Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-19 remain pending in the application. The amendments filed 02/02/2026 have been entered but do not place the application in condition for allowance. The cancellation of claim 12 overcomes the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) to the claim. The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the former prior art rejections. New rejections follow.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: the “battery” cited in the preamble does not match the claimed “battery cell” of claim 1. It appears that claims 13 and 15 may have been intended to be dependent on parent claim 10 instead of claim 1 because a battery is claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the conductive layers are chemically different from the first current collector.” The instant specification does not disclose examples of the current collector composition; therefore, there is no concrete evidence showing that the conductive layers are chemically different from the first current collector.
Claims 3-11, 13-19 depend on claim 1 and therefore also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10-11, 13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (CN 109473729 A, included in previous office action of 06/26/2025) in view of Wang et al (WO 2009054987 A1, published 2009-04-30).
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng teaches a battery cell comprising an electrode assembly wherein the electrode assembly is formed by winding a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate and that the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector (translation: [0008] lines 103-106). Zheng also teaches an embodiment in Fig. 23 of a first active material layer (2302) disposed on two sides of the first current collector (2301) ([0059]).
Zheng further teaches in Fig. 19 that the second electrode plate comprises a second current collector (1903), a second active material (1904) disposed on two surfaces of the second current collector (1903), and an insulation layer (1906). The right side of Fig. 19 corresponds to an uncoated area of the second current collector not disposed with the second active material layer (1904) and wherein the insulation layer (1906) is disposed in the uncoated area ([0073] lines 1201-1202). As seen in Fig. 19, reproduced below, the insulation layer 1906 is disposed in the uncoated area side by side with the second active material layer 1904 on one of the two surfaces of the second current collector 1903.
Fig. 19 of Zheng
Zheng is silent as to the first electrode plate further comprising conductive layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) an electrode with a current collector (conductive support 22 which can function as a current collector as disclosed in p20 lines 26-29), and a conductive layer (a multi-layer primer 4 which is electrically conductive; p18 lines 1-15) completely covering the surface of the current collector 22 as seen in Fig. 1, an active material layer (electroactive layer 30) disposed on a surface of the conductive layer (Fig. 1; p6 lines 25-30). Wang teaches the conductive layer (i.e., primer layer) provides good adhesion and electrical contact between the active material and the current collector to promote high discharge capacities in an electrochemical cell (p5 30-33 through p6 1-7).
Wang further teaches the conductive layers (multi-layer primer 4) are chemically different from the current collector (Examples 1-10 disclose use of aluminum foil or Al/PET materials for the current collector, and conductive layers (primer layers) that comprise conductive carbon, binder, and water; p29 line 20 through p43 line 30).
Wang also discloses that the electrode configuration shown in Fig. 1 can be covered on the side opposite the side at which the components of active material layer 30 and multi-layer primer 4 (comprising 24, 26) are illustrated with a similar or identical set of components, thus teaching a conductive layer can be disposed on each side of the current collector (i.e., a first surface and a second surface facing away from the first surface) and completely covering the first surface and the second surface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zheng’s battery cell to include the conductive layers taught by Wang within the first electrode plate because the electrode configuration is known in the prior art, and the conductive layers provide the benefits of promoting good adhesion and electrical contact between the active material and the current collector to promote high discharge capacities in an electrochemical cell, as recognized by Wang.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that providing the combination of elements in combination, that is, Wang’s conductive layers with the Zheng’s components of the first electrode plate, would merely provide the predictable result of similar function as performed separately with expectation of success; see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP §2143, A).
Accordingly, within modified Zheng, the first electrode plate further comprises conductive layers, the first current collector comprises a first surface and a second surface facing away from the first surface, the conductive layers completely cover the first surface and the second surface, and the first active material is disposed on a surface each of the conductive layers.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1, and as pointed out previously in addressing claim 1, Zheng teaches the winding of a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate to form the electrode assembly ([0008] lines 103-106) and also teaches the structure of the second electrode plate structure in Fig. 19 ([0073] lines 1201-1202). Zheng further discloses, “the first pole piece comprises a first current collector, the first current collector comprises a first surface… the first surface faces the shell, the first surface comprises a coated area provided with a first active substance and uncoated area where the first active substance is not arranged; the uncoated area comprises a first uncoated area arranged at the tail end of the winding, the first uncoated area comprises a bent section and a straight section arranged alternately; the bent section is provided with an insulating layer” ([0043]) and in an embodiment “the straight section is at least partially provided with an insulating layer” ([0047]).
It follows that the taught uncoated area with an insulating layer corresponds to insulation layer 1906 on the right-hand side of Fig. 19 and is arranged at the tail end, or finishing end, of the second current collector, and also on a surface facing the shell and away from the center of the electrode assembly. Therefore, the winding direction of the electrode assembly is from left to right of the structure shown in Fig. 19, wherein the left side is a starting end and the right side is a finishing end. Fig. 19 thus shows the second active material (1904) is disposed on two surfaces of a starting end of the second current collector. Additionally, the second active material layer on the surface opposite to insulation layer 1906 on the right-hand side of Fig. 19 is disposed on a surface of a finishing end of the second current collector but facing towards a center of the electrode assembly. Therefore, the combination of prior art reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 2, and Zheng teaches the insulation layer comprises a mass ratio of 98:2 boehmite and PVDF ([0051], [0065]), which is about 3% first binder and 97% ceramic. Barring criticality of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges are close to the prior art, as stated in MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 5. Zheng further teaches the ceramics can be selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide and silicon oxide and combinations thereof ([0096]), which satisfies the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1. Zheng further teaches use of a package case for the battery cell ([0080] lines 1402-1404), which implies a housing for accommodating the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1. Zheng further teaches smart electronic products as applications for electrochemical devices such as batteries ([0004] lines 43-50), which reads on the claimed electronic apparatus. As pointed out previously in addressing claim 10, Zheng teaches a package case ([0080] lines 1402-1404), and the space within the package case would provide a compartment configured to accommodate the battery.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination above teaches the battery of claim 1, and as pointed out previously in addressing claim 1, Zheng teaches the winding of a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate to form the electrode assembly ([0008] lines 103-106) and also teaches the structure of the second electrode plate structure in Fig. 19 ([0073] lines 1201-1202). Zheng further discloses, “the first pole piece comprises a first current collector, the first current collector comprises a first surface… the first surface faces the shell, the first surface comprises a coated area provided with a first active substance and uncoated area where the first active substance is not arranged; the uncoated area comprises a first uncoated area arranged at the tail end of the winding, the first uncoated area comprises a bent section and a straight section arranged alternately; the bent section is provided with an insulating layer” ([0043]) and in an embodiment “the straight section is at least partially provided with an insulating layer” ([0047]).
It follows that the taught uncoated area with an insulating layer corresponds to insulation layer 1906 on the right-hand side of Fig. 19 and is arranged at the tail end, or finishing end, of the second current collector, and also on a surface facing the shell and away from the center of the electrode assembly. Therefore, the winding direction of the electrode assembly is from left to right of the structure shown in Fig. 19, wherein the left side is a starting end and the right side is a finishing end. Fig. 19 thus shows the second active material (1904) is disposed on two surfaces of a starting end of the second current collector. Accordingly, the second active material layer on the surface opposite to insulation layer 1906 on the right-hand side of Fig. 19 is disposed on a surface of a finishing end of the second current collector but facing towards a center of the electrode assembly. Therefore, the combination of prior art reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 12, and Zheng teaches the insulation layer comprises a mass ratio of 98:2 boehmite and PVDF ([0051], [0065]), which is about 3% first binder and 97% ceramic. Barring criticality of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges are close to the prior art, as stated in MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 15. Zheng further teaches the ceramics can be selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide and silicon oxide and combinations thereof ([0096]), which satisfies the claimed limitation.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (CN 109473729 A) in view of Wang et al (WO 2009054987 A1) as applied to claim 3 and claim 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Yang et al (CN 208478491 U, previously cited in Office Action of 06/26/2025).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 3 and the battery of claim 13, but it does not teach an insulation tape attached to a bending section of the electrode assembly.
Yang further teaches (Fig. 1) for a wound electrode assembly including a second electrode plate (12), a separator (14), and a first electrode plate (16) wherein the second electrode plate (12) and the first electrode plate (16) have opposite polarities, an insulating rubber adhesive (18) is provided to isolate the outermost circle of the current collector (122) of electrode plate (12) from the packaging film (20) ([0026], [0029]). As seen from Fig. 1, one end of the insulation tape (18) is attached to the finishing end of the outermost current collector (122), and the other end of the insulation tape (18) is attached to a portion where the outermost current collector (122) bends for the last time ([0033]). The outermost current collector belongs to electrode plate (12) which can be the cathode or an anode ([0029] para 4). Yang also discloses that use of the insulating tape (18) helps to block direct contact between the outermost electrode plate (12) and the surrounding housing (20) and contribute to protection against short-circuiting and improving the safety performance of the battery cell ([0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified battery cell of Zheng with the insulation tape as taught by Yang to improve the safety performance of the battery cell. In combination, the prior art teaches the limitations as claimed.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (CN 109473729 A,) in view of Wang et al (WO 2009054987 A1) as applied to claim 1 and claim 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Torata et al (JP 2010040488 A, previously cited in Office Action of 06/26/2025).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1 and the battery of claim 10. Zheng of the combination teaches the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first electrode plate, the separator and the second electrode plate in a winding direction of the electrode assembly ([0008] lines 103-106).
Modified Zheng does not teach the first active material layer is not disposed on a surface of the conductive layers facing towards a center of the electrode assembly at a started end of the first current collector, and the first active material layer is disposed on two surfaces of the conductive layers at a finishing end of the first current collector.
In the same field of endeavor, Torata teaches (Fig. 3; [0045]) active material 12z is not disposed over the current collector at a starting end (corresponding to outer point c) of a current collector (resin film 12x with conductive layers 12y on both sides), which would also include surfaces of the current collector facing towards a center of the electrode assembly at a starting end of the current collector. At a finishing end of the current collector corresponding to the position of inner point a in Fig. 3, Fig. 2 shows the active layer 12z to be disposed on two surfaces of the conductive layer (12y) of the current collector. Torata also teaches that their invention is a useful technique for improving the safety of wound-type batteries such as lithium ion secondary batteries ([0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the first electrode plate of modified Zheng such that the first active material is not disposed over the surfaces of the first current collector facing towards a center of the electrode assembly at a starting end of the first current collector, and such that the first active material layer is disposed on two surfaces of the current collector at a finishing end of the first current collector given that Torata teaches it is a known configuration, and that the configuration improves the safety of wound-type batteries such as lithium ion secondary batteries.
Accordingly, within the combination of prior art, wherein each of the claimed conductive layers of the first electrode plate forms an intervening layer between the first active material and a surface of the first current collector, the first active material layer would not be disposed on a surface of the conductive layers facing towards a center of the electrode assembly at a starting end of the first current collector, and the first active material layer is disposed on two surfaces of the conductive layers at a finishing end of the first current collector, as claimed.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (CN 109473729 A,) in view of Wang et al (WO 2009054987 A1) as applied to claim 1 and claim 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Hatanaka et al (WO 2019188538 A1, previously cited in Office Action of 06/26/2025).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1 and the battery of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach the claimed composition for the conductive layer. Hatanaka is relied upon to teach the composition for a conductive undercoat layer interposed between the current collector and the electrode mixture layer for a battery ([0005]). Hatanaka teaches a dispersant concentration of 0.002 to 20 mass % ([0060]), concentration of a conductive agent such as carbon nanotubes of about 0.001 to 10 mass % ([0060]), and a matrix polymer (binder) of 0.001 to 90% by mass (translation: [0063]), which overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Hatanaka also discloses that their taught composition provides an undercoat layer that exhibits a resistance reducing effect and a resistance increase suppression effect and increases adhesion between the current collector and the electrode mixture layer, thereby lowering the resistance of the battery ([0005], [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified modified Zheng to use the composition for the conductive layer as taught by Hatanaka to obtain the advantages of reduced battery resistance and because it is a suitable material for a conductive layer between the current collector and the electrode active material. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination above teaches the battery cell of claim 1 and the battery of claim 10, but does not teach the resistance of each of the conductive layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Hatanaka teaches a conductive undercoat layer interposed between the current collector and the electrode mixture layer for a battery (machine translation [0005]). Hatanaka indicates that increasing the electrical conductivity of the conductive undercoat layer lowers the resistance of the device and suppresses an increase in resistance ([0015]), therefore electrical conductivity, which corresponds to the inverse of electrical resistivity, is a result-effective variable. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have adjusted the electrical resistivity of the conductive layers for a given geometry of the conductive layers to optimize and suppress an increase in the resistance of the battery, and would have accordingly arrived at the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, as previously pointed out in the Advisory Action of January 09, 2026, the rejection to claim 1 and amended claim 1 does not rely on Torata to teach the limitation of the insulation layer disposed in the uncoated area side by side with the second active material layer on one of the two surfaces of the second current collector. Zheng of the prior art combination is relied upon to teach the limitation. Therefore, the examiner respectively considers the argument against Torata for claim 1 a moot point.
Conclusion
/G.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 3 April 2026