DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a heat dissipating device in claims 13 and 26. The word device is a recognized non-structural generic placeholder, and the modifier heat dissipating recites only the function performed. The corresponding structure described in the specification is the radiator to which the merged fluid flow is delivered from the fluid outlet 118B, as described at ¶ 0039 of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7–16, and 20–26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recites the recitation “wherein a middle portion of the at least one heat pipe between the first portion and the second portion is external to both the first heat transfer element and the second heat transfer element” renders the claims indefinite because the scope of “external to” cannot be determined because the claims never define the outer boundary of either heat transfer element. Claims 1 and 16 recite only that the first heat transfer element “includes” a first base plate and a second base plate and that the second heat transfer element “includes” a third base plate and a fourth base plate. Because “includes” is open ended, each heat transfer element may comprise unrecited additional structure of unspecified extent, and a skilled artisan cannot ascertain what volume the element occupies and, correspondingly, what region lies outside it. The difficulty is compounded by the claim’s own structural recitations. The same claims place the first portion of the heat pipe between the top surface of the first base plate and the bottom surface of the second base plate, that is, within the space bounded by the two plates of the first heat transfer element. It is therefore unclear whether the heat pipe is to be treated as part of the heat transfer element it passes through, in which case no portion of that heat pipe could be “external” to the element, or as a separate structure merely passing through it, and the claims supply no basis for choosing between these readings. It is further unclear whether “external” requires the middle portion to lie outside the projected footprint of the base plates, outside the volume bounded by the two base plates in the plate-normal direction, or outside some other reference boundary. The specification does not resolve the ambiguity; ¶ 0037 of the published application describes the middle portion as external to “each of the base plates 108A, 108B, 108C, and 108D,” which is a different reference structure than the heat transfer elements recited in the claims. For purposes of applying prior art in the rejections below, the limitation is interpreted as requiring that the middle portion of the heat pipe lie outside the space bounded by the first base plate and the second base plate and outside the space bounded by the third base plate and the fourth base plate. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claims 2, 5, 7–16, and 20–26 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0274685 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Bhatia teaches an apparatus for component cooling (cooling system 100) comprising:
a first heat transfer element (primary heat sink 150) configured to be thermally coupled to a heat-generating component (processor 20, over which the primary heat sink is disposed directly, with primary bottom block plate 208 lying directly over and in closest proximity to the processor), wherein the first heat transfer element includes a first base plate (primary bottom base plate 206) and a second base plate (primary top base plate 202) (¶¶ 0014–0018, 0020; figs. 1–4);
a second heat transfer element (secondary heat sink 160) including a third base plate (secondary bottom base plate 306A) and a fourth base plate (secondary top base plate 302A) (¶¶ 0016–0018; figs. 3A, 3B, 4); and
a plurality of thermally conductive paths (first heat pipe 250A, second heat pipe 250B, third heat pipe 260A, and fourth heat pipe 260B, each having a curved or looped configuration) between the first heat transfer element (150) and the second heat transfer element (160), wherein the plurality of thermally conductive paths includes at least one heat pipe (260A), wherein a first portion of the at least one heat pipe (the bottom portion of heat pipe 260A, which extends along the bottom side of primary fin pack 200 and above primary bottom base plate 206 in contact therewith, and the top portion of the same heat pipe, which extends along the top side of primary fin pack 200 and beneath primary top base plate 202 and top block plate 204 in contact therewith) is disposed between a top surface of the first base plate (206) and a bottom surface of the second base plate (202), wherein a second portion of the at least one heat pipe (the run of heat pipe 260A that extends along the top side of secondary fin pack 300A and beneath secondary top base plate 302A, the secondary fin pack in turn being disposed between secondary top base plate 302A and secondary bottom base plate 306A) is disposed between the third base plate (306A) and the fourth base plate (302A), and wherein a middle portion of the at least one heat pipe between the first portion and the second portion (the span of heat pipe 260A that continues beyond the rear side of and away from primary fin pack 200, bending outward as it approaches and connects with secondary heat sink 160) is external to both the first heat transfer element (150) and the second heat transfer element (160) (¶¶ 0018, 0022, 0025–0027; figs. 3A, 3B, 4).
With respect to the first portion, it is further noted that heat pipe 260A is in contact with both plates of the first heat transfer element: Bhatia teaches that grooves along the top surface of primary bottom base plate 206 receive and retain the third and fourth heat pipes so that they sufficiently contact that plate, and that grooves along the bottom surface of primary top base plate 202 and top block plate 204 likewise receive and retain the same heat pipes so that they sufficiently contact that plate (¶ 0025). Any contention that “disposed between” requires contact with both recited base plates is therefore met on the express disclosure of Bhatia.
In the alternative, the same limitations are met by first heat pipe 250A, whose top portion is disposed between the top side of primary fin pack 200 and primary top base plate 202, whose bottom portion is disposed between the bottom side of primary fin pack 200 and primary bottom base plate 206, whose further run extends along the bottom side of secondary fin pack 300A and above secondary bottom base plate 306A, and whose intervening span extends beyond the rear side of and away from primary fin pack 200 to reach the secondary heat sink (¶¶ 0023–0024; figs. 3A, 3B, 4).
In regard to claim 2, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one heat pipe (260A) is formed in a half-loop configuration, each of heat pipes 250A, 250B, 260A, and 260B having a general U-shape, that is, a curved and looped configuration that originates at one side of primary fin pack 200, bends around the front side of the fin pack, and returns along the opposite side, thereby traversing a single half turn rather than a closed loop (¶¶ 0022, 0023, 0025; figs. 3A, 3B, 4).
In regard to claim 11, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a cooling fan assembly (array of cooling fans 110, disposed along the printed circuit board directly behind secondary heat sinks 160, secured with the printed circuit board in common with the heat sinks by threaded or other suitable fasteners, and operated to direct a flow of air in direction D through secondary fin packs 300A, 300B and then through primary fin pack 200) coupled to the second heat transfer element (160) (¶¶ 0015, 0016, 0028, 0042; figs. 1, 2).
In regard to claim 16, Bhatia teaches a component cooling assembly (cooling system 100 together with the printed circuit board and the heat generating component integrated therewith) comprising:
an electronic component (processor 20, a CPU or GPU integrated with the printed circuit board of electronic device 10) (¶¶ 0012, 0014, 0041, 0045; figs. 1, 2);
a first heat transfer element (primary heat sink 150) configured to be thermally coupled to the electronic component (20), wherein the first heat transfer element includes a first base plate (primary bottom base plate 206) and a second base plate (primary top base plate 202) (¶¶ 0016–0018, 0020; figs. 1–4);
a second heat transfer element (secondary heat sink 160) including a third base plate (secondary bottom base plate 306A) and a fourth base plate (secondary top base plate 302A) (¶¶ 0016–0018; figs. 3A, 3B, 4); and
a plurality of thermally conductive paths (heat pipes 250A, 250B, 260A, 260B) between the first heat transfer element (150) and the second heat transfer element (160), wherein the plurality of thermally conductive paths includes at least one heat pipe (260A), wherein a first portion of the at least one heat pipe (the bottom portion of heat pipe 260A extending along the bottom side of primary fin pack 200 in contact with primary bottom base plate 206, and the top portion extending along the top side of the fin pack in contact with primary top base plate 202 and top block plate 204) is disposed between a top surface of the first base plate (206) and a bottom surface of the second base plate (202), wherein a second portion of the at least one heat pipe (the run extending along the top side of secondary fin pack 300A and beneath secondary top base plate 302A) is disposed between the third base plate (306A) and the fourth base plate (302A), and wherein a middle portion of the at least one heat pipe between the first portion and the second portion (the span extending beyond the rear side of and away from primary fin pack 200 to secondary heat sink 160) is external to both the first heat transfer element (150) and the second heat transfer element (160) (¶¶ 0018, 0022, 0025–0027; figs. 3A, 3B, 4).
In regard to claim 24, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, further comprising a cooling fan assembly (array of cooling fans 110 disposed along the printed circuit board and arranged to direct a flow of air through secondary fin packs 300A, 300B) coupled to the second heat transfer element (160) (¶¶ 0015, 0016, 0028, 0042; figs. 1, 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0274685 A1) in view of Damaraju et al. (US 2014/0240918 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the plurality of thermally conductive paths includes at least one vapor chamber.
However, Damaraju teaches a cooling subsystem for dissipating heat from a processor (101) in which the thermally conductive path from the heat source to the fins is a vapor chamber (vapor chamber 330, an enclosed volume formed between base portion 310 and upper portion 320 and containing a pool of liquid 332, the volume extending into the interior of fins 321 so that vapor rising from the heated base condenses against the fin interiors and returns as liquid), and further teaches that the base of such a heat sink may include a heat pipe integrated therein or may instead incorporate a vapor chamber that transfers heat between the bottom surface of the base and the top surface in contact with the fin assembly (¶¶ 0003, 0017–0023; figs. 2, 3, 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of thermally conductive paths of Bhatia to include at least one vapor chamber as taught by Damaraju, in order to obtain a substantially uniform base temperature and a more uniform fin temperature, which raises the temperature at the fins and thereby increases the efficiency of convective heat transfer, and in order to increase the cooling capacity of the assembly (Damaraju, ¶¶ 0019, 0025). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Damaraju expressly identifies the heat pipe and the vapor chamber as alternative two-phase structures for carrying heat through the base of a finned heat sink (Damaraju, ¶ 0003), and because Bhatia expressly contemplates that any selected number of heat pipes may be provided for each heat sink and that the cooling system may include any suitable modification for a particular configuration (Bhatia, ¶ 0030). The substitution of one known two-phase heat transfer element for another to obtain predictable results is a rationale supporting a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B), (I)(x).
Claims 7, 8, 14, 15, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0274685 A1) in view of Navarro Alvarez et al. (US 2022/0214730 A1).
In regard to claim 7, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second side thermally coupled to a first cold plate.
However, Navarro Alvarez teaches a cooler (210) for a processor (CPU 202) comprising a thermoelectric cooler (TEC 230) having a first side (cold side 246, bearing against first side 236) thermally coupled to a heat transfer element (second thermal block 228, a thermally conductive copper block whose opposite second side 238 is disposed on the CPU 202) and a second side (hot side 244, bearing against second side 234) thermally coupled to a first cold plate (first thermal block 226, having first fluid passageway 240 through which cooling liquid is pumped to absorb the heat delivered to the block and carry it to radiator 214) (¶¶ 0026, 0030, 0031, 0033–0035; figs. 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second side thermally coupled to a first cold plate as taught by Navarro Alvarez, in order to drive the heat transfer element to sub-ambient temperature and thereby enable the processor to operate at higher frequencies and at higher powers before reaching its temperature limit, while the liquid flowing through the cold plate passage absorbs the heat rejected at the hot side and transfers it to a radiator (Navarro Alvarez, ¶¶ 0035, 0037). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Bhatia expressly identifies the ever-increasing power consumption of server CPUs and GPUs, on the order of 300 Watts, as the problem its double-base heat sink addresses, and expressly contemplates modification of the cooling system for a particular configuration (Bhatia, ¶¶ 0002, 0012, 0030). See MPEP § 2143(I)(x).
In regard to claim 8, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a third heat transfer element thermally coupled to a second side of the thermoelectric cooler.
However, Navarro Alvarez teaches a thermoelectric cooler (TEC 230) having a first side (cold side 246) thermally coupled to a heat transfer element (second thermal block 228) and a third heat transfer element (first thermal block 226, a thermally conductive copper block) thermally coupled to a second side (hot side 244) of the thermoelectric cooler, the thermoelectric cooler being clamped between the two blocks by threaded fasteners 324 (¶¶ 0030, 0034, 0042, 0045; figs. 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a third heat transfer element thermally coupled to the second side of that thermoelectric cooler as taught by Navarro Alvarez, in order to absorb at the third heat transfer element the heat pumped to the hot side of the thermoelectric cooler, which reaches above-ambient temperature when the device is energized, and convey it onward for rejection (Navarro Alvarez, ¶¶ 0033, 0035).
In regard to claim 14, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a fluid block including a passage providing a heat transfer fluid in thermal contact with the first heat transfer element.
However, Navarro Alvarez teaches a fluid block (second thermal block 228, a thermally conductive copper block disposed on the CPU 202) including a passage (second fluid passageway 242, formed in the block between inlet opening 332 and outlet opening 334 as a U or C-shaped pathway and provided with fins 400 dividing it into multiple parallel passageways) providing a heat transfer fluid (cooling liquid circulated through fluid circuit 220 by pump 212) in thermal contact with a heat transfer element (¶¶ 0026, 0031, 0046, 0048, 0049; figs. 2, 3, 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a fluid block having a passage providing a heat transfer fluid in thermal contact with the first heat transfer element as taught by Navarro Alvarez, in order to draw heat away from the heat transfer element directly into the circulating liquid for transfer to a remote radiator, the fins within the passage increasing the contact area between the cooling liquid and the block and thereby improving heat absorption (Navarro Alvarez, ¶¶ 0031, 0049).
In regard to claim 15, Bhatia as modified by Navarro Alvarez teaches the apparatus of claim 14. Bhatia further teaches a cooling fan assembly (array of cooling fans 110 disposed along the printed circuit board and operated to direct a flow of air in direction D through secondary fin packs 300A, 300B) coupled to the second heat transfer element (secondary heat sink 160) (¶¶ 0015, 0028, 0042; figs. 1, 2).
In regard to claim 20, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second side thermally coupled to a first cold plate.
However, Navarro Alvarez teaches a thermoelectric cooler (TEC 230) having a first side (cold side 246) thermally coupled to a heat transfer element (second thermal block 228 disposed on CPU 202) and a second side (hot side 244) thermally coupled to a first cold plate (first thermal block 226 having first fluid passageway 240) (¶¶ 0030, 0031, 0034, 0035; figs. 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second side thermally coupled to a first cold plate as taught by Navarro Alvarez, in order to drive the heat transfer element to sub-ambient temperature and enable the electronic component to operate at higher frequencies and higher powers before reaching its temperature limit, with the liquid in the cold plate passage carrying away the heat rejected at the hot side.
In regard to claim 21, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a third heat transfer element thermally coupled to a second side of the thermoelectric cooler.
However, Navarro Alvarez teaches a thermoelectric cooler (TEC 230) having a first side (cold side 246) thermally coupled to a heat transfer element (second thermal block 228) and a third heat transfer element (first thermal block 226) thermally coupled to a second side (hot side 244) of the thermoelectric cooler, the device being clamped between the two blocks (¶¶ 0030, 0034, 0042, 0045; figs. 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler and a third heat transfer element thermally coupled to the second side of that cooler as taught by Navarro Alvarez, in order to receive at the third heat transfer element the heat pumped to the above-ambient hot side of the thermoelectric cooler and convey it onward for rejection (Navarro Alvarez, ¶¶ 0033, 0035).
Claims 9, 10, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0274685 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2009/0109621 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Bhatia further teaches that the first heat transfer element (primary heat sink 150) and the second heat transfer element (secondary heat sink 160) are spaced apart from one another along the printed circuit board, with the secondary heat sink disposed rearward of the primary heat sink and the middle portions of heat pipes 250A, 250B, 260A, and 260B spanning the intervening region (¶¶ 0016, 0024, 0026; figs. 1–3B).
Bhatia does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and positioned between the first heat transfer element and the second heat transfer element.
However, Cheng teaches a heat dissipating device comprising a first heat transfer element (base 2, a flat plate having a surface in direct contact with a heat generating member), a second heat transfer element (second heat sink 7, having heat dissipating fins 71 and disposed adjacent first heat sink 4), and a thermoelectric cooler (thermoelectric cooler 6) having a first side (first surface 61) thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element by way of second heat pipe 5, whose first end 51 is placed on base 2 and whose second end 52 is connected to the thermoelectric cooler, the thermoelectric cooler being positioned between base 2 and second heat sink 7 and spaced apart from the heat generating member, with its opposite second surface 62 in contact with second heat sink 7 (¶¶ 0016, 0018, 0019, 0021; figs. 2, 3, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and positioned between the first heat transfer element and the second heat transfer element as taught by Cheng, in order to space the thermoelectric cooler apart from the heat generating member so that water generated by the thermoelectric cooler during a cooling process does not spread to the heat generating member and cause a short circuit, and so that the heat dissipating ability of the heat pipes is fully used rather than being bypassed by a thermoelectric cooler placed in direct contact with the base (Cheng, ¶¶ 0005, 0008).
In regard to claim 10, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element.
However, Cheng teaches a thermoelectric cooler (thermoelectric cooler 6) thermally coupled to a second heat transfer element (second heat sink 7), the second surface 62 of the thermoelectric cooler being in contact with the second heat sink so that heat at that surface spreads to the second heat sink and is dissipated into the ambient atmosphere by its heat dissipating fins 71 (¶¶ 0019, 0021; figs. 2, 3, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element as taught by Cheng, in order to deliver the pumped heat into a finned heat transfer element from which it is dissipated into the ambient atmosphere, and to obtain a high heat dissipating efficiency by combining the thermoelectric path with the heat pipe path.
In regard to claim 22, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, wherein Bhatia further teaches that the first heat transfer element (primary heat sink 150) and the second heat transfer element (secondary heat sink 160) are spaced apart along the printed circuit board with the middle portions of the heat pipes spanning the intervening region (¶¶ 0016, 0024, 0026; figs. 1–3B).
Bhatia does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler having a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and positioned between the first heat transfer element and the second heat transfer element.
However, Cheng teaches a thermoelectric cooler (thermoelectric cooler 6) having a first side (first surface 61) thermally coupled to a first heat transfer element (base 2) by way of second heat pipe 5 and positioned between that element and a second heat transfer element (second heat sink 7), with second surface 62 in contact with the second heat sink (¶¶ 0016, 0018, 0019, 0021; figs. 2, 3, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler positioned between the first heat transfer element and the second heat transfer element with a first side thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element as taught by Cheng, in order to space the thermoelectric cooler apart from the electronic component so that water generated during a cooling process does not reach the component and cause a short circuit, and so that the heat dissipating ability of the heat pipes is fully used (Cheng, ¶¶ 0005, 0008).
In regard to claim 23, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach a thermoelectric cooler thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element.
However, Cheng teaches a thermoelectric cooler (thermoelectric cooler 6) thermally coupled to a second heat transfer element (second heat sink 7) by contact of its second surface 62 with that heat sink, the heat at that surface spreading to the second heat sink and being dissipated by heat dissipating fins 71 (¶¶ 0019, 0021; figs. 2, 3, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia to include a thermoelectric cooler thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element as taught by Cheng, in order to deliver the pumped heat into a finned heat transfer element from which it is dissipated into the ambient atmosphere and to obtain a high heat dissipating efficiency by combining the thermoelectric path with the heat pipe path.
Claims 12, 13, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0274685 A1) in view of Refai-Ahmed et al. (US 11,373,929 B1).
In regard to claim 12, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a manifold configured to receive a single fluid flow of a heat transfer medium and split the single fluid flow into a first split fluid flow provided to a first cold plate thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second split fluid flow provided to a second cold plate thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element.
However, Refai-Ahmed teaches a cooling plate assembly (180) for an electronic device in which an inlet manifold (202) receives a single fluid flow of a heat transfer medium (working fluid delivered from fluid source 1002 through the single supply line 206 coupled at a first end of the manifold) and splits that single flow into separate flows delivered through respective conduits (204) from respective outlet ports (514) to each of a plurality of cold plates (active cooling devices 184, each comprising a copper body 602 having a hollow interior 604 in which fins 606 define channels 608 for the working fluid between inlet port 706 and outlet port 708), there being at least one outlet port of the manifold for each such cold plate (col. 8, ll. 17–26; col. 11, ll. 53–65; col. 12, ll. 20–26; col. 13, ll. 25–35; figs. 2, 5–10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia to include a manifold that receives a single fluid flow and splits it into a first split fluid flow provided to a first cold plate thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second split fluid flow provided to a second cold plate thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element as taught by Refai-Ahmed, in order to distribute working fluid from a single remote source among plural separately located cooling devices, and in order to allow the manifold to increase the residence time of the working fluid so that particles settle out before the fluid reaches the cooling devices, thereby keeping the narrow channels of those devices free from clogging and preserving their efficiency and service life.
In regard to claim 13, Bhatia teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the manifold is further configured to merge the first split fluid flow and the second split fluid flow into a merged fluid flow and provide the merged fluid flow to a heat dissipating device.
However, Refai-Ahmed teaches an outlet manifold (208) coupled by respective conduits (210) to each of the plurality of cold plates (active cooling devices 184), the manifold collecting the separate flows exiting those devices into a single merged flow that is carried by exhaust line (212) to a heat dissipating device (heat exchanger 1104, which may be a heat sink or other suitable heat transfer device and which cools the spent working fluid before it is returned to the fluid source) (col. 8, ll. 37–45; col. 13, ll. 36–42, 53–64; figs. 2, 10, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Bhatia so that the manifold merges the first split fluid flow and the second split fluid flow into a merged fluid flow and provides the merged fluid flow to a heat dissipating device as taught by Refai-Ahmed, in order to collect the heat-laden working fluid leaving all of the cooling devices in a single return path and reject that heat at one heat exchanger before the fluid is recycled back through the cooling devices.
In regard to claim 25, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach a manifold configured to receive a single fluid flow of a heat transfer medium and split the single fluid flow into a first split fluid flow provided to a first cold plate thermally coupled to the first heat transfer element and a second split fluid flow provided to a second cold plate thermally coupled to the second heat transfer element.
However, Refai-Ahmed teaches an inlet manifold (202) that receives a single fluid flow of working fluid from a fluid source (1002) through a single supply line (206) and distributes that flow through respective conduits (204) to each of a plurality of cold plates (active cooling devices 184, each having a hollow interior 604 with fins 606 defining channels 608 between an inlet port 706 and an outlet port 708) (col. 8, ll. 17–26; col. 12, ll. 20–26; col. 13, ll. 25–35; figs. 2, 5–10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia to include such a manifold as taught by Refai-Ahmed, in order to distribute working fluid from a single supply among the separately located heat transfer elements and to allow particles to settle out of the working fluid within the manifold before it reaches the cooling devices, thereby preventing clogging and preserving their effectiveness and service life.
In regard to claim 26, Bhatia teaches the component cooling assembly of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach that the manifold is further configured to merge the first split fluid flow and the second split fluid flow into a merged fluid flow and provide the merged fluid flow to a heat dissipating device.
However, Refai-Ahmed teaches an outlet manifold (208) that collects, through respective conduits (210), the flows exiting the several cold plates (active cooling devices 184) into a single merged flow conveyed by exhaust line (212) to a heat dissipating device (heat exchanger 1104, which may be a heat sink or other suitable heat transfer device) (col. 8, ll. 37–45; col. 13, ll. 36–42, 53–64; figs. 2, 10, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component cooling assembly of Bhatia so that the manifold merges the split flows and provides the merged flow to a heat dissipating device as taught by Refai-Ahmed, in order to collect the heat-laden working fluid from all of the cooling devices in a single return path and reject that heat at one heat exchanger before recycling the fluid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763