, 0024, 0047].
Regarding Claim 9, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: An apparatus comprising:
a plate (108) to be coupled to a base of a heatsink (102), the plate to be stiffer than the base (104); and
an integrated circuit (IC) package (118/202/204) to be disposed in an aperture of the plate and thermally coupled to the base of the heatsink, the IC package to extend farther away from the base of the heatsink than the plate extends away from the base of the heatsink (See Fig 3 for a cross section) [0022].
Regarding Claim 10, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the aperture is centrally positioned in the plate (108) See Fig 2-3.
Regarding Claim 11, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 10, wherein a first length of a first side of the plate (108) is greater than a second length of a second side of the plate (longer side of the rectangular plate 108), the first side adjacent the second side, the plate including an opening (opening for the screws/nuts) along the second side.
Regarding Claim 12, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the aperture (in 108) has a first width and the opening (opening for the screw/nut) has a second width that is less than the first width (See Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the plate (108) is U-shaped with an open end and a closed end [0034].
Regarding Claim 15, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 14, wherein opposite sides of the plate (108) at the open end are a same distance apart as the opposite sides of the plate at a midpoint between the open end and the closed end [0034].
Regarding Claim 16, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 14, wherein opposite sides of the plate are closer together at the open end than at a midpoint between the open end and the closed end [0034].
Regarding Claim 17, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the plate (108) is removably couplable to the base (104) of the heatsink (102) using threaded fasteners (116/114).
Regarding Claim 18, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the threaded fasteners (116/114) are spaced around the aperture (108) See Fig
Regarding Claim 19, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 9, further including springs to urge the plate (108) towards a bolster plate (112) of a printed circuit board (110) [0051].
Regarding Claim 20, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the plate (108) is rectangular, the Springs to act on the plate at respective corners of the plate (See openings for screws with springs) [0051].
Regarding Claim 21, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: An apparatus (108) comprising:
a first surface to interface with a base (104) of a heatsink (102);
a second surface opposite the first surface;
an outer perimeter (See Fig 2);
an inner perimeter defining an aperture extending between the first and second surfaces, the aperture dimensioned to surround an integrated circuit (IC) package (118); and
one or more holes (See Fig 2) extending between the first and second surfaces, the one or more holes dimensioned to enable threaded fasteners (116/114) to secure the apparatus to the base of the heatsink, the apparatus composed of metal [0023, 0022, 0045].
Regarding Claim 23, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the apparatus is U-shaped with a closed end and an open end [0034].
Regarding Claim 24, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the aperture has a first width and an opening at the open end has a second width that is less than the first width [0034].
Regarding Claim 25, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the aperture has a first width and an opening at the open end has a second width, the second width corresponding to the first width [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meile et al (US 2021/0193558 A1 hereinafter Meile) in view of Villani, Angelo (US5,329,426 hereinafter Villani).
Regarding Claim 5, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 4.
Meile does not disclose: further including carrier snaps spaced about the aperture, the carrier snaps to hold the semiconductor device in the aperture.
However, Villani in a similar device teaches in Fig 1-2: further including carrier snaps (32) spaced about the semiconductor device (10), the carrier snaps to hold the semiconductor device in contact with the PCB (12).
References Meile and Villani are analogous art because they both are directed to thermal management of semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Meile with the specified features of Villani because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Meile and Villani so that further including carrier snaps spaced about the aperture, the carrier snaps to hold the semiconductor device in the aperture as taught by Villani in Meile’s device since, spring holds the heat sink in place and forces the heat sink and the chip carrier package together in order to maintain good thermal contact (abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Meile and Villani disclose: The apparatus of claim 5.
Meile does not disclose: wherein the carrier snaps are integrally formed with the rigid plate.
However, Villani in a similar device teaches in Fig 1-2: wherein the carrier snaps (32) are integrally formed with the frame (42).
References Meile and Villani are analogous art because they both are directed to thermal management of semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Meile with the specified features of Villani because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Meile and Villani so that the carrier snaps are integrally formed with the rigid plate as taught by Villani in Meile’s device since, spring holds the heat sink in place and forces the heat sink and the chip carrier package together in order to maintain good thermal contact (abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the aperture (opening in 108) has a first width (width is a distance measured between 2 sides of a structure and one of ordinary skilled in the art could arbitrarily choose a distance between two sides of the aperture so as to meet the limitation) and the opening (opening for the screws and nuts) has a second width that is approximately equal to the second width.
Regarding Claim 22, Meile discloses in Fig 1-2: The apparatus of claim 21.
Meile does not disclose: further including one or more carrier snaps spaced around the aperture and couplable to the IC package.
However, Villani in a similar device teaches in Fig 1-2: further including one or more carrier snaps (32) spaced around and couplable to the IC package (10).
References Meile and Villani are analogous art because they both are directed to thermal management of semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Meile with the specified features of Villani because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Meile and Villani so that further including one or more carrier snaps spaced around the aperture and couplable to the IC package as taught by Villani in Meile’s device since, spring holds the heat sink in place and forces the heat sink and the chip carrier package together in order to maintain good thermal contact (abstract).
Conclusion
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811